Submitted: Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 10:04
ThreadID: 34724 Views:3562 Replies:8 FollowUps:43
Have a look at www.aldi.com.au

Grinner

Reply By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 10:31

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 10:31
As the saying goes, You get what you pay for'.

Axle.
AnswerID: 177412

Follow Up By: signman - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:48

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:48
Yup..that's dead right...Always buy the most expensive, known brand name stuff it'll never break down or fail... AS IF !!!!
FollowupID: 433510

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 10:43

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 10:43
chances are it will eb cheap crap, as most there is.... the issue is someone will get hurt using the shoelace snatch they will buy cheap, and it will all hit the fan... again.
AnswerID: 177413

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 10:45

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 10:45
mmm looks to be a Big haul copy winch and a Max-Air copy compressor and $59 for a 300w inverter, might be Aldi bound next week

AnswerID: 177414

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 11:11

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 11:11
what inverter you running in your blue bus
FollowupID: 433472

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 11:42

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 11:42
300w pure sine from Dicky

FollowupID: 433479

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:44

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:44
G'Day Bonz,

Don't know much about inverters but just out of curiosity, what sort of things could you run off a 300W inverter??

Scoey!
FollowupID: 433507

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:49

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:49
HI Scoey, I run all the chargers, for mobiles, cameras, laptop, handheld UHF and also am tempted to run an old street light attached to my roofrack at night just for fun. I also take a rotary tool (mine is a Dremil) that can drill and buff and clean and do all manner of damage that runs lovely off the inverter.

FollowupID: 433511

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:54

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:54
what sorta $ was it? might have to get one for the real truck
FollowupID: 433513

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:56

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:56
10.5 - 15Volt (12V Nominal), 50Hz +/- 2% output frequency, True Sinewave output wave form, 310W (surge) 300W continuous 1 hr output, convection and fan cooling, up to 90% efficiency.

Features: True Sinewave inverter
DC Input Voltage: 10.5 - 15Volt (12V Nominal)
Output Frequency: 50Hz +⁄- 2%
Output Wave Form: True Sinewave
Output Power: 310W (surge) 300W continuous for 1 Hour.
Cooling: Convection and Fan cooling
Efficiency: up to 90%
1 year warranty

Cat No. M5213
Category: Power Supplies

Site Link

$294.00

will have to chaseup mate whose neighbour is Jaycar manager :)
FollowupID: 433515

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:57

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:57
around $300 and its worked great for two years

FollowupID: 433516

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 13:05

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 13:05
thats the one mate, I got it from Dick Smiths in Wbool

FollowupID: 433517

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 13:10

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 13:10
Cheers Bonz - I feel enlightened! ;-)

Scoey!
FollowupID: 433518

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 13:19

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 13:19
JAYCAAR REBUILDS

500 Watt (1000W Surge) 12 VDC to 230 VAC Electrically Isolated Pure Sine wave Inverter

Techstore Special Only
Not available through stores
- Ex-Repaired Stock -
Very limited in quantity

Pure Sine Wave
This excellent inverter is rated at 500 watts continuous output and is electrically isolated between battery and secondary voltage. The unit is designed for fixed mounting and high performance. Housed in a strong aluminium case, the inverter features heavy- duty screw down input connectors, cooling fan, 3- pin 230VAC output socket, on/off switch and LEDs to indicate normal operation, overload condition and over temperature. The inverter output is fully protected against short circuits and overload. Typical applications are laptop computers, power tools, blenders, small refrigerators & microwave ovens etc.

Specifications:
- Output Power: 500 W continuous
- Surge Power: 1,000 W
- Standby Current: 1,400mA
- Input Voltage: 10 - 15V DC
- Output wave form: Sine wave
- Efficiency: >85%
- Output Regulation: +/- 3%
- Output Frequency: 50Hz
- Cooling: Internal fan

Protection:
- Output Short: Output short without blowing fuse
- Low Battery Alarm: <10.7 Volts
- Low Batt. Shut- off: <10 Volts
- Overload: Shutdown
- Battery reverse: Internal 40A Blade Fuses
- Input connector: 4 gauge
- Dimensions: 236 (W) x 83 (H) x 335 (L)mm
- Weight: 3Kg
QTY
1+ $179.95
FollowupID: 433519

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 14:53

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 14:53
that one any good Mr Bonz?
FollowupID: 433544

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 16:16

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 16:16
That one sounds like a bargain MrT, only thing I would say is this, 500w at 12 volts equals many amps, if you're thinking of loading it up to 500w then make sure the connection wires to it are ample, that said its a bargain.

Another slight thing, there was this guy called Fred at the Outback who had a coffee machine, like a Barrista, in the side of his truck, pulled 140amps when the things was running - amazing, he had 70mm2 cables running to his 3000w inverter.

FollowupID: 433567

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 13:24

Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 13:24
so what wire/cable for a 300w or a 500w? not htat I'd ever use that much, but for price :D
FollowupID: 433786

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 17:38

Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 17:38
Well 500w/12.5 nominal=40 amps, referring to AS3000 6mm is good for 46 amps and 10mm good for 62 amps I would go with the 10mm myself. 6mm would be OK for 300w inverter tho.

Of course that above rating is for 0.6 to 1.0kV rated cables

FollowupID: 433838

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 17:49

Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 17:49
Yeah great price for a clean machine inverter of that size
FollowupID: 433841

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 11:49

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 11:49
Managed through a contact to get one of them Jaycar ones NOT rebuilt NEW for same price :D

500 Watt (1000W Surge) 12 VDC to 230 VAC Electrically Isolated Pure Sine wave Inverter

Bonz, your last message can you say it in English?
FollowupID: 437084

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 00:15

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 00:15
een eetaly we dont do no steenkin' eenglish hahahahaha

everya thinga hasa aa aa ona the enda ofa eeta

FollowupID: 437233

Reply By: Member - Malcolm P (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 11:04

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 11:04
Don't be too dismissive initially.
I bought 2 of the 35 litre fridges a while ago for abount $120 and they are Waeco's and they work well.
The other thing is you can always return the stuff if not satisfied.
I was reading some info on winches in the 4x4 SA site I think and some were less than adequate ... but a 3 year warranty should provide some comfort should'nt it?
Can someone buy them and let us know?
AnswerID: 177417

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 11:22

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 11:22
Buying the El-cheapo's with good warranties has it's merrits, you can always claim under the warranty if/when they fail is fine, and it often works out cheaper. I buy GMC tools for peanuts and if they break I can get em replaced. eg I can buy 3 GMC saws for the price of 1 Dewalt, but 3GMC's will probably last longer than 1 dewalt for example..
The problem with this though is that stuff like winches and other safety gear.. sure you can replace it if its a cheapy and it is still under waaranty, but thats after you spend 5 hours digging your car out of a bog becuase the cheap winch or snatch strap snapped the first time you used it..
Cheap may be good.. but not when it comes to safety gear or tools you need to rely on... If I was a tradesman who needed the tools to be reliable.. I'd pay the extra.. I'm a 4WDer that needs recovery gear to be durable and to be reliable so I pay the extra and buy from ARB or other reputable suppliers..
FollowupID: 433475

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 11:29

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 11:29
My Father inlaw purchased a television from Aldi, Chit itself the first week, they replaced it, but this went on with THREE of them,so he collectedhis money back in the end and went elsewhere.

Axle
FollowupID: 433476

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 11:42

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 11:42
>I buy GMC tools for peanuts and if they break I can get em replaced. eg I can buy 3 GMC saws for the price of 1 Dewalt, but 3GMC's will probably last longer than 1 dewalt for example..

Talk about false economy.. your machine breaking 3 times is P I S S P O O R as it will happen when your 1/2 way through doing something, and then have no tool to work with. Then you have to screw round and hope the store has another in stock... if they dont your rooted.

I'll still bet my $ on a Dewalt over 3-5 GMC's...
FollowupID: 433478

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 11:44

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 11:44
Its not the taking back its the pain of them not doing the job you thought they would, I wouldnt want to be half way along a winch and have the unit cack itself, what dya do then? Call ALDI roadside support and replacement?

Thats what the T-Man is on about, me too.

FollowupID: 433481

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 13:22

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 13:22
Agreed Bonz.

If my GMC $98 gen breaks down in the middle of the bush it doesn't really matter just means I would have to charge things from the vehicle if essential. A nuisance, nothing more.

However, as I nearly always travel alone, if my winch lets me down I could be in serious and/or expensive trouble. I recently bought a Big Haul hand winch from TJM (I think it was TJM) a known brand which meets Australian Standards and received some excellent reports on this forum, it cost $100 more than the Aldi product. I expect it to last me many years and only be used very rarely when I _really_ need it - I consider that extra $100 to be worthwhile for peace of mind alone.

FollowupID: 433521

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 16:19

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 16:19
Thats the thing Mike, ask Redback about his BigHaul, when he got in to pooh in the High Coutry in the Exploder it didnt work, of course if he'd had the instructtions they would have told his to release the locking mechanism, funny thing, when he did that it worked a treat, should have told him I'd buy it from him rather than how to unlock the mechanism hahahahaha

FollowupID: 433570

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 17:56

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 17:56
harhaar, it's a good idea to test equipment and pratice recovery techniques before they are needed. What's the use of having the gear if you don't know or are unsure how to operate it.
FollowupID: 433589

Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 11:29

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 11:29
can someone buy the cake and let me know if its yummy
AnswerID: 177422

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 11:44

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 11:44
I did ... It WAS!

FollowupID: 433484

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 11:54

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 11:54
bugga....we dont have a store in SA
FollowupID: 433491

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:40

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:40
Yes last time I travelled through SA it looked very bare :)
perhaps you could import from Vic
FollowupID: 433505

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:47

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:47
can I get a second opinion from someone else on the roll cake.......not sure i can trust a Vic ...:))))))))))
FollowupID: 433509

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 18:10

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 18:10
Cake is just like the Bushranger cake but 1/3 the price - awesome
FollowupID: 433591

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 18:26

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 18:26
But it tastes sooo much better

FollowupID: 433596

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 14:41

Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 14:41
You can't expect the cheap one to be as good as the expensive version but it WILL last longer....hmmm
FollowupID: 433810

Reply By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:14

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:14
Used the web link and didn't see any recovery gear, just household stuff. Maybe thye have all sold out....
AnswerID: 177431

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:44

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:44
must be something wrong with your glasses
you did click the DVD player?
FollowupID: 433506

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 12:09

Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 12:09
Member No1,

Please excuse my obvious lack of observation, but I checked every nook and cranny of the Aldi website and found nothing to do with recovery gear.

What DVD player? When I go into the website I see no obvious link to anything describing DVD players or recover gear, including the specials link. If there is a link you are supposed to use perhaps you could enlighten me.
FollowupID: 433764

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 12:33

Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 12:33
you must be having me on....it works for me
FollowupID: 433772

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 13:05

Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 13:05
I had a similar problem (I'm using Firefox). I got the DVD player page OK but when I clicked on the link it took me to an old version of the Aldi specials (mind you I might pamper myself with their Face Pack next time I go bush :). Clicking on the Refresh button in the browser cured the problem.

FollowupID: 433780

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 13:06

Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 13:06
face pack...where where....willem will need the link
FollowupID: 433781

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 13:30

Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 13:30
Link worked fine for me on Firefox
FollowupID: 433789

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 13:32

Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 13:32
So you won't be able to get the face pack then? Hmmmmm... well... your loss :)
FollowupID: 433791

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 13:41

Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 13:41
Mike,

LOL ... well beyond face packs I'm afraid. I'll just continue with the brown paper bag. Tends not to scare little kids and neighbourhood dogs hahahahaha
FollowupID: 433792

Reply By: chump_boy - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:43

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 12:43
Can anyone pick the brand of aircompressor?? It looks pretty heavy duty....

lol - bit better than my little $15 dollar one, anyway.

Chump
AnswerID: 177439

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 13:25

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 13:25
lol - knew I'd seen it before.

Looks pretty much the same as a Bushranger MaxAir, doesn't it?

Bushranger Photo

For a third of the price, it would definitely be worth a look at....
FollowupID: 433522

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 13:54

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 13:54
I recckon you could be right there chump boy, looks bloody identical to me. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 433530

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 14:36

Friday, Jun 09, 2006 at 14:36
Going by the picture, that 'pressor (& case) pictured on the Aldi site looks identical to the ones which are/were available at Big W for around $68.00...
Not saying it's no good, but 'taint no Bushranger Max Air!!!

Note where the air filter is located.. I've had a few of these apart, & the ones with the filter mounted in the crank housing typically have 2 small reed valves in the top of the piston...

The ones with the filter mounted up top (like Max Air) have larger reed valves in a separate plate sandwiched between cyl. block & head ...

I have a couple of the Max Air copies (a Mega Grunt, & one of those which AuctionbrokersAustralia was selling on ebay).. Of these, the Auctionbrokers one is by far the better, & I got it for a little over $100.00 (delivered to my door)... Both have seen quite a lot of use, & neither has failed (yet;-))...

Think I'll give the Aldi one a miss;-))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 433807

Reply By: Battlecat - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 14:40

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 14:40
Yeah I agree regarding you get what you pay for with in reason, it is that dam Murphy and his law again. But the cheap S*** will fail just when you need it. The way that I look at it is that a 4by usually costs 5-70k++ and spending 1-2k on quality recovery equipment is just good insurance. I would hate my GU Troll to become and artificial reef because of a $10 saving I made on a strap or whatever
I live in the Pilbara and when it comes to comms – recovery gear or anything that I am risking life or my Nissan over – the cost saving is just not worth it. The cost of not having good equipment is priceless!
AnswerID: 177460