I know - Bloody gennies again.....
Submitted: Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 21:45
Member - Crazy Dog (QLD)
Some time back a post or two was put up re the KIPOR gens as against the HONDA series.
Does anyone have any feedback about the KIPOR as I am about to make the plunge - which one?
The Honda is tried and true but twice the price so I am told but the Kipor!
well heeeellllllllppppp!!!!
Currently the KIPOR is about $1300for the 2KVA as against $2K for the Honda.
What would you do eh?
Grrr!!!
Reply By: Chris & Jody (Golden Bay) - Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 22:12
Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 22:12
Crazy dog,
I have also been doing the research between the Honda Gu20 and the Kipor. Have put apples with apples and come up with the Kipor as a better option, not to mention $1300 cheaper. I must say that a lot of my research was done here on the
forum and what other members comments were rated highly with me. The best price I got off E-Bay and my local supplier being MM Cable supplies here in WA matched it, so for warranty reasons I have gone local. I am due to pick my KGE2000Ti next week. You should be able to get the Kipor down to about $1050.
Dont know if you have the link for the specs so have attached it for you.
www.kipor.com.au/
Hope my 20c worth helps.
Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 22:15
Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 22:15
Thanks Chris - sure does BUT I will wait and see how many more responses I get before deciding...
Grrr!!!
Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 22:21
Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 22:21
What would I do???
Well, since you asked;-)).....
If I was lookin' to buy a gennie tomorrow, I'd be havin' a really close look at the Engel series...
www.engelaustralia.com.au
Powered by Honda w/- Sawafuji electrics...
I'm given to understand that the electrics in the Honda gennies is also supplied by Sawafuji.... (who of course, also make the famous "Swing Motor" as used in Engel 'fridges)....
This being the case, the performance characteristics of similarly-specced units from both makes should be (more or less) identical, with the Engel units enjoying a significant price advantage (over the Honda)... Dealer service & back-up is pretty much Australia wide...
FWIW, I have had a (Honda) EU20i for about 4 yrs & have no complaints with it...
Regards, Ed. C.
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 00:48
Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 00:48
Nah mate, I was in ORE [off road equipment] the other day and noted that they have the Engel gennies. Chit mate, they're nearly as expensive as the Honda !!!
I have a chinese made Yanmar 750w gennie now but I'm going to upgrade to the Kipor 1000w, which is a bit quieter but more importantly a lot lighter than the one I have now.
Reply By: SimonW - Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 22:24
Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 22:24
Hi crazy dog,
2 months ago I went down the same path & in the end picked up a kipor 1000ti for our needs. We have used it 3 times so far & it starts first pop each time. Without getting the whole debate going on generators I can advise this.
We hunted around & found the best advertised price then checked it was in stock at that supplier & went to Anaconda who checked & matched the price then added a 10% discount based on their store policy. In the end it was a great price much cheaper then those from e-bay & is backed up by Iprimus service.
Cheers Simon.
Reply By: StephenF10 - Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 22:49
Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 22:49
Just make sure it is capable of doing what you want it to do. We needed a generator to start a caravan a/c. The Honda 2kva would, the Kipor 2kva wouldn't (better surge current on the Honda).
Stephen.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 23:30
Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 23:30
Interesting isn't it Stephen, I understand the a/c manufacturers will only reccommend the Honda as you mention the Honda will do it. They were netted out about $1800 just before the end of the year landed on your doorstep. Is a 2kva Kipor equal to a 2kva Honda? Answer = NO
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 12:52
Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 12:52
Stephen,
what is the starting method of the compressor in the A/C?...Capacitor start I am guessing?
if a current limiting starting (commonly called Soft Start) method was used, you should be able to use the 240vA/C on a KIPOR
These can be fitted as a after market add-on to virtually any A/C and are currently used on lots of different brands of the larger single phase domestic airconditioners (2.5hp to 5hp) on the market today
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 14:20
Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 14:20
Nudie, the Dometic a/c support will recognise the Honda as the smallest generator available to do the job or go to a larger size. 2kva Honda or +3kva others I have been told, and then only the smaller a/cs as
well. You could find out from Dometic if you like as to the technology or not worry about a genny or a/c. It already may be soft start and I have been told no, no, no to other 2kva gennies.
I know the start draw mate. We had 15hp 480v motors on the refrigeration that drew 30 amps but 110 to start them so that was enough to make the lighs dim severley and could only run one at a time when other motors were going until three phase power went into the shed. The switch gear and everything was a true test of patience as it all failed over time.
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 20:10
Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 20:10
Hello Men,
This whole generator idea is really becoming very interesting.
Member Blong Namba Wan and JohnR you are both spot on in your summaries.
Odd thing, Dometic washing machines will not run full stop off inverter style generators, regardless of their rating!
Recently I've had a play with Oscilloscopes and anything containing an inverter. Results have been interesting to say the least!
What I've found is lots of alledged Pure Sine Wave style Inverter technology has a waveform of very definitely Sine Wave but and this is the killer! It is covered in whiskers!
So really in my limited testing, the KVA rating up to a point is irrelevant, it's the quality of the waveform that governs the results.
I'd love to get hold of a Kipor, Yamaha & Engel 1kva Inverter generator!!
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Flash - Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 23:26
Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 23:26
Honda's, Yamaha's are Rolls Royce.
Kipor's are Holden/Ford.
I don't drive a Rolls, nor do I own a Honda or Yamaha.
Kipor 2Kva, bought on e-bay just after Christmas from Novasmic (
Newcastle) for $930 delivered to my door..... I still have the $1,000 I saved, thinking about what to spend it on... (If you believe I still have the $1,000 you are very gullible!!! Ha! I actually found plenty of other things to spend the $1,000 I saved!)
The Kipor is a fraction noisier than my Mates Honda 2kva on similar load, and a little less surge (starting current) than a Honda.- otherwise just as good. They both produce beautiful sine wave power when examined on my oscilloscope.
So far maybe 60 hours running, couldn't be happier. A mate and I also made soundproof boxes for our Kipors which make them so quiet you wouldn't know they were running if we were parked next to you.
See Site Link
Follow Up By: bushcamper - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 01:13
Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 01:13
G'day Flash, would love more info on the sound proof boxes if you get the chance.
I can't fault my Kipor 2Kva, it runs a mates caravan aircon easily and just to see if it would, I ran a 2400watt cut off saw under load and couldn't make it stall.
I picked it up in
Brisbane for $900 new.
Keith
Follow Up By: Member - BBB - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 06:58
Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 06:58
Flash would you be able to put some photos of the sound proof box or the diamenions of the box and what ventingis needed.
BBB
Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 09:03
Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 09:03
Hi Flash,
Same as the other guys, I would be really interested in any info you could give me on the soundproof covers.
Have a good one.
Follow Up By: Flash - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 21:50
Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 21:50
No worries... but how do I post a foto????
What I CAN do is this link. The photos are pretty much up to date but I'll take some of the final result soon (there have been a few very minor mods plus paint.) and post.
Site Link
Love the sound of silence.
Follow Up By: Member - BBB - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 06:47
Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 06:47
Thanks for that.
BBB
Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 08:39
Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 08:39
Flash,
Thanks for the info.
Have a good one.
Reply By: lizard - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 10:43
Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 10:43
Very satisfied with our 2 Kva Kipor - runs van air-con - starts first pull - did approx 70 hrs last 9 weeks .