2.8 or 4.2 Patrol.

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 14:14
ThreadID: 35542 Views:10415 Replies:9 FollowUps:17
Hi all, Ok made up my mind in regards to the old hilux, time to go, was getting it turbo'd in two weeks time but have just read every possible info from the archives and have decided against it, seems to be more negatives then positives. Was looking at a prado for the wife and our future long distance trips but took one for a test drive on the weekend, either I'm just used to the old lux but this prado 90 series had virtually no wheel travel, great to drive, comfortable, plenty of go (but then i'm comparing to the old 2.8) smooth, quite, but lacked wheel travel, went and had a look at patrol 95 gq 2.8 turbo diesel in excelent condition, virtually like new, yes totally different to drive compared to the prado, no comparrison, wider,little bit noiseier, more truck like which is fine, this is what I expected, wheel travel great and it was standard, question is now what do all you people think of the 2.8 compared to a 4.2, is there any thing to look for major, intending to go a lift 33's etc, snorkel, winch ,so forth, or am I better spending more and getting a 4.2 factory turbo diesel or thou seem to be a lot harder to find especially one in good nick and low klms or have I just answered my own question that they are the better option and thats why they are hard to find. Have heard little niggly probs with the 2.8 eg gearbox etc, and will be towing a c/t behind about 1 Tonne in weight. any replys appreciated. Looked at an 80's turbo add another 10k compared to patrol Regards Steve M

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 14:38

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 14:38
The GQ 4.2 never came to Aust with a turbo option.....all 4.2 GQ's you find with a turbo are (should be) after market turbos.

IMHO you would be FAR better off buying the 4.2 either in n/a form (and whacking a turbo onto it), or with a turbo already on it. They are jusy SOOOOOO reliable and pull all day without complaint.

AnswerID: 181947

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 20:25

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 20:25
Hi there Roachie, thanks for the info, do you know when they bought out the factory turbo patrols 4.2L what year and any idea on what they would be worth, Im a bit weary of putting on after market turbo specially if they are going to have the same probs as the hilux, eg clutch, over heating, not much gain in power, bearing problems or is none of this an issue with the 4.2 with an after market turbo on a patrol. Only want to spend about 20k on the actual vehicle as Im keeping another 5k for all the extra gear as mentioned,or am I pushing sh@t uphill trying to find one at this price ?? . Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 438359

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 09:29

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 09:29
G'day Steve,
The GU series 2 came out with turbo added to the 4.2 in 1999.
Prior to my GU, I had a 1993 GQ RX and I bolted a Safari turbo onto it. It had 40,000klm (2 years old) on the clock when I bought it (ex-Waterways, Batemans Bay, NSW; and I was living there too, so I knew the bloke who'd been driving it...very well looked after). I had the turbo put on almost straight away (1995) and kept it for 5 years with 277,000klm on the clock. I never had any issues with the truck. Clutch was still original when I sold it. I didn't do as much towing or rough track driving then, as I do now. I certainly recommend the GQ with turbo added. One thing I do recall the blokes at Cooma Diesel telling me way back in the mid late 90's though.......they reckoned that from 1996 til the end of the GQ, the pistons that Nissan was fitting, were lighter and so the pre-1996 model were a better bet for fitting a turbo. Not sure if there was any truth in it, just something to keep in mind.
FollowupID: 438436

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 13:36

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 13:36
Thanks for that Roachie, will see if I can find out any more in regards to the piston situation, if it was an issue or not, I will turboglide in woolongong and see if he's of any information in regards to this, he's been doing turbo's apparently for about 30 years. Thanks for that. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 438495

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 14:53

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 14:53
I have the GU 2.8, which has a bit more poke than the GQ, but is a bit heavier. It does have its pitfalls - the weaker gearbox being one, along with no power below 2000 rpm. I would not buy one again, but will keep this one for a while yet as it is still a good car, and the money lost on an upgrade can be better spent elsewhere.

I am the only one I know of who has had a gearbox problem with it - the hard facing come off the 2nd and 3rd gear shaft (inner bearing runs on this). My mechanic said it was faulty from manufacture and hadn't seen it before. Apparently it is a skyline gearbox, and the GTO drivers who soup the skylines up want the boxes out of the patrols as the internals are stronger than the skyine jobbies and can handle the worked GTO's.

The 2.8 isn't too bad a car to drive, eats up the miles on the highway up here, but would probably be annoying in hilly country, and had no trouble towing 1.2 tonnes of boat into Kalumburu.

Depending on your budjet, I would recomend a GU 4.2 turbo, which have been dropping in price lately, the other option is there is GU 2.8's around for well under 20k, that may do the job for now & BilBo it in a year or two when you are sick of changing gears

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 181950

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 16:14

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 16:14
"Bilbo it!!"

Gee thanks, Andrew. I'm legend!! La de dah, la de de dah de dah!!!

But as Roachie says - the 4.2 Nissan diesel is bulletproof. I couldn't break mine in my old GQ trayback ute and I abused the crap out of that truck for 10 years. Not a race car by any means, but like a Fremantle hooker when the fleet's in - it'll pull all day without complaining.

I have a prospecting mate with 2.8 GU Patrol. It's adequate, pulling a 1 tonne camper trailer but does require a lot of gearbox use. It is, however economical. One downside is that they are "dead" below 2000 rpm and the motor is prone to going of tune quite quickly - as most small but heavily loaded cars do. It then benefits from an expensive fuel pump overhaul.

I personally wouldn't buy one.

"Frodo" WAS a 2.8 litre it's now a 6.5 litre and "Frodo" loves his new engine :)

As does Bilbo.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 438295

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 20:32

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 20:32
Hi there Bilbo, you have a great way with words, I love the saying,still laughing to myself, I think after reading all these return messages it will be worth going the 4.2, as I just asked Roachie about turbo etc, if you have any further info please add it to his list.I want what ever I get next time to do the job right first time as I will be keeping it for a while as my wife and I are now trying for kids so wont have the extra $$$$ later on to spend so need to spend now while I'm allowed. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 438361

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 23:21

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 23:21
Stephen,

You won't go wrong with a TD42 - turbo or no turbo. The turbo doesn't do a lot for the TD42 anyway. It's an older design, pushrod, poorly ported, poorly gas flowed truck engine. Fast - it is not. But a turbo will give the TD42 a bit more poke - which it needs.

It will show the water temp getting a bit warm if you push it hard - say 100 kmh for 3 hours plus with 2.5 tonne van behind it. That's down to the cooling water channels in the head and block being a bit on the small side. It was after all an engine that was built as a slower, truck motor and not a high speed highway road eater. If ya want the latter then buy a 100 series 1HDT- FE turbo diesel Landcruiser - expensive but awesome to drive! (I really miss mine.)

BUT- you will NEVER blow it up. Never. It will outlast the bodywork by years. The Nissan gearboxes in the GQs are the strongest manual box in any 4WD. They don't break. The gearboxes in the later GUs were as good - excluding a period around 2000 to 2001 (?) when Nissan had a few machining tolerance and heat treatment probs with gearbox mainshafts which caused a few to strip 5th gear splines. All other gears worked OK and you could drive home in 4th if 5th packed up.

GQ and GU Nissan diffs fitted to vehicles with 4.2's in em would drive a tank. Rarely a problem with 'em.

Look for rust along the roof line above the drivers and passenger doors in older GQs. Also check on GQs for rust in the engine bay where the firewall panel joins the panel that carries the windscreen wiper mechanism. The welds get rusty from the inside at this point. By the time it appears outside it's too far gone. If it's got dual batteries on it check the inside wing skin where the 2nd battery sits - they crack if it's been worked hard on dirt roads. I used to weld mine up every year or so on my old Ford Maverick. Check for rust along the front wing bottom edges where it's bolted to the body just in front of the doors. This area is a dirt trap and doesn't always get flushed out by owners. Rust builds up at the back of the wing panel.

Check the seatbelt mechanisms for full retraction and check that they don't jam when your putting 'em on AFTER you've started rolling. (Yeah- we all do it don't we!).The inertia reels are very sensitive.

Nothing major. Nissans? - older ones, are mobile bomb shelters!

I have heard that they are the only vehicle that the Iraqi insurgents will not use as a 'bomb car" - the bomb goes off inside the car OK, but the explosion stays INSIDE and no-one outside gets hurt!

Speaks volumes eh??

;)

Bilbo
FollowupID: 438401

Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 15:07

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 15:07
Hi Stephen, I'd go with the 4.2. Mate just picked up an auto GQ with after market turbo for 12k ....goes very well and oh so smooth and quiet.

And...I personally drive a 4.2TDi and love it...just the ticket for low rev work in LR and not too shabby on the black-top either.
AnswerID: 181951

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 20:48

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 20:48
Hi there Craig, I didnt know they made an auto in diesel patrol, what year model would that be, ??? my wife would love an auto, would definately have to be turbo in auto as I would imagine it would be gutless otherwise, or was this an import, I wont buy an import eg that was not sold here in australia pain in the arse with insurance and parts and also resale. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 438367

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 12:23

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 12:23
Steve...
I have a factory TD42 Auto GQ with Denco Diesel Forsale ... plenty of goodies..

Rear Storage, Roof Console, ARB bar, Paratus seats, OME suspension 33 BFG MT's Fully Engineered for upto 6inch lift, currently has 4inch..

PLENTY more goodies... lemme know
FollowupID: 438478

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 13:31

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 13:31
Hi there Truckster, still to sell my lux yet but if you have any pics of your truck would be appreciated, you can email me on stephenkelly@optusnet.com.au and what sort of price you are also looking at and klms etc, probably wont be for another 2/3 weeks waiting for our money to come out of a fixed term then will be on the lookout big time. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 438493

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 22:04

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 22:04
these are what I have at short notice.
Murray Sunset with the EO crowd.
http://www.gupatrol.com/pics/gq.jpg

Swifts Creek with Crazie and S&J
http://www.gupatrol.com/pics/gq1.jpg

Wombat holes at club property
http://www.gupatrol.com/pics/gq2.jpg
http://www.gupatrol.com/pics/gq3.jpg

Long weekend just gone Lovicks Hut area.
http://www.gupatrol.com/pics/gq4.jpg

Also on the long weekend just gone up the Hcountry.
http://www.gupatrol.com/pics/gq5.jpg
FollowupID: 438558

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 22:04

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 22:04
Ps. there were only 300 GQ Autos in TD42 made :)
FollowupID: 438559

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 15:25

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 15:25
Hi Stephen,

It's all been said above. The 4.2 is bulletproof and will tow anything. I am driving a GU but I still think overall the GQ was a better package

If you are wanting to do it up as you suggest then the 4.2 will carry everything you want and all the bits are readily available.

If I were you I would look for one as standard as possible nd then build the truck the way you want it. If you get one with all the gear on it you have to ask what has it done?

My old GQ had all the nice things you listed and some but I would never have sold it to a friend. All those nice things had been used and it meant that the truck really was secondhand.......know what I mean?

If buying a GQ from near the coast watch the rear sliding windows for rust. They are expensive to replace new and second hand they are like hens teeth.

Happy shopping.
AnswerID: 181954

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 20:56

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 20:56
Hi there Duncs, I know exactly what you mean I was the same with the hilux, I added all the stuff but in saying that I would still sell to a friend as I think myn has been looked after as well as possible, I hope it will sell easy as I dont think the klms are to high considering its age 285k 89 model and has every single reciept that has been spent on it since new including every receipt for all oil changes which is every 4k + genuine filters, I'm going to ask around the 12k mark it is an sr5. I wont be buying anything that has been near the coast or any thing that does not have full service history as I am fussy. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 438370

Reply By: Mal58 - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 15:29

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 15:29
Steven,
For the Prado, what do you mean by "no wheel travel" ?

Several years ago I did a 4wd course where we each put our 4wd's on a set of offset Humps. In standard form the Jackaroo and Prado still had their offset wheels on the ground to drive off, where the Hiluxes could be rocked side to side and had to be pushed off.

This surprised quite a few people.

Mal
AnswerID: 181955

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 21:11

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 21:11
Hi there Mal the hilux's probably had IFS where as mine has the live axle up front and has a whole heap more wheel travel than a standard hilux with ifs. Maybe I should explain myself better, I am also after something that will have plenty of ground clearance which I can get out of a patrol with a decent lift also some thing a bit more robust for our weekends away where we do a bit of hard stuff which the hilux has done brilliantly, originaly we were going to sell our commodore and get the prado for my wife to drive and keep the hilux but dont want the expense of running 2 4by's and not only that the commodore will be alot harder to sell and I really dont want to get rid of it now after looking in the papers I am going to get jack sh@t for it (17k/19k). We bought in new in 01 and has only done 64k so still like new, has all the gear elec/win, 4 air bags, cruise, blah blah blah, so we decided 2 nights ago that mine is going and get myself some thing bigger more powerfull for towing the camper, also the hilux is not worth as much as the commodore there for spending amount has dropped as well down to 20k instead of 25k as I want to spend 20 k on vehicle and 5k on accesories.Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 438372

Reply By: cokeaddict - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 15:47

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 15:47
Steve,
4.2 If you plan on keeping it for a few years. Bulletproof. Best patrol ever built. What you said about hard to find, not so hard today, There are a few 1 owners around which will be going on the market as people start to upgrade with age, Just here in my susburb where i live there are (4) 4.2 non turbo's around in mint condition and 2 of which have never seen mud. Owners are mainly large families that needed a wagon to suit their needs. Sounds like you want to spend a few dollars to make it "nice", I think the GQ is perfect for what you want to do. A turbo would be my first addition. Someone who knows his stuff and sets it up to do its job properly, we have a few around that still take pride in their work. Take your time if you can and look around. If i hear of a local one up for sale I will message you. Best i can do is when i see them at local shopping center, I will ask them if they are interested in selling anytime soon.

I am on my second one. Its a beauty. Got over 600,000 kms out of my first one and i treated that one real rough. Good luck with your purchase. Let me know if you want me to ask locals ok. Just message me.
Ange
AnswerID: 181956

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 21:25

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 21:25
Thanks for that Ange, much appreciated, will definately be turbo, either factory or after market. Yes definately let me know if you see or hear of anything, not in a rush still to sell my lux which I think will sell very quickly and will take my time looking for a patrol, dont want a sh@t box that has been thrashed. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 438374

Reply By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 16:10

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 16:10
Everyone has said it, 4.2 diesel. The money you save buying a good nick GQ rather than prado you could put a turbo and other goodies on it, i would rather that any day.

The small engine GQ also had smaller gearbox. I would feel more comfortable with big 33 in tyres towing a CT knowing the engine and gearbox were almost bullet-proof.

Very pleased that i was patient and looked around for the right 4.2 diesel (with the huge gearbox) when i was buying.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 181957

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 21:26

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 21:26
Thanks Barnesy, I will go the 4.2 and yes I will be patient as well as I want a good one and I'm fussy. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 438376

Reply By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 17:00

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 17:00
I had the 2.8 Gu and wouldn't go there again, have just sold it an d bought the 4.2 Although (no offencemeant) coming from a Hilus the 2.8 may not be so bad.. but in my opinion, it;s just too small a motor for that size vehicle. Espacially if you want to laod it up a little to go camping etc.. stay clear and spend a few extra $ and get the 4.2....
AnswerID: 181961

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 21:43

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 21:43
Thanks there Coyote, going by the replys thats seems to be the consensus to go for the 4.2 over the 2.8. Thanks for your reply. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 438381

Reply By: quicksilver103 - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 22:24

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 22:24
2.8 nissan in good condition are cheap because they are crap (i own one)
underpowerd for body size and weak alloy heads that usualy bloe between 5th and 6ht cylnders at $2500.00 plus to fix, diff and gear box xannot xupport a better engine . so in summery 2.8 =s**t 4.2 wich can be adjusted for most re3quirerments good . lotsa luck
AnswerID: 182018

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 08:32

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 08:32
here here...

my 2.8 head had a hair line crack in it which we only noticed after we sprayed some degreaser on it and it tended t stay wet in one spot for osme reason.. my local mechanic welded it up for $20. But still agree.. too small a donk for a vehicle that is over 2T empty.
FollowupID: 438428