Mt. Buller - Snow chains

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 09:08
ThreadID: 35789 Views:6164 Replies:5 FollowUps:4
I always thought that snow chains were required to be carried in Victoria. I receive an email every day from Mt. Buller about the snow conditions and it states the following:

Wheel chain requirements – Day visitors
2WD vehicles must carry chains*,
4WD & AWD vehicles not required to carry chains*

*Overnight visitors must carry chains at all times

So if I go there for a day trip in my cruiser I don't need to carry chains. Can anyone confirm if this is different to last year. And, has anyone been there this year in a 4by and been asked to produce their chains.

Reply By: TJ Hach (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 10:25

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 10:25
During the declared snow season it is still a legal requirement for ALL vehicles to carry snow chains when entering into the Alpine Road Reserve and to fit them when directed to do so. On ocassion when we have gone to the snow 2WD vehicles have been directed to fit chains whilst we have been permitted to proceed in 4WD without fitting them, however it is still a legal requirement for 4WD's to carry them. If you are directed to fit chains and don't have any on board you will be subject to a fine.

Enjoy the snow and stay safe.

TJ
AnswerID: 183297

Follow Up By: MyGreenCruiser - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 10:29

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 10:29
That's what I though too. But Mt. Buller (i.e. the resort) seems to be saying that you don't need them.
FollowupID: 439814

Follow Up By: Spike me - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 20:42

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 20:42
Incorrect as from Queens Birthday 2006. Call the Buller resort on 03 5777 6077
FollowupID: 439987

Reply By: TJ Hach (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 11:37

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 11:37
Here is the site link from VicRoads that states that it is still a requirement for all vehicles including 4WD's to carry chains :link text

TJ
AnswerID: 183315

Follow Up By: TJ Hach (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 11:39

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 11:39
Bugger.....obviously did that wrong try this: Site Link
FollowupID: 439833

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 12:12

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 12:12
I think buller resort management were trying to get waved the mandatory carrying of chains to make it more affordable for day trippers to come to the mountain. Well if you can afford to go skiing then i reckon you can afford chains.

Leory
FollowupID: 439851

Reply By: feral - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 13:25

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 13:25
The report says that you must carry chains if you are to stay overnight. Does this mean that if you are a day tripper you will be parking ineffect down the mountain where you will not need chains?

If you are staying longer i.e you have accomodation, you would need chains to get there. If you are not, Mt Buller would most likely keep the roads clear to the day trip car park.

Just a thought.
AnswerID: 183337

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 14:00

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 14:00
From what I understand is that you need to have the chains on you, because if you have a accident and they have to recovery you on the road or off, and you do not have chains, you get the bonus fine for not having chains on you.
AnswerID: 183344

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 23:57

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 23:57
From a mate of mine in Vicroads who shall remain nameless:

Mount Buller ARB have decided (in their wisdom :|) that they will utilise the power they have under the Alpine Resort Regulations to exempt any or all vehicles from carrying chains on days that they decide. Currently they have deemed that only daytrippers (sometimes 4WDs, sometimes both 2wd & 4WD) are exempt, though how they are getting the message out is a mystery. Neither VicRoads nor VicPol are happy about it, but the regulations to fit chains are under the Alpine Resort management Act. It's all about $$$ at Buller - it'll never happen at Hotham or Falls. At Buffalo thechains regs fall under the NP act so I can't see ParksVic exempting chains either.

[23:51] Dave: Can I post that from an anonymous source? :)
[23:52] x: go for it - you can read the amended Alpine Resorts Regs by doing a search for the regs on the legalonline website
[23:53] Dave: Can't wait for someone to sue them for a minor bingle and blame the non fitment policy.
[23:53] x: it'll all end in tears when someone slides off the road and the coroner starts asking questions

Straight from the horses mouth so to speak.

Could still change too, negotiations continue.....

AnswerID: 183440