New Prado.

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 22:43
ThreadID: 35028 Views:2087 Replies:4 FollowUps:2
Finally got my new Prado TD this week YAY YAY YAY. Only took 3weeks. Managed to get enough time away from work to take it out for a quick spin. Very impressed with the auto box and the soft sand capability. Used to have a gas powered manual Patrol that would stop dead at gear shift in this stuff but the new 3.0TD has heaps of grunt and the box is quick enough to cruise through the S@*t. Love it can't wait to get it out in the boonies. Steel roo bar has loads of space behind it? Will have to try and fill it up if i can convince SWMBO to release funds from the treasury. Don't have a winch compatible roo bar any thoughts on what to slot in here?

Cheers and cold beers.
Pilbara1
ps Go Aussies in foozball.

Reply By: Mudness - Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 08:08

Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 08:08
G'day Pilbara1, my brother got his about two weeks ago. Same as you, he had the manual petrol (Prado) before and is very happy with the TD auto. Where in the Pilbara are you? I left Port Hedland late 2000 after 8years there. Loved it, heaps of great fishing/camping spots and 99% great weather (can get a bit windy in the cyclone season). Used to work for an engineering company in town and surrounding minesites. Enjoy the new Prado. Mudness
AnswerID: 179028

Follow Up By: Pilbara1 - Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 13:49

Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 13:49
Happily living in Wickham. Second time around (3yrs now & 6yrs previous). Love the surrounding country side and the weather (especially now). Just gotta organise more time away from work to stretch the Prado's legs a bit.
FollowupID: 435348

Reply By: Darian (SA) - Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 09:52

Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 09:52
Indeed - drove one of the Prado 3.0 auto TD's last year on a fishing trip in far west of SA - like a camel in soft sand....... went down to about 17psi all round....... towns tyres though - no good on the stones but they were ideal for the sand..... heaps of soft powdery sand over the dunes proved no barrier........ great road tourer also, with the cruise control.

AnswerID: 179036

Reply By: Member - Peter A (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 11:15

Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 11:15
Pilbara,
I to have just up dated from a 99 snowy to a 06 Grande 3.0 TD and luv it, I had my snowy for 7 years and it never stopped, hope I get the same from the Grande, enjoy the Prado mate

Peter A
AnswerID: 179044

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 12:20

Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 12:20
Is this with the new TD motor or does the Prado still run the same TD as it has for the past years?

Thinking of one myself!

FollowupID: 435342

Reply By: Member - Kevin R (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 18:25

Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 18:25
Still same turbo diesel. Replacement due in next 6 months so i hear
AnswerID: 179088