Magellan GPS Time in SA

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 13:31
ThreadID: 35514 Views:2049 Replies:6 FollowUps:1
G'day

I have recently replaced my Magellan Sportrak with a Magellan Meridian, however with both of them I have never been able to set the correct time in SA during non-daylight saving time. Every time I go through the process of manually setting the time, straight after I do this it automatically updates it to 30mins slower, if I set the time 30mins faster it does not compensate for example: right now in SA it is 1:00pm, if I set it for 1:00pm it will update to 12:30pm, if I set it for 1:30pm it will stay at this time. Does anyone have a solution to this problem?

Thanks in advance

Snowy

Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 14:12

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 14:12
Hiya Snowy, does the unit have a provision for setting daylight saving time? If it does, disable this feature and set the correct UTC Offset for Other Time Zones (I think it will be +10hrs 30 mins) and see if this corrects the problem. I use a Garmin myself but would expect the Magellan to operate similarly.

AnswerID: 181772

Reply By: StephenF10 - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 14:32

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 14:32
Snowy,

Are you going through the Setup->Time Format->Local AM/PM sequence? Are you setting the current time (or something close to it) in the box, then pressing the Done button (and going outside to acquire the satellites)? If this doesn't work you may have to reset the receiver and go through the steps again.

Stephen.
AnswerID: 181773

Reply By: rolux1983 - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 21:41

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 21:41
Hi Snowy
My brother has just purchased a explorist 100 which does exactly the same, will watch this thread with interest for an answer
rolux
AnswerID: 181853

Reply By: Muzzgit (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 23:36

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 23:36
If you need to know the time just look at your watch, or the oven, or your mobile phone, or the microwave, or the VCR, or the computer, or on the dash of the car, or the car stereo, or the alarm clock, or the digital camera. LOL

How did we all get along before all these gizmo's had clocks on them, and isn't it frustrating when they all say a different time?
AnswerID: 181884

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 09:38

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 09:38
Muzzgit,
You just reminded me of my oldest daughter, she's 16 and can't handle two clocks showing different times, even by a couple of minutes.
It freaks the poor bugger out. She can't change them because she's got no idea which one is correct.
So funny to watch,

Geoff.

PS, I can relate to your story about your mate with the 80 Series that can't get his head around the Patrol sub tank to main pumping. My Troopy is the same as your mates 80 and I can't get my head around the Nissan either.
Neither method is right and neither is wrong, just what you are used too!

FollowupID: 438237

Reply By: arthurking83 - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 01:01

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 01:01
Hi Snowy,

What firmware(software) version is the ST still using?

I reckon maybe that could be "a problem" if it's an older version???

I just changed the time on my Meridian, 30 mins faster to Adelaide time (in Melb), and there is no problem!

Restarted the GPS 2 times to make sure!!......no problems.

I think the latest frimware version for the ST may be 5.34???
(not too sure? check Magellans (not NextDestination!!) site for the latest if you need it)

Don't mix up the Meridian f/w whichmay have similar numbering!

My method for changing the time, is as StephenF10 described it....but it sounds like you have done that, by the description you gave.
AnswerID: 181890

Reply By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 09:24

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 09:24
G'Day All

Thanks for your replies after disabling the daylight saving feature, then manually setting the time, it seems to be okay. Thanks for your responses.

Snowy
AnswerID: 181917