Ipod Transmitters
Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 18:40
Ray Bates
Hi All. My CD player in my LC has cacked it and was considering getting an Ipod card reader and a transmitter.
With these items I can put music tracks onto the memory card from my PC and then play them in my car without having to carry or risk damage to the discs.
I would like to know if anybody else has tried this?????? Also one other advantage is that because the cards are solid state they are not subject to viabration.
Reply By: Exploder - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 18:54
Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 18:54
I assume you are talking about an Ipod with the I-Trip transmitter, Yes?
If so yes I have one and they work
well, I have the mini it’s got a 4GB hard drive and I have used about 2GB of space.
One thing, get the in car Charger as
well, as running the Transmitter on the Ipod you will only get 4Hrs of power out of the Ipod battery before you need to charge it up agene, With the In car charger you just run the Ipod of that.
I have
mine tuned to 89FM in
Perth and get no interference and it works
well.
Reply By: ginski - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 19:27
Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 19:27
JVC actually make headunits that allow you to plug your ipod straight into the front of the unit itself
Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 19:36
Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 19:36
Ray,
I have the iTrip transmitter and it works
well. But as ginski said, buy one with a USB port and plug it straight in. No substitute for a hard wired connection in terms of sound quality, lack of interference, etc.
Reply By: pling - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 19:56
Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 19:56
I have an Apple I pod and have the FM transmitter that plugs into a cigarette plug.
It works very
well and charges the I-pod at the same time as we play tunes through the radio.
Very happy with the system.
Reply By: Old Scalyback & denny - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 20:02
Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 20:02
goodday ray
i run the 30gig ipod so far filled about 6gig or 2000 songs for travelling i couple it with the belden fm transmitter (full frequency not 4or 6 channel)both plug into the car power (ciggy lighter adapters )so far nearly 6 mths no hassles
Reply By: mattie - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 20:03
Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 20:03
Hi Ray
everyone may have covered this already but i think this is different a bloke i work with had a unit that his ipod(or similar type) plugged into (that had it's own power supply 2aa) and u tuned your radio to 98 or 89 FM and away u went, but the batteries only last about 10 hrs( he has an adaptor for 240v and 12v now so it doesn,t matter).
Mattie
Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 20:27
Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 20:27
High Ray
I use an in car mp3 player with a built in transmitter, with 14 channels to chose from to FM in your car radio.
It has usb ports and I down load music onto a flashdrive and just plug it in and away it goes. I use 1 gig drives and get around 300 songs on them.
Up side you get continues music of your choice, and it doesnt mind rough country.
Downside is that it always starts at the begining, although you can shift songs up and down with a push of a bitton, but only 1 song at a time.
It also can have the ipod pugged into it instead of the flashdrive.
I beleive you can also get a cd player/radio unit that has a usb port directly in the front of it.
Cheers Pesty
Reply By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 20:33
Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 20:33
G'day,
have not tried that mate but have tried, do use and recommend the extrememac transmitter ($100) seems to be the ducks guts and is a bloody ripper.
do a search on ipod on this site.
Reply By: Roddesh - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 21:36
Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 21:36
I have recently put a Kenwood head unit with an iPod adapter in my Cruiser. The adapter is just a box that is plugged into the back of a compatible head unit and terminates with an iPod plug in the glovebox.
The iPod (I have a 4GB Nano) plugs into the cable in the glovebox and stays there. I can access tracks and playlists from the headunit interface and the cable powers it at the same time.
It's a great way to go if you're replacing the head unit anyway. The unit also plays MP3 CD's.
Rod
Follow Up By: Member - Miles P (VIC) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 23:04
Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 23:04
Rod, I was looking at a Pioneer unit that has the same setup in glove box, but the sales dude didn't think I could access the play list via head unit, only via i-pod. What model is your Kenwood?
Miles
Follow Up By: Roddesh - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 10:52
Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 10:52
Hey
Miles, my head unit is a KDC-MP4033 with the iPod Interface KCA-iP500.
As soon as you connect the iPod to the cable it comes up with the Kenwood logo and can't be accessed. The head unit has a joystick which allows you to go through playlists by moving it up and down and through tracks in the current playlist by moving it right and left. You can choose to display the album or track name on the head unit. The names appear a few seconds after the track starts playing when it's been selected.
The downside is that you have to scroll through playlists one at a time and can't jump straight to your selection as you can from the iPod interface. They are stored alphabetically though so you get used to finding things. The upside of this is that you don't have to look at it as you do when selecting tracks through the iPod.
I used to have an FM transmitter type and the sound quality of the interface unit leaves the transmitter for dead.
Rod
Reply By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 22:53
Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 22:53
I have a Kensington FM transmitter for my iPod nano - it has three different channels you can preset, but the best part is it charges the iPod while driving - no batteries, no flat iPod, and you can recharge the iPod in the car so you can keep playing music on longer trips both in and out of the vehicle while you don't have access to a USB port to recharge. Cost about $120.
The Pajero has a cigarette lighter inside of the console - you can plug it in there, and the transmitter is strong enough to get a clear signal without the iPod being visible in the car, so you don't have to worry about packing it away out of sight when you leave the vehicle.
Mind you I mostly listen to podcasts.