All the mod cons, what are you taking

Submitted: Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 07:55
ThreadID: 35406 Views:3920 Replies:16 FollowUps:11
After reading signmans post on getting away from it all (35362) i got to thinkin, what do people take away with them to make that camping trip a bit more comfortable when you get away from it all.

Our comforts are;
cappaccino machine
gas heater in winter
gas hot water system for a shower
GPS
Sat phone when remote
water filter on camper
12v fridge and 3way in camper

and anything else we need to be comfortable, i think you can still have the comforts when camping, whatta you reckon.

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 08:02

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 08:02
When I said last night I hadn't seen much of you I didn't suggest you come back and haunt us mate. Good to see you and hope you have many happy days in the new abode.

- Steamer for hot choccolate I guess is covered by cappaccino machine
- king sized bed

- would love some satellite internet
AnswerID: 181145

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 08:24

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 08:24
Woke the sleeping beast;

Thanks John, it's only about $3,500 to $5000 for satellite internet :-))
FollowupID: 437499

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 08:26

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 08:26
Satellite Internet !!!! SWMBO would kill me :))))
FollowupID: 437500

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:04

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:04
Mine too Al. Reckon mine would too but sure she would like to check EO a couple of times a day and get to the bank too.

Back on the wants/needs ........... Saw a GMC, US registered 4by at William Creek with an EO sticker and believe it has an electric espresso/cappaccino machine in a compartment in the side. Was or is out here for the OB Challenge and a look around.
FollowupID: 437503

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 11:18

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 11:18
Hmmm, I'm sure the owner posted on here a while back John. Had pics of the unit in a shipping container etc. Can't find him on the members list though. His membership has probably expired while he's been touring around.
FollowupID: 437532

Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:00

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:00
hot water bottle
crayfish
icecream
lotsa red
AnswerID: 181152

Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:13

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:13
All of the above plus

Stones Green Ginger Wine
Ipod
King Island cream for the scones

AnswerID: 181153

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:13

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:13
A second 12v fridge to run as freezer only,
so you can have nice square icecubes in you G & T.
AnswerID: 181154

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:18

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:18
Hey Baz,

Is the cappuccino machine 12v? Call me a yuppie, but I love my coffee and I'm a much nicer person when I have it.

AnswerID: 181156

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:32

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:32
No mate it's a genuine stove top Italian jobbie

FollowupID: 437506

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:36

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:36
Froths the milk as well does a brilliant cappaccino and espresso
FollowupID: 437509

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:43

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 09:43
Where did you buy it it and how much
FollowupID: 437512

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 14:22

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 14:22
GOGLE REMO THAT'LL FIND THEM
FollowupID: 437561

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 16:51

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 16:51
FollowupID: 437582

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 16:48

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 16:48
No doubt Redback got it at a kitchen shop like we got ours G'Troppo. Need to be a good kitchen shop though/ Think they are round the the old grey nurse for price. May be little more....
FollowupID: 437708

Reply By: signman - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 12:03

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 12:03
What about satellite TV...?? microwave oven...??
and I guess you tow a trailer mounted generator behind the C/T...!!
I mean, if you're going to do it, you may as well go all the way.
AnswerID: 181202

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 14:20

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 14:20
Don't need a generator, too noisey all 12v and gas.

You do it your way, we'll do it ours, OK.

FollowupID: 437560

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 13:25

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 13:25
I have my house wired and unwired with numerous mod cons but I prefer to travel light. I have my simple and basic camping gear along with a 12v fridge, laptop, nav equipment and amateur radio gear. The fridge is a relativity new acquisition, got sick of mucking around with ice.
AnswerID: 181217

Reply By: disco1942 - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 13:40

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 13:40
Sounds like you need to tow a 28' Bushtracker.

AnswerID: 181219

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 15:15

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 15:15
Was a time all the swmbo and I needed was a destination ,toothbbrushes ,1 old ex army hootchy ,the motorbike full of fuel and a pocket full of cash,
now the list extends to several pages of "comfort " gear and thousands of dollars invested , but the one thing I refuse to go camping without is my favorite china coffee mug , just cannot drink a brew from anything else.
AnswerID: 181239

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 16:10

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 16:10
Baz,

I like my comforts as well, a well appointed camper trailer with a Queen bed, kitchen etc. I have to say that my laptop has gotten a lot of use, mainly as a storage device for photos and keeping trip notes up to date. Also usefull for drafting emails etc and sending them when in town. Like already mentioned it would be tops to get internet on the off road so that fellow EO members could get real time updates (hopefully this will become more affordable in the future).

AnswerID: 181247

Reply By: revhead307 - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 16:39

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 16:39
I have a portable battery powered bug zapper...found it in a cheapo, red dot store for $20.

Turn it on 5m out of camp and it keeps all the flying stuff out of camp. has full UV and zapping power...lasts all night on batteries.

Ive even wired it to a regulated supply ie (1.5 through 12v output) and it runs nicely at 6V (prev 4 x D cells).

Rev
AnswerID: 181249

Reply By: cackles - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:59

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:59
Camp recliner,
we don't have much space so only goes local,
it's lucky we can drive an hour to a very quiet beach camp.
guess it's even better to have an esky for side table!
Cackles

AnswerID: 181267

Reply By: Old Scalyback & denny - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 19:32

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 19:32
goodday baz and others
electric toothbrush charges off the invertor if we are away from 240v as well as all the other "toys" laptop digital camera gps etc
AnswerID: 181282

Reply By: Noel W (Qld) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 20:21

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 20:21
Me missus - !!
AnswerID: 181289

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 08:52

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 08:52
Hi Baz.....

I'm with you..... why not have a few creature comforts when on holidays.... I remember as a scout a LOOOOOOOOONG time ago sleeping in a sleeping bag under the stars on a camp... these days I prefer our nice warm camper trailer thanks..... and as many "niceties" as possible.

AnswerID: 181326

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 09:41

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 09:41
I guess I still keep it rather simple, fridge, tent, airbed, gas stove and a few lights and a nice chair.

Am working on a laptop and GPS. I want to be able to download photos and start plotting some tracks for fun.

PS .............. FOOD AND BEER just kinda adds that extra touch to a camp out :)
AnswerID: 181334