raining in the centre

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 08:03
ThreadID: 35788 Views:2576 Replies:10 FollowUps:19
just thought to let people know that its started to rain out here at hermannsburg
since 5.30 this morn and at yuendumu since 3.00 am
so if traveling out this way to check road conditions cheers

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 08:50

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 08:50
Thanks handy,

We're heading that way in a couple of weeks...keeping an eye on the weather. It's good to get a report from someone actually in the area.

Viv
AnswerID: 183287

Reply By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 09:00

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 09:00
Handy,

Thanks for the report. I noticed the forecast a few days ago and it looked like it was going to happen.

We are setting sail for a three week trip via the Simpson and Corner Country this weekend.

We had better pack extra rations!

Kings
AnswerID: 183289

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 09:02

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 09:02
Fantastic news that some predictions are working handy, even if it does disrupt some tripping. Hope the rain moves South after covering Queensland and NSW. Sorely needes, I am sorry to say.
AnswerID: 183290

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 09:11

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 09:11
40mm at Giles
FollowupID: 439805

Follow Up By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 09:30

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 09:30
Send it to the Wimmera/Mallee Victoria. We are desperate!!

Viv
FollowupID: 439809

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 09:41

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 09:41
Certainly Vivien, I want to see it there too, so many friends and of course our grain supply too. It just has been looking so depressing. I did hear the forecasts this morning and I put the link up the other day. The outlook site is timing out today, hope it is flooding. Yeh, too far away in the US.............
FollowupID: 439810

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 11:37

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 11:37
VICTORIAN WHEATBELT RAIN OUTLOOK updated 13/07/06...

Thursday 13th July - Tuesday 18th July, 2006

OVERVIEW: The upper system that appeared to show potential on the previous Wheatfields outlook indicated for this weekend is looking very promising for the northern Victorian wheat country although appears will arrive a day earlier than expected...A major upper and developing surface depression is located over eastern WA this morning with and extensive lifting process (mid and upper level). The main lifting region appears will transfer towards northwest Victoria through Friday and pass across the remainder of Victoria on Saturday. A surface low appears will accompany the upper system and become slow moving over southeast Australia through Saturday and Sunday....

What this means for the wheat country of Victoria is a strong potential for moderate to good rainfall totals commencing Friday and into Saturday...From Saturday the main lifting potential region will recede to southern and eastern Victoria followed by a cold moist southwest to southerly airstream with rain over northern Victoria clearing east through Saturday to be replaced by isolated showers and a risk of thunder Saturday afternoon. On Sunday a cold southerly will bring isolated showers to the southern areas of the wheat country. A high pressure ridge appears from next Monday or Tuesday but further fronts appear mid week with more showers....Looking good....

DAILY WEATHER EXPECTATIONS

THURSDAY 13/7/06....Patchy cloud in the south then a fine day with sunny periods, patchy high cloud later in the day or overnight, light winds tending northeast. MAX TEMPS 14 to 16°C.

FRIDAY 14/7/06...Extensive areas of mid and high cloud with patchy rain becoming general, isolated storms, potential for local moderate falls. Light northeast winds MIN TEMPS 3 to 5°C MAX TEMPS 10 to 13°C.

SATURDAY 15/7/06...Areas of rain and isolated storms receding south and east followed by isolated showers and a risk of further thunder, some moderate rainfall totals a potential...light winds tending southerly in the west, patchy low cloud and mist at times. MIN TEMPS 5 to 6°C MAX TEMPS 12 to 14°C.

SUNDAY 16/7/06...Areas of mid and isolated showers in the morning, then fresh southerly winds and sunny intervals through the day, further isolated to scattered shower in southern areas. MIN TEMPS 4 to 6°C MAX TEMPS 12 to 14°C.

MONDAY 17/7/06...Areas of mist and fog/low cloud. local drizzle or light showers mainly in southern parts, fresh south to southwest winds, a few sunny breaks later MIN TEMPS 2 to 4°C MAX TEMPS 13 to 15°C.

TUESDAY 18/7/06...Areas of mist or fog early isolated frost in sheltered areas, light winds tending west to northwest. Sunny periods later in the day...MIN TEMPS 1 to 3°C MAX TEMPS 13 to 15°C.

FollowupID: 439832

Reply By: hopscotch - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 10:11

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 10:11
Ruth might like to lets us know when it reaches Birdsville!

Kevin J
AnswerID: 183296

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 04:51

Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 04:51
Hello Kevin - 3.4mm so far this night - windy and blustery and much panic in the camp!
FollowupID: 440039

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 07:05

Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 07:05
Now we've had total 8.6 mm - still too dark to tell what's going to happen! LOL
FollowupID: 440048

Follow Up By: hopscotch - Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 07:46

Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 07:46
Hi Ruth,

No serious damage I hope! Does it look like you will get more?

How much inconvenience will this cause because of wet roads and if it is fine by tomorrow how long does it take to get back to 'normal'.

Some of us coastal dwellers don't really understand your neck of the woods even after we have travelled through.

Have a good day

Kevin J
FollowupID: 440053

Reply By: Laura B - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 10:38

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 10:38
we're leaving in nearly 3 weeks, hope it clears up by then!!!

Thanks for the report - i thought i was hearing things this morning when they said rain in alice!!

Laura
AnswerID: 183300

Follow Up By: Troop-a-dour - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 15:16

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 15:16
Haven't you gone yet?? This must be one of the longest trip preps. in history. I thought you'd be gone and back by now!!
FollowupID: 439908

Reply By: Hairy - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 12:36

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 12:36
Its raining in Alice at the moment, not heavy but it is forecasted for today and tommorrow.( possibly upto 50mm)
AnswerID: 183329

Reply By: hopscotch - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 13:47

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 13:47
Laura B

I somehow don't think the people of the 'drought' areas would give a damn about your holiday if it was raining in three weeks time.

Personally I would stay home for the next year if those in need could get some relief.

Still hope you do get your trip done.

Kevin J
AnswerID: 183341

Reply By: Barnesy - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 16:28

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 16:28
Hope you don't mind me asking Handy, what do you do at Hermannsburg? Just curious, it's only a small place.
AnswerID: 183358

Follow Up By: handy - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 16:44

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 16:44
i work for a company called solar systems, we build big solar power stations.
i run the one at the burg, we have got one at yuendumu, lajamanu, the burg
and down at the pit lands SA. 3 weeks on 1 off . cheers
FollowupID: 439931

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 18:36

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 18:36
Member Jiarna, ( John and wife Anita and girls ) from this site, have just moved out there too, he is in the medical centre, fixing up the occasional cut and bruise!!!

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 439960

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 18:53

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 18:53
Interesting Handy. I hear lots of stories about solar but would be interesting to get it from someone actually working there.

Are you connected up to the power grid? About how much solar power would these stations produce? What are the chances of solar power expanding and becoming a more mainstream power source? What time frame would we be looking at?

Sounds like good work he has Pesty. I'm assuming Jiarna is a nurse, like me, as there isn't a doctor based there. I would like to work in a place like that but my other half won't go. So to the Alice it is.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 439962

Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 20:23

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 20:23
Yep I'm here in Hermannsburg enjoying the rain. And yes I am a Remote Area Nurse, so you're in good hands if you get crook in this corner of the Red Centre.

Handy, I need to find a few minutes spare to come an visit .... one day LOL

Hermannsburg
FollowupID: 439980

Follow Up By: Hairy - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 23:02

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 23:02
Hey!! Handy
Is that Andy?
If so this is Sean..... Ruby George... Easter
How are ya!
FollowupID: 440012

Follow Up By: handy - Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 07:40

Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 07:40
how are you going sean, i passed you on the way to darwin and gave you a call
on the radio i was in the patrol [ to quick for you to see me] ha.

john rock up anytime just give us a yell over the fence .

barnesy when the sun is shinning we supply half the towns needs
it is a PV tracking setup with 8 dishes that track the sun.

FollowupID: 440052

Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 12:48

Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 12:48
Gday Andy,
I did hear the call but were out of range to quick, It was driving me mad trying to work out who it was. (did the patrol make it home?)
We,ll have to catch up and go out bush for a night or two, we've been going out to birthday water hole and hugh George a bit.
(whats your email address)
FollowupID: 440085

Follow Up By: handy - Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 12:58

Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 12:58
you tojo owners are funny buggers. you got the door fixed yet??
i only get a week out of 4 off so keep me informed when you head out.
cheers email is apreuss@solarsystems.com.au
FollowupID: 440086

Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 17:30

Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 17:30
No mate, two weeks till the cars booked in.
Ill send you an email and work out when your not working and try and organise a trip!
FollowupID: 440124

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 17:31

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 17:31
Member - John (Vic) and daughter are sitting in the roadhouse at Warburton, all roads closed. He says the wind is bitterly cold.
AnswerID: 183367

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 19:45

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 19:45
They now have a room with a heater...sweet
FollowupID: 439971

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 17:47

Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 17:47
They are on the move, roads open.
FollowupID: 440128

Reply By: terrano tripper - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 20:08

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 20:08
We have also been watching the weather around the centre.

We are heading off for 8 weeks on Sunday for outback Qld, then into the NT via Three Ways up to Darwin and all that area then down the Stuart Highway to Alice, Coober Pedy etc.

I did a similar trip about 20 years ago on a bus tour. We got bogged numerous times ( passengers pushed the bus out ) on the Oonadatta Track. When we got to Alice the Todd River was in full flood. We continued our trip up to Darwin when we got back the Todd River was dry and looked like it never had rain.

Wendy
AnswerID: 183394