bob jane 75 series illegal
Submitted: Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 11:16
djrziggy
Just rang bob jane about fitting 265/75/16 bfg at to my prado, they told me they wouldnt do as this is to tall a tyre and would make the car illegal but i know every man and his dog fits 265/75. Told me I could fit 275/60 and this would make it legal. anyone else been told this or done this tyre size
Darren
Reply By: nowimnumberone - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 12:12
Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 12:12
when i was fitting tyres and people wanted bigger/illegal tyres i would always explain to them why there were illegal but if they still wanted them fitted we would do it if we didnt someone else would.
Reply By: Sea-Dog - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 12:16
Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 12:16
WTF?? I can't believe that a Bob Jane store would knock anyone back on flogging off a set of tyres.... It isn't like you are trying to fit a set of 36" jungle trekkars on your car or anything.
I would be going to another dealer to be honest and when you have the tyres on and all new and shiny drop in to say g'day to the Bob Jane store and let them know that you went somewhere else..
Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 12:12
Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 12:12
Here's a store that's finally got the balls to do the right thing by the customer and not sell them something that will make their vehicle illegal, even if it means missing out on a sale and they still cop a bagging from some, unbelieveble.
Avagoodn
Pezza
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 16:36
Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 16:36
..and you honestly think the 40 series tyres on 20 inch rims on the blingmeisters are legal on a vehicle that comes out with 15" rims as standard?????????????
Raodworthy regs only allow +1" and +2" rim increases.
Reply By: 3.0turbob - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 12:27
Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 12:27
Best to check with your state's Road Authority and your insurance company, then if they give the OK, go somewhere else.
Rob
Reply By: Dazmit - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 12:48
Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 12:48
No differant to fitting 285/75/16's to LandCruisers in QLD - it's technically illegal but heaps are happy to take the punt that if something goes wrong the insurance will drop them like a hot potato.
I reckon good on them for advising you - also saves you coming back and blaming Bob Jane if insurance does void you in event of a prang etc.
Darryl
Brisbane
Reply By: Member - Stephen L- Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 12:54
Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 12:54
Hi djrziggy
What you have been told is correct, as I have the same size on my Pajero. The tyre company said that they could not fit the 265/75x16 as it was illegal and in the event of an accident, they could be liable for fitting the wrong size tyre to my vehicle. To go to a LT, they fitted 245/75x16, which give you the same rolling dimentions. of about 775mm, where as the 265/75x16 are about 803mm
Reply By: Scubaroo - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 13:12
Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 13:12
Was told the same thing by a Bob Jane store in
Melbourne - they wouldn't even give me prices on 75 series for the Pajero.
Follow Up By: djrziggy - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 13:34
Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 13:34
what did you end up fitting
Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 14:10
Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 14:10
BFG AT in 70 profile - they are still LT construction.
Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 14:13
Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 14:13
Not from Bob Jane either I should add! Best prices I could find in
Melbourne were from Bentleigh Tyre Service (on two separate occasions).
Reply By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 14:16
Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 14:16
They told me the same thing about the tyres I wanted for the Terracan, originals are 255/65R16, but would like to go to 255/70R16 about an increase of 26-28mm. But on the tyre placcard there is nothing to state the maximum tyre size. Just states that you cannot go below a certain weight/ speed rating when replacing the tyres. I know in QLD you can only go up 15mm, but you just have to weigh up the pro's and con's of going up a size or two..
Greg S
Reply By: prado4x4 - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 15:48
Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 15:48
Way back when, I had BFG AT's fitted to my Prado by a local Bob Jane store in
Perth. I fitted 265/75R16's, and all the guys at the store said was "I'm sure you're aware these are over standard size and not strictly legal. Would you like us to fit them or the standard size tyres". I told them to fit the larger tyres, and they quite happily did.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 16:41
Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 16:41
If you got pinged for fitting 265/75 instead of 265/70 then you'd be the first.
Follow Up By: Merce - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 18:29
Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 18:29
It's one of those things. Check with your insurance company. Most only care that they are black and round.
Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 21:11
Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 21:11
Agreed Phil - everyone's brother's friend's uncles' butcher had a customer last week who knew a guy who heard of someone getting done.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 00:54
Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 00:54
they only need to check when there is an accident or rollover
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 17:28
Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 17:28
and fisho64 when the insurance company says the claim wont go through because the "tires" were not legal for the vehicle ,who will you blame ??
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 19:11
Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 19:11
"when the insurance company says the claim wont go through because the "tires" were not legal for the vehicle ,who will you blame ??"
not me mate! but I know most people would go straight back to the tyre company and try and get it back off them. When facing a big loss, peoples word/ethics/memory has a habit of evaporating.
What I am saying is the insurance company couldnt give a toss what tyres you fit, they collect the premium anyway. If you tell them of course then they have to approve/disallow it.
But if you dont tell them and have an accident then they have an easy way out. It will be up to you to prove the tyres DIDNT contribute.
Good luck, anyone who cant see that is in fairy land, Im sorry!
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 19:26
Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 19:26
fisho64 , do you get pis--d off when you insurance premium goes up for what seems to be no reason ??? its because ars--oles dont tell the truth so everyone has to pay ,,nuff said ,,you advocate its alright ,,I say YOU cost ME money.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 21:01
Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 21:01
Alloy- what are on? read my followups? I am saying exactly what you are saying, mate.
Where do you get the impression i am advocating it is alright, or that I am costing you money?
Jeez if you want to get sh...y and stroppy with someone at least try it with someone who is disagreeing with you?
Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 23:02
Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 23:02
The insurance companies have every right to disallow claims involving unroadworthy vehicles, so be very careful regarding, wheels, tyres, lifts & lights.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 00:29
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 00:29
dead right Shaker
Reply By: Exploder - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 18:40
Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 18:40
What is happening to this country?
It’s not like it’s going to change the handling characteristics of the car is it.
“It isn't like you are trying to fit a set of 36" jungle trekkars on your car or anything.”
Exactly, Like heaven forbid you go and fit a slightly bigger tyre so to have more rubber contacting the road =ing more grip yep you wouldn’t what that now would ya.
Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 12:19
Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 12:19
the main problem i recon(cant spell figure)is if they let the
tyres get bigger then where do you stop.
bigger lifts bigger engines ect.
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 17:24
Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 17:24
Exploder ,1 tiny little problem with your theory that it wont change the handling ,that problem being that it does change the handling /braking ect ect,a car maker spends godzillions of $ to set up a vehicle and gets it to handle whithin its design parrameters ,,Joe Bloggs says it will be better with a 4" body lift and a 6"
suspension lift and tires 36" tall ,,,better for whom ,,and by the way a bigger tire does not always mean more rubber
on the road = more grip ,only common sense and the correct pressure can deliver that.
Follow Up By: Exploder - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 18:55
Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 18:55
Mate reread the post I said slightly bigger
tyres like fitting a 32 or even a 33 instead of a 31 we are not talking huge increases hear.
I bet that a 1- or 2-inch increases in overall tyre height will make a bees dick of difference in handling and it may even improve it slightly.
Obviously a 36-inch tyre is going to cause problems but 1-2 Inches hardly a problem.
Lets not forget that just about all car manufactures will have a B/S factor built in, so brakes and
suspension are never close to there operating limits with stock equipment installed.