caravan park in alice

Submitted: Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 08:51
ThreadID: 35479 Views:3135 Replies:12 FollowUps:8
anyone recommend where to stay while in alice??? no hotels etc wanted - just a patch of dirt ( or grass ) to pitch the tent for 4 days while we do the touristy thing!!

Laura b

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 08:57

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 08:57
Hi Laura,

We were well looked after at the Stuart CP. The owner was (is) a boiler maker and we needed to have some welding done - the best job bar none and a hell of a nice guy.

AnswerID: 181543

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 08:58

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 08:58
Laura,

I've stayed at MacDonnell Range CP, Heavitree Gap CP and G'Day Mate CP. I reckon MacDonnell Range is far and away the best.

Viv
AnswerID: 181544

Follow Up By: scoof - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 14:34

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 14:34
Ditto , nice spot.And a small supermarket and pub with in walking distance.

Scoof
FollowupID: 437900

Reply By: Darian (SA) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 09:08

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 09:08
I'm with Viv - McDonnel Ranges CP is excellent - lots of tourist info in the shop - amenties spotless....... non powered sites, right up in the back corner may be the go... whatever.
AnswerID: 181547

Follow Up By: Member - nrb1748 (VIC) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 09:24

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 09:24
Ditto
nrb1748

FollowupID: 437863

Follow Up By: Longreach - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 09:29

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 09:29
And do they still do free pancakes on Sundays ?
FollowupID: 437864

Follow Up By: Squizzy - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 10:41

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 10:41
Also have stayed at a couple of parks in Alice, but the McDonnell Range one wins hands down.

FollowupID: 437869

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 09:28

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 09:28
Laura I'm with Viv too on this one, the McDonnel Ranges CP is GREAT, plenty of stuff for the kids too..

Lyn
AnswerID: 181552

Follow Up By: Laura B - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 09:42

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 09:42
will give them a go i reckon......

kasey cannt wait for our "big trip to the sun" - she points to alice springs on the weather on tv which always has a sun....and says "we go there on our big trip mummy...to the sun" . doesnt realise that its not the sun in the sky that we are going to!!!

Laura !MPG:10!
FollowupID: 437866

Reply By: Member - Woodsy - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 09:38

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 09:38
Hi Laura

Just a suggestion.

At the Macdonnell Range Holiday (Caravan) Park they have grassed sites with en-suite attached. A bit pricier but soooo convenience, opps!, sorry!, convenient.

Have stayed there a number of times and it is a good park.

Their phone # is 08 8952 6111.
Happy 4 wheeling

Woodsy

AnswerID: 181554

Follow Up By: Laura B - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 09:43

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 09:43
how busy do they get ya know??? would we have to book....will be there end half of aug

Laura
FollowupID: 437867

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 09:50

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 09:50
Laura, book it, they get really busy
FollowupID: 437868

Reply By: Robin - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 10:11

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 10:11
Hi Laura

We had a surprise or two when we stayed in Alice two weeks ago, first it was -2 degrees which we told was warmer than the previous week.

We just rocked up and got a unit or 2 at a caravan park/ motel complex immediately south of the Gap (east side).
The gap is a narrow channel between two Ciffs on main road towards south of alice.
The rock formation is quite spectacular in the sunrise.

Anyway, our rooms were near the rock formation and I parked car within 1 car length of it and got out (about 5pm ) and noticed people hanging round.

On getting out , we saw why , their was about 20 rock wallabibes jumping around and all the kids were feeding them on special pellets.

Was just the cutest unexpected thing.

Lots of 4wds, camper trailers an tent area was about 100m away though , also great tavern with good family meals to.

AnswerID: 181560

Follow Up By: mattie - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 12:34

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 12:34
Would agree with everyone else about the macdonald ranges cp, if u happen to be there around the time of the camel cup(it may have already been) expect to book ahead as we didn't and u would be surprised how hard it was to find a couple of non powered tent sites( we didn't realise the camel race was on until we went to the cp to book in.
and as someone has allready said do not under estimate how cold a -2 morning up there is!!!

Mattie
FollowupID: 437879

Reply By: Darian (SA) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 11:14

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 11:14
IF space was a problem at the McDRCP (never been when we have been there) the other park we have used is the Wintersun - that is on the top side of the Alice, on the main road as you leave town for Darwin.... quite good as a second pick.

AnswerID: 181575

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 14:02

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 14:02
If you do stay at the McDRHP (as has already been suggested by many others) you may like to check-out a family eating house / bar about 2 - 300 metres back towards Alice. They used to regularly have a guy from a snake muesum come out one evening each week and show heaps of lizards and snakes while you had your meal. Fantastic little free show (voluntary donation to the muesum in a box). I really do recomend it.
AnswerID: 181603

Reply By: Boo - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 17:08

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 17:08
Laura,

We stayed at the MacDonald Ranges Caravan Park early in June this year, great place, they have free activities every night (star gazing, didgeridoo (spell?) lessons, bush ballads plus other things which we weren't there for).

They also have swimming pools (but a bit cold at the moment) they were just installing a couple of jumping pillows which would be operational now, the kids will love that, and they do still have the free pancake breakfast on Sundays.

All this and it doesn't cost any more than other places.

Even though you are camping, I'd suggest a small fan heater for the nights to take the chill off the air, a powered site only costs a couple of dollars more and it definately makes that getting up in the middle of the night more bearable.

We had a fantastic time and I'm sure you will too.

Have fun,

Kerrie.
AnswerID: 181622

Reply By: kev.h - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 17:41

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 17:41
Laura
I would agree with McDonald Ranges C.P. its the best I assume you are touring around if you stay at kings canyon at the caravan park ask to be in the back row (it usually fills quickly) it has the best views of the cliffs at sunset worth the effort you will have to book to get the best spot usually wont put you there unless you ask its so popular
Regards Kev
AnswerID: 181626

Reply By: Wisey (NSW) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 19:12

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 19:12
Hi Laura and Nathan

MRCP gets the thumbs up from me also. Highly recommended on here and award winning in the industry so I'd book to be safe. Was up there 2 yrs ago with about 50 vehicles in the group and it all went like clockwork. So much planning to be done, only 6 wks to go, good luck to you. Did you get a flag pole set up? Kaseys first fish, what a hookup, LOL
Take care

Andy
AnswerID: 181638

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 23:10

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 23:10
G'day Laura B, Try the Temple Bar Caravan Park, just south of Alice. Take the turn off to the left, follow road past Alice Springs Motocross Track then onto the Park.
It's 9klm from the Highway.
Great place run by a woman, there's plenty of sites, powered and unpowered, great walks and plenty of views
AnswerID: 181693