The 6.5 Chev road test

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 23:29
ThreadID: 35474 Views:4872 Replies:7 FollowUps:10

Hope you've all been good and played nice whilst I was away.

We left Perth around 10/5/06 for a 6 to 8 week prospectinng trip in the W.A. gold patches. Got back last night - knackered, as I'm not getting any younger.There was a lot going on and it was a "busy" trip that went well in spite of being a bit "underdone" for a long bush trip. We were after all a bit rushed getting the "new" Patrol ready after losing the 'Cruiser. Changes will be made.

However - on with the guts of the story. "Frodo" as the truck is affectionately known, had the 6.5 litre Chev fitted only weeks before we left. It had done only 1500 kms since the Chev was fitted, when we left home. It's first oil change was done in the bush at about 3,500 kms. The body of "Frodo" has actually done about 275,000 kms.

The oil showed no signs of metal contamination and I've since found out that this particular Chev engine is actually a standard motor. Brunswicks inspected all the bores and bearings surfaces and simply honed & polished the lot and new, standard sizes rings and bearing shells were fitted. So there's plenty of scope for rebores and crank grinds etc.

Overall impression? One hell of a bush truck! Compared to my stolen 100 series TD Cruiser? The 'Cruiser was a "creamy" vehicle to drive, smooth, effortless overtaking and a dream to drive and tow a van on the bitumen. But "Frodo" beats it hands down in the bush. The IHDT-FE engine in the "Cruiser depends heavily on the turbo for that awesome rush of power and torque when it winds up but the Chev just delivers torque at tickover. It just tonked along at tickover speed in second gear when out and about looking for "good ground", without any vibration or transmission snatch. Although, the GQ gearbox that replaced the original 2.8 gearbox is still very "notchy" and needs the clutch master cylinder pushrod extended by another quarter of a turn. The Chev/Patrol just stolled through dry sandy creeks with my 1.8 tonne Supreme Getaway offroad van behind it, in second gear at 600 to 800 rpm. It seemed to be saying "Weight? What weight??" No grabbing at the gearstick to change down, just give it a bit more throttle and away it went. The 'Cruiser was a bit flat at the bottom of rev range by comparisonand I was always grabbing at the gears in these situations.

On the bitumen it's very quick off the mark even with the van behind it and is quickly up to 100 kmh. When it's not towing, I only use 3 gears - 2nd, 3rd and 5th, I use all of 'em when towing but could get away with just 3 gears if I really had to - but that would be abuse. Towing on the bitumen, I'd choose the 'Cruiser' but for what I want - a good bush truck, the Nissan/Chev is a better option. I miss the real rush of power of the turbo diesel 'Cruiser, but the Chev does almost the same but without the "kick in the arriss" that the turbo 'Cruiser gives you.

It's currently got diff ratios of 3.9 in it, but after seeing what it can do on this trip I'm considering going up to 3.7 diff ratios. I reckon with my smaller van, it would pull these ratios easily. Without the van, it would eat a 3.7 ratio. This would give me about 12% better fuel economy. (hmmm,,,,,,,do Nissans do a 3.5 ratio??).

At times I (slightly) abused the motor to observe any ill effects, but the temp guage never moved from it's normal reading even pulling hard in 5th gear uphill. Very rarely did I change down to get up a hill. The only real challenge was Bindoon Hill, about 100 kms out of Perth. I finally dropped to 3rd gear for the final 100 metres of the hill - but that was at 75 kmh! It was more of a concession to the engine than a problem for it. It would have done it 4th gear.

Economy? The Turbo 'Cruiser did about 23 mpg (12.2 litres/ 100 km, 8.2 km/litre) around town. The Chev does about 18 mpg. However it is still a "tight" motor & I'm hoping it will do better after doing the bext 40,000 kms. Towing? The "Cruiser did 16.5 MPG, the Chev did about 13.5 MPG. I reckon the Chev will never be as economical as the 'Cruiser, but I save about $2200.00 per annum by not paying for servicing on the Toyota. Being an ex-diesel mechanic and the Chev being such a simple motor, I'm back to doing my own servicing again. Plus, now I'm retired I'll be making a bit more bio-diesel again.

Noise? It's a noisy, indirect injection engine and rattles like a 44 gallon drum of hammers in a morning. I'm gonna fix that with more soundproofing. At 100 kmh, towing my van it's like being in a Sherman tank!! The "straight through" exhaust and that "booming", V8 sound makes it even worse! At least it keep SWMBO from pestering me with nonsensical comments!! If ya want a quiet engine ( or wanna talk to yer wife!) - buy a Landcruiser. If ya want top bush truck buy a Nissan/Chev.

There's a lot of other stuff, but I'll do these in further threads. For now, that's it folks. That's the show!

CYA - take care,

Bilbo

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 23:35

Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 23:35
good report bilbo. glad you enjoyed yourself out there. yep, Bindoon hill gets everyone, no matter how many ponies you got tucked away under the bonnet....lol.
hope the economy improves for you.

meow.

rick.
AnswerID: 181520

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 23:53

Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 23:53
Yep - Bindoon Hill!! I once had my old Ford Maverick trayback ute loaded to hilt and pulling a 3 tonne bobcat on a tandem trailer up Bindoon. I flogged the arriss off it in 2nd gear all the way up!! I even passed a road train on that overtaking lane going north up the hill! He was shocked!!

That old Nissan TD42 engine was a REAL workhorse. Never ever let me down.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 437853

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 08:23

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 08:23
Thanks for the feedback Bilbo, will look forward to hearing more, especially when you get some real klm's up and loosen the engine.

AnswerID: 181540

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 09:03

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 09:03
G'day Bilbo,

It sounds like you've found gold! At least in the vehicle and maybe in having the time away but did you have any luck for all that "effort"?

Theo
AnswerID: 181545

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 21:01

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 21:01
Well, we found SOME gold, but it is getting scarcer. I did get a few distractions that cost time - including a bad back strain that promoted SWMBO to "Head Bipper" and me demoted to "Camp Tramp" (aka "Kitchen Bitch).

Bilbo
FollowupID: 437954

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 10:51

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 10:51
Thanks Bilbo,

Get that back sorted because I'm sure you don't want the title of "kitchen Bitch" for too long.

FollowupID: 438047

Reply By: Des Lexic - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 10:19

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 10:19
At least it keep SWMBO from pestering me with nonsensical comments!! If ya want a quiet engine ( or wanna talk to yer wife!) - buy a Landcruiser.
At last one reason to buy a patrol. LOL
Seriously, Sounds like your on a winner with the 6.5 and in the long term it can only get better as the motor would rarely get a hiding and should last for years.
AnswerID: 181563

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 21:21

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 21:21
Chit Chit Chit..........now my secret's out!!!!!!!!!!!! hahahahaha
FollowupID: 437958

Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 13:44

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 13:44
Glad you're happy mate. Sound like a beaut rig you've got there.

My 6.5 Chev took a good 40K to 'free up' and I found the Brunswick air intake setup far too restrictive. Try taking the inlet pipe off and go for a spin around the block and see if it makes a difference. Chalk and cheese with my 75 Series Cruiser. Naturally, have a good look around the engine bay and use common sense to ensure that nothing wil get sucked in to your motor of course.

Did a couple of goldfields trips myself over the last couple of months. One through the Upper Gascoyne / Meekatharra and another up around Yakabindie (south of Wiluna) and then down through Nambi / Kookynie etc. Wish I was still there. Heading out around Norseman way as soon as work calms down a bit too.
AnswerID: 181600

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 22:28

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 22:28
V8, you mentioned the air filter thing before and I've yet to try it. I was just absolutely flat strap getting the truck ready for this last trip that I didn't have a minute to scratch meself. I will try it one day. Diesels just love more air eh!

Did no good at all at Kookynie - "Butterfly" is finished. Murrin produced some - again. It always does fer me it seems. North of Meeka was a failure, but we got a few "fuel bits" at Nannine. But that's just about all done fer big stuff. Only very deep 2 grammers and less there now.

I'll be back out in a few weeks when I've had my back sorted out

Good luck mate,

Bilbo
FollowupID: 437979

Reply By: TUFF IFS LUX - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 19:21

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 19:21
Bilbo,

Your making us all jealous here(well, the ones without the 6.5 chev diesels anyway). I dont suppose you can post a pic of your rig here?

If ya dont know how, just email me the pics and I'll post them here for ya!

Enjoy your truck...you lucky bastard...dont suppose you need some cruiser parts?

Just kidding.hahaha

max.
AnswerID: 181642

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 22:21

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 22:21
I have some pics on my space here in the forum. These were of the truck's engine bay when it was being fitted.

I don't have any (yet) of it's current state as it's covered in red dust, scratches and dents! I'll see what I can do. My camera packed in the bush as well, so that needs looking at.

I have a set of 3rd row and 2nd row seats for a 100 series turbo diesel 'Crusier and a set of 4 alloy rims - 5 stud fitting - for the same. Any offers?

Bilbo
FollowupID: 437977

Reply By: barra man - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 20:14

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 20:14
love the story,can't wait for mine now.
brunswick's sent me two photos of a
red gu they had yust done,it also custom
number plates not yours was it

regards barra man
AnswerID: 181655

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 22:35

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 22:35
Barra,

Mine is metallic red but doesn't have personalised plates. I'll try and post some pics of mine on here.

You'll love yours in the bush. It's easy driving. The servicing can be done by you or anyone without voiding any warranty with Brunswick.

One tip though - don't ever let the fuel tank run dry. I did on this last trip due to the main tank fuel gauge being out by 20%. They are an absolute pig to bleed - even fer an old diesel mech like me. I'll be speaking to Greg Jones at Brunswicks about this and see if there's any "handy hints". They're supposed to be a self bleeding injection pump - but they ain't. They seem to be the typical rotary pump - a real barsteward if ya run 'em dry.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 437981

Follow Up By: Topcat (WA) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 23:06

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 23:06
Hi Bilbo, I see you got caught letting your tank run dry. Had the same thing happen to me too when I had my chevy for a couple of months. Was trying to see how accurate my fuel gauge was (LOL). After bleeding my fuel filters & the line to the pump, I had to loosen all the injector lines at the injectors as you can't get at all the lines on the pump without removing the air intake manifold. I then connected up both my dual batteries in parallel to get a bit of cranking speed up & it took quite a few revs to get the fuel through the lines. Greg told me they weren't a self bleeding pump & there isn't a bleed screw on the pump inlet gallery that i could see either. So when you are changing filters make sure you don't drain the line from the fliter to the pump. Glad you had a good trip overall 7 you're pleased with the chevy setup. By the way I just live in close vacinity to you so maybe we could catch up sometime. Cheers.
FollowupID: 437994

Follow Up By: V8 Troopie - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 23:35

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 23:35
The one time I ran out of fuel with my brunswick chevvy 6.2 it was just outside a petrol station.
The motor lost power and stopped, whence I switched fuel tanks in the hope there was a little left in the other tank. Then squeezed the inline rubber bulb pump (aka Outboard tanks) a few times and tried starting again. It worked and she ran fine after a few go's, there was no need to bleed fuel lines etc.
Brunswick fitted that bulb, it was pointed out to me when I asked where the priming pump was. I was a bit dubious but it certainly did the trick.
Klaus
FollowupID: 438001

Follow Up By: Topcat (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 00:04

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 00:04
Hi V8 Troopie, that's interesting about the inline rubber bulb. My chevy was one of the first to be fitted by Brunswick so I'll ask Greg about getting one the next time I'm down there (or get one from a marine outlet) although now I know how much is left in my tanks when the gauge reads empty I hope never to run dry again (touch wood!!!!). Cheers.
FollowupID: 438003