Footy justice.

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 22:51
ThreadID: 35563 Views:2542 Replies:15 FollowUps:28
G'day all,
Well it's over for another year and the right team won in Melbourne tonight. Queensland was just too big, too fast and too strong. LOL.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

Reply By: Railfan - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 23:07

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 23:07
Right on. Qld got up even though the ref and video ref were against us.

Dags
AnswerID: 182036

Reply By: Dizne - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 23:11

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 23:11
Mate ... I am sooooo stoked that we eventually won!!! I thought for a while there we were going down to that video ref! Awesome effort by our Qld boys tonight!

QUEENSLANDER!!!

Cheers and LOTS A BEERS (and red wines and bundys),
Diz
AnswerID: 182038

Follow Up By: bushcamper - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 23:16

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 23:16
What was the final score?
FollowupID: 438397

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 12:01

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 12:01
Queensland won!
FollowupID: 438475

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 16:51

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 16:51
16-14
FollowupID: 438508

Follow Up By: bushcamper - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 17:01

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 17:01
Thanks, the last time I looked it was 4-14
FollowupID: 438509

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 17:58

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 17:58
2 lovely quick tries in the last few minutes
FollowupID: 438521

Reply By: Off-track - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 23:15

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 23:15
yes I was starting to think that the vid ref was the same bloke that reffed the Australia v Italy soccer match!
AnswerID: 182039

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 23:24

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 23:24
I find it VERY VERY funny that anyone is suprised that it BY THE GRACE OF GOD - ends up 1-1 and needs a decider EVERY YEAR! Wouldnt have anything to do with Corp $$ now would it?

+ NRL isnt the game it used to be 20 yrs ago sadly (same as AFL sadly) - Can anyone ANYONE tell me what the point of a scrum is anymore? You throw it behind the fullbacks feet (Noting: it doesnt even have to get into the bleep in scrum anymore!), then play on...

I missed the JJJ call tonight with Roy and HG.. but caught the very end of it :(
AnswerID: 182043

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 06:57

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 06:57
Truckster,
I completely agree. They should either give it a miss and just give the ball to the other side or go back to a straight in feed where the best pack gets the footy. (my preference) At the moment it is just a waste of footy time.
Bros.

FollowupID: 438415

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 09:13

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 09:13
if i ever watch it, i put Roy and HG on to try and make it entertaining... just not my cup of tea no matter how hard i try to get into it. i'm a fan of the origin concept and passion indeed but prefer australian rules. one of the most memorable games being June 1995 when Teddy did his final lap and Lockett "stuck it up them." But some of my oldest memories of the game are sitting up in the stand at Subi oval watching the Vics take on WA. Kevin Taylor, Brian Peake, The Krakouers, Cabes......

FollowupID: 438432

Follow Up By: Joombi - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 12:48

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 12:48
Truckster, I agree & disagree, I admit the thought of the decider has crossed my mind as well, but it was pointed out to me that these players are the best at it in the world, very evenly matched sides i recon is the cause, I think the last time a team has one it in the first 2 games was in 2003 by NSW, before that was 2000 by NSW, then 95 Qld, 96 NSW, 97 NSW.
the scrum issue you are dead right, they just throw it in behind the 2nd rowers legs, the hooker does nothing anymore, might as well just take a tap.
& I agree with someones comment that the ref must have been the same ref as the world cup soccer AUS V IT
FollowupID: 438479

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 17:59

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 17:59
Truckie....

I totally agree with you on the scrum, totally agree with you on the corp $$$$ and (worst of all) agree on the AFL.

AFL will soon be spelled T E N N I S

and I don't mean that as a way to knock tennis at all..... just that AFL will become a mobile tennis game.... it's even filtering down to junior level.... my son Keith is captain of his U16B team, asks the ump what a free kick was for, gets 50 given against him for asking the question .... I asked him how he said it, was he being belligerent???? he said no, and I do believe him, he's a good kid y'know??? Just the Umps treat the kids here like shyte and wonder why everyone bags 'em.....

(Brian gets off soap box)......

I try not to bag 'em..... it's damn hard though, one ump here is a good bloke, I always say g'day to him and have a chat..... but out of the dozen or so I'm familiar with he's the only one I would talk to.

FollowupID: 438522

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 22:12

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 22:12
theres plenty I hate about all codes these days.

NRL - its like a game of hot potato.. NEVER get caught with it, just throw it somewhere... and then theres the AFL coming into it - cross field kicks instead of passing the pill...

AFL - Same bleep , MUST BE FASTER - LESS SKILLS

Watching back to back games on Optus of their 1970/80's games of AFL, the old games are so much more enjoyable to watch. more of a sport, more of a spectical, and the crowds appreciated GOOD skills from anyone back then...

hate to see wat corp $ will do to sport over the next 10 years :('
FollowupID: 438561

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 22:37

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 22:37
oh..... and don't underestimate the power of the media and in particular the commentators.... they certainly know how to get things their way, don't they.....
FollowupID: 438566

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 23:13

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 23:13
its as funny as saying theres no corruption in the cops.

I didnt realise that the AFL umpires actually wait for the TV stations to give them the go ahead to bounce after a goal!

Theres a light on the grandstand or similar to signal we are ready for you now.
FollowupID: 438575

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 06:22

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 06:22
Yep.... we saw that at the Gabba a few years back..... it was funny as 'cos the ump was facing the wrong way and couldn't see the light...... The ruckman pointed it out to the ump that the light was going...... and play resumed.... Gotta have those commercial breaks..... never mind seeing a great goal again on replay, just cut to the paying customer!

FollowupID: 438599

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 06:54

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 06:54
I just read this in the paper on the net

Site Link

that'll be the end of it for me I can tell ya!!

FollowupID: 438600

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 12:37

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 12:37
that should add many hours to a game.

22 goals per team, 15 behinds to examine.....

5-10 mins each....

they will have to drop to 5 rounds per yr to get them all in..
FollowupID: 438649

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 06:27

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 06:27
Thats not real footy.
AnswerID: 182068

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 06:52

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 06:52
A number of calls or even .......... non calls by the ref for both sides was unreal. Then out of the blue he would call a decision at critical times and PLACES. As for the video ref ............... I'd love to hear his reason for a couple of the calls.

I agree with Truckster the SCRUM is a total waste of time. I also feel refs including the lines man whom seem to run up and down with thier eyes closed need to be hauled over the coals and start watching the game and call infringements.

Anyway GO THE QUEENSLANDERS

AnswerID: 182069

Reply By: Bros 1 - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 07:00

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 07:00
Brew 69,
I'm not getting into that one. However, aaaaaah no it's too good a day to ruin it. LOL.
Bros.

AnswerID: 182070

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 08:34

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 08:34
Bros,

It was an awesome win.

I think a lot of Rugby League supporters would have been upset about the couple of poor refereeing decisions at critical parts in the game. Despite this it was great to see our guys win anyway.

It is a good day to be a Queenslander.

Well done guys.
AnswerID: 182080

Reply By: cackles - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 08:43

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 08:43
It was a great game but I think they need to reconsider the reffing,
they seem to prefer open games to keep the fast pace, but they are losing fans in my neck of the wood due to blatant ref mistakes.

Other than that our boys did us proud.

cackles
AnswerID: 182083

Reply By: Rod W - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 09:06

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 09:06
Speaking of footy... over here in west aus not hearing (well I'm not) of anything regarding getting rid of Sheady. Is it happening?
AnswerID: 182088

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 10:01

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 10:01
you mean Kevin Sheedy? my theory was always that Mark Harvey will take over, still believe that but not necessarily next year.
FollowupID: 438443

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 10:07

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 10:07
Why would it?
FollowupID: 438444

Follow Up By: Rod W - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 10:09

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 10:09
Roger roger Mr K S himself. For any other coach who has failed to perform everybody would be screeming out to be sacked.
FollowupID: 438446

Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 09:48

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 09:48
whotsa queensland?
AnswerID: 182094

Follow Up By: oldmagpie2 - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 11:39

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 11:39
the smart state?
FollowupID: 438467

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 11:49

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 11:49
pardon me?
FollowupID: 438472

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 12:03

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 12:03
Isn't that Arnies job?
FollowupID: 438477

Reply By: Member - qld_bushpig - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 10:25

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 10:25
Consiracy: League dollars for melbourne Storm, corporate dollars & referees???? Na would never happen???:))
AnswerID: 182100

Follow Up By: Member - qld_bushpig - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 10:28

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 10:28
Opps forgot to put the 'P' in conspiracy......cause I'm sick of having the "P**s taken out of me!!
FollowupID: 438451

Reply By: Joombi - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 11:45

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 11:45
Its funny you know, when I was a kid there was this mate of mine who was moved to Sydney from up here after the constant abuse by his mother & father, he would come to school everyday with fresh bruises all over his body, so the courts sent him to the NSW origin team to look after him because they are incapable of beating anyone.........
QUEENSLANDER!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 182110

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 16:56

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 16:56
Sitting in the Hog's Breath in Darwin, in a maroon top, tucking into a prime rib and watching the final State of Origin on the big screen, seeing Queensland come from behind and win.

Priceless.

When we landed in Darwin the hostie gave her sympathy to the Blues supporters. At the 74 minute mark I was sure I must have misheard her.

Go Maroons
AnswerID: 182148

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 17:04

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 17:04
yawwwwnnnnnn .... did I miss something ? Ohh, Qld finally won State of Origin. I guess we had to let them win one so they'd come back next year LOLOL

Congratulations guys. You've got the bragging rights for the next twelve months hahahaha
AnswerID: 182150

Follow Up By: ev700 - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 20:58

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 20:58
Sure I was pleased that Qld won but apart from that it was the most magnificent come back I've seen in league.

Takes guts to keep at it when you are down by over two tries, the ref seems against you, you are totally stuffed and there are only minutes to go.

The NSW team played well and the looks on their faces at fulltime should prove to anyone that this comp is not fixed.
FollowupID: 438548

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 22:13

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 22:13
read your whole post again ev...

DOWN BY MANY TRiES MINS TO GO...
then the last 6 words...

for the right amount of money I'd piss myself on the footy field.
FollowupID: 438562

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 00:40

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 00:40
ev700,

You'd think that NSW would know by now that Qld don't give up till the final whistle.

Truckie,

Mate, you've got to get away from 'bleak city' and into the sun for a while LOL You're starting to believe too many conspiracy theories hahahahaha
FollowupID: 438590

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:07

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:07
Gramps.....

Can't get more "into-the-sun" than the mighty Gold Caost for mine..... and I still agree with Truckster!!!

LOL......
FollowupID: 438704

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:33

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:33
Hmmm ... might be too much sun Brian LOL
FollowupID: 438713

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:44

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:44
ROTFLMFAO!!!!!

Tooooooo much sun?????

Never!!