battery charger idea

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 17:45
ThreadID: 35521 Views:3392 Replies:19 FollowUps:23
ive had an idea for a while but would like to know if people think it would work and if there could be problems before i attemp to do it.
my idea is to get an alternater and replace the pully with a rubber wheel and mount to the axle of the camper so the rubber wheel sits against the inside of the rim so when the campers being towed it would charge what ever batteries you had in the camper or else where.

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 17:52

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 17:52
Love it , when u get all the problems sorted it realy is worthy of the " New Inventors" on the ABC ,,
AnswerID: 181797

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 17:59

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 17:59
Yeah tend to agree with Alloy, Brilliant ingenuity (spell check??).
If you do something with this idea, also think of how to overcome the prob of swingarm suspension mouting as well. Many offroad trailers also come with this suspension.
Good luck to you.

Trevor.
AnswerID: 181798

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 18:16

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 18:16
Trevor R , sitting here with a good glass of red a thought came to me that susspension be it leaf /coil or any other form would not be a problem ,the alternator itself would have to be "mounted" not to the "body" but to the wheel hub ,the biggest problem is suspending such a weight from the hub as the rubber wheel would have to be in contact full time to be of any benefit.
FollowupID: 438120

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 19:22

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 19:22
Even better, leave the belt setup on the alternator, mount it to the chasis and run the belt via a spring loaded tensioner around another pully on the axel. That way the suspension could move up and down and the alternator could stay put.

Love it anyway, what a great idea!
FollowupID: 438134

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 23:55

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 23:55
A pulley on the axle would not be much good - it does not rotate. Try the brake drum.

FollowupID: 438208

Reply By: Nick R - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 18:02

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 18:02
I'm all for innovation but it would be less troublesome to run cabling from a dual battery setup in the engine bay.
Issues you may face is that your alternater will have little room for suspension and therefore take the full force of bumps and holes on the road, also it and the wiring would be pelted with stones frequently.
good luck,
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 181799

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 18:20

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 18:20
Oh yea of little faith ,with doubts such as yours the car you drive would be but a dream !!!!
FollowupID: 438121

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 18:02

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 18:02
Iam sure they use to ran generators on the prop shafts of yachts in the old days, so give it a go and if you get it to work hope u tell us all about it. A bit of info u might like is: if u r running say 31x10.5x15 the tyre revs at 100k is 671.6rpm.
Cheers Bruce
AnswerID: 181800

Reply By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 18:26

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 18:26
Ive suggested this exact idea many months ago. It is definately doable. Most important things to focus on are solid mounts, covers for both alternator from stones and protection of wiring from stones. I have everything in the garage but i have not been able to experiment with it and its another idea that will have to wait. Just dont have the time at the moment. The idea of a rubber solid wheel is good, my intention was to weld a ring rear to the rim and run the alt off that using a smaller gear in place of the pulley. But either way it depends on what type of suspension your trailer has.
Good luck with it

So little time...so much to do
Ange
AnswerID: 181806

Reply By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 18:59

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 18:59
Weather proofing of the alternator? (will it need it?)

Drive slippage in the wet?

Knowing how much charge has gone/is going into the battery?

A switch to allow charging from the vehicle or the trailer?

Do alternators have the necessary electronics to prohibit reverse flow in the event of very slow speed? (probably)

Remember "there's nowt for nowt" if your trailer alternator is putting 300W into your battery then your trailer will require 300W (plus a bit) more energy to pull it.

It's an attractive idea but I wonder if it's not a lot harder than running a charging cable from the vehicle?

AnswerID: 181815

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 19:28

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 19:28
I reckon for a vehicle that is running a fridge, running lights, charging a flat(ish) second in vehicle battery and running all the whiz bangery in the car, having a seperate alternator charging the trailer battery would take a lot of load off the main alternator and possibly charge the batteries faster. Also there would be no issues of voltage drop for charging the camper battery.

300w on the towing of the trailer?
I don't think you'd miss that cruising on the highway.

Why would an alternator need weather proofing? Mines covered in mud and get's dunked reguarly under the bonnet....

Don't most modern alternators have regulators built into them? If so, surely that would take care of the charge rate.

I reckon it's got potential.

Why would you want to switch it to charge off the vehicle?

FollowupID: 438140

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 19:38

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 19:38
Mike ,just for once think outside of the Square , do we realy have to believe that the energy used to drive the alternator is not already "paid "for thru just the fact of towing the trailer ,,get in behind with some of your expertise instead of the you can do this or that negativity usually on the forum ,,
FollowupID: 438142

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 19:41

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 19:41
>would take a lot of load off the main alternator

If your main alternator cannot cope with the extra load then you need a bigger alternator.

>300w on the towing of the trailer?
>I don't think you'd miss that cruising on the highway.

That's true, of course - I was just making the point that it isn't free energy.

>Don't most modern alternators have regulators built into them? If so,
>surely that would take care of the charge rate.

I'm not sure how they react to prolonged slow speed - it's not a situation they would expect to see for long periods; that's why I raised it as a query - a definitive answer would be good -anyone?

>Why would you want to switch it to charge off the vehicle?

Perhaps in the rain? When, I suspect, the drive will slip badly and you won't have any idea how much charge is going into the battery.

FollowupID: 438144

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 19:47

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 19:47
3 x Batteries being charged at say 40 amps, headlights say 15 amps, ECU, stereo, laptop, GPS, Radio gear etc etc say 20amps, fridge say 5amps. (ok these are really rough off the top of my head).

+40
+40
+15
+20
=160 amps

How big is your alternator? Mines 70amps at high rev's on the specs, but it's 15 years old so would be barley putting anywhere near that I would think.
FollowupID: 438148

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 19:53

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 19:53
Alloy:

I have spent 30 years designing electrical/electronic/software products - not stuff you knock up in the back yard but often things, which if they fail, will result in the death of people or _even worse_ in our wealth obsessed world things which will loose people money if they fail! This experience has taught me that, almost, every man and his dog out there has a "brilliant idea" - like the guy who wanted me to design a control system for his hovercraft which was going to be used as a bird scarer (don't ask!) - as a hardened designer my first thought when I get a new "brilliant idea" (which is fairly often :) is take off the rose tinted glasses and _really_ look at what _might_ go wrong - because you can bet whatever might go wrong will go wrong - heard of Mr Murphy?

And don't tell me to "think outside the square" - that comment belongs on the back of a matchbox.

FollowupID: 438150

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 20:04

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 20:04
Geoff:

I'm not sure what you're getting at - I doubt you will be putting 40A into any battery (even an AGM) for more than a few seconds/minutes before it's internal impedance rises enough to reduce the charge rate.

If your load requirements are more than your alternator can supply it will simply limit it's output at maximum, I assume???? You may destroy it - but I suspect the designers assumed people would try and do that and implemented protection circuitry?

If you _really_ want a second alternator why not drive it from the engine - it will be a much more efficient energy transfer than via a rubber wheel to the trailer axel and will behave in a more predictable manner?

Don't get me wrong: the axel thing will work - I just don't think it will work very well.

FollowupID: 438151

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 21:03

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 21:03
Mike ,just for once ,its called "fun" ,,just for fun , bit like "rocket man " that just finished on the ABC , would it not be a worthwhile EO project whether it fails or makes a $m ,, for FUN.
FollowupID: 438165

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 21:31

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 21:31
Of course it’s fun and if you or the OP wish to pursue it then good on you and if you ask questions here I’ll offer all the help I’m able.

FollowupID: 438176

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 16:08

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 16:08
The typical running current of a modern EFi engine is around the 25-30 amps mark. Add to that headlights 8 amps/100 watt, + another 10 amps for sundries (stop/tail/clearance lights), and you are looking at ~50 amps around town, and ~70 amps driving out of town (high beam + spotties).

Why not buy a Christies 55 amp battery charger and use it to charge the C/T battery while you are on the move (mounted in a box on the A frame). There is no known legislation that I know of that prevents you from running an engine in a trailer whiile it is on the move (semi's do this with their A/C units), especially as it is only a low voltage generator. An added bonus is it can be used when you stop, and can be used in an emergency to keep your main battery charged. Saves loooong cable runs and dealing with the voltage drop on them.
FollowupID: 438293

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 19:40

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 19:40
Well, quite interesting.

You would save yourself a lot of trouble by just fitting solar panels to the top that can be used when camping as well.

The heavy duty charge wire from the car should do a good job and the panels will be a bonus.

The dynamo idea sounds like the old push bike I had as a kid.

BMW is designing a new engine that has magnets and field coils in the bell housing to start the engine and then charge the battery and also acts as a engine brake when decelerating. This idea as a trailer brake / charger may be a better idea.

Will cost heaps to design.

AnswerID: 181823

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 20:16

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 20:16
Not so faithful on the solar panels yet, they are pretty pricy for what they do so far. The charge cable you mention as does Nick R is the better way as long as the alternator is big enough to cope with the additional power demands we keep building in. The extra wiring and hardware like reguators could cause the costs to rise too.

The braking systems could be the innovation, but switching them to higher rates and back could be capital absorbing.

FollowupID: 438154

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 20:20

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 20:20
Good comments John - especially about regenerative braking.

However watch solar - there are new developments which may well produce _much_ more efficient panels over the next few years - unless essential I would hold off buying for at least a year or two.

FollowupID: 438156

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 21:38

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 21:38
Mike, thanks.

I can see pretty strong braking force remembering what the magneto was like on the bike wheel Derek is talking about. Am so glad now to see LED take over and the power requirements shrink. What happens though when the battery is full? No braking?

Think some above are finding the interest without any practicality of the effort and result. The stones on camper trailers have a huge capability to cut out wires and pipes.

Solar panels are currently expensive for what they deliver, they are getting lighter and less fragile. I think they will form part of the skin of some campers in the future. Not yet though.
FollowupID: 438178

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 12:50

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 12:50
Not enough room on my camper for solar panels......the boat has gotta take precedence...
FollowupID: 438259

Reply By: Philip A - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 20:08

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 20:08
What about one of those boat wind turbines with the blades cut down and placed inside a tube at the front of the CT. The turbine could be just set up so that it gets direct wind and the cars speed would charge the battery.
Only thing you would have to do is experiment with blade length to get correct revs at say 80-100KMh.
There are cheap Chinese ones about that are relatively cheap or you could make your own.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 181832

Reply By: micael - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 21:31

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 21:31
altenator driven of caravan wheel is not new I seen one years ago at eighty mile
beach caravan park. It was mounted in front of the front wheel had a very long bicycle chain, batteries were mounted on the A frame.
I hung about for several but did not get to meet the inventer because I wanted
to find out what the drag would be on the wheel.
micael
AnswerID: 181847

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 21:40

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 21:40
I'm all for usuing new (??) ideas and look forward to your report if you go ahead. But I'm afarid I don't get it. What would this setup achieve that a second (or larger) alternator under the bonnet will not? At least an alternator driven directly from your engine will provide charge whenever the engine is running, even at idle.

Anyhow, hope you go ahead with it, should be fun to think it through and then put it into reality.

AnswerID: 181852

Reply By: MartyB - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 21:53

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 21:53
What about replacing the axle of the trailer with a diff, then mount the alternater where the diff centre usually mounts?
Yeah I know, it won't work on a trailer without a solid axle.
Easy way to solve the problem with not spinning the alternater fast enough is to gear it to suit.
I liked the idea of the wind generator mounted on the trailer, imagine the looks you would get.
from Marty.
AnswerID: 181856

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 22:26

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 22:26
Marty my man, you are a genius.
This would really be the most feasible. I've been sitting here for quite a while using this as a mental excercise trying to work out a way of doing it.
You've given me a great thought.
I'd use Landcruiser hubs and stubs because the stubs are hollow and they have a full floating axle flange on the outside.
A shaft up the centre, it'd need some form of bearing on the end to a support a step up drive to the alternator.
As someone said above, the wheel rotates at a shade under 700rpm at I forget what road speed. At a wild eyed guess the alternator probably needs say 3,000rpm, The alternator speed would need confirmation.
I think it could be done!!
Heck, with Landcruiser hubs and stubs you could put an alternator in each wheel!!

Now, how do we make it into reality?

Geoff.

FollowupID: 438188

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 22:31

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 22:31
Or replacing the whole lot with an electrical braking device like in a towing dynamometer and then you can use electrical dynamic braking and charge when it's not braking.

We used to have towing dynamometers at holden for simulating loads that worked like this.

Unfortunately the added weight (lots of it) would definatel put the kybosh on this method.

FollowupID: 438189

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 16:18

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 16:18
Alternators are typically geared ~2:1 of the main engine pully so a more acceptable figure would be 6-7000 rpm. You would need a 10 x gear set off the wheel (at 600-700 rpm) to step up to the speed of the alternator, but this would create a lot of mechanical drag within the gears.
FollowupID: 438297

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 23:28

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 23:28
How I'd do it, using Landcruiser hubs and stub axles. Quite simply because the stubs are hollow.

Geoff.

AnswerID: 181881

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 16:21

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 16:21
Use an IFS hub and use the CV half shaft as a flexible drive to the chassis for the alternator.
FollowupID: 438298

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 16:48

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 16:48
Hi Gary,
That would work too.
My thought with the above is the alernator could be hidden in behind the trailing arm of independent suspension on a camper offering it a measure of protection.

I've got no idea what I'd use for drive though. A belt does appeal as it's relatively more tolerant to dirt than gear or chain.

I've no idea if I'd attempt to build one! It's been reasonable excercise thinking about it!

Geoff.

FollowupID: 438301

Reply By: Muzzgit (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 23:30

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 23:30
I am imagining a camper made out of the arrrse end of a hilux ute [chassis and all] with the alternator gizmo underneath.

The wind powered one sounds interesting too.

I am hanging out for solar panels to get cheaper. They are one of the few things that don't appear to be getting cheaper, relative to available technology and availabilty.
AnswerID: 181882

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 07:33

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 07:33
Everyone seems to be looking at big heavy alternators and there has been no comment about just trickle chargeing with a small lightweight device. What sort of small alternator / generators are available from motorbikes / small engines ?
AnswerID: 181899

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 11:13

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 11:13
yep the diff idea has great merit. If anyone has access to the "taylor dunn" or "cushman" electric buggies, which are like a little flat top ute, then lift up the rear tray panel and check out the diff.

They run a ford 9 inch housing which is fitted with some real low gears, about 5.88 i'd be guessing, with an electric traction motor mounted directly on the housing, which is geared up . One of ours at work has a belt drive set-up, the other has chain drive. So you could easlily set up something similar and even mount 2 alternators .

I like the wind turbine idea, have often thought about using one from a boat while stationary, a bit pricey from memory.
AnswerID: 181925

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 16:25

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 16:25
That's OK for getting drive down to the ground, but trying to get the energy up from the ground without stopping the wheel or losing traction (pulling the trailer off track whilst driving) is the tricky bit.
FollowupID: 438299

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 17:58

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 17:58
How about a portable one, belt driben off a bike wheel mounted on the drawbar on a lightweight set of forks like a swingarm on a dirt bike, the alternator could be mounted on or near the pivot point. Out of the way, protected, unclamp and put on the boat trailer etc.

I have also heard of the pushbike type set up used on trees in hippy camps. A long bikechain is fixxed to a tree with rope and a weight on the other, it is draped over the elevated wheel's sprocket, and everytime the distance changes between the bike and the tree branch in the wind the wheel is turned. Apparently the wheel has to be heavy enough to have a flywheel effect. This may be one for the Mythbustersthough.

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 181971

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 19:20

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 19:20
Sounds like a feasible idea.

To avoid drag on the tow vehicle the drive to the alternator should perhaps be designed so that it only works under braking.
AnswerID: 181986

Reply By: rodeonut - Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 15:55

Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 15:55
seems like a lot of trouble when you could just run a wire from existing alternator through an Anderson plug to your camper to act as a trickle charger, works well for me.
AnswerID: 182421

Reply By: madmax - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 10:44

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 10:44
Hi John,

If you are charging batteries that are not in use a 5 or 10W solar panel and regulator will keep your battery topped up (costs less than $150.) If the batteries are in use a bigger panel and regulator can give you the charge you need.

You can determine you solar and battery needs using this calculator:

AC and DC solar calculators and battery sizers

Of i am biased towards solar .. :)

Max

Max
Information Manager
Energy Matters - SOLAR and Battery Sales
www.energymatters.com.au
AnswerID: 185194