Washing my new pride and joy
Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 21:02
AndrewX
I've just completed my first big trip in my new pride and joy. Now comes the task of washing it. Does anyone have any helpful hints on how I should set about this very tricky job. The manufacturer suggests a mild car washing detergent and clean
water applied with a soft brush or sponge but I'm not convinced that they know what they're talking about - after all they only build cars they don't wash them so I'm looking for some expert advice from all out there. Thanks!!
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 21:21
Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 21:21
Wow, you make it sound complicated Andrew. I've been washing cars for lots of years and can honestly say its over rated. Less is best IMO. You find less scratches this way.
Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 21:34
Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 21:34
Gooday,
The best thing I have used is CT18, get it at Supa Cheap or other auto parts stores. Have been using it on tow vehicle & caravan for about 3 years, the best I have found.
Boroma604.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 23:12
Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 23:12
CT18 is tough on plastics, makes them fade badly!
Reply By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 21:38
Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 21:38
Its not Friday and its not April 1st...you are out of order...non the less - slightly funny, which is better than none at all:)
| I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874 Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message Moderator |
Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:18
Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:18
My 3.5 yo and I wash our cars once a month or so. Usually dishwashing liquid in warm
water. I usually put it in an esky, and use a smallish household broom with soft bristles worth about $10.00. Its heaps quicker and easier than sponges and brushes. Brianna (3.5yo) usually does the
wheels, and then ends up naked in the esky. I end up with a clean car, clean esky and a clean kid!
Cheers Andrew
Follow Up By: GUPatrol - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 11:12
Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 11:12
Andrew,
Dishwashing detergent is a big no no!!
It is corrosive!
Buy a proper car wash detergent!!
Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:20
Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:20
Hit 'er with the Gerni!!!
;-)))
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: Hairy - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:27
Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:27
Why start something you cant finish?
Just leave it like it is and youll get used to it!!
Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:34
Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 22:34
G'day AndrewX,
If this is the first washing(especially after your first trip) you should take care in what you do and what you use. You would have noticed that your front windscreen would have all those horrible left overs from the bugs hitting the windscreen at surprising speeds and that's nothing to what's in your radiator. But I digress, now to the washing, firstly get hot
water, hot as your skin can stand, some very strong washing up liquid, the more detergent the better. With your initial wash I would suggest steel wool for the windows and a green sctotchbrite for the paintwork these will give you the result you require( don't forget to use a circular scrubbing motion when doing all your flat surfaces).
You will notice that when your car is drying off, it looks a little dull! 'do not panic', I repeat 'do not panic' this is completely normal and how your vehicle should look after such a trip away.
Hope this helps you Andrew and remember the most important thing, never, never, ever under any circumstances follow this first wash with polish of any kind, this will completely ruin the effect you're after
andy
Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 00:12
Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 00:12
Andy Q - he's winding everyone up and you fell for it more than anyone!! He'll be chuckling now - best to ignore them next time
Follow Up By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 00:33
Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 00:33
G'day Aandy, I think maybe you should re-read my response, I was in the mood for a little frivolity, I can see that'll I need to be more obvious in my responses.
Reply By: Dirty Smitty - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 21:32
Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 21:32
Pour petrol on it and set it on fire. Problem solved.
Reply By: atoyot - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 22:54
Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 22:54
Don't wash it too good though; our Cruiser still drops a bit of red mud every now and then. Very nostalgic as it brings back the memories, and also reminds me that I should wash it more thouroughly;^)