Cheap Cruiser Utes

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 20:24
ThreadID: 35187 Views:2215 Replies:3 FollowUps:8
By July 07 there will be a fair few cheap cruiser utes for sale. Just went to a contractor meeting with BHPB at one of their mine sites and they have new rules coming into play next year that state no work vehicle will be allowed on site (underground excepted) without drivers side airbag. Well that counts out the cruiser and they said that all contractors should start looking at Nissans. With probably 75% of work vehicles being Cruiser utes that means alot on the market. You should have seen the jaws drop from the big contractors such as Boart Longyear. I think toyota better catchup to the market and start putting airbags in or loose a huge market share.

Reply By: oldmagpie2 - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 20:55

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 20:55
cant you put a drivers side airbag in aftermarket?cheers
AnswerID: 179950

Reply By: Billowaggi - Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 22:30

Thursday, Jun 22, 2006 at 22:30
That decision is going to cost contractors heaps as Patrols only have about 1/4 life span of a Toyota ute in underground or open cut usage. Not to mention the re stocking of parts inventory e.g. filters brake pad wheel bearings belts springs.etc I bet you it will not happen!
Ken.
AnswerID: 179974

Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (SA) - Friday, Jun 23, 2006 at 05:46

Friday, Jun 23, 2006 at 05:46
The main man from BHPB said it will happen and there will be no extensions or exceptions. There are a heap of other things too that affect LV's but that was the biggest impact item.
FollowupID: 436180

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Jun 23, 2006 at 17:33

Friday, Jun 23, 2006 at 17:33
Patrols only have about 1/4 life span of a Toyota Ute in underground or open cut

Why is that????
FollowupID: 436317

Follow Up By: Tim@Stratford - Friday, Jun 23, 2006 at 18:29

Friday, Jun 23, 2006 at 18:29
Yep, it's happened to us already - No more 105 Cruisers - they don't come with ABS. Department asked Mr Toyota to supply same - he said buy GXL's. Now driving 4.2TD Nissans.

FollowupID: 436324

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jun 23, 2006 at 00:03

Friday, Jun 23, 2006 at 00:03
Hi Hughsey,

Just come back from up north, can't say I saw a Patrol ute - all 75/79series.

Another mate just bought a TD 79series from the Govt auctions - they are all selling for over 40k.

Theres no doubt that the 70series replacement due maybe next year will have airbags.
AnswerID: 179992

Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (SA) - Friday, Jun 23, 2006 at 05:50

Friday, Jun 23, 2006 at 05:50
G'Day Phil,

Yeah I would have said 95% cruisers but I thought a Nissan owner might get upset ;). Well the word from the Northpoint rep (who have a workshop onsite) is that the cruiser won't. BHPB have also talked to Toyota and they said that next years won't but Nissan will.

Atleast underground is linked to a different standard so our fleet of cruisers is safe (for the time being anyway).
FollowupID: 436181

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Jun 23, 2006 at 13:14

Friday, Jun 23, 2006 at 13:14
I love safety spankers, there seems to be no end to the ridiculous ideas they can dream up. We fly in and out from from Newman and the airport carpark is a Patrol owners worst nighmare with often fewer than 2 patrols surrounded by over 100 cruisers (We actually have a couple of Triton utes in amongst our Tojos)
FollowupID: 436257

Follow Up By: TroopyTracker - Friday, Jun 23, 2006 at 18:42

Friday, Jun 23, 2006 at 18:42
G'day,

Dieing to find out any info on the new troopy/utes. The release dates that have been thrown around don't leave alot of time for rumours/scoop photo mill. Surely they know what they are going to look like, be powered by??

I'm guessing they'll drop the 1HZ and 4.5petrol, only turbo diesel left. Would LIKE the V8 diesel they're talking about aswell as the 4.7 V8 petrol but dreaming.

Anyone got anything on them yet?? Over 20 years the same shape, this change is huge (for 70 series fans anyway).

Matt
FollowupID: 436326

Follow Up By: TurboCruise - Friday, Jun 23, 2006 at 22:09

Friday, Jun 23, 2006 at 22:09
I've heard that production of the 75/79's will cease in August '06 with production of the new utes to commence Jan '07. These will be a 4.5L V8 turbo diesel model to meet the new emission controls. Slight change in the bodies appearance at the front end and no drivers airbag either.
FollowupID: 436379

Follow Up By: TroopyTracker - Saturday, Jun 24, 2006 at 21:56

Saturday, Jun 24, 2006 at 21:56
Turbocruise,
Hope your right about the V8, guess we'll see soon.
Matt
FollowupID: 436465