At last look only 6 people on line; I'm one....

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 04:25
ThreadID: 34808 Views:2236 Replies:6 FollowUps:60
Forget the keyboard in front of you; what do you guys do? Currently I'm juggling the finances working in a hotel thinking if I can demand that my days off are set and regular I can go camping on my days off (I've worked hard hard for this!) Yet waiting for a result.

Reply By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 05:41

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 05:41
Hmmm... I thi nk I scared everyone off.
AnswerID: 177897

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 12:02

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 12:02
Are you asking for everyone to tell what they do for a living?
FollowupID: 434065

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 13:17

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 13:17
No mate, I was just bored and still awake after work. Idle chit-chat really. The rest of the family arose not long after so I went to bed ;-) I'm bloody awake again now though.
FollowupID: 434079

Reply By: Member - Chris D (Newcastle) - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 07:02

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 07:02
Bware, sorry I didn't reply sooner, I was asleeep.

So where do you want to go on this holy day off, I hope you are dreaming up somewhere good, remember what you wish is likely to come true, in fact what you wish very often does come true, and sooner than you expect.

AnswerID: 177898

Follow Up By: Michael & Lesley - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 07:19

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 07:19
i am just sitting here waiting for everyone to wakeup
we are going to try out mary k mine and and east Liechhardt dam
keep dreaming and planning because it will happen we are livin the dream now

michael and lesley
FollowupID: 434040

Follow Up By: Member - Chris D (Newcastle) - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 10:19

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 10:19
Michael,

Where is Mary K mine and East Leichhart dam, I have never heard of them. Have you been there before? Are you planning a long trip or just a few days at a time?

FollowupID: 434052

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 13:57

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 13:57
I wouldn't call the Queen's birthday a holy day! Didn't know I had the next 2 days off 'til the end of my shift last night and the in-laws visiting today and staying over-night. Still dreaming of the next camp fire though.
FollowupID: 434088

Follow Up By: Michael & Lesley - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 22:57

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 22:57
hi Chris
sorry for the delay in repling i had to work today
east leichhardt and mary k mine about 60k east of mt isa
we went for the day
regards michael
FollowupID: 434352

Reply By: Member - Gaz@Gove (NT) - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 09:43

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 09:43
Sorry I took so long, was sleeping.
But now I'm at work, someone has to keep the lights on.
Mmmmmmmm, now where do we go next?

AnswerID: 177913

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 12:05

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 12:05
B'Ware, do you know the Byrrill Nature Reserve ? Its only a few hours away with a nice camping spot. Good for an overnighter or just a visit. Tyalgum and then south up the hill towards Byrrill Creek, left at the top for 1k.
If you don't know it, worth thinking about when you get a few hours with the family.
AnswerID: 177935

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 12:08

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 12:08
Also known as Wollumbin State Forest.
FollowupID: 434066

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 12:09

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 12:09
Oops what was I thinking ? RIGHT at the top LOL
FollowupID: 434068

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 13:28

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 13:28
Hahahahaha Footy. You've been taking navigation lessons from my SWMBO lolol
FollowupID: 434083

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 13:37

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 13:37
Gramps, I was looking at map from wrong direction. :))
FollowupID: 434084

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 13:45

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 13:45
Yep, that's one of her specialities hahahahaha
FollowupID: 434086

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 13:55

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 13:55
Well I did try turning the computer upside down but all this stuff fell out :))
FollowupID: 434087

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 14:15

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 14:15
You guys! When do the dancing girls come on? What was the name of the two old blokes that made all the wise cracks from the audience in the Muppets? LOL

Footloose, going by your directions, I'm thinking of Mebbin NP, used to be Mebbin State Forest. It's off Byrrell Creek Rd?
FollowupID: 434090

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 14:23

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 14:23
hahahaha that was Statler and Waldorf (can't find a piccy at the moment) and I think Miss Piggy and the dancing girls are in dispute at the moment :))))))
FollowupID: 434093

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 14:57

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 14:57
Found one !

FollowupID: 434101

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 14:59

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 14:59
Bugger !! That's the mother-in-law's accommodation

meant this one (I think???)

FollowupID: 434102

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 15:03

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 15:03
BWare, thats the one. I sometimes overnight there as a stress relief kinda thing.
FollowupID: 434104

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 15:06

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 15:06
Hahaha. Which one are you (be careful, Footie's going to read this)?
FollowupID: 434105

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 15:16

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 15:16
Obviously I'm the suave, debonair and handsome one on the left :)))))
FollowupID: 434107

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 15:24

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 15:24
Dunno about that Gramps. My wife asked me how old did I feel . When I told her I felt like an 18yo she told me I couldn't have one !
FollowupID: 434108

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 15:27

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 15:27
The name's Blonde, James Blonde.
FollowupID: 434109

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 15:27

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 15:27
Hahahahaha I told mine I'd trade her in on two 18yo's and still have enough change for a third in the not too distant future LOL
FollowupID: 434110

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 15:29

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 15:29
When I threatened to trade mine in on a newer model she said fine. The old bombs are always bought by young men !
FollowupID: 434111

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 15:31

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 15:31
Gramps, just be careful that you dont blow a fuse, you might be wired for 140 not 218 :)))))))
FollowupID: 434112

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 15:34

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 15:34
hahahahaha you'd think we would have learned by now that when it comes to being uppity with the fairer sex we are playing way above our capabilities. We should just slink away and lick our wounds LOLOL
FollowupID: 434114

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 23:23

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 23:23
Al, I bet you are pleased youe wife doesn't read your posts on EO. If I said here I would trade he in for three 20s she would hit me over the head before she told me I couln't keep going. I better watch out as she does look here. I better watch my ears before they get boxed.
FollowupID: 434182

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 23:30

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 23:30
Being young(ish) and foolish I'm trying to encourage my lady to get involved. Maybe I should quit while I'm ahead.....
FollowupID: 434183

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 23:45

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 23:45
Bware, never fear , the guys here are true gentlemen once on the road (I have my spies :) Its only because they're not on the road that one finds references to the fairer sex (Well ah duh Footy, if they were on the road they wouldnt be here now would they ?)
As long as your good lady doesnt wear a T shirt slogan that a guys wife I met at Dalhousie years ago was wearing. It said
"My body is my own but I share it"
She only wore it for about 5 mts before changing. It definately wasn't suitable for mixed company. Sometimes when in the bush we forget about the nicities. Reminds me of one of Len Beadells books where they saw some people coming and his missus had to change and brush her hair. :))
FollowupID: 434186

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:10

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:10
John,

I only make those comments when she is out or tucked away in bed. I'm not suicidal LOLOL
FollowupID: 434196

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 08:45

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 08:45
Al,

are you saying she looks over your shoulder so knows what you have written? I have to be polite as Heather gets up to see what has got onto EO and probably has a laugh at what Gramps has said.

F'loosie,

tickled by the though of the lady you met. It wasn't you that took the tee-shirt off to share what was under it was it?

Bware,

May be unwise as I have been told off by a local engineer because his good wife inhabits EO now. Hello Sharyn M. Sharyn has a good source of information , and Des loses his wife for a while during the working day;-)
FollowupID: 434219

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 09:48

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 09:48
John,

She has been known to do that and then deliver a short sharp blow to the LHS of my head just to be affectionate :)))))) She's OK with the time I spend here as she figures it's safer than letting me loose in hardware/electrical/gun/4wd stores.

Her logic is that I'll get so much information my poor little brain will overheat and I'll never make a decision to purchase anything LOLOL

As I said in another post to Footie, we are definitely playing out of our league when we decide to get uppity with the fairer sex hahahaha
FollowupID: 434226

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 10:12

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 10:12
Blows to the head I get are the one liners that could level a medium sized mud brick villa rather than the straight out physical. Come to think of it, everthing is mental these days. LOL

The main thing with purchases is to make sure they are justified afterwards Al. Like the work I did late yesterday with the winch - worked like a port-a-power on the feed out wagon.

Al in regard to what you said to F'loosie about playing out of our league, I hope you don't have the metaphorical equivilent of the Pol Pot in your family.
FollowupID: 434230

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 10:24

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 10:24
LOL .. she let's me get away with a fair bit actually but every now and then she has to bring me down to earth "for my own good" so to speak. Pol Pot ... no, Hitler/Stalin ... close ... ouch!!!!! :))))))

I save the retro-justifications up for the really good stuff. May as well be hung for a sheep as a lamb.
FollowupID: 434232

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 10:31

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 10:31
Gramps, if you think that's bad...Most of MY money is tied up in HER investment account :)))
FollowupID: 434237

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 10:37

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 10:37
hahahaha Footy. SWMBO has always stuck by the adage "What's mine is hers and what's her's is her own" LOLOL
FollowupID: 434238

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 17:18

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 17:18
I'm a retrenched spy...I was retrenched because of "war related illness"...so I guess as an occupation I sponge off society, a bit like a dole bludger who dosen't have to look for work...
So I lay back all day & wonder how hard it must be for the taxpayers who have to work so that I can have my prostate rebored & public expense all be it without a general anasthetic...
AnswerID: 177965

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 23:47

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 23:47
And I thought that I was the only retrenched spy on here :))
FollowupID: 434187

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:12

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:12
I didn't know James Blonde was retrenched; or is that TOP SECRET INFORMATION - only to be viewed by all EO forumites!
FollowupID: 434198

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:16

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:16
Look out Bware. Now they've told you, they'll have to kill you :)))))))))
FollowupID: 434201

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 01:56

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 01:56
As long as it's Octapussy, I don't mind :-))))
FollowupID: 434212

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 23:29

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 23:29
Bware, have a farm which I guess entitles me to drive around with a tool box behind the cab that I can camp out of. It also means the best too box on the farm is the one that few others get to and my 12,000 pound wich is as good as a port-a-power when I need one.

Some times I drive around the state listening to people or camping, other times I drive around the states camping. Both those jobs are voluntary, just as the farming one seems to be.
AnswerID: 178022

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 23:37

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 23:37
John, you are the only "voluntary" farmer I've ever heard of. I always thought farming was just plain never ending hard work with a lot of good luck and good management thrown in. Doesn't sound too voluntary to me :((
As for driving around listening to people, hey cut it out ! That's my job :))
FollowupID: 434185

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 23:55

Sunday, Jun 11, 2006 at 23:55
Nice JohnR, VERY nice. I guess everything is voluntary, philosophically speaking; thanks. As Dame Edna says, 'I think there's something in that for everybody'.
I'm going through some fundamental changes in the way I view/participate in life and it's amazing how much this site has contributed. Ooooh, that's scarey! I hate pulp psychology but it's probably mid-life crisis time! I'm not thinking of leaving my wife for Bo Derek (not very often, anyway), but it occured to me that there's nothing really stopping us from selling our possessions, storing what's valuable and setting off into the sunset... Of course the mother-in-law just rolled her eyes when I slipped that idea in over dinner tonight LOL
FollowupID: 434188

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:01

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:01
Bware, I thought I had a chance with Bo Peep...ooops Bo Derek when I noticed she liked short tubby funny men. Then I noticed she didn't mind older men. Great. Then I got older and thought hmm, all that chassis and no motor LOL
FollowupID: 434192

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:08

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:08
LOL Footloose, I have one word for you - Viagra. But on our budget maybe that inexpensive product called 'imagination' is better.
FollowupID: 434195

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:11

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:11
Nope I need Niagra not Viagra. Something to keep it going down :))))))
FollowupID: 434197

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:15

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:15
Well I'm glad you guys left that till after midnight. We'll need a 'sealed section' on the Forum soon LOLOLOL
FollowupID: 434199

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:15

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:15
I was actually talking about Bo Derek having all that body and no brain :))) Not me, my chassis is rusting away and I sure could use a new engine LOL
FollowupID: 434200

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:17

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:17
Ahh, Gramps. I was wondering when you'd finish your afternoon nap :)))
FollowupID: 434202

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:21

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:21
hahahaha Footy, Netherlands 1 Serbia & Montenegro 0 so far
FollowupID: 434203

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:23

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:23
Well naturally I thought it would be you with the problem and not Bo Derek, who wouldn't? Although in my mind's eye I do see you as Antonio Banderas.....When he is this voice of the pussycat in Shrek 2
FollowupID: 434204

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:24

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:24
Clogs 1-0 against Monty Pythons eh ? Must be time for me to go and turn the Telly Savalis on and relax in my ironside :))
FollowupID: 434205

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:29

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:29
BWare, there is nothing wrong with looking at Gods art. Its like window shopping at the butchers.
Pussycat in Shrek2...hey cut it out, I resemble that !
More like Rumplestiltskin ...if you've got 18yo eyes LOL
FollowupID: 434206

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:38

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 00:38
At the butcher's? Man that sounds a bit sick, and not as in 'sick dude'. Is it all those ox tongues? lamb loins? or perhaps pigs feet 'Mr Footloose'....Something you'd like to discuss with us, hmmm?
FollowupID: 434207

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 08:56

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 08:56
Hey guys, I don't know a thing about Shrek, you better cut that out of contributions. Monty Python is different as I have the best three of those.

Heather just bought the BBC series of Francis Urquhart's exploits as a politician with the best initials in the political business - FU. Loved it first time around. Its good in camp to ensure you get a good nights sleep to watch a bit of DVD anf three double sided DVDs should provide hours of awake time. There was a nice journo there if I remember rightly to challenge Bo Derek's looks. F'loosie, I reckon you need some fish oil on your chassis.

Being a farmer means a capital base, being a voluntary one is a matter of circumstance, I prefer not to have. I always like return on my capital to be positive. I won't elaborate on my listening role as it also has some decision and leadership roles attached and close to others.
FollowupID: 434221

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 09:03

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 09:03
Bware, could have got you some pigs components a week or so back when Rockcrawler was here had we been good enough. No I am not a butcher.

Heather was watching or snoring through the tennis so I read "18 Hours" as I was tucked up to sleep. I didn't catch up who Serbia & Montenegro were playing with. The Age Green Guide forgot they were playing anyone though Serbia and Montenegro were playing one another or them selves. Be a good open game with only one goalie.
FollowupID: 434222

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 09:07

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 09:07
You know, John, people have sometimes referred to me as cryptic, but your role a la listening takes the cake :))
I listen to form opinions and to be reasonably well informed. It's an academic thing with no possible use in my situation. I have no agenda, no wheelbarrow to push. It's liberating, and must be an age thing. (or a financial thing. Not sure about that)
The older I get, the more I suspect that work is what gets in the way of living.
FollowupID: 434223

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 09:15

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 09:15
Bware, obviously you haven't seen young ladies lining up in any sort of beauty pagent. All body but why the vacant stares and permanent smiles ? Surely the most important thing is the personality? And you can't judge that from just looking, can you ? So you might as well be looking through the butchers window. Its all meat , just in different packages :))))))))))
FollowupID: 434224

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 10:01

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 10:01
F'loosie,

Actually I seem to have lost out at listening recently as the guy who organises the listening posts seems to have lost his organisational ability if he had it. Just as well he doesn't come to EO. Gawd, time slips by, ggrrrr

In regard to what you say on the beauty pageant to Bware, I agree. You don't go through life with just a dreamy looking twit partner unless you can't help it or yourself. LOL You need to have a sane and intelligent partner who can help balance you. I think I have seen some pretty surreal art work at times and reckon that truly artistic people may be marvels of partial sanity. Beauty you see on the catwalk is just as surreal and has gone as soon as you mind moves on.
FollowupID: 434227

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 10:15

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 10:15
John, listening posts eh ? Sounds political or commercial, and I dont think the latter is the case. Perhaps it's a farming organization that sends people out to listen for the pitter patter of raindrops ? :))
As for beauty it really is in the eye of the beholder. I used to go out with a minor model years ago. It really was a case of beauty and the beast. Thank goodness it didn't last.
A friends sister is an international model, you've all seen here in the glossies. She lives in the big A, works in Milan etc. But when she comes home she's just a somewhat gawky young woman with freckles. (and 5 houses ) Amazing what makeup artists can do. I once told her that if I didn't get out of bed for more than 10K a day I'd never of learned to walk :))
FollowupID: 434231

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 10:28

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 10:28
John,

What did you think of '18 Hours'? I heard a radio interview with the guy last week and it sounded interesting.
FollowupID: 434234

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 11:20

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 11:20
F'loosie, I will have a week of talking to the company suppliers early in August. Political, I couldn't possibly comment. I won't lower the Forum to political jousting ;-)

I went out with a minor model at one stage too but soooo conceited I couldn't bear it. Mate I wouldn't mind being close to an intelligent gawky woman with freckles though - especially if about 190cm tall. LOL A tall order you may say. Houses would be unlikely to be a benefit to me. Have three here on the farm and another in town through the SF.

Al, am enjoying 18 HOURS but will finish it over the next few days at the rate I put it down late at night. Bought a copy for my mates 60th this weekend at the same time and I am half way through since Friday. With two birthday parties on Saturday night thats no mean feat. I read Kokoda quite quickly while tripping last year in Queensland and that was thicker.
FollowupID: 434245