Nissan not honouring rear door crack

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 14:11
ThreadID: 35387 Views:2629 Replies:7 FollowUps:28
Gday Everyone,

I have done a search and found a few posts relating to the rear barn door on the Patrols cracking. Well I have a 2003 GU3 with 60K on the clock and the crack appeared over the weekend after some corrogations on the back road at Crescent Head.
Dealer took some pics on Tuesday and just had a call from them to say that Nissan has refused the claim!! The dealer What have people done to ensure that Nissan fix a problem which they know about and have fixed in the past. The only thing I have on the door is a Cooper STT and a camp light!
This is totally pathetic from Nissan.

the only thing I can think of so far is Fair Trading.

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 15:00

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 15:00
Hi Mal,
not all dealers are the same my advice is to get in touch with Nissan H.Q. at this no; 03 9797 4111 {Melbourne} , try to speak to Val Davis she's the top of the tree and is usually good to deal with,
best regards,
AnswerID: 181034

Follow Up By: Rokkitt - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 15:05

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 15:05
Val Davis - thats the lady who made life hell for many months now! Consumer affairs stated "they are really messing you around aren't they"
FollowupID: 437307

Follow Up By: Dave Thomson - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 15:24

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 15:24
Then if you've tried and got no joy do as I did, I sold my Patrol and told them I wont be back, if everyone did this suddenly they'd take notice, so let your feet do the walking............................. I loved the car but the price of their parts sent me running for the hills, check out the cost of a fuel pump or turbo and make sure theres a seat handy or a crash helmet,
FollowupID: 437310

Reply By: Rokkitt - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 15:03

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 15:03

Not a back door crack - but it is a problem that should be covered by warranty but Nissan will not honour this. I have so far been messed around by Nissan for over12 months when I got "Consumer Affairs" involved, on it went for another six months - this still fell on deaf ears and I still cannot select 4wd high on the fly with the hubs in auto as claimed in the sales manual.

See Post ID 26482 for more information regarding the problem.

Currently I have two Nissan employees agreeing there is a problem, my mechanic has also written a full independant report and I am currently in the process of taking Nissan to court over it as they refuse to acknowledge the fault instead continually inviting me back so they can "grease the linkages".

Ferntree gully nissan, Essendon nissan and Oakleigh Nissan have all been involved.

Well my next car will not be a new Nissan! They have no knowledge of the Patrol 4wd system they are selling.

Rod
AnswerID: 181035

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:10

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:10
Just picked up on something you said above about not being able to shift ito 4H on the fly with the hubs in "auto" position. I'm not sure what the brochure or handbook or even the blurb on the sun visor says...... but let me assure you there is NO WAY you could ever expect the drive train to allow you to shift into 4H (from 2H) on the move if the hubs are set at "auto" instead of "LOCK".

Think about it for a moment.......think about what is happening under your truck as you're driving along in 2H with hubs in "AUTO" mode. The front tail shaft is sitting there doing nothing at all; while the rear shaft is spinning at whatever speed you happen to be doing. Now, all of a sudden, the nut behind the wheel decides to jerk (or gently co-erse as the case may be....it doesn't matter how you TRY to do it) the stubby lever back one notch into 4H. What you're asking the transfer case to do is to (in the blink of an eye or less and with no clutch-type transition available for the manourve), to get the front drive train from sitting perfectly idle, to INSTANTLY turning at the exact same speed as the rear tailshaft. Sorry, but it just ain't possible, end of story.

Now, if you have the front hubs in "LOCK" position; different story. The hubs being locked, means that the front tail shaft is spinning at the same speed as the rear tail shaft, even though the stubby lever is in 2H position. So, when you pull the stubby lever back into 4H, the transfer case is able to oblige with your request, as the internal gears are already spinning at the same speed and all you're doing is actually applying the DRIVE to the front shaft......up until that point, the front wheels have been causing the front tail shaft to turn, courtesy of the locked hubs.

I hope that makes sense to you and that I haven't confused you. I remember thinking when I first bought my GU that this would be great (to be able to shift on the fly).....but it simply isn't possible unless the hubs are locked.

FollowupID: 437348

Follow Up By: Rokkitt - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:33

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:33
Roachie,

You have been kind enough to explain this in the past which has been of great benefit in my ongoing battle, my mechanic does not agree though, his 3.0 patrol shifts ok as 50% seem to; have a look at the old post. it is anadvantage tne st has over the dx I think.

nissan certainly have issues though enough to turn me off buying another or keeping this one.

rod
FollowupID: 437361

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 17:02

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 17:02
Roachie,

Isn't that how all those "auto" hubs work. I know I can shift on the fly up to 50km/h. It's not recomended beyond that speed though.

R.
FollowupID: 437381

Follow Up By: brian - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 18:21

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 18:21
Sorry Roachie,have to dissagree with you my 3litre easily shifts into and out of 4wd high range while truck is being driven,with hubs in AUTO
FollowupID: 437414

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 18:57

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 18:57
Okay, you blokes win.......my old brain just can't understand how this can be possible. I did try it once when I first bought my GU and as I gently tried to pull the stubby lever back, it did exactly what I expected it to do....crunch/grind etc, so I figured they had printed it all wrong and said to myself "well I didn't really expect it to be able to shift into 4H on the fly with the hubs in auto anyway".

Where the auto hubs were good (I don't have 'em anymore, AVM manuals for me), was that if you were pulled-up in a mud puddle after losing traction, I could stick into 4x4 without having to get out in the slop and lock the hubs (which is what I now have to do, but I don't mind....just have to think ahead and lock hubs if I think I 'might' need 4x4 on a track I'm driving on).

Glad you blokes have good auto hubs.

FollowupID: 437422

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 20:13

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 20:13
A quick bit for me to add - may help. With my hubds in Auto, the first shift for the trip needs to be at low speed. The hubs now remain locked until I travel in reverse for a couple of metres in 2H. If I change from 2H to 4H and back again withoud doing the backwards in 2H thing, I can do it at speed. I am happy with the performance of this, and agree with Roachie's assesment.

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 437439

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 20:33

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 20:33
Rokkitt , get yourself a 100 series and see you in a year or so on here posting about a diff going or the cracking IFS :))))
FollowupID: 437448

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 20:53

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 20:53
Low blow Brew. I thought us Tojo owners were showing remakable contstraint with this one (uncharacteristic, I know) ;-) I just hope Dave doesn't think Toyota parts are any cheaper.
FollowupID: 437451

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 21:28

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 21:28
What Roachie says makes sense if the hubs are entirley mechanical. Wouldn't they use electronic solinoids or vacume operated gear like most other 4by's have for the last 15 years? Or are they still using the "reverse up to unlock" stuff they invented in the 70's?
FollowupID: 437458

Follow Up By: Dirty Smitty - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 23:46

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 23:46
Roachie,
maybe you were trying to go from 4H to 4L on the fly. That would produce some grinding effects. As you probably already know?

Sometimes I get lost and I don't know where I am, maybe I am lost? Who knows I wonder sometimes who really knows about anything? I put key in I drive, car makes strange noise I stop, I fix. I put key in I drive. I have been doing this for years and it works for me.

Smitty
FollowupID: 437478

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 00:49

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 00:49
My hubs have never gone from 2wd to 4wd "on the fly" without the hubs locked in and I wouldn't expect any different. The whole purpose of these things is, as Roachie has stated, is to get you out of the goo without having to step out of the car to lock the hubs, but IMHO if the hubs are in auto, 4wd should only be selected once the vehicle is stationary.

I mean no direspect here, but man, there's bigger things in life to worry about than a couple of crappy, poorly made, poor excuse of an auto free wheel hub made by a car manufacturer renowned for building mediocre cars.

Heck, I drive one of these things, and it will probably be the last one I ever do!!!
FollowupID: 437481

Follow Up By: Flash - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:35

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:35
I agree with Roachie on that.
There is actually a synchro ring in the Nissan transfer case to make the change easier, but that's one helluva task for the synchro ring to do if the hubs are in auto. One little brass ring has to VERY suddenly spin drive shaft, diff, and axles- not my idea of an ideal situation.
Just out of respect for things mechanical and having rebuilt a few gearboxes over the years (though not Nissans!) I would NOT be doing this unless the hubs were locked. Even if you can get away with it, you are putting a lot of strain (and wear and tear) on the system.
For goodness sake, spend the extra 1c or whatever per 100klms on diesel by having the hubs in lock if you think you'll be shifting in and out of 4WD.
In any event, I have replaced auto hubs with purely manual ones on a number of 4Bys for mates as the auto ones are really a very poor compromise and not ideal at all in so many respects.
FollowupID: 437508

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 10:06

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 10:06
"The whole purpose of these things is, as Roachie has stated, is to get you out of the goo without having to step out of the car to lock the hubs"

But would they?? I've only had these mechanical type auto hubs on one vehicle, the rest have either been manual or vacume operated. But the vehicle that had the auto hubs wouldn't lock the hubs unless you drove 1 full wheel rotation of the front wheels after engaging 4wd. ie If you drive until you are bogged, whack it in 4wd - you go nowhere! The front wheels cannot turn as you are in 2wd and bogged, so therefore the hubs will not lock it.

Of course there are two points to be made here:

1. The GU has a option to manually lock it, so you'll never be stuffed anyway (it just makes the whole auto hub thing kinda usless).

2. You should not be caught out in a situation like that! If you are treading lightly you should have enaged 4wd WAY before there was a possibility of getting stuck, instead of tearing up the tracks/roads before hand.
FollowupID: 437518

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 00:03

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 00:03
If you had a JEEP none of you dudes would have this problem.

There is only one JEEP
FollowupID: 437649

Follow Up By: StephenF10 - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 15:05

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 15:05
Nor a Land Rover. Man, am I glad I have constant 4WD and don't have to go throught these dumb gymnastics just to make the vehicle operate as it should.

Stephen.
FollowupID: 437696

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 18:31

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 18:31
I don't think it helps getting into "well I drive a bleep car and I don't have that problem"

If you want to get into the shortcomings of Jeep and/or Landrover then start a thread and you will get lots of replies letting you know what other people think of them.

I'm glad I don't have a Jeep, OR a Landrover. But thats for another day.
FollowupID: 437718

Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 15:38

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 15:38
You will probably have unearthed my earlier posts about the door crack. Nissan Customer Relations! offered (when pressed) to pay half the repair cost as goodwill. The warranty department denied it was a manufacturing fault.

On hearing this FTG Nissan then paid the whole cost (quote, how can you be only 50% pregnant?). FTG Nissan have been oustanding but they are in my opinion let down dreadfully by Nissan Australia and it appears the company does not realise what damage is being done to the brand. This is something which should be a concern to all "proud" Nissan Patrol owners.

See also my post on the wheel stud shearing issue. This is not yet resolved. I am concerned that others do not have wheels coming adrift. I have now fitted new studs, new nuts and steel wheels. I'm sleeping easier at night now.

Certainly make a call to your local State consumer affairs office but if with issues like wheels coing adrift I suggest we all bring these to the attention of the federal Department of Transport.

AnswerID: 181045

Follow Up By: camwill69 - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 19:31

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 19:31
G-Day all,
Fair Trading Qld is currently investigating 3 nissan dealers for similar warrenty issues that are unresolved (20 #). Contact Katherine Mc Kellar in Brisbane she would love to hear from any one with issues on Nissan. Phone number 3305 9655.
FollowupID: 437428

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 21:26

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 21:26
Yeah those $700 GU rims are a bit soft eh? You'd think for that kind of money they'd survive a nuclear hollocost....
FollowupID: 437457

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 17:20

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 17:20
Ask Nissan for their reason in writing for refusing the claim.
AnswerID: 181064

Reply By: Dirty Smitty - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 23:45

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 23:45
Roachie,
maybe you were trying to go from 4H to 4L on the fly. That would produce some grinding effects. As you probably already know?

Sometimes I get lost and I don't know where I am, maybe I am lost? Who knows I wonder sometimes who really knows about anything? I put key in I drive, car makes strange noise I stop, I fix. I put key in I drive. I have been doing this for years and it works for me.

Smitty.
AnswerID: 181129

Follow Up By: Flash - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:39

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:39
You're kidding right.....
I somehow suspect Roachie knows which gear combination he's trying to select........
FollowupID: 437510

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 00:08

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 00:08
You would be surprised what Roachie knows and doesn't know - especially in relation to navigation.

I now know why he is always relegated to 'tail end charlie duties' after following him on a little trip two weekends ago.

It is possible that the electro-magnetic radiation produced by that C H I T heap he drives affects his sense of direction and maybe what gear combination he is in or thinks he is in.

Thank you Flash for reminding of Roachies foibles. (ROFLMAO)
FollowupID: 437650

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 15:35

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 15:35
hahahahahah..........

Ah Lucy; you bust my balls you ol' b@stard!!!!!!!!!

I was trying to find a nice soft spot in the sand where we could give that bit of Yank krap a decent burial.......... that's the only reason I _intentionally_ drove past the track that led off the beach. THAT's my story, & I'm bloody-well sticking to it.

As far as the electro-mechanical bullchit is concerned, I'll have you know that I _MUST_ have all that stuff on in my truck for my own personal health reasons. You see, I haven't said anything before, but I have a prototype pace-maker fitted in my chest cavity and it is only suitable for use by Nissan drivers who have had a major electrical upgrade to their truck. Hence the 47 kilometers of additional wiring that I have etc.

RAOFLMAO2 hahahahahahaha

Have you finished all those Anzacs yet???
FollowupID: 437698

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 21:13

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 21:13
Glad you decided to fess up about the 'protype thingy' , however you should have made full and frank disclosure about it, and informed the forum that its not really in the cest cavity, but in another cavity and thats why you have NO problem at all grabbing the 'stick' and 'doing things' on the fly like the good Nissan owner that you are.

Oooooh! mate, you are pure gold.

PS

While you are in a mind to discuss such things, tell MUZZGIT about your 'prototype thingo' as I thgink he needs some lightening up.
FollowupID: 437733

Reply By: Dirty Smitty - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 23:28

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 23:28
Opps I think I have finally infiltrated the little boys club, but I had to "GATE CRASH" on this issue. I have found it one of the most amusing forum discussions that I have come across of late. Ha, Ha. It is very funny reading indeed, the backyard mechanical opinions and the over protective hackle showing half-cocked response views of these opinions, is hilarious. It is even more so when you've had a few after work drinks and tried to read/response to this and other forum entries. I do feel for the poor blokes out there who try and join "The Little Boys Club" only to become belittled and have there opinions hen pecked and their personas shunned by "The Little Boys Club" in front of the 4X4 tribe. I know that when I take part in this forum it is when I am as blind as a welder's dog, so it doesn't really phase me. Besides I can always go and play in the sand pit over there with all the other outcasts, the ones with a sense of humour and common sense.
Good luck with your broken vehicle.
AnswerID: 181313

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 00:10

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 00:10
Now you've got me excited - whats next on the menu
FollowupID: 437651

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 00:41

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 00:41
eh?
FollowupID: 437653

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 15:39

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 15:39
Looks like someone left the gate open at the asylum again!!!!!!
FollowupID: 437699

Reply By: Dirty Smitty - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 16:57

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 16:57
But I was under the impression that you escaped from the "Old Peoples' Home". "The Little Boy's Club Oldies Home". Ha, ya gotta be half cut to enjoy this, don't ya? Crack another one and enjoy the drop, you never know it could be your last, old boy. HA!

AnswerID: 181367

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 21:18

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 21:18
Sensational
FollowupID: 437736