Interesting results in Fuel Economy

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 19:30
ThreadID: 35525 Views:2628 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
Gedday all,

Just an interesting observation at this stage, but? I have been using Wollworths diesel for many months now as we don't have a Coles Store in town. Fuel economy in the 3.00 ZD30 Nissan patrol has been pretty crook, down around 7.5 Kilometres per litre or 14.02 litres per 100 or 20.24 MPG.

Filled up with Shell at the local and did a trip from Forbes to ACT and return and averaged 11.95 Litres per 100ks or 8.37 Ks per litre or 23.74 MPG an improvement of over 11%. I know there are variations in things like head winds etc but this is too obvious to be a coincidence.

I will continue the experiment as I keep detailed records of my fuel useage and trip types etc.

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 19:47

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 19:47
Apples....

Fill up and do the trip again with the other fuel.

Town driving v/s Highway.

What are the exact conditions and on which fuel and at what speed and tire pressure ?

AnswerID: 181826

Follow Up By: A.J - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 20:51

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 20:51
Funny you should mention that. . . . . Started using 80/20 Biodiesel from Gull about 3 months ago and fuel economy went from 12.9L per 100k's to 11.3L per 100k's. . . . . Vehicle does 550k's per week in hwy mode at 100kph. . . . .go figure??
A.J
FollowupID: 438163

Follow Up By: Notso - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 21:12

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 21:12
Exactly the same trips and near enough same distances, No tyre changes, same winter temperatures low wind conditions, trips were only two days apart? Anyhow I'll be monitoring it for a while, but there is something going on?
FollowupID: 438170

Reply By: hillie - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 20:51

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 20:51
Notso,

My old man and I have a theory on the Woolies Diesel....it's dodgy diesel. He runs a 6 tonne truck around Brisvegas and every time he fills up with the WW stuff it puffs black smoke like Thomas the tank engine, yet when he fills up with the other "majors" no problem. And he gets better economy.

He was told that Caltex bring the diesel in from Indonesia and is obviously an inferior product to the other majors.

I personaly will not put their diesel in my Patrol.

That may explain your poor fuel economy. I am getting around 10litres per 100k's I think...haven't measured exactly

My 2 cents worth

Hillie
AnswerID: 181842

Reply By: Dirty Smitty - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 21:12

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 21:12
I have been using Woolies Fuel in my ZD30 Nav as I have been getting better fuel economy from it as opposed to shell. Woolies gives me about 10.6 L/100K where Shell it's 11.8L/100Ks.
Regardless of either of the fuels, when I ran an AVTUR mix with the diesel I was gaining more power at around 10.9L/100K The mix was about 30 45% TUR to a tank- 23-30 litres. I do not know what the cost of AVTUR is a litre, if it is cheaper than 2days diesel, If I could source it I would definitely be buying it and running it. With an additive/lubricity improver.
AnswerID: 181845

Reply By: mattie - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 22:41

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 22:41
I would agree with others in that i have been buying woolies diesel for some time but i have noticed that since about easter i have had some very high fuel consumpsions down as low as 20 m/gal from naracoorte to swanhill and return so bar 60km it was all 100km/hr, i was expecting about 28m/gal(i ussually get about 23-25 at about 119 on the cruise from here to adelaide including up and down the hill to Mt Barker a couple of times), head winds don't make much difference(2m/gal approx). Towing our ct were getting 20m/gal this time last year!!!

Mattie
AnswerID: 181870

Follow Up By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 14:52

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 14:52
I too have the same. A thread spoke about similair situations a while back. a lot of it is to do with the cetane rating of the diesel. The higher the cetane, the more 'bang for your buck40' so to speak. If memory serves we well, Woolies has one of the lower cetane ratings, and BP is the highest. (figures should be available online somewhere........)

I have been using Gull Bio-D for sveral months and noticed improvements in fuel consumption and reductions in engine chatter. Had to use 'shoppa=docket' fuel ie woolies the other day, and had a reduction in fuel consumption from approx 10.5km/L to 9.4km/L. The engine was also noisier and ran rougher.
FollowupID: 438277