Phone Scam

Submitted: Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 13:15
ThreadID: 34979 Views:2852 Replies:15 FollowUps:11
Site Link

anyone been hit with it? We got a warning through work today

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I dont usually post this sorta manure, but this came from head of security at work here.
Not sure if this has been posted, or how it works (being charged $100a call), but our security team are working with telstra on this.

Good Morning,
AIS have been advised that there is a mobile phone scam currently circulating that seems to be genuine.

If you receive a phone call or a missed call on your mobile from any of the numbers listed below. DO NOT ANSWER OR RETURN THE CALL.

This is a scam for a competition whereby the caller is charged $100 for the call .

The list of phone numbers to be cautious of are:

(03) 8102 9565
(02) 8219 0500
(03) 8558 0556
02) 8303 8320
(03) 8558 1441
02) 8303 8321
(03) 8558 1442
(02) 8404 2201
(03) 8558 1443
(02) 8404 2203
(03) 8558 1444
(02) 8404 2213
(03) 8558 1445
(02) 8404 2215
(03) 8558 1446
(02) 8404 2235
(03) 8558 1447
(02) 8404 2236
(03) 9540 2950
(02) 8404 2245
(03) 9540 5100
(02) 8404 2296
(03) 9540 5101
(02) 8404 2298
(03) 9540 5187
(03) 9540 5189
(03) 9855 2913

Best safe practice
Do not return any missed calls that are on your mobile that don't have a voicemail message attached or aren't recognised. Similarly, do not answer any calls from the above list and be cautious of answering any calls that are unrecognized. This scam may not be limited to this list of numbers above.

AIS is currently investigating with Telstra and will advise on the legitimacy of the scam as soon as information is available.

Reply By: Member - John L G - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 13:26

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 13:26
Truckster

We have been similarly warned in Health WA.

It would seem they can leave a missed call on your phone without it actually ringing and giving you the opportunity to pick up.

Surrounded by crooks.....
AnswerID: 178781

Reply By: Member - Dedalus (SA) - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 13:39

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 13:39
What appen if you call back using a normal home phone line?
I just returned back a call 1 week ago but did not used mobile phone ....

Luca
AnswerID: 178782

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 13:45

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 13:45
I think I might have had something similar to this on my home phone the other day!

It was ringing and I ran to the phone, but was too late, the ansering machine had picked it up, so I grabbed the phone and said "HELLO!?" and there was silence. Then a telstra lady saying "You will be charge premium rates for this call" or somthing similar. I thought WTF?!?! And hung up.
AnswerID: 178784

Follow Up By: JJ - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 21:55

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 21:55
I got this warning today...have not compared if the numbers are the same, but the charge is $50...

Subject: Phone scams - Missed calls (Not a Joke)

Hey Everyone,
This is NOT a joke..
I Got a missed call from one of the numbers on this list... (03) 8102 9565
Please dont ring these back.. It will cost you..
Ebbz

if you get a missed call from one of the following numbers, don't call it back.
if you do, you will be charged $50 as it is an internet number...it says you have won $40 and to call another number....then you will get slapped with another $50 amount.

It's been doing the rounds in canberra....i received the prank this morning!
Danielle T.

The list of phone numbers you may be pranked from:
• (02) 8219 0500
• (02) 8303 8320
• (02) 8303 8321
• (02) 8404 2201
• (02) 8404 2203 au.messenger.yahoo.com

The information in this email and any attachments is confidential and intended for the addressee only. Unauthorised acces etc. etc.
FollowupID: 435179

Reply By: Shawsie (Bris) - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 13:48

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 13:48
Both me and SWMBO got a (missed) call from the first number on the above list (GULP!). We both thought it strange that they we're both from the same number and within 1s of each other and not known to us. I told her not to bother phoning back cos I thought it might be telemarketers trying to fish for numbers - glad we did'nt. Mungrels!
AnswerID: 178785

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 15:43

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 15:43
but look how they got your #. possibly porn sites ;)~
FollowupID: 435071

Reply By: agsmky - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 14:04

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 14:04
This scam is quite popular at the moment......check out Site Link for more details. 4WM have been following this for a while at " target="EOF" class="lbg">www.4wisemonkeys.com/dc-phone-scam/

FYI, it sounds like it is impossible that they can charge you $100 from reading the article.

AnswerID: 178787

Follow Up By: agsmky - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 14:08

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 14:08
BTW, the trick is to add these numbers to your mobile's address book with a name like "SCAM" etc. Then when they do ring, you should see the name "scam" pop up on the screen.

andrew
FollowupID: 435052

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 14:14

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 14:14
Mate here at work has answered one of these calls (ie: he rang back)....he hasn't had a phone bill since this happened and is now chitting himself.

My brother who lives in Melb got one too, but didn't phone back.

My BIG QUESTION: why the bloody hell hasn't telstra shut these numbers down by now? I first heard about this earlier this week!!!
AnswerID: 178788

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 14:22

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 14:22
I wondered that too! I suppose if it's sus then maybe ring from a pay phone first.

FollowupID: 435053

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 15:36

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 15:36
Roachie, legally they're doing nothing wrong. It's you the punter that makes the call. Deceptive yes. Illegal, no. The laws hands are tied at the moment but I believe they're trying to find a way to shut them down.
FollowupID: 435065

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 15:40

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 15:40
I would have thought that it would be illegal to do what they are doing without being 'up-front' about the costs. IE: they should announce at the beginning of the call (when you've dialled the number) that.......... "this call will cost you $100-; press 1 to continue".

After all that is the sort of thing that the competitions that use 1900 etc have to do I think?

Anyway, if it's not illegal, it bloody-well should be!!!! ;-)))
FollowupID: 435068

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 15:42

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 15:42
its only an issue if you ring the 190 # from there apparently $5 a min!
FollowupID: 435070

Reply By: Bros 1 - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 14:28

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 14:28
Truckster,
Just received this warning in Q.
Fair Trading Minister Margaret Keech warns consumers to get up to speed and avoid being stung by the latest marketing scheme targeting mobile phones.

Mrs Keech said the Office of Fair Trading had received numerous complaints this week from consumers who found themselves left with big bills they did not expect after responding to calls.

"Consumers are being stung by huge phone bills and ongoing fees and charges simply because they don't understand what they are getting themselves into," she said.

"It all begins with a missed call to a mobile. When the consumer returns the call they are greeted with a recorded message, telling them they have won a gift, but to claim the gift they must ring a 190 number.

"When consumers ring the 190 number they are notified by message that they have signed up for a weekly ring tone promotion. What they may not be aware of is the potentially high costs associated with the calls, nor may they be aware about the nature of all terms and conditions they may face because they have responded.

"You should always check the cost and any terms and conditions of any premium service before you use it otherwise you may receive a massive shock when your bill arrives. You may even find yourself locked into something more, such as an ongoing subscription fee.

"Be wary about calls from numbers you don't recognise. It's your choice whether or not you call back.

"Mobile phone marketing is not illegal, although consumers need to be aware of the tactics unscrupulous marketers use to sign them up to these schemes."

Mrs Keech said consumers could consider taking the following steps to protect themselves:

·permanently barring calls to 190 phone numbers from your mobile; and

·being careful who you give your details to - particularly for things like competition entries as your details may be made available for marketing purposes.

"As in the case of land lines, consumers can also have their mobile phone number taken off marketing lists by adding their name to the 'Do Not Contact' database on the Australian Direct Marketing Association's (ADMA) website www.adma.com.au," she said.

"ADMA has also developed a Mobile Marketing Code of Practice to guide businesses using this direct marketing option.

"Conditions of the Code include not sending unsolicited or untargeted commercial messages and offering an opt-out option for consumers to stop receiving messages.

"Businesses and consumers can download the code from www.adma.com.au."

Mrs Keech said by law all marketers must remove you from their contact lists if requested.

"If you're fed up with marketers targeting your mobile, you have a number of options," she said.

"If you have requested your details be removed from a marketer's list but you are still being contacted, contact the Office of the Federal Privacy Commissioner on 1300 363 992 or visit www.privacy.gov.au.

"You can also make a complaint with the Australian Communications Authority. Call 1300 850 115 or visit www.aca.gov.au."

Mrs Keech said the Office of Fair Trading and other consumer protection agencies around Australia and New Zealand had been alerted to the mobile marketing scheme and were working together to raise the awareness amongst consumers.

For more consumer advice visit www.fairtrading.qld.gov.au or contact the Office of Fair Trading on 13 13 04.

Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 178795

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 14:30

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 14:30
I've had two calls Bruce but was aware of the scam beforehand.
AnswerID: 178796

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 15:22

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 15:22
you been standing on the corner again....probably a kiwi wanting to solicit you
FollowupID: 435059

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 17:50

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 17:50
yeah took me by suprise, only calls I've ever received on my mobile :)
FollowupID: 435119

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 19:09

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 19:09
Hmmm I get an SMS from some dingy bar in Melbourne every other week with some free drinks offer etc etc. Problem is I have'nt been to Melbourne in nearly 10 years !!!!! Obviously I must be one of their valued customers hahahahahahahaha
FollowupID: 435134

Reply By: johannagoanna - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 15:45

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 15:45
Yeah, I had one of these the other day. My husband has just started a new job, and not knowing his work number, i though it was him, and called back. The recorded message I got was something to do with dating or something????? I hung up when I realised what was going on! I hope to god I don't get charged - i will let you know!

Jo
AnswerID: 178807

Reply By: FZJ 80 - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 22:02

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 22:02
Truckster,

Thanks for the heads up.
Got to thinking , recently had 2 missed calls that i didn't hear ring (No doubt the shysters hang up as soon as it connects) and checked the call register. 23.04.06 5.44pm from 0395405189 which is one of the no's on your list. The other 1 is a 02 no, possibly the same dodgy pri*ks!.

AnswerID: 178867

Reply By: Plugger - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 22:40

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 22:40
Also got one of these calls the other day. Thinking it was a call I was waiting for I rang back. Hung up as soon as I realised it was a shonky or marketing call. Have to wait a couple of weeks till I get my phone bill to see if I get charged. If so I will not pay it. Plugger
AnswerID: 178873

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 00:59

Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 00:59
Hiya Folks,

This has been around for a while and there was a post about this on EO a while back.

There is an Article about it today in the Sydney Morning Herald. Link.

All I can say is that there are some real assholes out there that like to push the envelope of legality and ethical behaviour in order to make a buck.

Muddy
AnswerID: 178887

Follow Up By: brett - Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 10:54

Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 10:54
You won't get charged anymore than a local call, assuming your ringing an 03 number and your in an 03 number. Telstra or Optus or whoever your with can't charge you premium rates for normal local numbers. The bit the scammers are hoping to get you on is when you call them they tell you to call the 1900 number, then they can charge you the premium rate if you call their 1900 number. It's not good but you don't need much common sense to think hmm maybe ringing this 1900 number to get my free gift is a scam.
FollowupID: 435216

Reply By: GQ_TUFF - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 21:47

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 21:47
Hi, I to have recived a couple of calls from these numbers, I was one of the silly ones to call it back, listened to the first sentance and relised what it was and hung up, was just reading this thread and got scared as i have not recived my bill as yet, so i logged on to my online billing and checked my calls to be billed.....all is good just normal call charges.

So dont worry people.
AnswerID: 179342

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 00:20

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 00:20
Point 1. All of the numbers listed will not incur anything other than the local call charge +STD charges if interstate in origin.

Point 2. The only calls that are charged at $3.95/min are the 190* numbers you are asked to call in the preceding msg (point 1)

Point 3. There is no way that there can be an automatic transfer from a fixed line number ("call forwarding") to a 190* number, the exchanges will not allow it, that's why they have to ask you to ring it.
AnswerID: 179375

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:34

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:34
what about 0284042293

bleep ers...... hahaha no idea who it was.

Hello if I missed your call, next time leave me a message

hahahaha
AnswerID: 179567