price difference inbetween diesel and petrol

Submitted: Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 13:42
ThreadID: 3475 Views:1340 Replies:14 FollowUps:6
can anyone tell me why I constantly pay upto 10 cpl extra for diesel in metro melbourne as compared to regular unleaded - as a kid in the 70's and early 80's diesel was upto half the price of super petrol as I was told it was just a rubbish fuel (less production required)

Reply By: Tim - Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 13:43

Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 13:43
today unleaded is 106.9 cpl & unsure for diesel but yesterday was 94.9cpl for ulp and 104.9cpl for diesel
AnswerID: 13644

Reply By: BM - Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 14:01

Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 14:01
I thnk it is beacuse the market for diesel is a lot smaller than ULP and we are probably just getting ripped off by the oil companies/government.
AnswerID: 13646

Reply By: Savvas - Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 14:10

Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 14:10
When you take commercial and agricultural usage into account, I'd say diesel may be right up there with ULP in volume. If not higher. That's my guess anyway.

AnswerID: 13649

Follow Up By: Brian - Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 15:21

Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 15:21
I would agree !
FollowupID: 8044

Reply By: Phil G - Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 15:52

Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 15:52
My understanding is that diesel is is big demand worldwide (look at how many diesel-powered sedans are used in Europe.
AnswerID: 13659

Follow Up By: Suzuki Viagra - Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 18:46

Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 18:46
This is due to governments ineurope having lower taxes on diesel.

However there's been a change in thought in recent times and particulate matter - which is a BIG issue for diesels - is now seen as a major pollution and cancer issue.

When taxes are lower people will use the cheaper option.

Diesels are cheaper to run but the cost is too high.

Hydrogen, Methanol/Ethanol and LPG are better alternative fuels...... The governments of the world should be doing more to support these and less to sup[port diesel.

PS don't worry about metro prices - diesel is usually cheap rural due to the trucks using it. And diesel doesnt follow the pricing discount cycles like petrol does.
FollowupID: 8074

Reply By: bruce.h - Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 15:56

Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 15:56
becauce they can!!!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 13661

Reply By: Truckster - Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 16:19

Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 16:19
Bruce H said it! Simple but true, with a Gov too preoccupied in killing us all, banks are addign charges like wild bulls, gas, water, air costs are going up... Gov doesnt give a shiat.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Also out this way diesels not... Diesel is cheaper.

IF you are thinking of runnin Lead Replacement Fuel, think again, you are gonna get anally raped SAVAGELY!
AnswerID: 13665

Reply By: Old Soldier - Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 16:22

Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 16:22
I think BM is close to the mark.

Discounting of ULP seems to go on mainly in the high density population areas in cities and large provincial areas.

When was the last time you saw a price war at Karumba?? or Wyndham :) :) :)

Because the great majority of city dwellers drive petrol vehicles they provide most of the fuel sales in these areas, and are the targets of the oil company subsidies which result in discounting.

Look how we complain when the [mongrel] oil companies drop these subsidies [especially near weekends and holidays], and the local servo puts up the price.

The poor old diesel user, along with the country user never sees any of this action. They are just continuously ripped off while our city cousins at least get some benefits at the pump.

Another reason why there is such a difference at this time of year [or so I am told] is that during the northern winter the majority of the world's diesel seems to be earmarked for the cold countries.

Anyway, this is the way it was explained to me by a mate who used to own 4 fuel outlets.

I just wish cans of VB were as cheap as fuel :) :) :)

Who'd bother driving anywhere ?????

Enjoy the bush

DennisN
AnswerID: 13667

Follow Up By: Macca - Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 16:45

Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 16:45
regardless of who, why, or whatever, at the end of thje day it wont go back to the earlier pricing because we "suckers" accept it so they leave it at the outlandish prices we pay now
FollowupID: 8055

Follow Up By: Macca - Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 16:46

Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 16:46
regardless of who, why, or whatever, at the end of thje day it wont go back to the earlier pricing because we "suckers" accept it so they leave it at the outlandish prices we pay now
FollowupID: 8056

Reply By: chopper - Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 16:35

Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 16:35
lets not forget the role the 'democrats' played in the GST debate and their focus on diesel being a 'dirty' fuel.
AnswerID: 13669

Reply By: CJ - Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 17:55

Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 17:55
It is a fact that diesel is much cheaper to refine than petrol, and should be about 2/3 the price of petrol. I reckon it is in the govt taxes -
CJ
AnswerID: 13676

Reply By: Suzuki Viagra - Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 18:47

Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 18:47
This is due to governments ineurope having lower taxes on diesel.

However there's been a change in thought in recent times and particulate matter - which is a BIG issue for diesels - is now seen as a major pollution and cancer issue.

When taxes are lower people will use the cheaper option.

Diesels are cheaper to run but the cost is too high.

Hydrogen, Methanol/Ethanol and LPG are better alternative fuels...... The governments of the world should be doing more to support these and less to sup[port diesel.

PS don't worry about metro prices - diesel is usually cheap rural due to the trucks using it. And diesel doesnt follow the pricing discount cycles like petrol does.
AnswerID: 13689

Reply By: bigfoot - Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 20:31

Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 20:31
i think the main cause of the differences is definetly gov taxes, and prob for u the fact that u live in victoria which has an abundance of cheap gas supplies compared to the other states which means that demand for diesel as compared to gas/ petrol in melb will be lower. as for us sydney folk the prices upto recently have been more or less the same around the 93c per ltr for both petrol and diesel with the exception that petrol is much more vulnerable to weekly price changes.

mind u i wish we had NZ prices $1.20/ltr for petrol and only 55c/ltr for diesel.
AnswerID: 13697

Follow Up By: Allan - Saturday, Feb 22, 2003 at 01:18

Saturday, Feb 22, 2003 at 01:18
In NZ the road user tax is seperate charge (you pay per km) unless it is used 'off road' ie. farmers tractors etc. Here it is built into the fuel price
FollowupID: 8126

Reply By: Phil G - Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 22:20

Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 22:20
Bought Mobil diesel in Adelaide today for 97.8cpl; cheapest unleaded was 103.9. We get to smile occasionally!
AnswerID: 13714

Follow Up By: Thepublican - Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 23:32

Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 23:32
Phil, methinks its no smiling matter $1.03.9 cents a litre works out to be
$4.67.5 cents a gallon ,1970 was $0.30 cents a gallon, before smiling work out the relevant not average wages back then compared to now,, you will never smile at the price of fuel again unless it drops to less than $0.55 cents per ltr.
FollowupID: 8114

Reply By: Salty - Saturday, Feb 22, 2003 at 02:03

Saturday, Feb 22, 2003 at 02:03
Tim,
Quite smple! Oil companies loose money on petrol discount wars so they make up the profit loss on diesel because there are so many diesel powered vehicles on the road these days. Regards Salty.
AnswerID: 13728

Reply By: colin - Saturday, Feb 22, 2003 at 15:01

Saturday, Feb 22, 2003 at 15:01
so please explain how large transport co,s buy diesal in the mid 60cents a ltr and then get a 18 c ltr rebate from the gov. Col
AnswerID: 13742