Submitted: Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:00
Scoey (QLD)
Just purchasing a completely new UHF set up for my rig and am tossing up between two antenna's. They're both GME and one's a 4.5db and one's 6db in an approx 1-1.2m fibreglass whip. Typical use would be 4WDing with mates, short range vehicle to vehicle communication in tight hilly terrain so the 4.5db would probably be best, but thinking long term we are planning a Cape trip next year so we would expect to have some distance between vehicles in convoy on dusty roads. Would the 4.5db provide for clear enough communication between vehicles in a convoy in this situation or would the 6db be a better all round option??
Appreciate any advice!
Cheers, Scoey!
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:05
Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:05
The 4.5 would be fine in my opinion. I have a 6db which hardly ever gets used. I use the $10 rubber one on the roofrack and it performs very
well. Location of the antenna is more important than which db you choose.The higher the better.
Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:08
Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:08
For the time being it will be a bullbar mount, hence my desire to get a fairly long whip. Will be looking at a roofrack mount option when I get a roofrack! ;-)
Scoey!
Reply By: signman - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:12
Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:12
I suggest for an all rounder- the 4.5dB with ground independant base might be the way to go. Thats the one with the 8" tube, and the antenna about 24".
And for around town, or tight forest with overhangs- I put on a little 6"stubby.
Where would you be mounting the antenna?? If bullbar a spring mount would also be a handy addition.
Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:28
Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:28
Yep it's ground independent with a spring base, and yep I will be mounting on the bullbar. Cheers!
Reply By: cipher - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:12
Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:12
scoey,
I have a 6db omni UHG antenna 2.4m in heigh, i bought this because it has a universal base on it for which a smaller antenna (my 4.5db 1.2m length can screw into nicely... It is a GME, so perhaps this is an option for you?
Both my antennas work fantastic with a ICOM IC400pro jacked up to 50W she transmits about 40km LOS (line of sight) Have a think about the ICOM radio VERY AWESOME RADIO!
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:14
Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:14
50w??? lol....don't let them catch you.
Follow Up By: cipher - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:17
Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:17
SHHHHhhhh ;)
50W did i say that??? *evil eyes* i meant 5W (for legal purposes only)
But seriously the ICOM AWESOME radio bout $380 pick one up youll never be disappointed
Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:31
Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:31
G'day cipher,
Thanks for
the tip - I'll check them out. I'm pretty sold on a Uniden unit however mainly because I can get them at a very good price! ;-)
The GME antenna I'm looking at has the universal spring base so that might definately be an option!
Scoey!
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:37
Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:37
40km LOS for 50w is nothing to write home about......theoretically speaking :-) We use 5w ICOM F60 handhelds and i can lock onto our repeaters most times 70km away! (if i hold my tongue right).
Follow Up By: cipher - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:39
Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:39
arrrr dont get a uniden...Listen to an Icom or even a GME
uhf radio and then listen to a uniden, you will notice the vocal quality change... Unidens dont know why but just arnt of the same quality..
Icom IC400 Pro 10/10
GME TX4400 9/10
Uniden 7~8/10
Follow Up By: cipher - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:41
Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:41
Andrew i was giving a rough figure..
But anyways,
Repeaters are a slightly different story anyhow beacuse they have recieve amps...
Im talking Car to car 50KM Crystal Clear communications as if they were in the car with you, not #&*%^$^Q%$E^&%#^&%
shop&*^#*&^&*#$^R*&$^*&$^&*$^*&$^&*$@#)#&*^big whole&*%&^%&^%
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:41
Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:41
Disagree.......Unidens are good IMO. We have trouble hearing a mate with his Icom 400 but maybe its his microphone tecnique . Hey Muddy :))))
Follow Up By: cipher - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:46
Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:46
I know about 7 other ppl with Icom 400pros and we all love them... No other radio is able to compete with our range..
I even have a mate with an Icom IC40 handheld and it bleep es all over my handheld unided 040 5 w....
Look IMO if you want to support aussie, yeah get a uniden, but if you want a decent radio go icom... it really is a potatoe potata situation, but ive had a uniden in car and a GME and now an Icom, and for me the icom works best.
Reply By: SteveL - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:27
Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:27
In tight hilly terrain a 1/4 wave always works best,the high gain antenna tend to send most of their signal into the side of the
hill.I would get one of those GME elevated feed bases and just change between the 1/4 wave and the 4.5 dB whip.-Steve
Reply By: Robin - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:34
Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:34
Amongst the commercially available options , the best is the cheapest , the short
semi flexible 1/4 whip which screws into a standard mount thru the centre of your roof.
Don't compromize, antenna's mounted elsewhere will have a distorted radiation pattern, less effective height and be subject to breakage in the bush.
Low cost screw in gain antenna's can be put in place of it but will generate wind noise and only be better in flat country.
Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 18:55
Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 18:55
I agree, it is important to mount the aerial in the centre of the roof if possible. If you can not do that then be prepared for lower performance. I have had reasonable performance from just the brass thread sticking out of the centre of roof. Yes, I forgot to screw on the aerial and had great coms in
Deua national park but pretty lousy on the highway coming home.
Reply By: Craigww2 - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 17:21