4WD battery brands

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 07:59
ThreadID: 35166 Views:21351 Replies:9 FollowUps:13
Hi everyone,
I have a Bosch N70ZZ battery in my 94 landcruiser ute which has probably been in there for at least three years. It now appears to be sluggish when starting but still starts first attept.
What are some of your opinions/experiences regarding brands of batteries that are good and that should be stayed away from. I am not chasing a cheap battery!
It is a standard battery set up, i just want something that has plenty of grunt to start a diesel anyday with reliability. I only have standard accessories plus a set of front and rear spotties for setting up camp and sometimes use an electric winch for my boat.
When i do get a new battery i would go for a long life ultra high performance- but which brand?

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 08:03

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 08:03
Exide Extreme. Is a great battery that can also usually be bought cheap from KMart, especially when they have their sales :-)
AnswerID: 179807

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 17:50

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 17:50
I agree,

The Exide Extreme is purpose designed for 4WD's with extra internal reinforcement, thicker plates and glass mat separators which makes the battery "vibration proof".
The CCA (Cold Cranking Amps) which is most relevant to your situation is rated at 700 which is fairly high and will suit most diesel engined vehicles.

As John has mentioned, the battery is readily available at KMart for a good price.

If you need even more grunt, you could go to an Exide Endurance battery with a CCA of 925, but the Extreme should be more than enough.

FollowupID: 436101

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 17:54

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 17:54
Exide batteries are currently 20% off at K-Mart!
FollowupID: 436102

Reply By: Diesel Power - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 08:41

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 08:41
Head into Hastings Deering at Paget and check out the Cat Batteries. I run them in my boat and Pajero T/D with no problems have also got 3 mates with Cruisers who run them, nothing but good reports and they have a pretty good warranty too.

Cheers and beers
Scott
AnswerID: 179811

Follow Up By: Rod W - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 09:17

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 09:17
I'm running CAT's and fully agree. But my previous batteries were the Osaka Overlanders to which the last one gave me 5yrs 10mths.
FollowupID: 436000

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 13:32

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 13:32
Yep, I've just changed over to a overlander NZZ70 and it's a bloody ripper. The Excide extremes are also very good, at the moment (in WA at least) KMart have 20% of batteries, if that's the case in QLD it might be worth a trip down there...
FollowupID: 436043

Reply By: TROOPYMAN A.D. 1998 - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 08:53

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 08:53
www.fridge-and-solar.net/agm.htm
AnswerID: 179812

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 09:25

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 09:25
Can AGM batteries be used as a starter battery in a diesel?
FollowupID: 436002

Follow Up By: TROOPYMAN A.D. 1998 - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 10:00

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 10:00
From what i have read on the net , they are like the exide extreme batteries . Medium thickness plates so they are a compromise between statrer and deep cycle . I need to find out a lot more because like you i want the best .
FollowupID: 436013

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Jun 23, 2006 at 09:13

Friday, Jun 23, 2006 at 09:13
Scubaroo , Ive got a 80 series turbo diesel ,have had 8oamp Fullriver AGM HGL as starter for last 18mths/2yrs , never looks like failing , HGL is a hybrid ,not a deep cycle ,has all the advantages of AGM but weighs about 5kg less than same size AGM deep cycle.,plate thickness is 3/4 of fullblown deep cycle.
FollowupID: 436205

Reply By: japmel - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 09:55

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 09:55
I use a Century N70ZZL 4WD in a Toyota 100 series Turbo Diesel and can't fault it.

They are apparently made to be a bit more robust to handle the hard time they get in offroad conditions.

japmel
AnswerID: 179821

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 13:33

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 13:33
Yep, that's the same as the Yussa Overlander. Same thing. Fantastic batteries.
FollowupID: 436044

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 10:08

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 10:08
I have a Century as my aux battery and have not had any dramas with it
AnswerID: 179825

Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 12:23

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 12:23
My Autoelec recomended the Bosch and put one in to replace a no name.
AnswerID: 179851

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 13:35

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 13:35
Yeah I looked at those too, there 4wd NZZ70 looks IDENTICAL to the Centery/Yussa 4wd battery. It was about $20 cheaper too, but I ended up going the century because I know that looks can sometimes not be everything, but still I reckon they are worth a look, could be the exact same thing.
FollowupID: 436045

Reply By: Rust bucket - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 13:30

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 13:30
If you can afford them, the Optima yellow is one of the best batteries money can buy. They are actually a deep cycle cranking battery so they have great cranking power to start your truck but also have heaps of reserve capacity to run low current accessories when your vehicle is not running. Mine has been starting my old 2H toyota engine with the first turn of the key and running lights, sterios ect for nearly 7 years with no sign that it's about to give up. They are however as dear as poison. The Exide ("orbtal" I think) batteries are also supposed to be similar but not quite as expensive.
AnswerID: 179876

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 13:38

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 13:38
Yeah, I don't know about them. Might have just been a bad luck thing but my best mate put a yellow top in his Feroza, 13 months later (no deepcylcing, only cranking a 1.6L petrol) we were driving through the dunes north of perth and his car just conked out. I measured the voltage off the battery and it was 0. Whacked one of my aux batteries in and checked the charge voltage and it was 14.2v. Optima wanted him to pay $190 for "warranty" because their 2 year warranty is bull bleep and they take the value that you have "used" off the battery price and you have to make up the difference. He told them to get stuffed, bought an excide extreme on special from Kmart for $120 and never looked back!
FollowupID: 436046

Follow Up By: Rod W - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 14:02

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 14:02
I looked at these a couple of years ago and have just checked the Optima web site to re afirm they only have a 12mth warranty. Which to my mind if they are such a terrific hard waring battery the warranty just doesn't match.
FollowupID: 436060

Follow Up By: Rust bucket - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 14:43

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 14:43
Yeah, fair point Rod about the warranty, it's pretty lame for a battery that cost more than the engine for my last cruiser. Jeff, your mates' experience is really interesting. How ripped off must he have felt. As good as my battery seems to be, commonsense would suggest that I might need to be ready to replace it soon and I will be looking very closely at these exide batteries.
FollowupID: 436069

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 14:47

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 14:47
Yeah I know what you mean, I'm all for quality parts to a point. But you hear about the Exides getting 4 years of good service reguarly, and at almost 1/3 the price you gotta wonder about the need to spend any more. He was very upset, the money thing yes, but just plain dissapointed I think was the real clincher. He thought he had the ducks nuts and had to drive home with a part out of a friggin surf!! I mean that'd upset anyones day! ;-) LOL.
FollowupID: 436070

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 23:22

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 23:22
I'll put in a vote for the exide extreme as well. I have only ever killed 2, one in a 24 volt MQ, it was the one the 12 v was drawn off and was treated like crap. I was sure it was within 2 yrs, but couldn't find the reciept. found it a month later with 5 days to go until wattanty runs out. took it back and was given a newie, no problem. The rep told me you can do it without the reciept as they have markings or something similar (maybe a database?) so they know its age. The second that has died will still start my boat, but came with the boat I had bought a couple of years ago, and has an unknown age or work history.

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 179987

Reply By: Mbr - Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Friday, Jun 23, 2006 at 06:35

Friday, Jun 23, 2006 at 06:35
Hi Brian,

I got trade price on a Delkor calcium battery. I paid $100 and am happy with it so far.

Its a bit bigger than a standard battery I think so room might be an issue. The battery guy claimed that all emergency services vehicles in NSW are fitted with them ?????

I would love to give you the specs on it but am overseas at the moment and won't be back for a week or so.

Cheers...Taz
AnswerID: 180002