Getting away from it all!!

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 16:43
ThreadID: 35362 Views:3479 Replies:21 FollowUps:25
I think it's amazing how we can't seem to enjoy the Great Outdoors without all the 'trappings' of the modern world.
We have people on here complaining about how they can't get mobile phone coverage, TV reception, Internet access etc when out and about.
And the things people can't do without- 12v fridges, DVD players, gas heaters, electronic mapping systems, GPS, mp3, king size mattresses in C/Ts, 240v inverters to power I don't know what (hair dryers??), generators and so on and so on....
I think getting out there- is exactly that, getting away from all the consumer crap and enjoying that 'million star accomodation' after a magnificent sunset somewhere out there !!!

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 16:48

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 16:48
hahahaha, here we go.
AnswerID: 180839

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 17:44

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 17:44
wish I could get my swmbo under a million stars....
she is a miser I reckon....no less than three and no more than five is her idea of camping
FollowupID: 437148

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 20:34

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 20:34
she needs a passionate night under the stars, give it to her good and she wont be able to wait for the next...remember be romantic....me, well I'm just a pig and that suits me fine.
FollowupID: 437178

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 07:47

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 07:47
tried that but all she wanted was another bottle of bubbly ...Ring Room Service she said!!
FollowupID: 437250

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 16:48

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 16:48
Signman,

Yes but one thing that is great about being in a country like ours is that people are free to make their own choices so I think live and let live is the go.

Have a good one.
AnswerID: 180840

Reply By: Member - qld_bushpig - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 16:57

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 16:57
Thats why i bought my 'box'. High and dry and half a tent but no room for anything.....
AnswerID: 180843

Reply By: ImEasy - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 17:18

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 17:18
Hey signman,

Maybe you should sell your "modern world trapping", and walk to your "million star accomdation"!

It never siezes to amaze me....
AnswerID: 180847

Follow Up By: revhead307 - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 17:43

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 17:43
lol good point.

and while he's at it...no matches either...just rub sticks together.

Rev
FollowupID: 437147

Follow Up By: hl - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 17:45

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 17:45
He seems to like warm beer too.
hl
FollowupID: 437149

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 18:04

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 18:04
Rev I was just scrolling down to write that and you beat me to it!!

Doesnt like jumping on the internet to get info either apparently. Should be scratching the message on a rock for all to read instead!

I love these threads!!
FollowupID: 437153

Follow Up By: signman - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 09:33

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 09:33
Is that a typo..or do you mean 'ceases' .....
"It never siezes to amaze me...."
FollowupID: 437270

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 15:19

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 15:19
It never siezes to amaze me.... either.

FollowupID: 437308

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 06:48

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 06:48
The originator of the post suffering from a severe case of Pen-s envy perhaps ?
FollowupID: 437487

Reply By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 17:45

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 17:45
you go where you want how you want...and we'll go where we want how we want...fair enough?
AnswerID: 180854

Reply By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 17:50

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 17:50
signman:
That's fine: you go bush how you want and I'll go bush how I want.

If I wanted minimalist living I would be into hiking and carrying my stuff in a backpack but I'm both too unfit for that and it isn't the way I want to live in the bush.

Is there a good reason I should _not_ be able to enjoy a glass of chilled wine from my 3 way fridge or find my way as efficiently as possible with my GPS or charge the battery for my Amateur Radio with my GMC gen.

To me, a little piece of heaven is sitting in the middle of nowhere by a camp fire with a glass of wine talking to people all over the world and Australia on my radio AND looking up at those million stars as I listen to the forest getting itself ready for the night.

I don't see any problems with that - do you :)

AnswerID: 180856

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 21:17

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 21:17
"To me, a little piece of heaven is sitting in the middle of nowhere by a camp fire with a glass of wine talking to people all over the world and Australia on my radio AND looking up at those million stars as I listen to the forest getting itself ready for the night."

Mike you have put me in a happy place. THANK YOU>

Trevor.
FollowupID: 437193

Follow Up By: signman - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 10:30

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 10:30
I guess I should 'fess up with what "modern trappings" I do use:
Many years ago I recovered a Trailblazer fridge from the bottom of Moreton Bay. Stripped it down to the shell only, and rebuilt it with a number of modifications and redesign- thinking outside the square. After a lot more head scratching and trial and error, this unit became the working prototype for the current Explorer range of fridge/freezers. It was one of the first (if not the first) unit with dual thermostat control. Still working fine today.
We also utilize a GPS system in conjunction with a compass for 'off piste' situations. The GPS is also useful for locating remote and discreet POIs.
And, for your interest sake Mike, I use a good old IC720A for Amateur (and other) uses- but I don't require a generator to power it.
Of course I can't forget the obligatory bottle of Tawny Port.
NO TV,DVD,MP3,phone, internet, or even a hair curler.....
FollowupID: 437276

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 10:52

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 10:52
>And, for your interest sake Mike, I use a good old IC720A for Amateur
>(and other) uses- but I don't require a generator to power it.

Perhaps we've chatted? :)

I could manage without the gen and just rely on recharging my AGM battery via the vehicle but for $98 it seemed worth it to avoid long periods with the vehicle on idle.
My Yaesu FT-857D draws over 22A when running at 100W so even an 88Ah battery goes down quite a lot once I'm out more than about three days. As for the GPS; I gold prospect in some funny places and it has helped me walk out via the most direct route more than once - easy to become "geographically challenged" when you're wondering vaguely through the bush listening to a detector.

Like you; no TV etc and mobiles never work in the places I go anyway. However I just will _not_ go away without my hair curler - I don't care if it is the bush I still have standards to keep! Anyway, suppose some nice big strong lumberjack happened along.... :)

FollowupID: 437279

Reply By: OldMike - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 18:20

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 18:20
So, your mobile phone wont work, no TV, not much radio, no supermarket, roads are dirt and gravel and life is not all beer and skittles; just remember that some of us live 'out there' and these are normal conditions

AnswerID: 180859

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 19:00

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 19:00
>no TV

Hell! I live on the outskirts of the city and I don't get _ANY_ TV! But that is through choice :)
FollowupID: 437163

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 22:20

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 22:20
Haha, Mike I get a snowy ch2 or a static abc radio, also by choice. If I watch a crapola picture I might as well be listening to radio, but if radio reception is crapola I might as well listen to nothing... and ain't it nice!
FollowupID: 437217

Reply By: Old Scalyback & denny - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 18:31

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 18:31
mate i dont give a tinkers toss how you travel but we have camped rough for years with 3 kids and then added the grandkids and still do camp rough at times but when i take our van with all the comforts we can muster well thats just fine as well we have worked hard for what we have and we enjoy them
as others above have said if you still want to walk barefooted and write on rocks thats your priveledge but dont hang sh777t on other peoples modes of travel

AnswerID: 180862

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 18:47

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 18:47
hahahahaha signman. That definitely provoked a few replies. Are you sure you're not after the "Most Views" record too :)))))))))

ps I definitely don't do the leaves/twigs/stone scraper thing either. I'll carry a supply of 'date rolls' for that LOLOLOL
AnswerID: 180863

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 20:38

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 20:38
hehehe, I used to roll my dates too but that was long ago. Thanks for the memories Al.
FollowupID: 437181

Reply By: Baldrick - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 18:57

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 18:57
Took the espresso machine last time I went camping! #8->
AnswerID: 180865

Reply By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 19:00

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 19:00
Geez Signman, you know how to stir the pot don't you! LOL. I believe in keeping things simple but that's just me. On the other hand, if I was heading to remote areas I wouldn't mind electronic mapping systems. If I was travelling for a long time, quality bedding would be a necessity. Some people might travel and work and have need of a laptop as part of that lifestyle. But I agree if on a short trip (a few days) that the peace and quiet is the whole point; recharging the batteries (pun intended), R&R. Just my opinion of course! And I think you'll find that Signman was just expressing his; not claiming some ultimate truth. He started his first and last sentence with "I think..." Bit of a touchy subject, is it? LOL
AnswerID: 180866

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 19:01

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 19:01
Why? Because I love being in the bush, I love having no other bugger around (except my family and or a few good mates). I also love being able to wash my hands from the water pump, or give the kids a shower to get the salty sand off them before they drag it all into the back of the car. I also love a ride of my mountain bike down a dirt track by myself and cold beer when I get back. I love a stroll through the bush until I can't see anything but more bush, but I also like having the peice of mind that the GPS in my pocket will tell me how to get back to camp. I love music, and so does my wife. I also love turning off the fluro lights, the music and just having the campfire crackle as I go for my good night bleep while staring up at the stars and hearing nothing but the fire before I go to bed.

Each to their own I guess.
AnswerID: 180867

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:33

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:33
That all sounds pretty good to me too Jeff.
FollowupID: 437360

Reply By: On Patrol - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 19:35

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 19:35
Hey Signman
You go your way & i'll go mine, and if you see a white Patrol with Camo trailer & all mod cons (Exept TV) you are more than welcome to take off your hiking boots and put down your swag and join us in a COLD beer, or chilled wine, and enjoy a lovely meal cooked in the Cob or Camp Oven before you continue on your walking trip aroun this Wide Brown Land.

At 55+ (Where most serveys seem to stop) we deserve a little comfort, dont try and take that from us mate.

We will look out for you on the track and enjoy listening to your adventures, as we do with all fellow travellers we meet.

On Patrol.
AnswerID: 180877

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 19:47

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 19:47
What is the point of a forum (and particularly this one) if you can't complain? I guess the reason that you might think there is a fair deal of complaining and carry on over gadgetry on here is that no one is going to complain about the 'million star accomodation' we enjoy as campers in this land. How could you? Most responses are spot on, we all love the basics of outdoor living, but if you can combine that with the comforts as well, all the better.

But in support of signman, I have seen people camping for whom it is ALL about the gadgets, and I suspect most of you have run across them as well. They are easy to spot as they tend to be the ones playing music loudly well into the night. That said, I don't get the impression that there are many (if any) of this type resident on this forum.

At the end of the day, we all love the outdoor delights Australia has to offer, but who doesn't enjoy researching buying and using the odd gadget? I certainly do, but I have never seen an Engel as beautiful as a tree. My Waeco on the other hand.............................

AnswerID: 180883

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 12:40

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 12:40
Oh well Matt, I'd better resign my membership...

I love my gadgets, I love tickering and experimenting with electronics and things to make it easier. Yes, it makes it easier, but part of my joy of 4wding and camping is mucking around with my rig. If I'm not camping with it, I'm tinkering with it.

And yes, we play music. Sometimes quite late too. What is everyone's beef with music on this forum! I consider myself and extremely considerate person, we never camp within cooee of anyone, if we were forced to for some reason (can't see it myself) then I would probally choose not to play music. I don't have sub wooders and crank tic boom music at full volume, we play a range of music that we enjoy at a reasonable volume. I go for a walk for a bleep and can barley here it!

Some people like cold beer, so they take a fridge.

We love music, so we take CD's. What's the problem? Why does this make me "not worthy" of enjoying the bush?

Yes I love the peice and quiet of the bush too, in those cold mornings when I get up with the sun and crank the fire before anyone else is awake, get the billy boiled and put some porage in the camp oven, I enjoy the peace and quiet. I also love going for a morning bush walk or bike ride and enjoying the peace and quiet.

But we also love sitting around the fire with some music playing, a few too many rums and some good conversation. What wrong with that??

Maybe you can tell that I have gadgets "as they tend to be the ones playing music loudly well into the night." But if there isn't anyone around for 10k's either side, who cares!? Who am I annoying, no bloody one, that's who.

Again, each to their own. Just don't judge people because they happen to have a few more gizzmo's or enjoy a drink while listening to some music.
FollowupID: 437290

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:59

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:59
Nothing wrong with playing music Jeff ___providing___ no one else can hear it.

I guess if you go to a commercial camp site or one of the large bush camp sites you should expect a reasonable dose of morons who will play loud music, swear at the top of their voices etc etc etc.... But if you camp in a proper bush location even if there are other campsites nearby then you should not play music which _may_ be able to be heard by others - if they wanted music they would have gone to a concert!?

I'll let you into a secret: in recent months when I have been out prospecting in remote spots by myself for more than a few days I have started to play some music, when I am cooking dinner, over the vehicle hi fi and have to have it fairly loud in order to hear it (helps stop me going stir crazy :) but I doubt there is anyone else within, at the least, 30km of my camp.

Some of the most beautiful music I have heard in the bush was my last partner who was a classical violinist and she played for me a few times - once on the banks of the Murray in NW Vic as the sun was setting - pure beauty and joy :)

FollowupID: 437379

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 19:41

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 19:41
Sounds lovely! Of course, it should work both ways. Those (and I agree with the public campsite boof heads) people who are playing loud doof doof music in the middle of the night may be just as upset about having to listen to a violine in the "early" (11am) hours of the morning whilst they are hungover! ;-) Just because we don't agree with what they are doing, does not mean they have no rights to do it.

But yeah, i agree with you, not everyone likes the same music etc etc, that's why i am very concious that I do not distrub anyone. Because I ride my mountain bike as one of my hobbies, I generally have a pretty good scout around for quite some k's of our campsite as part of my fun, so I would know if anyone was within earshot.

FollowupID: 437429

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 20:03

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 20:03
You seem to have missed my point Jeff: as per my vehicle hi fi my ex partner's violin was not played within many kilometres of anyone else - I never camp near others.

Whether I like or dislike the music others choose is totally irrelevant - when I go bush I don't wish to hear _ANY_ music unless I (or the birds) have chosen to play it and I imagine that applies to most of us?

FollowupID: 437437

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 20:33

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 20:33
Jeff,

I think that you have entirely missed my point as well (perhaps not as well expressed as it could have been). What I was trying to say was that for SOME people the camping experience is entirely about gadgets and toys, not combinng the things we all enjoy tinkering with (read gadgets, and I as much as the next man) and the elemental things things that make camping and 4WDing such a great experience.

Don't get your knickers in a knot over music, I have no problem with it while camping. My point was that the sort of peron who will play it loud, around others and into the early hours is not getting what camping is all about. I have seen people on numerous occasions who will rock up to a campsite (with other campers nearby), crank up the stereo, pull out the axe and start chopping (regardless of the fact that plenty of wood can be had by picking it up), light the biggest fire possible, then drink themselves loudly into the wee hours. Often leaving a disgusting campsite behind the next day.

For those people it is about the 'image' and the gadgets more than the eperience.
FollowupID: 437447

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 21:14

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 21:14
Mike, I didn't explain myself very well. Yes I understand that your music was not played near anyone else. I was just trying to put the point accross that what one person likes, may not be what everyone else likes. ie Myself, and yourself would thouroghly enjoy the violin music, however it's not everyone's cup of tea. Sorry for the confusion.

Matt, I picked on you because of the way you wrote your post, but I was reffering to a general point of view that I read from some people on here. It just seems to be a common belief on this forum from time to time that people who play music while camping don't respect the bush for what it is, which I disagree with.

Yeah I think we've all had the type of person you speak of near us at some point, which is probally why so many of us strive to get as far away from anyone else as possible now days. Personally I disagree with the gadgets bit to a degree, most of these people I have experienced are under prepared people who just happen to have a big stereo in their car and an esky full of grog. (my esky is full of grog too mind you! LOL) From the ones I've seen they really don't give to hoots weather they have a dual battery setup or flowing water (or any water for that matter). I guess sometimes you see the really civilised ones of this breed who bring a briggs and stratton generator that sounds like a fishing trawler and full throttle, 2000w of flood lights and the fridge from the kitchen at home on the trailer. Maybe these are the type you were talking about.

I would just hate to be classed as someone with that kind of attitude puley because we like to listen to our music. ... .. Hang on, I've nearly got all the knots out! ;-)
FollowupID: 437455

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 21:31

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 21:31
Just make sure you wash 'em when the knots are out Jeff.
FollowupID: 437460

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 20:20

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 20:20
I hear you mate.

we're a mixed bunch though, God bless us and this country.
AnswerID: 180892

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 20:39

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 20:39
Hey Sandman,

If you come across a fellow traveller camping out with nothing more than a toothbrush and a jockstrap it sure as hell won't be me. However if you look in your rear vision mirror it might just be you..............Nup! Not you, you would not take a vehicle camping would you? Not one of those "trappings" of the modern world.

Forgive Sandman, (and everyone else), I'm taking the proverbial.

AnswerID: 180899

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 20:59

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 20:59
Hi Signman,
It takes all sorts to make a would and how we enjoy our camping is a personal thing, we have roughed it for years but now carry a few mod cons , cos we can, and what the hell would I tinker with without some big boys toys with me!!!
And besides some people have trouble getting there partners out and about and the addition of a few toys to make life more comfrotable just may entice them away camping, and heaven knows we have some of the best camping in the world.
Ill stop and have a cuppa with you when I see you walking down the road with a hession bag hanging on a bush stick slung over your shoulder.

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 180909

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 22:05

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 22:05
i remember........

post 18396.........
AnswerID: 180932

Follow Up By: signman - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 09:30

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 09:30
And nothing has changed since Dec '04
FollowupID: 437268

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 09:25

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 09:25
We vary our junk trip to trip. Sometimes we go bare bones, sometimes all mod cons. But the music gets left behind always.
AnswerID: 181001

Reply By: Redback - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 15:22

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 15:22
Maybe make yourself a sign "no mod cons allowd"

then stick on the tent or car
AnswerID: 181039

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:25

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:25
Baz , make a sign 'no mod con allowed" then stick it on the tent or car , bit of an oxymoron is it not ? to use mod con utensiles to make a sign to put on mod cons such ar a tent and car, bit like some of our indeginous brothers demanding their "traditional" rights to hunt turtles and dugong using all modern equipment such as metal boats/ outboards/ powered spear guns ect ect.
FollowupID: 437505

Reply By: Twintrail(W.A.) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 00:12

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 00:12
So whats the problem.
AnswerID: 181133