Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 17:32
Member - Bulla
Hi! My daughters 2000 3.0 turbodiesel has just blown up at
Nyngan on the start of an outback trip. Has only just passed the 100000km mark and has been very
well maintained. Know there's been reports of similar events. Anybody got some 1st hand info on the problem and has Nissan ever come to the party in any shape size or form to assist in the repair? They must have plenty of knowledge of what the problem is. Can anybody explain what causes the blowup?
Bulla
Reply By: Notso - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 17:36
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 17:36
They have been replacing them and last reports were that they were denying it when the Kilometres were high.
100,000 is not high so give them a run and see if they'll pay at least for the bits.
Val Davis at head office on 039797 4111 if you don't get any joy from the dealer.
Reply By: nowimnumberone - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 17:48
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 17:48
Bulla ive been visiting this site for a cpl of years now and if there has been a problem im sure i would have seen it.
im not saying it dosnt happen but i dont think it is a problem.
theese 3 ltr motors are one of the most bulletproof engines nissan has made specially the 2000 series 2 motor.
theese things should be capable of 600000+trouble free kilometres of motoring.
if there is a problem i would love to know about it as
well as i have my heart set on a series 2 3ltr patrol.
Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 17:52
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 17:52
Obviously not reading the site very
well - there must be on average at least one post a week on this problem - the motor as fitted to the patrol is crap - fitted to the navara is great.
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 17:55
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 17:55
Nowimnumberone you are such a Diamond methinks your nose groweth far too long.
Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 17:59
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 17:59
Nyuk, nyuk, nyuk, nowimnumberone.
I'm sure someone posted or replied just the other day saying that they thought the situation was exaggerated and that all the stories were 'my mate's girlfriend's gaylover's, uncle's, boss's etc', and that people on this site were scaremongering or something to that effect. But here we are with another case.
Follow Up By: Member - andrew G (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 18:08
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 18:08
plot thickens i spent an hour talking to nissan dealer today about this supposde problem they assure me all was fixed early on in 2000 was a problem with first 3ltr disels but nissan fixed all... Im no clearer on it i was looking for a 4.2 ltr diesel no joy only the 3ltr diesel.....scary stuff when your spending the dollars.......
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 18:11
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 18:11
is he no1 but?...or is a duck always a duck!
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 20:00
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 20:00
number 1- I would type a reply, but I am pretty sure that you are having a lend of everyone!
If not then maybe your real name is Yoshimoto Nissan-san and you are pretending to be an every day punter in order to protect your family name from the terrible 3 litre ??? Which is pretty funny too!!
Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 20:48
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 20:48
series 2 have same issues. Dont let nissan sweep u away .....keep pushing and insisting. Do some research and find out some facts ..always helps when they know your up to date with facts.
Personally....i am very surprised no one has called ray hadley or allen jones about this. Publicity is not something nissan needs at the moment. Even though most of us know of the problem, the general public would think ALL 3 ltrs are faulty and not buy a series 3.
Come to think of it....John LAws would love this as he is sponsored by Toyota...he would havea field day....picture this ...
U call telling him of ur failure, u tell him nissan wont come to the party and u want to ask if any toyota dealers listening can help you out ....would be very interesting indeed. Just make sure you make the point for the listeners that nissan have a major engine failure with the 3 ltr engins and they wont fix it.
dont sit there....make some noise...
Ange
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 21:23
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 21:23
Coke, think you might have posted this in the wrong place? You put your followup at the bottom of post saying that there has never been a problem with 3 litre nissans?
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 11:44
Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 11:44
"im not saying it dosnt happen but i dont think it is a problem. "
ROTFALMAO!!! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH
Hey can I tell you another one, there was an ozzie, irishman and englashman sitting in a pub ....
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 13:46
Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 13:46
Dont feed the troll Jeffy! LMAO!... taken me all this time to stop laughin!
Reply By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 18:59
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 18:59
There have been numerous posts on this issue in this
forum Bulla. Last one was only a couple of days ago, have a look on next page of
forum. If you had the choice surely you would choose the almost bullet-proof 4.2 diesel. Don't know how often it happens but you hear it often enough to be concerned about these 3.0 donks. Don't hear stories of other newer engines blowing so regularly.
imnumberone must have the 3.0 confused with the 4.2.
Barnesy
Follow Up By: Laura B - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 19:36
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 19:36
hey barnesy you got the same surname as me...if its barnes...
LAura B
Follow Up By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 19:57
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 19:57
Yes
Laura my name is Barnes and a fine English name it is too. Good to see your little one will carry the name for a while yet, until she gets married i suppose. sorry that should be IF she gets married and IF she decides not to keep her maiden name of course.
Reply By: Roddesh - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 19:24
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 19:24
There's some good info here...
www.lonards-automotives.com.au/patrol.html
Rod.
Reply By: DMH122 - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 19:31
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 19:31
how often is oil changed in patrol, nissan say 10,000km ok i believe it should be 5,000km, navara service intervals are 5,000km, dont seem to have the problem, also these engines are fussy on oil specs, i beleive these engines to be a great engine if treated so, regular oil changes with genuine nissan oil no probs. i have seen the results if not.
Follow Up By: Member - Bulla - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 19:42
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 19:42
Oil & filter changed every 5000.
Bulla
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 11:46
Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 11:46
Nissan "genuine" oil? I don't see any oil rigs with Nissan on the side...
Follow Up By: DMH122 - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 13:29
Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 13:29
Jeff, im not being a smart arse but if u could tell us who makes it then maybe that could be a usfull bit of info, not like your last comment. we are only trying to help each other out.
Reply By: Member - Bulla - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 19:39
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 19:39
Thanks Notso for the info. Will try our luck with Head Office as suggested. I feel that they should play ball as the 100000 service has just been done and when asked about the hearsay of a problem was advised that if you've made the 100k there usually is nothing to worry about. Proved that wrongwouldn't you say?
Bulla
Follow Up By: DMH122 - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 19:43
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 19:43
What oil was used & how often, but i still would try to see what nissan have to say, 6yrs old may be the prob. i am sorry to about such a terrible way to start a holiday.
Follow Up By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 19:48
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 19:48
That was my thought too. What a horrible start to the trip.
Viv
Follow Up By: A.J - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 21:29
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 21:29
Could be a conspiracy. . . . . . maybe the bloke tha serviced your engine. . . . . wait for it . . . . SWAPPED it for his dodgy one????
Check your engine #! We all know about re-birthing a whole car, what about just a CRAP engine?
Follow Up By: AJB - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 21:37
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 21:37
My 2000 GU got to 195000 before the self destruction took place. Nissan HQ did nothing refusing to recognise any fault. It is all heresay according to Andrew there.Got it repaired but I paid. Been great since ( 6 months). Done 2000kms! Very dissapointed with Nissan and the vehicle. Feel extremely sorry for your daughter as it has ruined the holiday. I was lucky as it happened 10kms from
home!
Generally they are a heap of crap and not worth the money and that includes the 4.2 which the inlaw has bought.
Follow Up By: Notso - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 09:58
Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 09:58
Yes
well my June 2000 3.00 ZD30 has done nearly 180,000 now and is running like a top. Power a plenty, smooth and economical. Has had oil changed every 5000 since new. Had the dipstick mod at 10,000ks too.
I still reckon Nissan will come to the party on yours.
Follow Up By: Member - Bulla - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 19:55
Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 19:55
Thanks for the show of confidence Notso. This vehicle has been in great hands but unfortunately!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Bulla
Follow Up By: Notso - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 20:48
Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 20:48
Yeah, I know but you just go on hoping don't you??
Ah
well, what do I buy instead, may as
well do what I've done with all my vehicles to date, use it till it demonstrates that it is unreliable, I guess.
Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 21:28
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 21:28
100.000 kms is the limit on these units...I thought most people who checked out this site would have seen the comments by owners whose similar
vehiclesbleep themselves around this mark..actually thought that 120.000 was the max anyone could go without disastrous consequences..
Nyngan is not a bad spot to spend a few days ..or more ..lucky she didnt leave the black top..
Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 23:38
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 23:38
Steve,
My 2000 3.0 ltr TD is now up to 156,000 and hasn't missed a beat. I've got a DiTronic unit on and change the oil and filter every 5000 klms. I use a full synthetic which matches and surpasses the Nissan spec.
I've pulled my camper trailer up sand dunes, had to winch up hills and done all sorts of wonderful stuff. Maybe I've jinxed my trip up North next week but so far my vehicle has been great. The word "crap" isn't one of the first words that comes to mind when I think about my Patrol. I do miss the low down torque of the straight six diesel but hey you can't have everything.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 11:50
Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 11:50
Martyn, how much does it cost you in oil!? This is a serious question. Every 5k with fully synthetic, I'm guessing the patrol uses what, about 10L of oil? Holy crap that must be expensive!
Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 20:13
Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 20:13
Jeff,
I don't use my patrol as much as I used to, bought my Range Rover bush hack which I also run on full synthetic and change every 15 to 20k depending on the amonut of "rough stuff" I do.
I change the oil in the Patrol every maybe five months, if I'm doing a trip like I am next week which will be at least a couple of thousand K at running close to 4k since the last change I won't be changing the oil before I go if you know what I mean.
I'm the WA agent for a full synthetic oil so I get a bit of a discount, we use this oil on machinery that spins at 36,000 rpm at work and lasts five years when the gearbox used to last 6 months on a mineral based oil so I'm pretty confident the oil is good stuff. This oil recenty had a
test in "street Commodore" mag and came out the best. For a little bit around $80 for 5L to me that's a cheap investment both from a mechanical aspect and a reliability aspect. The intial buy hurt at close to $160 but after that I don't use any oil so I just buy 5L every five to seven thousand K's, I think my own comfort is worth is worth $160 a year.
I was going to advertise on here but being only a small business I couldn't really afford it.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 20:31
Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 20:31
Sorry, when I said uses, I meant takes in an oil change. Ie the surf takes 10L when I do a change with a filter. Even with just a cheap mineral oil that's nearly $50 bucks!!
I probally do a change every 3 months or so (I do it every 5k) and I use penrite HPR Japanese Diesel Semi Synthetic, cost's me about $100 for 20L which is two changes. Fully synthetic is normally twice that price which I honestly just could not afford in my current situation (we are a 1 income family at the moment).
Does the ZD30 only take 5L on an oil change?? Maybe that's part of the cause of their problems?
Follow Up By: blown4by - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 00:35
Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 00:35
Actually Martyn Nissan recommend against the use of fully synthetics and say not to use any oil above a CF spec. It is allspelt out in the Owners Handbook.
Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 00:40
Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 00:40
Jeff,
You're right it was part of the problem in the series one engine, I believe these were recalled and had a 7.5 litre including the filter oil capacity installed.
Mine I believe is a series one engine and it does have an oil capacity of 7.5 litres including the filter. So as you can see I get two changes out of fifteen litres which works for me. Doesn't allow much room for error or using any during between changes.
I get genuine filters from Nissan and run the best oil I can so should anything happen at least I've done my bit, I might have a bit of a claim. Vehicle seems to run better overall, saying that this could be a psychological comfort thing......
Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 21:37
Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 21:37
Blown4by,
Not sure which handbook you have, again I agree with you the handbook does say that, which in my case is a 2000 handbook. Unfortunately things evolve and something Nissan now specify is a specific oil for the 3.0 TD engine which correct me if I'm wrong is a synthetic oil. This has only been recommended for maybe the last twelve months.
You mustn't put a full synthetic in a new engine it ruins the bores and rings, you end up with blow by.
I don't believe I'm doing any harm running a better oil than I'm supposed to all I'm doing in some people's eye is wasting my money, which at this time is still my own choice.
When I wrote to Nissan specifying the oil I was going to be using the gent who replied to me didn't seem to think this was a problem, despite being a better spec than Nissan specified.
Thanks for your comments.
Reply By: black bull - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 21:44
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 21:44
hi just wont to say that my uncle has a 3.0 2001 model and just recently blew up big time. nissan dealer striped it a part and found 3 of 4 pistons smashed then according to bob nissan coverd the cost of the new engine and labour to fit. so nissan owners keep on em to you get the problems fixed
dean
ps cruiser man myself
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 23:27
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 23:27
Damn, wish I had of got one now instead of the TD6...
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 08:16
Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 08:16
ditto
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 23:33
Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 23:33
Bulla,
Sorry to hear of your daughters rotten luck.
If she has no help from
Nyngan dealer. Try Western Plains Automotive at Dubbo, of all the Nissan dealers I have been to these guys were one of only two who really tried to help and were most honest and forthright with knowledge on common problems with my 4.2 Nissan. Best of luck with Nissan as it is common with this model and they were helping owners of this model with this problem. Don't know if that still applies.
Regards, Trevor.
Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 00:26
Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 00:26
What bad luck for her.
Search the archives and you will be better armed with other's tales of fights for rights with Nissan, and the fact you know you are not alone. Ring Nissan
Melbourne if you don't get satisfaction through the service agent. Don't give up the fight and get some restitution. Last reports were that Nissan now only covers cost of motor, not of the labour.
Was she towing at the time? Pulling hard - eg uphill. Chip fitted? Service history (eg Nissan recommended oil ever 5,000 k?). Ours is the next series but we still don't trust them, as it is rumoured a small %age still blow after around 100,000. Because of this, and we tow a heavy van, we have no chips/modifications, follow
servicing advice, and have fitted gauges to monitor boost and turbo temperature. So far so good.
Win the fight.
Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 00:38
Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 00:38
Motherhen, it's a pitty you have to take such precuations because of a possibilty, maybe, could be, don't know, hope not, I'll scream if it does, I hope it doesn't happen half way up this hill, I hope it doesn't happen half way up this beach !!!
P.S were you guys down at parry's beach WA in early Feb this year?
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 00:45
Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 00:45
Hi Muzzgit - not us - we were in
Tasmania.
Reply By: Member - Pud & Barb R (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 13:18
Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 13:18
Hi Bulla,
Our 3litre blew up in January, it only had 165000km's on it. 2000 model. The dealership were not going to help much but I got in contact with Val Davis and Nissan paid for the engine, we had to pay for labour. The car was out of warranty but in good faith they came to the party. Since finding out how much of a problem it is we probably should have insisted on them paying for the lot. Good luck.
PS The new engine is crap as well. Dosn't have the same feel about it anymore.
Barb & Pud
Follow Up By: Member - Bulla - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 20:13
Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 20:13
Just spoke with my daughter and Nissan have said to get it to a dealer and they will assess it. Fingers crossed. At least it seems they are still talking so that's positive. Thanks Pud & Bararb R - your 165000 raises our hopes.
Reply By: Dave Thomson - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 15:17
Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 15:17
Hi Mate,
here's a site that will explain all www.lonards-automotives.com.au/patrol.html though you may not like it..........................
Reply By: gavin12 - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 17:22
Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 17:22
Your problem will be the air flow sensor. When it fails it send the wrong message to the engine ECU. The engine ECU thinks that it is not getting enough turbo boost,
because the turbo in the 3.0lt Patrols are variable vane they can over boost. You will fine that the turbo was producing around 30psi boost. This has been a common fault. The 3.0lt Navara never had the problem because they had a waist gated turbo. The Air FLow sensor was changed after 2003 to over come this problem.
Gavin
Follow Up By: AJB - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 21:18
Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 21:18
Interesting reading Gavin. My GU had a faulty Air Flow Sensor and lost heaps of power. It struggled home (about 15kms) and then into the dealer. New sensor fitted and no more problems for about 3 months. It did the same thing and another sensor fitted with the line " We have had a bad batch of sensors". that was in 2004 so I hope I have got a good one now. Just about everything else in the vehicle has been replaced anyway.