GPSmap 276C - looking to buy - any advice from people that own it ?

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 24, 2006 at 17:00
ThreadID: 35235 Views:2268 Replies:5 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
HI all -- looking to buy this GPS as stated in the topic - i am a total novice and never owned a gps before, s0 i can ask the shops all the details but they will only tell me the good stuff --

can anyone tell me about them -- if they like them ? are they compatable with other brands of software ? gps0z.com.au has a marine-road package for about 2k$

should i just get that basic unit and source the software elswhere ??

any help apreciated

Boc
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Jun 24, 2006 at 17:10

Saturday, Jun 24, 2006 at 17:10
Can't help with that brand but I can tell you that whatever GPS you buy should depend on what you want it for :))
AnswerID: 180205

Reply By: Bruce M - Saturday, Jun 24, 2006 at 17:13

Saturday, Jun 24, 2006 at 17:13
Boc

I have a 276C sourced from GPSOz. It cost around $2k a year ago including software and the map City Navigator Version 6 (ie the complete package). I have found it a great unit. My only complaint is that the screen is a little hard to read with bright sunshine flooding into the front seat of my vehicle.

If you are planning to go offroad, you might want to consider buying the PRO version of Tracks4Australia (contact aussietraks@iinet.net.au, cost $50). That has good coverage of tracks and minor roads, which City Navigator does not. However City Navigator gives auto-routing as well as moving map display, whereas Tracks4Australia gives moving map display only.

If you want to load both City Navigator and Tracks4Australia at the same time, and cover all of Australia, you should consider upgrading the memory in the 276C. The largest available is 256Mb.

Bruce M
AnswerID: 180206

Reply By: Member - Tim - Saturday, Jun 24, 2006 at 18:57

Saturday, Jun 24, 2006 at 18:57
Hi Boc,