LPG

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 23:32
ThreadID: 35380 Views:2007 Replies:2 FollowUps:3
has anyone got some first hand knowledge (or good 2nd hand!) of LPG fitted to V8 landcruiser or Prado 4 litre? Mainly of any problems with engines, but also general running etc
Cheers Fisho

Reply By: cipher - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 21:58

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 21:58
hi mate..

Cant specifically help you out with your cruizers, but i know with my FJ62 that is running on gas it was pretty crook not long ago and i took it to my mechanic and he said that they place that serviced the LPG tune it to a half way point to suit gas and petrol, i had my mechanic to retune it just to gas...Runs like a dream, not rough or anything and still a HEAP of power..

The 100 series will be different because all your timing and stuff i believe would be set by computer, perhaps you need your computer modified to function properly with gas??

What problems are you having?

p.s gas will wear out your engine quicker, much dryer fuel... no lubrication, make sure you run on petrol heaps!!!

I start mine of petrol every morning and let run for 10-15 mins before changing over...just a hint
AnswerID: 181116

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 22:54

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 22:54
havent got one yet, just looking to see if anyone has come across any problems before I buy in. Probably would fit the new Sequential Gas Injection systems that are coming on the market now, eliminates backfiring etc and works much the same as the EFI.
Should be causing less wear not more I thought, no vapour to wash oil of cylinder walls etc??
Other than valve seats of course.
Cheers for your reply anyway Cipher!
FollowupID: 437472

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 23:13

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 23:13
LP1 fitted a kit and the Engine punched a rod out the side of the block , to date there hasnt been a verdict why it happened or if the gas was at fault .

Pro gas in Melbourne has a very impressive kit , there doing mine next month. Going for the Injected set up .

Have researched these systems for about 6 months now and pro gas is the one im going for . Mainly because of the development he has in the computer part of it .

AnswerID: 181126

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 23:37

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 23:37
more detail, more detail? was it a 100 series V8 or a Prado V6????????????????????
FollowupID: 437476

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 23:44

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 23:44
V8 cruiser . It's the V anything that went on gas that gave issius in the past . They seem to have overcome this with injection and better ecu programs. Be weary of the Boemo system as it looses memory to the gas ECU if you disconnect the battery or have a flat battery
FollowupID: 437477