Holden or ford rims fror trailer

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 18:41
ThreadID: 34704 Views:15919 Replies:3 FollowUps:6
Can any body help identify my trailer rims. I have a custom built trailer(6x4) I use as my camp kitcken IE fold down benches lift up sides. I need to replace the tyres due to cracking. Now I have 165/75 sr 13 on13 inch rims with approx 62 mm stud spacings center to center.I believe some earlier holden stud paterns(assuming they are holden) would take 14 inch rims which would suit my ute (Nissan) tyre profile Hight wise. Also the old rims have tubes and some rust has eaten away around where the valve comes out. So a worst case sitituation I would have to replace the alxe and rims and tyres.Some of you old holden guys should know this stuff ! I did but I forgot. Any thunder bolts of brilliance would be appreciated.
Niffty
Perth

Reply By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 19:00

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 19:00
G/day Niffty
If your 13inch wheels are 5stud on a circle circumferance of 108mm they will be holden. Early 14inch holden will fit before HQ model HQ onwards are 5 on PCD of 120mm
Ford are 5 / 114.3mm
Charlie
AnswerID: 177270

Follow Up By: Niffty - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 19:59

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 19:59
Charlie thanks mate. Just what I was looking for! Ill be out at first light with the calipers.
Niffty
Perth
FollowupID: 433294

Follow Up By: Niffty - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 20:04

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 20:04
Charlie
BTW is the measurment taken from stud centers or inside /outside studs? Niffty
FollowupID: 433296

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 20:14

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 20:14
If you want to fit a stronger wheel then get some Volvo (200/700 series) steel rims they use the same stud pattern and are thicker and stronger than holden wheels. from memory they are also slightly wider so will take a larger tyre.
They are available in 14" and 15" (alloy). Usually cheap at the wreckers too as nobody wants them.
I run 185 LTx 14 (hiace/ute tyres) steel radials on them which are tougher than a lot of 4wd tyres.
FollowupID: 433300

Reply By: tonysmc - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 20:41

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 20:41
Giday Niffty, It has been a while since I bought new hubs or bearings, However last time I did (3 years ago?) it was $20 for a bearing or $30 for a new hub which comes with a new bearing. I now carry spare hubs and bearings. I changed mine from holden to ford 14inch. The reason was that I found out that the ford stud pattern is the same as a Toyota Hilux 4x2 stud pattern, so it should be easy to find a spare just about anywhere

Tony
AnswerID: 177292

Follow Up By: tonysmc - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 20:49

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 20:49
Forgot to mention, there is no worries changing your hubs to suit whatever axle you have, its all in the bearings. I just had a quick look at the web site below. Hubs with bearings. $35.45 and bearings alone between $16 and $21

www.allstatestrailerspares.com.au/

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 433315

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 08:13

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 08:13
A couple of years ago I upgraded my box trailer from holden to landcruiser hubs. Just a hub swap over, and put on some 235/75/15 tires on 15x6 rims. Cheap as chips from the wreckers. And landcruiser/patrol/jackaroo 6 stud are the same as my pajero, so the spare for the car now fits the trailer for those shorter trips, or gives me more options for longer runs.
FollowupID: 433438

Follow Up By: Member - daniel T (WA) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 09:55

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 09:55
G-day all the trailer mob normaly welds a " H " or " F" on the draw bar near the hitch for referance ,
cheers dan...
FollowupID: 433456

Reply By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 18:54

Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 18:54
Niffty
The PCW pitch circle diameter is the circle dia at the centre of the studs
AnswerID: 177717