Lancelin - Wedge... Help Please!

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 23:19
ThreadID: 35785 Views:5670 Replies:12 FollowUps:6

Could some one from Perth (or not!?) please help?

I am looking for a 4x4 that will do for the track from Lancelin to Wedge, or the beach if the tide's out!

My shortlist includes:

Kia Sportage
Zuk Vitara
Rav 4
Daihatsu Terios
Subaru Liberty AWD (?)

Any of these can be as early as 1998.

Especially interested to find out if the Terios will do the job as it's tiny and when I'm in the city I'll want a very compact 4x4.

I should add that I probably won't be able to resist taking it out on the Wedge dunes...

Thank you!

Relle

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 23:31

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 23:31
I can't answer your question Relle, but we tried coming down to Lancelin from Cervantes quite some years ago and ended up turning back (we didn't want to risk the beach bit not knowing the tides, and the inland track was too overgrown to follow). It took us hours to get as far as we did. When we got home, we were talking to someone who said he used to go up there fishing from the Perth side in a Falcon! I don't know that he went as far as the beach bit though.

AnswerID: 183257

Reply By: Relle - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 23:54

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 23:54
Thanks for your reply.

The track is quite rocky in areas and the beach way has some trecherous soft spots.

We took a Mazda Tribute V6 up there recently and it didn't like reversing on the soft beach sand but did well on the track, it's just a little too big for my needs.

I'm mainly concerned with height needed for rocky tracks and susceptibility to tipping on the dunes.

Relle
AnswerID: 183261

Reply By: Sarg - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 00:19

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 00:19
Not too sure whether those shopping trollys have got low range, but unless you are going to use the beach, especially around Narrow Neck, you probably wont need it. The inland track (depending on which one that you take) only needs a reasonably high clearance vehicle. I've actually taken a 2WD F100 to Wedge a few years ago on the inland track with no problems with properly deflated tyres.
AnswerID: 183262

Reply By: Member - Alanc - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 01:04

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 01:04
Went to Wedge last Saturday for the day. Went up the inland route and except for a little sand at the Lancelin dunes and crossing the Wedge dunes any 4wd would have made it. Come back along the beach from South Rocks to Narrow Neck, it was low tide , if it was high I would not have attempted it. The beach had a few boggy patches and you needed all the clearance you could get to get through. There were three vehicles in our group , Prado, Pathfinder & a Rocky , the Rocky got stuck in one spot only because his wheel track was / is narrower and he bottomed out.
I have visited Wedge many times over the past 20+ years, my first vehicle was a small diahatsu 4wd the i went up to a Rocky and now the Prado. All vehicles have their limitations and as long as you know this and don't do anything silly you will be OK. My daughter has a 1991 Subaru Wgn with slightly wider tyres than standard but no lift kit, she goes up and back no worries although she stays off the beach if by herself because of the clearance factor.
Have you considered a Subaru Wagon / Forrester ? I think they are a nice vehicle and you get dual range.
AnswerID: 183267

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 07:06

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 07:06
I have experience with a manual Sportage in soft sand and find it doesn't really have the torque for the very low speed take off that is required when things get real 'difficult'. I have not tried an auto - I think it would be a lot better. I still use a Sportage on rock but have a Pajero for the sand.
AnswerID: 183269

Reply By: Philip A - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 11:15

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 11:15
I do not know about that parrticular beach , but Vitaras are excellent on sand and tend to be able to rock hop well because you can get a good line because they are small. I took one up Rainbow Beach and the get off at The Cherry Venture was soft but it did it very easily in high range. I also took it up the Daintree track to Wujal Wujal. I have owned an 88 and my daughter had a 97. I would not hesitate to get one , but go for the injected one as the carby is temperamental. The soft top is the best design I have seen and is completely waterproof even in a downpour, and relatively quiet until 110Kmh.( Why can't Rover build a top like it??)
I got 10 l/100 on the highway at 110Kmh and I think my daughter's with injection was better.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 183312

Reply By: the fang - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 11:49

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 11:49
I tried the beach a few years ago in a troopie and fell foul of sand covered seagrass- I know a troopie is a heavy weight and the tides were against me but there is no way i would try again - even in the boss's 4wd!
AnswerID: 183318

Reply By: RupertDog - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 15:53

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 15:53
Relle

Have a bog standard 95 Rav 4 (with AT Tyres - so I suppose not really bog standard), and have doen beach work in the area. 95 rav is basically same as 98 (just not as new - with old style brake lights)

Only drawback to any of the vehicle slisted is ground clearance. Rav goes fien thru the sand, keepign up with a Disco, Hilux, Surf and Patrol Ute, but lost out once the ruts started to get deeper.

No problems thru the tracks behind the beach, and even got thru a few places the big boys didn't.

Not sure if I would try the beach alone, certainly helps to have someone there to assist with gettign you moving again, although a shovel seems to work just as well (but takes longer).

Around town, the Rav get about 550 - 600 kms each fill (approx 50 - 55 litres), so really good on the economy.

Can't fault the RAV, took her up the Powerlines, and amazed myslef (and a few others) as to what we could get into, and out of !!!

RD
AnswerID: 183350

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 19:52

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 19:52
Go the Zuk.
It will do what you ask of it, just remember that it is a baby 4by.
If you want to "play" on the Lancelin dunes, use a very big sand flag, and unless you like flying into thin air, be real carefull There are alot of real big dunes with huge vertical dropoffs, that will see your 4by nose first, and you going to hospital.
Unless you have a very capable 4by, know the tide personally, and have a wish to see a 4by become a reef, do not use the beach run during winter, especially if you are by yourself.
.!MPG:4!

meow.

rick.
AnswerID: 183387

Reply By: bradz - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 20:08

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 20:08
have you looked into a nissan x-trail
AnswerID: 183395

Follow Up By: Relle - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 20:35

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 20:35
Thank you all for your replies, keep 'em coming!

I have looked at the X-Trail but it's too big for me, I'm after something small, mainly because I'll be in the city most of the time and I'm a small person :-)

Luckily each time we go there's at least 3 or 4 cars so I'll have help... I reckon getting bogged is half the fun... there's a story to tell and laugh about for each time we've been over the years. Next time I don't want to be a passenger.

Getting closer to a decision thanks to all you guys.

One more question, what is considered medium clearance?
FollowupID: 439984

Follow Up By: ross - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 22:04

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 22:04
Its hard to define medium or any other clearance as its relative to the length of the vehicle.
A swb vehicle can get away wtih being lower than a lwb

Its better to talk about entry/exit and crossover angles.

I think any of those vehicles you listed would make it provided you air down the tyres.
A $200 compressor would go a long way in fuel savings and engine/gearbox wear and tear
My pic of the bunch on your list would be the Suzuki Vitara.
Its the only one on the list that is used competively offroad.
I think there is maps of the route on this site if I remember rightly.
My old Lada Niva would do it in 2WD if I wanted.
FollowupID: 440001

Follow Up By: Relle - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 22:18

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 22:18
Thanks, ross.

Got a map from the ice shed couple of years ago.

I'm a complete newbie...(sorry!!!) what's the compressor and what does it do?

Thank you!

Relle
FollowupID: 440005

Follow Up By: ross - Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 10:21

Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 10:21
A compressor is a device for compressing air so you can reinflate your tyres when you hit the bitumen.
They start at around $30 at Kmart,Supercheap but they will not do the job .
You connect the leads to the battery,put the air hose on the tyre valve.

Deflating the tyres makes a huge difference when driving in sand.
The tyre footprint gets longer and wider meaning you dont bog down as much.
A small 4x4 needs about 20 pounds of air although sometimes less on beach sand

Bushranger make 3 compressors to suit different pockets and all are well liked.
They have one for about $140 that is considered ideal for occasional use.

Site Link

There is a 4wd shop in Malaga on Victoria rd that has the range with good prices.
I think its called Malaga 4wd.
FollowupID: 440073

Follow Up By: Relle - Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 19:59

Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 19:59
Thanks for your help, ross. I thought that's what you meant. :-)
FollowupID: 440157

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 23:07

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 23:07
My city sister's kids got little old 2 stoke suzukis when they reached 17 - too light to get bogged on the beach, or if they did - a couple of lads could lift 'em out.

AnswerID: 183434

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 12:56

Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 12:56
I think the other vehicle to look at is the Daihatsu Feroza. I had one years ago as my first 4by and my mate has one now that he has lifted, kitted out with endless air and bigger tyres. It is still a little town car that he claims corners like a road car even with the lift and bigger tyres (I'd believe it as it's the wide track model, they are almost SQAURE!).

They are absoultally brilliant on the sand. He goes places in Wedge that i'd never even try in the surf. I've seen him driving on a a stretch of beech comming back from Wedge where his nose was pointing to the dunes and his back tyres touching the water as he powered along the beach around a headland before climbing back up on to the dry stuff! I got bogged before I even got to the end of the dry stuff!! (he's also mad as a cut snake!). I watched him, got snatch backwards by a mate and backtracked to go inland around the headland.

They are a great comprimise between town car and very capable offroader.

Other than that, the Suzuki and Kia woud be good options, the RAV i'd stay clear of. Seen MANY of them stuck BIG time on the way up to Wedge. People think that it's easy, but that stretch of beach can change from a walk in the park to deadly in the space of 8 hours. The subi wouldn't have the clearance for the soft sand and the Terios has no low range.
AnswerID: 183488

Follow Up By: Relle - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 00:17

Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 00:17
Thanks, Jeff M.

I'm nearly settled on a Kia, I think. I won't be doing anything crazy and will always have some big trucks with snatch ropes on our convoys as usual.

As long as it gets me there and back without being too trashed I'll be happy.

Relle
FollowupID: 440188