High Country

Submitted: Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 22:46
ThreadID: 34875 Views:2629 Replies:10 FollowUps:32
Well, just got home.

1) bleep it was cold... Puddles were frozen and some small dams had 2inch layer of ice on them!

2) see 1..

3) They have ruined Craigs Hut. simple as that.
I dont care what any of you "oh its delightful and spiffy, pass me a latte" people think...
... but after seeing first hand the nightmare that is now the "CARPARK", I wont bother going back to it, it was just out of control.. Dozens turned up at same time, which had some actually parking on the garden/center part whre your supposed to go around! Theres just no room once people park around the edges, for cars to get past each other! GENIUS INC (the parks)
VIEWING PLATFORMS? WTF4? Ahhhhh thats where picnic tables will go...

4) bleep it was cold...

5) there will be a boomgate there by this time next yr charging entry to craigs.

6) talkin to members of CFA club that were the actual blokes that helped rebuild the hut yrs back, they too said they will never be back now that you can get a 2wd up there. "time to find another hut in the middle of nowhere and start there"....

7) fuk it was cold. -5 this morning at Pineapple Flat.. Tents were frozen, everyones billy/cans/tubs that were left out for minutes FROZE! never been cold in the HC before, but this was different... even the wash from cars going thru the creeks froze!

8) Couldnt believe people leavin campsites burning at end of weekend STILL! one was better than our fire the night before, and not a soul around...

9) Thought I was on drugs, came aross a TEEPEE up near Lovicks Hut remains on the hill... couldnt believe my eyes!

.. plenty of tracks CLOSED on FRIDAY! NONE mentioned on the parks site.

Still good to be out and about - last trip for the GQ

more later with photos.

Reply By: Jimbo - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 23:15

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 23:15
Sounds like you had a great time Bruce LOL.

Do you have anything to tell us about that was good? ROFLMAO.

Of course it was cold in the High Country in the middle of June. What did you expect, a Tropical Monsoon?
AnswerID: 178176

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 13:06

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 13:06
Considering we do this trip as an annual event in the club, I know what to expect, as in theory it would be same yr afta yr... which it wasnt.
FollowupID: 434404

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 17:56

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 17:56
You expect consistency in Victorian weather?
FollowupID: 434444

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 21:34

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 21:34
concidering it usually snows at Craigs hut, im with Jimbo , what did you expect lol

Though, you were taking the new monster out , CHICKENED OUT ??
FollowupID: 434506

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 21:49

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 21:49
Right Eric,

My first trip to Craig's was two years ago on the 2nd of June and it snowed.

As we were on our own and just there for a day trip without any food or bedding we p!ssed off quick and got back to "tropical" Mansfield. It was a sweltering 6 degrees there.
FollowupID: 434513

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 07:29

Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 07:29
new truck not setup yet, no radios nuthin... but thats comin
FollowupID: 434559

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 23:17

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 23:17
Haha.

If it wasn't so sad it'd be funny. At least they've done it to a fake hut not a real one.

I still think it's a real shame that the most well known hut isn't even legit. The ba$tard child of cattlemens huts if you like.

Anyway. It keeps the hordes away from the ones I like I spose.

I know what you mean by cold - camped in -4°C at Davies Plain a few weeks ago.

Packed the tents with the ice still on them!

Hope you had a good weekend.

What's happening to the mighty 'trol?

AnswerID: 178177

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 12:43

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 12:43
it was that cold, that at the end of day 3 when unfoldign tents and shadecloth, they still had Ice on them!

the TD6 GU is replacing the GQ :)
FollowupID: 434402

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 16:56

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 16:56
Are getting a slush box fitted to the TD6?

Was it cold up there? I thought you might have at least given us a bit of an insight as to whether the weather was dry/wet; warm/cold etc....hehehehe
FollowupID: 434435

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 21:53

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 21:53
Yer Bill I dont think he mentioned if it was cold or not

FollowupID: 434514

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 07:30

Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 07:30
The box and gear is in the hands of our god.. hes arranging it :)
FollowupID: 434560

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 23:18

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 23:18
Mate I was in the Little Desert and it was down to -1 also.

Just winter in Vic I guess.

AnswerID: 178178

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 07:30

Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 07:30
-1.. Heatwave! ;)~

Many around there? Might head somewhere different next yr for June...
FollowupID: 434561

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 23:54

Monday, Jun 12, 2006 at 23:54
C'mon Truckie, what did you expect? It's always bloody cold in Vic hahahahahaha

When does the Maccas franchise open at Craig's Hut ??????????????????????
AnswerID: 178181

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 13:11

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 13:11
Oh shoosh, you will up set someone here .. he doubts Maccas will happen up there.. but some of the taxi's we saw up there, I'll put a 50 on it tar is only a few yrs off.
FollowupID: 434407

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 14:15

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 14:15
You might be right Bruce, was reading something the other day where some outfit wants permission for ski development around Mt Stirling.....sounds like more damage to the enviroment, oh that's ok as it's a money making commercial development.

Gramps, don't really think you know what bloody cold is. Don't you know Mexico is hot....... you Siberian wimp :)
FollowupID: 434414

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 15:56

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 15:56

its Siberian hamster you silly man hahahahahaha besides, it snows in Mexico, just like the High Country Ray :)))))))))))))))))))))
FollowupID: 434427

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 16:28

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 16:28
Ahhhhhhh..... that answers the stickers on the back of the Tie Die 61 Kombi stating somethin like
SAY NO TO THE MT STIRLING DEVELOPMENT
FollowupID: 434431

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 09:13

Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 09:13
No Maccas up there would be complete without a McCafe.

The latte sippers would gripe about having to drink substandard cappucinos but not as much as they'd gripe about not getting one at all.

Gotta have something to put in the cup holders in the X5, Rangie etc.

Course they won't go in their Toorak Tractors until it is bitumened either.

Most of them probably think that little lever next to the auto shifter (if it's got one at all) is just for hanging the missus handbag on.

FollowupID: 434580

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 15, 2006 at 09:12

Thursday, Jun 15, 2006 at 09:12
There was a hairdresser crusing around in a X trail, that thought he was going to do the Ripped up part of Westons, I would have paid to see that, infact if we had time I would have followed!
FollowupID: 434785

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (VIC) - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 01:23

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 01:23
Can beat that Truckster - we went to the Ovens river near Wangaratta and it got to minus 7'C on Sunday night - now that is f*****g cold! The swag, sleeping bag (supposed to be rated minus 10 - bull bleep !!) , blankets, wool jumpers, blankets, socks and even the dog in the swag didn't help!!
But agree with you re Craigs Hut - they tell me they are going to run coach tours up there next year, for all the rich folk that have bought a share of the multi million dollar properties they are going to flog off at Tom Groggin Station!
Dunno what the HC is coming to these days, but it sure as hell is getting harder and harder to find somewhere to get away from it all up there.
Maybe thats the idea - be to busy to go so they can lock it all up for ever - why not it started with the cattlemen, why not follow with 4wd's?
AnswerID: 178185

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 13:05

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 13:05
Yea Id like to know how they work out the ratings on sleeping bags etc.. Mine was like a mobile esky. its -8 rated...
I had Jeans, 2 pr explorer sox, shirt, flanno, jacket, beany, theralite gloves, and still popped a nipple in the cold.

We luckily had an area near Bindree Hut to ourselves, but ALL the wood in the area wouldnt burn well enough to create more than coals. :(

As I said, this time next year, there will be a boom gate up there.

Couldnt believe Lovicks Hut still is only a dozen poles sticking up!
FollowupID: 434403

Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 17:57

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 17:57
Waddo,

where abouts do you go on the Ovens? We usually go to Frosts behind Peechelba

Wazza.
FollowupID: 434445

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (VIC) - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 18:58

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 18:58
Been there a few times - usually at Easter a few years ago - but it tended to get a bit busy. with a few too many bleep heads for my liking. We know a friendly farmer who has a few k's of river front in between Peechelba and Bundalong, which is handy for the pub!
FollowupID: 434452

Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 19:01

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 19:01
Sounds like a handy guy to know. I plead not guilty to being one of the piss heads, we are usually the only ones around when we go!
FollowupID: 434453

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 07:31

Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 07:31
Ya not kiddin there Wazza! I wanna know this bloke too!
FollowupID: 434562

Follow Up By: Member- Rox (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 10:51

Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 10:51
Don't want to stir the pot but last weekend near Bremmer Bay WA I was in Shorts & Tshirt during the day.
FollowupID: 434602

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (VIC) - Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 13:20

Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 13:20
Thought about posting his address, phone no. and map co-ordinates on here so all you lot who go up the High Country would go there instead but for some reason decided against it!!.
FollowupID: 434626

Reply By: Mbr - Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 04:36

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 04:36
Hey Folks,

Not to rain on your parade but:

I grew up in Tassie...thought it was cold there...

Ended up living near Canberra...thought it was cold there...

Started working in Afghanistan ( Arsecrackistan ).....Let me tell you for a fact... Parts of Europe get colder than Antarctica.......Makes an Aussie winter look like a balmy day in the tropics.

Last January in Arsecrackistan I was standing outside for 90 minutes at a time guarding the US Embassy and it was minus 27 degrees celcius... I bleep you not.. I have never been so cold in my life.... It just eats through seven...yes ... seven layers of clothing and freezes you until it hurts.... Good thing there was little to no wind or I would really have been up the proverbial creek with no means of propulsion.

Looking forward to next winter....NOT !!!!!

Cheers Taz
AnswerID: 178190

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 09:56

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 09:56
Some years ago in Europe (when I was young and stupid) I changed the starter motor on a Ford Escort whilst lying on my back in the snow when it was -22C.

I spent most of last week up in the High Country where it was -5C at night and the sun didn't get into the valley until 10.30am and left at 4pm so it only rose above freezing for about 5 hours during the day. I needed a blanket (for the first time) on top of my -5C rated sleeping bag. Ice was about 6mm thick on my water buckets in the morning and I turned the gas off on the fridge after day 1. Oh the joys of camping :)

FollowupID: 434379

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 13:09

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 13:09
we suffered from the lack of sun too.. Never been that cold up there before.

Will be investing in a -40 sleeping bag this week.
We also turned the fridge off, and just left beers wrapped in towels in the tent to stop them freezing!
FollowupID: 434405

Follow Up By: c j - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 14:43

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 14:43
Same...no need to chill the beers there this weekend. We had good fires though so it wasn't too bad at night and if you drink enough you won't feel the cold anyway ; )
FollowupID: 434419

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 16:29

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 16:29
all the wood we got wouldnt burn properly! It was good wood, but just turned to coals putting out vERy Little heat... might have been enough for zook owners though :P
FollowupID: 434432

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 09:41

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 09:41
Hi ya Bruce,
Sad to see the end of an era re the retirement of the GQ Family Truckster mate,
but tell me.....how was the weather in the HC, LOL.....

Hope the GU gives you as much pleasure as mine has for the last 170,000k's or so......

Great post HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA still pi$$ing meself
AnswerID: 178210

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 15, 2006 at 09:12

Thursday, Jun 15, 2006 at 09:12
Dont be like that :P
FollowupID: 434786

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 10:21

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 10:21
Bruce, sounds like you went up the four lane highway you said you never would and now the next purchase will be a gennie to make sure an electric heater or heat pump will get warm air round the swag. You must be getting old and frail, it was the last birfday wotdunnit.

We went to Port Fairy on Saturday and friends had frost to the grass above the beach for the first time they could remember. Just above sea level.
AnswerID: 178218

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 13:10

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 13:10
was the stingrays still at the wharf? need to get better photos nexttime
FollowupID: 434406

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 14:10

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 14:10
Didn't see them mate, saw lots of little fish though.

Above the water the replica of the Dutch ship the Duyfken www.duyfken.com/original/braveship.html was there and a few guys with muscats and cannons with smells of black powder over the river. The (replica) Duyfken is tripping around commemoration the Dutch discovery of the Cape York Peninsular 400 years ago - 1606. Dutch friends apparently have had 5 Euro coins sent from the commemoration in Europe but hardly recognised here. We missed the firing of the main defensive cannon in Port Fairy on Saturday by the local Dutch born MP. Shadow minister for Municipal, The Hon John Vogels.
FollowupID: 434413

Follow Up By: Old Scalyback & denny - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 18:46

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 18:46
goodday john

not picking on your spelling but were they drinking while in charge of fire arms "muscats" or no drinks and shooting muskets lolololol
you would almost think bruce reckoned it was cold over the weekend lololololol
personally i would think the muscat would have a beneficial feeling all round and be used as a warmer upper

FollowupID: 434448

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 21:56

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 21:56
Well I knew they didn't have smokeless powder in the bottles Steve. They were drinking it all in and much ejoyment all around. Very convivial musketing too. Thanks LOL

Reckon Trucky would have noticed his pants on fire as it would have been his warmest part while they were alight.
FollowupID: 434515

Reply By: GRAEME - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 19:42

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 19:42
I camped at bindaree hut on sat night and I was a bit hot. Well, still hot under the collar that is after the pr!cks on the toll gate to mt buller woundn't let me through to the cuircut rd after they shut the gate at TBJ at 5pm fri night. GEEZ I was wild, I would off run the b@st@rd over if he had of come outside. There was nothing to stop you from driving around the cuircut rd once you were in there. What if you needed to get out in an emergancy? Or if you went in on thurs or fri and were going to go out the same way as some of the blokes at bindaree were?
I must have spoken to 20 people and none could beleive it when the tracks aren't meant to be closed to the 15th. GEEZ I was wild!!!! did I allready say that?
As for the fire i allways take some wood with me cause the wood up there is rubbish.
Sorry for the rant, I just had to tell someone:(
Graeme
AnswerID: 178321

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 13:24

Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 13:24
Sounds like fun............Was is cold??
AnswerID: 178425