Seatbelt maintanance

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 18:32
ThreadID: 3571 Views:1578 Replies:9 FollowUps:7
GQ LWB.
My seatbelts arent self retracting anymore on 2 of them...

Can you service these thngs?

If so ... HOW?

Reply By: Cam - Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 18:58

Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 18:58
Truckster,

Never heard of seatbelts being repaired or refurbished. As far as I know all car repairers are instructed by ins companies to replace them in the event of an accident if they have been used & stressed. This could be due to the legal can of worms opened due to someone being killed due to a pre stressed belt would be huge.

In my opinion I wouldn't risk messing around with the old ones & just replace them anyway.
AnswerID: 14096

Reply By: rojac - Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 19:13

Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 19:13
Truckster

The belts in the dunny door frayed so I bought a couple from the wreckers, replaced them and lubed up the self retracting mechinism. Works a treat but for how long is anyones guess.

Before stupidity comes as a response, the belts I bought were far better than the ones I replaced and I wont get defected.

Rob
AnswerID: 14099

Reply By: diamond - Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 21:06

Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 21:06
im not sure if you know but nissan had a recall on gq seat belts i only found out a few months ago from a customer i phoned our local nissan dealer and of course they knew nothing about it.i told them to check it out a bit more and phone me back and let me know what to do .eventually they found out there was a recall and took my rego and checked if it has been checked and they said no bring it in for a check i did and when i picked it up they said they were all ok mrs didnt ask what they were checking so might pay to give your local bloke a call
AnswerID: 14103

Follow Up By: Truckster - Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 21:41

Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 21:41
What dealer did you use?
FollowupID: 8396

Follow Up By: David - Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 21:45

Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 21:45
I do recall a recall on the belts but never got around to getting mine checked (yeh dumb, I know!)
As I recall it said something about deteoration in sunlight (could be wrong here.)
I'll have to ask my local dealer as I understand these recalls "last" forever ie: they are still obliged to do whatever is necessary....
Doesn't help truckster but...
On my son's Gemini I used a bit of silicon spray and it helped....
FollowupID: 8398

Follow Up By: Diamond - Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 21:46

Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 21:46
symes nissan in bendigo
FollowupID: 8399

Follow Up By: Diamond - Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 21:46

Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 21:46
symes nissan in bendigo
FollowupID: 8400

Reply By: Mikell - Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 21:43

Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 21:43
The recall wasnt for the belt but for the locking mechanism. Apparantly the were coming undone at inoppurtune times. All Nissan do is connect the seatbelt and then pull to see if it pops open.

I would also like to know if you can service the winding mechanism on the belts as all the belts in my GQ no longer retract.
AnswerID: 14108

Follow Up By: Truckster - Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 21:53

Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 21:53
IM with you, I thikn I'll pull out apart on the weekend to see, theres gotta just be dust or crap in there stopping it....

On that note, my latest aqusition

$200 a pair!!!!!!! From Sold.com.au :) AM I HAPPY??
FollowupID: 8403

Reply By: stephenjNQ - Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 21:43

Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 21:43
check for junk build up on mounting point at top of pillar .mine would not retract until i cleaned where the belt slide thru the mount .
AnswerID: 14109

Follow Up By: Rob - Tuesday, Mar 04, 2003 at 22:10

Tuesday, Mar 04, 2003 at 22:10
What Stephen found is exactly what I found. Very gunky on the top mounting surface that the webbing comes into contact with as it reverses direction to go back down the pillar to the retraction mechanism. managed to get a thin cloth in there and pulled it quickly up and down at various angles which cleaned the surface as good as new and there was then no friction. Very simple, have a look before you go pulling mechanisms apart.
FollowupID: 8701

Reply By: diamond - Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 21:49

Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 21:49
leggally you cant repair seat belts as in pull them apart and clean them ect but if im doing a road worthy check and seat belt is sticking or not retracting perservere and get it out all the way and go ballistic with the silicone spray it works most times
AnswerID: 14111

Reply By: desert - Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 22:01

Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 22:01
Truckster, Dust is the root of all evils! Unbolt the retractor body and give it a severe going over with the compressed air blower. Some light machine oil, not too much, on the pin ends. Then a liberal dosing of RP7 into the mechaism and spring. Re blow the excess with the air. Allow to dry and drain if necessary. Check the top guide loop for gunk. Frayed belts should be replaced, as the are weak and also won't run properly. Work the belt in and out to thoughly coat the pins with the lube. Good as new baby!
AnswerID: 14113

Follow Up By: Truckster - Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 22:32

Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 22:32
yea thats what I was thinkin...

Get some good silicone lube....

Chagin clutch fan tomorrow, so will do it then
FollowupID: 8414

Reply By: Eric - Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 22:32

Thursday, Feb 27, 2003 at 22:32
Truckster.
The most common problem with non retracting seat belts is grit in the webbing which makes it to stiff for the spring to wind up, you can detect this if they are hard to pull out but dont want to go back agian. The way to fix it is to wash the belts in detergent and hot water and then blow them dry. the actual winch and spring are sealed and dont usually give trouble. Eric.
AnswerID: 14119

Reply By: Suzuki Viagra - Friday, Feb 28, 2003 at 08:53

Friday, Feb 28, 2003 at 08:53
Lots of WD and hope.....

They're mounted low enough to get full of crud and dust and mud.

Don't use silicone - it will stain people's clothes. I've wrecked quite afe wof my clostes due to silicone.

Seats are ok. I might replace my front seats with sports seats also - mine are breaking up a bit.

I had some really nice 760 Turbo Volvo seats but they were too big for my Vitara (I actually got them for another car and never got around to fitting them) - gave em to a mate for free for his 720 Diesel.

I think he got a better deal than you did. They were immaculate and free!
AnswerID: 14132