NT in December/January ???

Submitted: Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 20:17
ThreadID: 35708 Views:2270 Replies:11 FollowUps:8

Am I mad for wanting to drive from Melbourne to Alice Springs in December/January??

Have done heaps of travel in this area before - but usually in the cooler months.

The only chance I am going to get for a holiday in the near future is over the xmas break - and we are keen to go back to Alice - but are concerned whether we will burn to death with the excessive heat!

Any thoughts on this?? Car would obviously have aircon - but is it just too damn hot to even go outside?

Thanks.

Reply By: SteveL - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 20:29

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 20:29
I have been up there from Melbourne three times in Dec.- Jan.You may be lucky as I was on one occasion and get some relatively mild weather making it possible to do a few walks.But mostly it is just plain stinking hot.,got close to 50o C one day and it warped the dash of my car,we decided to wimp out and stay at the Sheraton.Never even ventured outside,just sat and watched the boxing day test.
AnswerID: 182791

Reply By: camwill69 - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 20:36

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 20:36
Hi James,
Spent last x-mas in darwin. Not that hot compaired to qld but nothing is open. We went as far down as Katherine and could see bugger all as half the joint closes for the wet season. Trying to find a motel or a restraunt in Katherine was imposible. They all close for two or three months. Wild stuff. Good to see during wet and again during dry as they are totaly different places. Great place to holiday.
Camwill69
AnswerID: 182795

Reply By: Member - James B (VIC) - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 20:51

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 20:51
Thanks for the replies.

I guess one of my main concerns is what damage/melting the heat will do to the car.

For example, if I park in the sun for a few hours (I wont always be able to have shade!)...I dont want to come back and find the dash melted - especially as it's a new'ish car.

I figure I can always drink gallons of water...but just concernd about the car. Will only be travelling to Alice, and then the MacDonnell ranges.

thanks again.
AnswerID: 182803

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 21:00

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 21:00
I live up there for 6 years then in my 20's went back in July a couple of years ago and did not enjoy it very much. So if your young and don't mind sweating at lot then its could be the place for you. I did not melt any dashes while I was up there.
FollowupID: 439267

Follow Up By: Hairy - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 12:30

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 12:30
The macs can be done as day trips from Air cond. comfort from Alice or Glen Hellen at least you can have a swim and a cool off at night!
FollowupID: 439386

Reply By: Off-track - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 21:31

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 21:31
Darwin and the Top End is completely different to Alice and Central Australia in terms of weather. Up north will be hot, humid and very wet. By comparison The Centre will be very hot and very dry. 9 times out of 10 it will be unenjoyable to a southerner but on the rare occasion the temps can drop to something more respectable.

Dunno, if you have nowhere else to go it might be somewhat of an adventure to see the place in a different season.
AnswerID: 182814

Follow Up By: Hairy - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 12:31

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 12:31
Alice is not so Dry anymore! Its becoming much more humid.
FollowupID: 439387

Follow Up By: Off-track - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:41

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:41
So it seems! I find that quite weird as it was always dry-as when I lived there in the 70's. Mustnt be the same place it used to be. Actually everytime I have returned I find the place looking a bit tired looking. Still love the place though - it's a part of me.
FollowupID: 439553

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 00:32

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 00:32
My son and d.i.l. did a quick 4 week trip from WA to the east, up the coast to Qld catching up on a few rellies and friends, then back through Alice, a few years ago in January in a Hilux, and didn't complain about the heat - but they probably spent the heat of the day in an air conditioned cab. They got to Uluru in a huge thunderstorm and downpour and everything was under water (er maybe except that rock).

AnswerID: 182855

Reply By: handy - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 07:57

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 07:57
i have lived in some pretty hot places over my time.
white cliffs nsw 19yrs. the pit lands sa 2yrs. alice 1 yr and never heard of cars
melting or dashes warping , just be sensible in what you do. cheers
AnswerID: 182871

Follow Up By: SteveL - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 13:25

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 13:25
Most brands of cars will not warp a dash in one day,but it was not uncommon with
70s-80s model Porsches which often warped after a very short period and were often replaced under warranty.
FollowupID: 439393

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 09:01

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 09:01
Youll be ok but it would be best to plan your activities so you are out the door at the crack of dawn so you can hit the walk trails etc in the cool of the morning and find a place to stay cool in the arvo before poking about in the evening again. Dont worry about the vehichile they dont seem to mind the heat as long as the cooling system is OK
AnswerID: 182888

Reply By: slammin - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 11:32

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 11:32
Hi James,

I live here and have done for over 6 years, never bent a dash but! YMMV, must've been a Nissan.

The Xmas period will be very quiet nearly everyone goes for hol's or to visit relo's.

A few of the restaurants will close ansd those open close early (beware unless you like truckstop pies) but plenty of accom.

As for the heat it will be around 42' by the bureau, add 5 for anybody that doesn't live in a white shaded box 1m off the ground.

It will most likely be v. v. humid as this is when we get most of our rain (think of a thrunderstorm in a sauna), And by the way evaporative airconditioners do not work. When we 1st arrived we where stranded in Alice for 3 weeks waiting for the Western Rivers to go down but the Stuart Hwy was cut Nth and Sth for @ 2weeks.

Last Xmas it was fairly dry though and it is pretty much droughtish now so luck of the coin.

I would chance it and follow the best advice so far, do stuff early or late in the day, it won't get fully dark until after 8.30ish.

Your main hassle will be fly's, bring a fly net, eat in the dark or indoors.

I love this time of year because of the heaps of dry or wet lightning storms, seeing the desert come alive, greens and ochres, rejuvenated people, full water holes, warm nights counting satellites, exciting river crossings and waterfalls.

See you around.
AnswerID: 182910

Follow Up By: Hairy - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 12:38

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 12:38
Gday James,
Never heard from a Alice bloke on here before. Where do you work? ( Just trying to work out if I know ya!)
FollowupID: 439388

Follow Up By: Hairy - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 12:39

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 12:39
Sorry not James, Slammin
FollowupID: 439389

Follow Up By: slammin - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 14:55

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 14:55
Hi Hairy,

Hey I've been around this site for years..

Guess none of my posts had my address on them.

I'm at Areyonga.

FollowupID: 439409

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 12:02

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 12:02
Hi James

We've been to the Alice Springs area several times over christmas/early January for exactly the same reason you're contemplating it.

The key to relative comfort is to plan the day. We always did any walks etc early in the morning or late in the day and did our travelling from place to place during the middle of the day in airconditioned comfort.

At times when this was not appropriate we just spent the day at a waterhole reading a book and going for a frequent dip. Heaven on earth.

The biggest plus you'll find is that the place is not crawling with tourist, so often you'll have the place to yourself. (Be sure to visit the East Macs)

Given the choice between a bit of heat and swarms of tourists i'd take the heat anyday. Nothing beats the taste of the first cold beer after a hot day as you sit under a tree watching the shadows get longer.

Enjoy
AnswerID: 182912

Reply By: Hairy - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 12:24

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 12:24
Yes it will be hot but it depends if you like heat or not how you will cope, I camp all the year round up here but you need to pick your spots ( not usually a lot of choices when it comes to water holes!).
As for your car, it wont effect it, put one of those sun shields on your window.
Don't be surprised if it gets very humid too our weather is getting more and more tropical every year, not a dry heat like it was 15 or so years ago.!
Obviously take lots water and drink it, don't become a causality like so many tourists that time of year.
Basically if you don't mind heat and have somewhere to get out of it you will be fine.
AnswerID: 182914

Reply By: Member - James B (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:09

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:09
Thanks to everyone who replied - I appreciate the help and advice.

James
AnswerID: 183047