4.2TD Exhaust upgrade

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 18:40
ThreadID: 35635 Views:3449 Replies:11 FollowUps:13
G'day 4x4er's, Just wanting some info on a exhaust upgrade for my GU Patrol Ute, 4.2TD. What is a good system to get? Do they make a noticable difference, and what is a rough price ??

BB.

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 20:00

Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 20:00
Hi there BB, yes they do make a difference, our Isuzu MU and Wizard both have 3 inch mandrel bent exhaust systems and the power is up (can't give an exact figure yet) put probably up 12 to 15% and economy up 10%. Cost anywhere between $700 and $900 and it sounds good to.
Cheers Bruce.
AnswerID: 182450

Reply By: PK Eildon (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 21:36

Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 21:36
Have it on my 2003 GU 4.2TD Cab Chassis. The turbo spools easier. Small increase in power. Make sure it is 3" all the way from turbo dump, otherwise it makes little difference. The dump pipe is $200 range and rest is $700 range. I still have full muffler, but apparently a hot dog type is better for exhaust flow and not particularly noisy.
AnswerID: 182466

Reply By: Exploder - Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 22:28

Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 22:28
Mandrel bent exhaust systems> Everybody always mentions to make sure to get a Mandrel bent system, I know why that is but do you need to ask for it.??

Like do any exhaust shops still have or use Press benders, I would of thought they would have been out on the scrap heap by now, as mandrel bending isn’t exactly a new thing.
AnswerID: 182476

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:42

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:42
They sure do still have the capstan-type benders and they're okay for your normal, run-o-the-mill hack car too.

The Mandrel-bent type is not a complete exhaust system, but rather a jigsaw type affair whereby the bloke at the exhaust shop will have to order in the correct number of 90o, 45o bends etc to make up the system for YOUR vehicle.

Of course if you buy an off-the-shelf type that you see advertised by some manufacturers, I'm guessing they already have all the bits they need ;-))

FollowupID: 439554

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 23:17

Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 23:17
BB I put a 3" mandrel bent including the dump pipe on mine at Christmas time and on the day got a 16% improvement in the 0-100 kph time. Reckoned it was the only way I could quantify it. Important to get the dump pipe on it as the original was measured at 1.7" diameter, if you calculate it is just over 1/3 the volume capability.

Reckon tripping and constant speed it is more economical too.....
AnswerID: 182487

Reply By: S&N - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 17:29

Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 17:29
spoke to an exhaust dude that said its better to leave the stock dump pipe, as it works on the ventury effect. supposedly it goes down the dump pipe, gets to the wider section and moves more freely. and because it rushes out of the 3" section, it creates a vacume in the dump pipe which makes the gasses leave quicker than if you had 3" all the way. he made the exhausts for the GTR's and SIERRAS that used to race in the touring cars, before it became the V8 supercar series. and he said they all ran that system as it was tested and proven to be better than running a 3" dump as well!
AnswerID: 182572

Follow Up By: PK Eildon (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 19:06

Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 19:06
How do you achieve a venturi effect when the gas is being compressed through a narrow pipe into lower pressure. Does not compute. The only thing it can achieve is back pressure which is what you are trying to avoid.
Check the archives, there would be more than a few disagree that had to retrofit the 3" dump.
FollowupID: 438981

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 21:21

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 21:21
fink yur zorst dude knows nuffin bout Nissan dump pipes
FollowupID: 439280

Follow Up By: S&N - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 18:11

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 18:11
dont shoot the messenger, i had a wrx and went the full 3" system including dump, i was just relaying what he said. and as for not knowing about nissan dump pipes, read my post "he made the exhausts for the GTR's" as in skylin GTR, as in NISSAN skyline gtr twin turbo. you know, the gtr's that totally dominated the australian touring car events until they were kicked out for being too fast and no one could beat them. which were then replaced by the sierra's which were subsequently banned for the same reason, (aussie V8's couldnt match them) so maby the diesels are different, but im sure he knows about nissan dumppipes!
FollowupID: 439471

Follow Up By: PK Eildon (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 18:22

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 18:22
The post was in relation to GU 4.2TD Nissan. A different beast to your post. I see where you are coming from. Back pressure is important, but 3" is more than suitable for 4.2TD and is only effective with 3" dump.

No offence meant

PK
FollowupID: 439474

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 23:12

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 23:12
S&N I reckon your guy had never seen the GU dump pipe mate. They are difficult to blow through. Well nearly. Just over 1.3 the capacity of a 3" one.

I'd like a WRX mate;-) Nice 4by feeling. LOL
FollowupID: 439565

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 23:17

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 23:17
That was suposed to be 1/3 or one third the capacity.............
FollowupID: 439568

Follow Up By: S&N - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 20:07

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 20:07
what he was sayin is go a bigger dump, but not as big as the system. so if its a 3" system, go a 2 1/2 dump. if u want i can post his ph number and you can chat with him about it
FollowupID: 439737

Follow Up By: PK Eildon (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 07:38

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 07:38
I already have the 3" full system and it works fine. 84kw at rear wheels according to dyno.
FollowupID: 439790

Reply By: madcow - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 07:40

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 07:40
We are about to do ours once we decide who is going to get the job. Have heard some very good reports about Denco Diesel in Wagga whihc is only 1.5 hours from us. anyone had work done by them in this area?? We intend to post a report once it's been done.
AnswerID: 182642

Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 08:18

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 08:18
Getting a Beaudesert 3" system fitted to my GU Cab Chassis tomorrow and will let you know what, if any, difference it makes.
AnswerID: 182645

Follow Up By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 16:02

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 16:02
Just picked up the Patrol after having the exhuast fitted. Sounds no louder than the OEM, but a bit of a lower note. You can definately hear the turbo sing (sounds like a rice-burner) and from 60kph up it boogies really quick. Haven't attacked a hill yet or had it above 80 but I reckon it's a different beast now....money well spent (and only $165 to fit, including having inside of the dump pipe polished up as it had a few dags in it).
FollowupID: 439421

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 18:23

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 18:23
A few reports of Rob Bliss Exhaust being the cheapest round here in Brissy. Is at Geebung/Virginia.

Well woth the effort to put it on. And get your dump pipe as well. Will change your truck and you will say "why didn't I do that earlier".

Trevor.
AnswerID: 182755

Reply By: Member - Ross H (QLD) - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 20:26

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 20:26
Had my exhaust done by rob bliss dump pipe as well and I can tell you the dump pipe actually made a bigger difference than the exhaust. Had exhaust done first with straight though muffler and that alone made a big change in torque but must admit the dump pipe made the biggest change. Pulls really well from around 1000 rpm and sings like a canary at around 60kmh. Only regret is I didn't do it earlier.
All up cost about $620
regards ross
AnswerID: 182789

Reply By: gqpat - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 21:17

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 21:17
Every engine no matter turbo or not needs some backpressure for max power .
Have dynoed many cars and people still wonder when they drop the exhaust of a mild v8 it makes less power then you add 2-4 ft of exhaust and power increases.
Just be careful as a exhaust that is to large can hurt power just as much as a small one.
You will have a increase in power on a td patrol if you go to a 3 inch but you may get more with a 2.5 would be good to see a back to back test just my thoughts anyway.
AnswerID: 182809

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 21:28

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 21:28
You got one key word there gqpat. It is the word "may" in the last sentence. The word from the manufacturers is that the power is no different with or without the restriction of the muffler.

Have no fear there is "some" back pressure. I do wonder what you mean in your definitive first sentence. We are actually wanting to make the turbo spin freely and have little back pressure. It isn't some mild V8 but a heavy diesel that needs freedom to pass gasses away - after the turbo.
FollowupID: 439284

Reply By: gqpat - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 20:39

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 20:39
John air speed has as much to do with engines making power as air flow two different things. I know turbo engines require more air flow than nat aspirated have owned many 400-450 hp turbo cars to know this. But air speed both on the intake and exhaust side is still a factor.
AnswerID: 183010

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 23:16

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 23:16
gqpat, I reckon the restricting factors now are the small turbo and the small restrictive intercooler, that slows the velocity from the turbo. Like to play with those ;-)
FollowupID: 439566

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 12:00

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 12:00
If your looking for a different turbo, dude I bought my snorkel off (huddy) is into comps, and mentioned a nice turbo upgrade - which has oodles of power from 1000 up to 4500.. the turbo alone is $2000 then pump mods, injectors etc..

See Awill4x4 if you want an Intercooler. His custom work is second to bleep all.. Welding is show quality, and the intercoolers will give you that twinge that Viagra failed to do...

YMMV
FollowupID: 439839