spotlights again !!! IPF 900XS ? Cibie Oscar SC ?

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 01:07
ThreadID: 34877 Views:8974 Replies:8 FollowUps:3
Yep, I'm at it again.
I have done a search and have a few more questions.

Anyone out there with Cibie Oscar SC ?
4WD Monthly used 2 spread beams in their big comparison a few years back but all the others were one spot, one spread. WTF ???
The cibie website shows some encouraging figures.
www.cibie.net/cibie_aux_lighting.htm

What about IPF 900XS?
About a year ago they were getting a good rap.

Lightforce 240 will fit but would stick out a fair bit and IMO would block too much air flow.

To me, the best light would be a Lightforce XGT in about 190mm.

Reply By: Michael B - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 09:16

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 09:16
Mornin' Muzzgit,

Have IPF 900XS, both spots, and a headlight upgrade in the Troopy and very happy.

I too looked at Cibie but settled on IPF.

Guess it is the old story, whatever works for you.

Michael B (SA)

AnswerID: 178209

Reply By: Scubaroo - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 10:29

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 10:29
Cousin who does a lot of rallying/4WD has tried both these lights, reckons Lightforce 170s leave them for dead.
AnswerID: 178219

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 00:03

Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 00:03
When I did a search I noted that you had asked similar questions in the past. If you don't mind me asking, which lights did you end up with?

I think I have settled on the IPF 900XS
FollowupID: 434542

Reply By: Member - John L G - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 10:49

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 10:49
Muzzgit

As you can see from the rig pic I have IPF's on the front of the cruiser.

Three of those cost the same as two of the lightforce and don't stick out beyond the bar work like the Lightforce do. Much neater and easy on the eye.

Works for me and turns night into day, literally. I agree about a lightforce 200mm but it's notto be.

Ciao
AnswerID: 178221

Reply By: Exploder - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 18:38

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 18:38
Is it just me or do the CIBIE APOLLO look a lot like the Lightforce 240’s

Anyhow back on topic I have the CIBIE Oscar’s one Spread and one spot beam and think there Pro-Formance is good considering they are not a big light.
AnswerID: 178304

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 23:31

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2006 at 23:31
G'day Muzzgit, Yeah lights( the choices are wide and varied) can be a problem, what brand, what strenght, whatever! I have the IPF 900xs and I'm very happy with their proformance and durability(had them for over 2years now). I live about 80ksnorth east of Melbourne, in the foothills, there aren't many streetlights out here so along with the IPF Headlight upgrade I find the XS's great.
Hope this helps,
andy
AnswerID: 178367

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 07:40

Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 07:40
Remember legally you have to have 2 spot OR 2 spread. not one of each...

Im in the same boat, talking to a mate with a TD6 with 2x240s he has no issues heating up/blockin air which worries me too. so I'll try em see what happens.

again, you believe anything you read in print media?
AnswerID: 178381

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 21:52

Wednesday, Jun 14, 2006 at 21:52
Truckster, I would cry blue murder if plod said anything about my spotties being one spot, one flood!!!

What does annoy me though is cars with spotlights above the cab, particularly when they are lightforce 240's, even more so when they have 4 of the bastards !!!

I thought it was illegal to have driving lights of any kind, shape, size above the driver eyes.

If it is illegal to put a lift kit on a vehicle that raises the headlights over a set height, why should it be any different to spotlights.

I have been blasted once or twice by lights on top of utes, usually because the driver cannot see my lights coming over the hill.

Anyway, the 900XS with wiring loom, relay & switch, will be delivered to work tomorrow and I will have a little job to do on Sat before we go to the footy.........by the way, FOR SALE, one pair of Cibie Oscar spotlights, in good nick hahahaha

Muzz
FollowupID: 434731

Reply By: OsherG - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 20:30

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 20:30
G'day muzz thats a shame mate i have customers who swear by teh Oscar SC's purely for the broad beams and love to tee themselves up with one pencil and one spread and have gotten rid of 4 lightforce XGT's in favour of that set up... the IPF's use a cheaper glass in them than the Cibies, I'd reccomend Cibie SC's anyday plus you get the benefit of better airflow with lamps that aren't as big but wth perfiormance that is second to none!
AnswerID: 179315

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 01:13

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 01:13
Osh, better late than never, eh!

Yeah mate, we went with the IPF 900XS, although my mate barry isn't 100% convinced. I put them on my car, set them up and drove to his place [about 1.5 hours away] and went for a drive late at night to check them out.

The spot beam is absolutely great. Very "white" and a fair bit longer than my old Oscars, but I'm yet to see for real what the spread beam is like, because the roads we were on didn't have much in the way of trees or shrubs on the sides.

Bazz wont get to put them on his car for a week or so cos he is working his ass off 12 hour days, 7 days a week at the mo.

The thing with the Cibie oscar SC is I cannot find any one who has them, no one in Perth stocks them, or knows anything about them. I dont want to offend you but, yours is the only word I have to go on!

NOW, if there was some way in which we could compare the two lights, I would sit up and listen.

Muzz
FollowupID: 435596

Reply By: OsherG - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 02:09

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 02:09
Shame that no-one stocks em…I suppose that’s why I get the job of posting them all around Austalia, well if you have some mates who ned some bits and pieces then let me know….You should call HANSA sales@hansaparts.com.au or 03 9328 4991 to find out who distributes a good range of Cibie items in WA, maybe someone out there knows!

Osher
AnswerID: 179380