Return from Sundown
Submitted: Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 09:16
Bag Boy
Hi all, Having to come back home really sucks after spending 4 days in Sundown NP. What an awesome place, you are really close to complete serenity... When they said it was a 2hr drive into the
camp sites, they were right..!! Was pretty much 2nd gear low/range from the
gate. A few awesome rocky
hill climbs and hair-raising decents. Breath taking
views, lots of kangaroos. Wouldn't want to try it in a vehicle with little clearence an travel ... Had some good frost on the first morning (on the car to...) Our little gas heater being a must have.. The days were crystal clear, and made way for some good photos. We camped at
Reedy Creek the first night and then camped at Burrow's
Water hole for the remainder. Definately going there again.
BB.
Reply By: Member - Ian S (NT) - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 11:13
Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 11:13
Bag Boy,
Couldn't agree more. A fantastic place for SE Qld and North Coasters to visit, and so few do. Make sure you get to Rats Castle after Burrows
Waterhole, if you didn't get there this time.
Ian @ Mt Dare
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 12:24
Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 12:24
Bag Boy,
"Wouldn't want to try it in a vehicle with little clearence an travel"
What were you driving?
Follow Up By: Bag Boy - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 14:31
Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 14:31
G'day Al, I'm driving a 2003 ST Patrol ute.
BB.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 18:14
Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 18:14
Thanks BB. Sometimes we need some sort of reference point to judge the clearance and travel required. I assumed you were warning more against the 'softer' 4wds.
I'll probably cop it for that :))))))
Follow Up By: stevesub - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 13:28
Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 13:28
We took our Troopy there a month or so ago with no problems but there was a Rav4 at the end of the road and the driver had a very worreid look on his face - definetly NOT a place to take a soft offroader. Also spied an oil slick on the ground at the top of a particualy nasty uphill - bugger, someone lost a diff or engine load of oil. looked fresh as
well.
We had a Disco with us and he also had no problems but we would have left our Freelander at home for sure.
There is nothing hard, just slow becuase of the rocks and ruts on the hills, especially close to the
camp ground.
Must go back and
camp someday.
Stevesub
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 16:15
Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 16:15
Sounds like a "must do" for an EO gathering one day.
Maybe closer to Oct long weekend to make it a little warmer O/Night.???
Would 2 days suffice or is at least 3 or 4 day trip??
Regards, Trevor.
Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 18:35
Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 18:35
Would have to be a 3 dayer at least mate, preferably 4 or more, would take most families with 2.4 dirt magnets a good 4-6 hrs to get there from your end of the world, there goes one day and the same to get home. That place had already occured to me for a gathering and was speaking to Grungle about it when he was still here, gave it a miss as there were no 4 dayers free in the near future at time of conversation.
Nice place for
camping and taking it easy with light-medium 4wheelin compared to what we've just done.
Avagoodn
Pezza
Reply By: Barty - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 18:16
Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 18:16
Sounds like a great place would my 2003 TD duel Cab hilux be ok to take thorugh there and is it ok to go solo as in just me and the family
Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 18:40
Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 18:40
IMO your hilux would be fine mate, let your tyre pressures down to cope with the very rocky drive in and some carefull wheel positioning on some of the wombat holed up hills out of the
camp sites should see you have no problem at all on your own with basic recovery gear.
Ian is right, it really is very nice there.
Avagoodn
Pezza
Reply By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 18:40
Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 18:40
SHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH....Bag Boy not sooooooooo loud........lol
It's a great place hey!
You hit it in one.............."close to complete serenity"
If you do it in the warmer months watch out for leeches and ticks.
Cya