Fuel costing more than we think, as if we need that!!

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 20:34
ThreadID: 35587 Views:2666 Replies:6 FollowUps:12
According to a report on this dayto-night, a fair percentage of servo pumps are giving us a shortfall on the litres indicated!!. As if we need this news?, Korea
And their missile antics, increases pressure again on oil pricing, BUT!! it seems oil pricing is upset by the slightest turmoil world wide? Push bike for the short runs, and vespa scooter for the long ones.

Cheers Dismal Axle.

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 21:29

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 21:29
I thought there was companies paid to check this sort of thing. I am sure it is a prerequiset that service stations use these companies to prove their compliance with federal laws allowing them to sell fuel??

I may be wrong but Gilbarco is just one of these companies I talk of. I wonder where their responsibility stops in this situation?

Trevor.
AnswerID: 182189

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 21:50

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 21:50
Trevor.

I guess what company supplies the pumps and who regulates them , as you say who is responsible?, could be a touchy issue?

Axle
FollowupID: 438556

Follow Up By: extfilm - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 23:28

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 23:28
It's amazing what a few cases of beer will do for these guys who test the servos
FollowupID: 438576

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 15:55

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 15:55
Gilbarco just sell and install pumps, I think it's weight and measures that look after the final calibration.
FollowupID: 438685

Reply By: Member - Cherokee (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 21:53

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 21:53
Yeah Axle - saw that same report.....hmm, why am I not surprised???

I don't object to having to pay for diesel. It's something I need, so I pay for it. What I do object to, is the oil companies boasting about billion dollar profits, and the money going to government coffers, meanwhile both the oil companies and the government proclaim there's nothing they can do about it. If that's the case, fine, but quit boasting about record profits!

Just about to have a long range tank dropped into the Jeep, so things are only going to get worse! Maybe time to buy some Caltex shares???

;)
Cherokee
AnswerID: 182198

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 22:52

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 22:52
I AGREE !!!! why take notice of this outlandish crap they carry on with and its to no avail to any fairdinkum aussie worker any way?.
FollowupID: 438569

Follow Up By: extfilm - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 23:36

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 23:36
Not a good time for shares in any of these oil companies as the worlds fuel is now depleating at a quicker rate than it has got to where we are now........We are now on the decline of the worlds oil. We got to half way at the begining of this year and although it has taken over 80 years to get to half way there is now more and more machines reliant upon oil than the first 80 years so Dr Karl Kruziniski and his collegues have esimated we have 30 years worth of oil left.......... start looking at puting those dollars into some other energy shares........
FollowupID: 438579

Follow Up By: Member - Rotord - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 12:07

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 12:07
The counter arguement is that as oil becomes scarcer it will be worth more . So long as the cost of production doesn't rise too much , now is the perfect time to invest in oil . Or even better , invest in oil companies that are diversified into other forms of energy also . Woodside with oil and gas is good , so is BHPBilliton with oil and coal .
FollowupID: 438645

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 16:05

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 16:05
"The counter arguement is that as oil becomes scarcer it will be worth more"

Yes both good points, I was having a chat to my Biodiesel supplier the other day about this concept. He seems to beleive that investing for the future is much more complicated than most think. He's kind of extreme, but does have some valid points, even down to the property market.

Perth for example has a massive urban sprawl going on at the moment, houses that were "in the sticks" are now considered close to the city. However he beleives that this will begin to go the other way, houses further from the city will de value as fuel costs sky rocket and they will appear further away once more.

It's an interesting concept.

He also beleives that you must be careful investing in oil dependant companies such as airlines, freight companies etc. These are the companies that are really going to hurt in 10-20 years time. If you're investing for your retirement 10-20 years is not exactly that long term. (well not for me anyway!! LOL)

We are deffinatally heading downhill on the oil supplies, me the only mineral oil I'm using in the surf is the stuff I put in the engine and gearbox! Even then there are fully synthetics to get around that. I'm also currently burning my old engine oil mixed with Biodiesel. I put about 9L (what comes out at service) into 200L of BD and there is no noticable difference to smoke, smell or performance. Hey, it pays for the oil filter and I don't have to try and dispose of it! ;-)
FollowupID: 438689

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 09:50

Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 09:50
Apparently there's heaps of oil and new extraction methods will make it easier and cheaper to extract. The scare mongering that goes on is just amazing.
FollowupID: 438809

Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 08:17

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 08:17
i'm a bit over fifty, have been driving since 16, drive every day while at work, not just to n fro, and have only ever seen Weights and Measures three times in a servo...

most servo's have a lot more than one pump...
i recall watching them set up on one pump and measure it was taking for ages
so i am guessing they must be in a servo a good part of half a day if they are checking all pumps...why havent I seen them more often?
AnswerID: 182253

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 09:09

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 09:09
Bout 2yrs ago I posted about filling up at the local Woolies servo and managing to fill an 80lt petrol tank that the fuel gauge was still reading at better than 1/4 full with 105lt , when I pointed out the facts to the servo manager he just shrugged it off as one of those things , thing is the same servo was shut for the next 2 days and all pumps supposedly recalibrated , Im absolutly still adamant that the 2 major players in the so called fuel discount for shopper dockets up the price by their 4c "discount" and manipulate the pumps to give "short " measure.
FollowupID: 438619

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 08:58

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 08:58
I saw the item as well and was wondering if it was worthwhile in prechecking a pump by way of a quality measuring device for the first litre or so? The thought here is that these pumps work on digital readouts and at 2 decimal places - shouldn't be too hard to see a pump short changing you at 25%.

I also wondered what would happen if you did this and found it deliverd 750 mil but shows a litre on the pump? Would you waste your time complaining or just go in and pay foe 750 mil?

AnswerID: 182266

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 09:56

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 09:56
I fill 20ltr drums with diesel every day , and use various servos, sometimes i think they are a tad low when it registers the 20ltr.
FollowupID: 438623

Reply By: Rokkitt - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 10:55

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 10:55
This has been mentioned before but what I do is:

Pull into the servo and fill my subtank (Nissan GU) which holds a maximum of 33 litres - if the pump clicks off at 33 or below I fill the main tank......if it comes up at over 33 litres I pay up and drive away, I often find servo's that get 33+litres into this tank....one safeway servo managed to squeeze nearly 35 litres...????
AnswerID: 182287

Follow Up By: Blaze - Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 01:26

Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 01:26
Hey Rokkitt,

Coming back from the Kimberley last year, mate filled up at Woolies voucher stop in Alice and put 38ltrs in his GU, and later at Hawker I put 58ltrs in my LPG tank before it was emptied, that tank only ever holds 50ltrs from bone dry. Unfortunately it happens all to often, I approached them at Hawker and their response was we have just had it calibrated.. (BY who and with what was my question)
FollowupID: 438793

Reply By: disco1942 - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 16:49

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 16:49
Some TVs you blokes have – the ABC axed This Day Tonight in 1978 – see en.wikipedia.org/wiki/This_Day_Tonight

AnswerID: 182328

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:21

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:21
My Blue,

To Day To night!!

Nearly had it!

Cheers Axle