CYA Laterrrrrrrrrrrrrrr....Forumites

Submitted: Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 08:44
ThreadID: 35054 Views:2064 Replies:17 FollowUps:8
We leave tomorrow morning for our 10 week trek out into the western deserts.

Will be visiting the Great Victoria Desert, The Gibson Desert, The Little Sandy Desert. some of the CSR, and the Great Sandy Desert. After that we will make for the coast to a few places we have missed in all our travels so far and then on the return journey we will drive through the Gascoigne, Goldfields and Eucla and across the Big Null back to Crow Land. Last time I did the Nullarbor there was still 700km of dirt to travel so it will be a new experience. Hopefully the westerlies will be up and we will get a good tail wind.

We will have EO Member John(Vic) and daughterin in their Troopy with us as far as Newman, and friends from Darwin in their 4.2 GU as far as The Great Northern Hwy. The group meets at Coober Pedy tomorrow night.

It will be good to get 'out there' again and to smell the wide open spaces.(Not that its crowded where I live..lol)

Catch ya in September.

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 08:47

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 08:47
I still have two weeks before setting off. Have a great trip, and will certainly hear from and possibly see you in the bush :))
AnswerID: 179151

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 08:58

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 08:58
No worries Footy. I will give you a call around 10 July on your Satphone to see where we all are at.
FollowupID: 435426

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 09:02

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 09:02
Great, look forward to it. BTW if you see any rain clouds out there, just blow em right back where they came from. Travel safely :))
FollowupID: 435427

Reply By: Member - Ian S (NT) - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 08:58

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 08:58
Hi Willem,

have a great trip sounds good. I really enjoyed around Emu. Are you taking the old track direct to 300 Mile marker out by Dingo Claypan ?
I/'m sure Judith will get heaps of artistic inspiration out there.

We missed out on the trip through the Pilbara, Great Sandy, Telfer through to CSR and Rudall River this year when the fuel pump had to be rebuilt. Uncertainty and the financial embarressment caused us to postpone and get back to Mt Dare to earn some more pennies.

Bon voyage

Ian@Mt Dare
AnswerID: 179153

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 09:05

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 09:05
G'day Ian

Not sure which is the 'old track'. Just following my nose out there and will see where we end up.

We have a box full of painting gear! I have promised the crew a more relaxed trip this year with longer stops in places. Just keeping an open mind. No doubt we will find lots of side tracks to take.

FollowupID: 435428

Follow Up By: Member - Ian S (NT) - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 14:15

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 14:15
Willem,

The track from 250 mile marker to the 300 mile marker. You can leave the Anne Beadell to head on that bearing and rejoin after coming through from Dingo Claypan and Totem 1 and 2.

An alternative to crossing those parallel railway lines they call corrugations out there!!

Safe travelling.

Ian @Mt Dare
FollowupID: 435474

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 14:38

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 14:38
Thanks Ian...we intended doing that, as one of our group wants to go there.

FollowupID: 435482

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 09:17

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 09:17
Have a gret trip Bro. Hope you don't have too much trouble out there and keep youe women out of trouble too.
AnswerID: 179156

Reply By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 09:44

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 09:44
Hi Willem & Judith

Have a great time you two and thoroughly enjoy yourselves!

Cya
Muddy and Judy
AnswerID: 179159

Reply By: Des Lexic - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 09:47

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 09:47
Have a great trip old fella. Take care of Judith and your Granny and look forward to the reports when you get a chance.
AnswerID: 179160

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 14:06

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 14:06
Hope Granny doesn't see too many red, orange or yellow trucks. Knowing she goes bow wow wow bow wow wow bow wow wow bow wow wow bow wow wow every time in your ear.
FollowupID: 435469

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 14:40

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 14:40
LOL John.

Are you still suffering from the day in the Clare Valley
FollowupID: 435483

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 15:24

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 15:24
Willie, it just became contageous. Heather was doing it next. LOL
FollowupID: 435492

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 09:58

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 09:58
Have a great trip Willem!

And have a safe one.

Am eagerly awaiting the write up and photos on your return.

cheers,
Sam.
AnswerID: 179162

Reply By: Bros 1 - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 11:16

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 11:16
Willem,
Happy trails and await reports.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 179176

Reply By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 12:23

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 12:23
Bye Bye and have a good trip - lots of nice paintings please.
Ruth and Ian
AnswerID: 179191

Reply By: Michael B - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 12:50

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 12:50
'Arpynoon Willem,

Whilst you are trekking around in the sun, shorts 'n' t'shirt, please don't even think of us peasants enduring frosty mornings.....lol

Have a good trip, as I am sure you will.

BTW hope you have some good music for the co-pilot......

-did you get your teeth fixed OK?

Michael B
AnswerID: 179199

Reply By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 13:13

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 13:13
Willem,

pack the thermal undies, bin a bit chilly in the morns in the west at the mo,

Have a great trip and enjoy it (you lucky bugger!)
AnswerID: 179209

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 13:25

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 13:25
Have a good one ,u lucky b.
AnswerID: 179211

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 13:38

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 13:38
I hate you ... :P

have fun, not that I need to tell u that..
AnswerID: 179215

Reply By: Scoey (QLD) - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 16:32

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 16:32
As usual, I'm green with envy and believe now, more than ever, that posts like this shouldn't be allowed - at least while I'm at work anyway! ;-) Have fun - look forward to the trip report!

Scoey!
AnswerID: 179261

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 17:49

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 17:49
Willem & Judith we hope you have a fabulous trip. Talk to you when you get back. Motherhen and the old rooster

AnswerID: 179282

Reply By: Jo and Mark - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 18:10

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 18:10
on your way through Willem don't forget to pick us up... we won't take up much space I promise!

Jo
AnswerID: 179286

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 19:51

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 19:51
Have a great trip Willem. Thanks for your help with information on the Gary Junction Road. I'll be looking forward to hearing all about your trip when you get back.

Best wishes

Viv
AnswerID: 179301

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 22:18

Monday, Jun 19, 2006 at 22:18
You take care Mate , be safe
AnswerID: 179354