Dangerous 4WD drivers

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 14:26
ThreadID: 35730 Views:3269 Replies:8 FollowUps:37
Interesting reading others views.
I'm surprised the age could solict so many responses, the readership is dismal.

Site Link

Reply By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 14:58

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 14:58
I think one of the problems when you ask society as a whole for their opinions in such a general manner is that an awful lot of people are simply stupid. They are only capable of seeing the world in an easy, basic and uncomplicated fashion.

The following is a quote from the responses to The Age question:
-----
Always pleased when one of those killing machines crashes into a tree ot rolls down a cliff because that is one less on the road . Ok if they back over there own kids but be careful with other peoples kids

Posted by: steve at July 10, 2006 10:57 AM
-----

Let us hope Steve's children sleep safely in their beds tonight.

AnswerID: 182940

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 15:05

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 15:05
or his teenage son makes wild and passionate love to a power pole in his HSV Maloo V8 ute...............might make his mind focus on the real problem.
FollowupID: 439411

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 15:45

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 15:45
I was a little sickened by that comment. where does an attitude like that come from? Steve is a complete idiot

Andrew...
FollowupID: 439418

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 16:14

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 16:14
I doubt if he believes his own writing. It hard to imagaine that someone with enough intelligence to read and write would have an attitude like that.
FollowupID: 439425

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 16:48

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 16:48
Unfortunately Ray, there's a growing number of people around with attitudes not too dissimilar to that character.
FollowupID: 439440

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 18:02

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 18:02
It's all pretty typical of the mis-information rampant round Australia's society. Some one picks it up in a newspaper or off an internet site so it's true. Unfortunately they make their decisions based on their recently read "facts" They don't know fact from fiction. Seems the reasoning is so far up the creek.

15% farmers rebates indeed. I wish, it isn't in Australia I can tell you. You couldn't call it informed debate.
FollowupID: 439467

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 18:28

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 18:28
John,

Yeah, I did'nt get to the 15% thingy, I got bored. Just the same old drivel that gets dished up every time.
FollowupID: 439477

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 19:15

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 19:15
Re. Steve and his opinions.
Some of you may remember my original signiture,

'There are many ar$holes in this world, unfortunately we have no choice but to share it with them.'

I came up with that one day whilst trying not to let people like him get to me.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 439487

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 19:28

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 19:28
>You couldn't call it informed debate.

No but it is mass debate, commonly called a wank
FollowupID: 439490

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 15:49

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 15:49
It would be wonderful if there were only 4x4 to purchase.Ahhhhhhhh the perfect world. No more whinging about them.LOl.
AnswerID: 182948

Reply By: F4Phantom - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 16:07

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 16:07
I think what I have to say here may be unpopular. There are several things to look at here. One is that 4x4's use more fuel, accelerate slower, stop slower, handle worse, and are less safe than cars of the same era in a crash. People often think if a 4x4 hits a car, you would prefer to be in the 4x4. I can see from a very basic overview that you could think this, but if you know anything, or have read only a small part in this area you will very quickly find out that the people in the 4x4 will be generally worse off than the people in the sedan. (speaking of modern cars here). So from my point of view you buy a 4x4 because of one of its few up sides. Mostly 4x4ing, but in some cases interior space (more often than not large 2wd wagons have more) and sometimes towing. A powerful sedan set up correctly can tow just as well or better than a 4x4 in many cases. Other than this, you are driving a compromise to every other area including safety. I have heard people say they feel good about their kids in their big 4x4, but that is just crap and based on tunnel view opinion instead of stats. So anway, I love my 4x4, and dream of hitting the tracks to wheel or fish whenever I can. Sometimes for work I need to engage 4x4 to get trailers in muddy area, other than that, it drives worse than a car. So my idea is that you only need a 4x4 if you intend to use its limited features. If you like the look of them, want safety, or are rich, they are not good enough reasohs.
AnswerID: 182953

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 16:11

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 16:11
I think you need a few lessons in basic physics.
FollowupID: 439424

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 16:26

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 16:26
I will never know as much as car makers. They spend billions on learning how to make crumplezones and a host of other stuff to make their cars safer. Traditionally 4x4's have not had any of this stuff (the focus was on towing and 4x4ing to make a sale). And the ones that do are more retro fitted rarther than designed from the ground up. As I mentioned some new 4x4's are the exception. EG, the new volvo 4x4, it has been built to crash better. Soft roaders are excluded from this argument as they are not considered a traditional 4x4, more of a jacked up car.
FollowupID: 439429

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 16:44

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 16:44
troopie vs late model car (ok it was small) with crumple zones - troopie end on side after head on and driver ended up with broken colar bone other driver still recovering 6 months later......I definitely would want to be in the troupie.

Leroy
FollowupID: 439438

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 17:11

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 17:11
safety costs money. the megane (small car) had a 5 star ncap and was all on it's own for a while, even against much bigger cars. Physics is king. Car makers use physics to make cars safe.
FollowupID: 439447

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 18:24

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 18:24
your DEAD right F4Phantom, physics is king.
Large heavy object will squash small light weight object - end of story.

A vehicle that crushes in a collision helps BOTH vehicles by absorbing impact forces. And, if the small vehicle squashes completely the big vehicle dosn't need any crush absorbing components !
FollowupID: 439475

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 18:56

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 18:56
Ok, lets go the biggest baddest 4x4 (ford f150) vs a normal common sedan (camry)

Ford f-150
http://autos.msn.com/media/asx/iihs/0110.asx ex

Camry
http://autos.msn.com/media/asx/iihs/0202.asx

now tell me what you want to be in during a crash.

FollowupID: 439484

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 19:26

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 19:26
I've had a few serious prangs in my time.

1. 1968 Dodge Phoenix vs Ford Laser.

2. VH Valiant vs Fiat

3. Landcruiser HJ75 vs Sigma

4. Landcruiser 100 series vs Falcon

Let me tell you, mine all came out far far better than the others. (me too!)
FollowupID: 439489

Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 19:45

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 19:45
Phantom,

Could not get your link to work ... dunno why. Anyway, here are similar links that do work:

F-150

Camry

Rivetting stuff ... but I think most guys here are asking what would happen if the two had a head on?
FollowupID: 439494

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 20:23

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 20:23
The links work, cut them and paste into your browser. By default there will be one space bar at the end of the address line after you paste it, delete it, this will stop the videos from working
FollowupID: 439508

Reply By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 16:40

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 16:40
If a big 4wd collides with a smaller family car, the smaller car will be a lot worse off. I drive a fourby and am lucky i live in the country. If i did live in the inner city driving my big beast woud be a pain i the a--e. I would get around some other way. Other big 4wd's would also get up my nose. Some of those comments aren't constructive.

This notion of being in a 4wd to feel safe in the CBD is a Furphy. Most serious and fatal crashes occur on country roads where speed and poor judgement are major factors.

Unless someone tows or goes bush there is really no reason to own one. A Commodore wagon has just as much interior space as a Prado and would be cheaper and easier to drive.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 182956

Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 17:15

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 17:15
Hi Barnesy,

There is not as much room in a commodore or falcon wagon when you are over six foot tall. Inboth of those I have to lay the seat back to avoid hitting my head on the roof, even when I do that the side pillar intrudes into my head space. I have an old (30 years old now) Mazda RX2 that has much better room though I do realise it doen't have the safety features. We bought an X-Trail as the second car because I wanted a four cylinder wagon with enough room for the family and they just don't come in anything other than the softroaders or perhaps a van which I would hate to drive. My 6 year old Pajero stops better than the commodore wagon that I used to own (admitedly that was a while ago and I really do hope they made them better), it tows better than either the falcon wagon or commodore wagon that I used to tow a race car around with and generally I think the better visibility enables me to be better at avoiding situations in the first place. The new Pajero is even better as far as handling on the road goes, as is the new discovery and probably some of the others.

I suppose the point of all that is that if you need the space of the wagon I really do believe that the 4wd is a better option that commodore or falcon and certainly a better option than the people mover type vans. If it's one of the new turbo diesels then it's economy will be far better than either of the other types as well.

Tim.
FollowupID: 439450

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 21:55

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 21:55
My girlfriends '92 EB Falcon wagon has exactly the same volume in the boot/wagon area as my GQ. I measured all of the dimensions. With a cargo barrier it's large. It can take 5 adults comfortably with a lot more leg room than my GQ.

I stand by my statement, unless you go bush or tow there is really no reason to own one in the city or suburbs.
FollowupID: 439527

Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 10:23

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 10:23
Hi Barnesy,

In fact I probably didn't make my point very well. I am saying that people choose the vehicle they drive for all sorts of reasons. For me the headroom and driving position is important. If I have to lay the seat back to get the headroom then I have problems with my back so I want a vehicle in which I can sit straight and not hit my head. Unfortunately the GQ is not a good comparison as I can't actually fit behind the wheel to drive it and the back seat is not much better. I also tried but could not drive the landrover defender even though that has lots of room in the boot. The only two 4wds I have owned are a discovery and the pajero though I have driven patrols, cruisers, suzukis and a few others.

The fact that the falcon wagon has more room points to how ridiculous this whole argument is. The falcon and commodore wagons take up more space in the shopping centre car park than most 4wds, they weigh somewhere around the 1600k mark and while they may not be quite as dangerous as a 4wd I still would not want to get hit by one if I was in a small car. I also would not want to get hit by a delivery van, bus, truck or anything else bigger than me. For me to buy a very small car and then want everything bigger than me banned would be ridiculous. Oh, sorry, that's what they are trying to do isn't it?

Most of the modern 4wds handle very well. The technology that has gone into the latest discovery and range rover variants to control the body roll, braking and general handling goes far beyond the off road requirements and makes them very safe on the road. Other makes are following and while we may hate the electronics when we are out bush they are there to make it safer for everyone.

For reasons other than just towing or going bush (both of which I do) I drive a 4wd. I have never had an accident in mine or anyone elses and try not to monster the little cars any more than they do me. It gets hard to do when they insist on taking the buffer space I have left for emergencies but I know that they would blame me if I hit them anyway so I just try to chill out and listen to the music.

My 17yo daughter is learning to drive with a 4wd in the city and hopefully she is getting an appreciation of the difference between that and a small car and knows the handling differences. I hope she will be a safer driver for doing that.

Tim.
FollowupID: 439629

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 16:11

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 16:11
I don't disagree with what you're saying Tim. But i can also see the other side. More and more people in cities will be using small runabouts, motor bikes and bicycles due to the rising cost of fuel, expense in running a car and expanding suburbs.

Nobody can tell me that a 2.8 tonne Range Rover only driven to and from work and to pick up the kids from school would be safer for these small cars than a family wagon. whether that be a commodore or a BMW wagon.

A collision with a small car with a commodore, the nose of the commodore would hit the door of the small car where it's strongest.

A crash with a fourby would go straight through the pillars and windows, the weakest part of the car.

I can see how drivers of small cars, mostly women and often with children in the backseat, are very intimidated by them. Any mistake a 4wder makes is amplified because of this.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 439702

Follow Up By: Member - Bill F (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 16:33

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 16:33
Hi Barnesy,
Your bias is showing
"Any mistake a 4wder makes is amplified because of this."

FollowupID: 439705

Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 16:54

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 16:54
Hi Bill,

I don't actually think he is biased with that. It is definitely the way many people think and Barnesy is just stating facts there. Can't really talk for you barnesy but I don't think that you agree 100% with it.

I saw a test the other night on 5th Gear where they were trying to see if the Smart car really was as well built as they claim. They put it into a concrete wall at 70mph and there is no doubt that the thing was good, the doors still opened. The true comment they made at the end though is that it's kind of irrelevant since there is no way any of us could survive that kind of deceleration no matter how good the car.

I find that we seem to be living in a world where more and more people are hating me just for what I am rather than what I do or how I act. I can't understand the Muslim who hates me for not being a Muslim any more than I can understand the guy who wants me to run into a tree or back over my kids just because I drive a 4wd. The emphasis should be on training and teaching someone to drive properly wether they are in a 4wd or a small sedan. Real training in avoidance situations, skid pans, high speed dirt, wet roads and so on. People should be taught how to avoid dangerous situations and taught what the consequences of their actions really are. As far as I know there is no state in Australia that requires that kind of training yet an 18yo can go and drive a high powered weapon. And I would probably even support some extra training for anyone who drives a larger vehicle, and that could be measured on weight or wheelbase, I don't care. Not just a seperate licence, not just more fees but some actual skills transfer. Perhaps also teach the other drivers what really happens when they cut in front of a 4wd or a truck and whose fault the accident really is.

Oh well, down from the soapbox for a while :).

Tim.
FollowupID: 439709

Follow Up By: Member - Bill F (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 17:40

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 17:40
Hi Tim,

Barnesy is adding to the 4wder outrage by stating that its the 4wder making the mistakes

Lets face it this type of accident where a 4wd or something else hits another vehicle up the rear (witch is why you worry when you see a big vehicle in your rear vision mirror) the reason is!!! Are you asleep or is the other driver asleep(talking on the mobile, texting, thinking of last night or tonight activities, talking to the person beside them or trying to control the screaming kids in the back)
It is Rare very rare that two vehicles TRAVELING in the same direction collide unless someone does something stupid. Training should be compulsory any time you buy a new type of vehicle

FollowupID: 439715

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 17:51

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 17:51
If that's what you make of my comments Bill then it is you who is mistaken. Tim said it "It is definitely the way many people think and Barnesy is just stating facts there".

I drive a fourby Bill but i also realise that there are actually other people on the roads who want to go about their lives too.

Irrational comments aside, a hypothetical situation, if two drivers made the same mistake the commodore would leave a dent in the bumper of the other car. A fourby would leave a dent in the pillar and rip off the mirror. which scenario would scare the pants off of the woman with kids on the back seat?

Doesnt matter who makes the mistake, the smaller car could be at fault but would come off a lot worse if they hit a fourby rather than a commodore.

If i'm doing anything other than stating facts Bill i must be smarter than i thought.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 439716

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 18:50

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 18:50
Barnsey, with respect (and we have known one-another for a long time - since aus.cars.offroad in it's early days) you are "statin' the bleedin' obvious".

As energy is the product of mass and velocity _ANY_ vehicle which is bigger than any other vehicle is going to inflict more damage on the smaller vehicle _if_ it's velocity is similar, which is something you ignore - how do you fancy your Patrol (whatever) being hit by a Barina doing 160kph!?.

Your argument applies to _all_ vehicles over (say) Magna size so that takes, at a guess, 50% of vehicles off the road? After all we don't have to use a 40 ton truck to deliver 40 tons we could use 20 two ton trucks and that would make everybody safer according to your theory. We don't do that because WE DON'T WANT TO - no other reason, it's just inconvenient and expensive and we (as a society) prefer to take the risk - bit of a double standard don't you think?

Finally: it's the choice of individuals what they drive and once we start to direct and control that we're just going further down the path of state control than we already are - and that's far too bloody far already! Barnsey: be careful in your implication that 4WDs in cities are a "bad thing" (my words) because before you know it you'll have to produce a "Primary Producer Certificate" or similar in order to purchase one.

Australia is already much too far down the control road - we don't need encouragement, especially from our own. to continue that journey. Ten years ago I was forced to take some of my firearms to be destroyed – for the public good we were told – maybe, in another ten years you’ll be forced to take your 4WD to the same demise?

mike_harding@fastmail.fm
FollowupID: 439724

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 19:14

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 19:14
No where did i suggest Mike that we should take 4wds off of the roads. I drive one for camping and outback touring. I don't think any government would be able to ban 4wds, car munufacturers make too much money out of them.

Some of the comments on that newspaper forum were ridiculous. So are some of the comments i read on this forum, perhaps not as stupid as suggesting others should drive off a cliff but.........

Why can't anybody have a balanced discussion like i was having with Tim without people getting defensive? If 4wders ignore the points of view of other drivers it will only make us look ignorant.

We are all going to have to cut back on using oil, my opinion is that public transport should be free and expanded encouraging people to use cars less.

Mike you hypothesise about 4wds being banned for all but primary producers, how about in 10 years petrol is rationed per person because it's so expensive and difficult to obtain?

Barnesy
FollowupID: 439726

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 19:32

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 19:32
>Why can't anybody have a balanced discussion like i was having with
>Tim without people getting defensive?

I thought my response was balanced - it just challenged some of your assertions?

FollowupID: 439729

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 01:02

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 01:02
You must have me confused with someone else named Barnesy, Mike. Bill was getting very defensive.

I didn't put forward any theory about trucks carrying loads. I don't understand what you are getting at there. The only point i have been trying to make is that 4wders are not the only ones on the roads and we have to respect other people's views on us. We may not agree with them but we all share the roads and have to get along.

There will be more smaller and vulnerable vehicles on the roads in the future for reasons i have mentioned, this means more people having a gripe against big, bulky 4wds. In a lot of cases their gripes are valid, a lot of times they're full of crap.

It takes more reserves of oil to build, run and maintain a 4wd than a little buzz box, as time goes on frugality with these reserves will be standard. We should start getting used to that idea and hoping public transport improves.

Hopefully i will be able to keep my fourby as there is nothing better than loading it up and travelling this beautiful land.
FollowupID: 439782

Reply By: cackles - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 17:31

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 17:31
"I don't mind what people drive as long as they are able to drive the vehicle. Many people learn to drive in small cars then go and buy a big 4WD and have no concept of the differences for themselves and other drivers around them. "

This is probably a good point but what about people who learn in a 4by? I learnt in a 4by, my first car was a 4by and I still drive a 4by.
I'm female, I can reverse into the carparks at shopping centre's using only my mirrors I know how wide a and long my patrol is, I know where the wheel tracks are and my man is damn proud of me and trusts me as his co-driver anytime.
I am safer in a 4by cos' it's all i've ever known.

Cackles

PS - not big headed just angry at people who criticise female 4by owners.
AnswerID: 182965

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 17:36

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 17:36
>I'm female, I can reverse into the carparks at shopping centre's using
>only my mirrors I know how wide a and long my patrol is

Would a marriage proposal be out of the question?

Mike Harding :)
FollowupID: 439457

Follow Up By: cackles - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 17:45

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 17:45
sadly I am a one man woman, however I have put you on the call back list for future auditions. LOL

cheers cackles
FollowupID: 439463

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:05

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:05
Hi cackles

The troopy in the rig pick is Robyn's my wife
she drives it Evey day into Perth to work, shopping, all over the place (but she is a farmers daughter LOL) and she has no problems at all

all you have to know is how to drive

Richard and Robyn
FollowupID: 439533

Follow Up By: cackles - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:15

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:15
you're right richard, I know a lot of ladies that like to get behind the wheel and have a go. Biggest problem we have is getting the boys out of the "fun" seat!

Cackles
FollowupID: 439536

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:49

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:49
Don't worry once I've got it IT'S MINE he he

Rihacrd
FollowupID: 439558

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 17:59

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 17:59
It was interesting to read some of the views, someone else posted one hereabouts about a 4x4 into tree and thats one less off the roads. That comment just plain SICK.

Other comments 4x4 should be banned from city areas. To may issues to even go there.

Vehicles don't cause accidents in majority of cases its human error and that does not matter be it 4x4 or normal vehicle.

People simple need to take a big step back and open their eyes and not be tunnel visioned.

AnswerID: 182972

Follow Up By: Luke SA - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 19:11

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 19:11
i agree that comment was sickening to read and made my blood boil being a 4wd owner i also think theres no different with a 4wd in the city than a truck or a bus in the city theres nothing wrong with either and the same goes with bullbars.

Also 4wds do handle different to the standard 2wd car but i drive my 4by accordingly to road and weather conditions, same should also go to every viechle IMHO.

Just my two cents worth

Luke
FollowupID: 439486

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:06

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:06
We are fortunate enough to be a 2 car family. I can see the point that the 4wd is unnecessary, but with the way the rego's and insurances are structured it can put the 2nd car out of the picture. I would mutch prefer rego to be $50.00 or thereabouts, and your liscence to be $600.00 per year (about a car's rego). That would make having a second car, say an economical small run around, a much better proposition. If you have to come up with $13.00 per week for rego's, alon with other costs, you may as well put $13.00 in the tank of the tank and only have 1 set of problems.

I know this would not suit all - like the non car owners who only occasionally drive, but they may be even more dangerous than us!

Cheers andrew
AnswerID: 183044

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:58

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:58
Some interesting points Andrew. I have heard many people state they would rather have a little runabout for the suburbs and leave their fourby for camping but can't afford 2 cars. Something to think about.

I think rego is only about $50 a year but it's the compulsory 3rd party insurance that costs so much. Something i don't think people should have to pay if they organise their own insurance. I have comprehensive but still have to pay a huge amount of cash for third party along with my rego.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 439559

Reply By: allanmac856 - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 17:56

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 17:56
Another interesting debate with everyone entitled to their opinions. F4Phantom & Barnsey, along with some others, have made valid points, & IMO many 4wders just bury their heads in the sand & make a song & dance saying everyone is picking on them. Yes MOST articles against 4wds have more lies than truth, but that is something the 4wd fraternity are going to have to live with.

I agree that anyone should be able to drive a 4wd, whether it be just be on the black stuff, going bush, towing, or whatever; their choice. Unfortunately, (I'm ready for this, covering my face), IMO the MAJORITY of 4wders deserve alot of the criticism thrown at them/us. Yes I own a 4wd, but my job is driving a normal passenger vehicle & I spend most of the day driving; 60K per year at least so I see what happens out there on a daily basis.

YES, most 4wds tailgate, Yes most 4wds are argressive, YES most, no all, 4wds handle like crap, YES alot of 4wds have inappropriate tyres, ie muddies, for normal on road activities. I could go on & on. Bottom line, it is not the 4wd's fault, it is the DRIVER. It's time the authorities started putting more emphasis on what causes crashes; DRIVERS, not the make of vehicle. Have yet to see ANY vehicle run off the road, hit a tree, run up the back of smeone else etc etc all by itself.

Buy the same token, the MAJORITY of 4wders are not prepared to accept that a 4wd needs to be driven differently to most normal sedans because of their poor handling characteristics; they are not a sports car, but alot drive them as if they were. How often do we read on various 4wd forums the dipsticks who find it amusing to give other roadusers the 'flash of the spotties', sit up their a***' etc.

In regard to safety, yes I agree that a 4wd can make a mess of a smaller car, but in general circumstances, the late model vehicles are far more safer. You hear ppl say "my HZ Kingswood was much safer in a crash than these late model crumble cars". If that was the case, why has it changed?

Anyway, I hope these new laws regarding modifications get introduced sooner, rather than later, so to get some of these 'cowboys' of the road. Yes, alot of truckies get labelled with that term, & we seem to be heading the same way.

OK, I'm ready.

AnswerID: 183194

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 19:33

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 19:33
Thank you allanmac856.

FollowupID: 439730