Traytop Campers - Opinions

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 11:10
ThreadID: 35872 Views:7422 Replies:10 FollowUps:8
Hi all. Some of you may remeber my first post about doing a round oz trip in a troopy:

Site Link

We have started to think that sleeping and carrying all our gear in a troopy may limit our options if we decide to setup up a base camp and explore the area in our vehicle. We did consider a normal camp with tent etc but this can be time consuming for setup so we have begun considering buying a cruiser ute or similar and then getting a traytop camper. The one we have seen is this one:

Site Link

they are worth $23300 new but can probably get one 2nd hand.

If anyone has experience with these we would appreciate your feedback and if you know of any issues and other manufacturers we would be greatly appreciative.

Cheers - Rossco & Jayne

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 11:33

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 11:33
Hi Rossco/Jayne.I have not got one but that is my personal choice as well,the second hand one on that site to may be get them down a little more & save more $'s $19,000.Happy decision making. Bob.
AnswerID: 183745

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 11:47

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 11:47
Hi Rossco & Jayne

We went down this track did a heap of research a couple of years ago bought one finally found a few limitations, sold it.

More research, looked at every single one we could find.

We're about to take delivery of a Utility Camper which we're fairly certain will do exactly what we want.

This is a complex subject and would need to talk to you to give you meaningfull information based on your specific requirements. email me a phone no and I'll try to help.

AnswerID: 183746

Follow Up By: WonderinOz - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 18:06

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 18:06
Hi Chris,

Am not currently a member so cannot see your email but my phone# is 07 3355 9380 or 0422075108 my email is rmvidler@tpg.com.au.

My main purpose for having this setup is being able to leave it behind while we go exploring. We dont intend on using it for 100% 4WDingmainly as a home. We are intent on being self reliant for power ie having a couple of solar panels on top w an extra battery and a 80L fridge. It would be good if it was easy to setup for those 1 night stays.

Like you said, we will need to talk to exchange meaningful info so give me a bell any night apart from wednesday night or post your phone number and I will call you.

Rossco
FollowupID: 440418

Follow Up By: WonderinOz - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 23:57

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 23:57
Chris,

Really appreciated the call tonight mate - cheers. I havent stoped surfin the net looking at the options.

Rossco & Jayne
FollowupID: 440663

Reply By: disco1942 - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 18:32

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 18:32
Rossco

Have you had a look at " target="EOF" class="lbg">www.activecampers.com.au/. I say one of these on the back of a twin cab ute (Well back camper.) They looked very well made and roomy. They are made in both flat tray and well back models and are in the same price range as you are looking at.

A neighbour was looking for something for his Falcon ute and the only thing he could find was a handy-mans-special which he is now rebuilding.

AnswerID: 183797

Follow Up By: WonderinOz - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 00:00

Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 00:00
Thanks for the link Peter - looks like a good setup. I think I want to keep the travelling height down as close to cab height as possible though.

Rossco
FollowupID: 440664

Reply By: stubby - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 18:47

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 18:47
I bought a carry me camper new for about $10000.Done a couple of small trips so far and about to go on a 3 months trip.Plenty of storage,no problems so far.
Stubby
AnswerID: 183799

Reply By: strzelecki - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 18:59

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 18:59
I think $23k odd plus extras if you want a fridge etc is completely crazy.Same goes for camper trailers they obscene prices.
AnswerID: 183804

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 20:28

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 20:28
You may also want to look/ask the traytop camping group:
Site Link

I've had the canopy for about 18 months and had an aluminium box made up professionally, and fitted it out myself for camping. I reckon everybody is a bit different in what they want, so its nice to have the flexibility to do your own thing. The Adventure camper is made here in Adelaide - very good design, and the leg support system is one of the best. The Trayon are also very popular, and theres a heap of other brands out there all offering something different.

We preferred to keep using the swag and/or tent as we didn't want the size/weight of the unit to get out of hand. Maybe sometime in the future we'll slip a Desert sky tent or a Maggiolina rooftop tent on top, but must say that we are very, very happy with our current setup - heaps on room in the canopy, and the access thru the lift up side doors is brilliant.

Re vehicles, I would favour the post '99 Cruiser and Patrol Utes - preferably with the leaf spring rear end, as they have the best payloads. The 4 cyl utes may struggle to hold the load and remain a capable 4wd tourer.

Have a great time looking and hope you buy a lifestyle :-))))

phil
AnswerID: 183824

Follow Up By: WonderinOz - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 00:06

Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 00:06
Phil - I agree sleeping outdoors in a tent/swag cant be beaten. However we thought that if we were to stay in a place for an extended period, we may find it easier with a bed off the ground - but dont worry - the tent will be getting packed!

Rossco
FollowupID: 440667

Reply By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 20:46

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 20:46
Hi Wonder

Ever looked at this one?
Onr third the price and you can dress it up with gear they have or add your own.
www.candycanvas.com.au.........the site is currently under construction.
Mobile (Rick), 0407 399 396. Fax, (08) 8757 2286. Email, sales@candycanvas.com.au.

Cya
AnswerID: 183827

Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 20:52

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 20:52
As nice a unit as that one may be Rossco you may wish to check out the Trayon slip on campers as an alternative. A quality unit that is far quicker to set up each night. Certainly worth a look.
Cheers Craig............
AnswerID: 183830

Follow Up By: WonderinOz - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 00:15

Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 00:15
Craig - looks like a cosy setup and a good idea being off the ground. Is all the cooking facillities inside the camper? Would probably like an area on there somewhere for a couple of solar panels too.

Rossco
FollowupID: 440670

Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 17:51

Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 17:51
Yes the fridge & cooking gear is inside out of the rain, away from the dust & flys. The fridge can be accessed too while the lid is down. No point fitting panels to the roof of the Trayon as they would be upside down when set up but some fit them to a set of ski bars on the roof of the ute. Personally I think a set of fold up panels are better stored away then brought out into the sun & shifted when needed. Most people set their campers up in the shade so permanently mounting to the vehicle would see them useless most of the time.
I only mention the Trayon as a good travelling friend has one & I'm jelous at the speed he can be set up each night & be gone in the morning.
Cheers Craig...........
FollowupID: 440760

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 19:24

Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 19:24
Rossco,
The trayon is excellent quality, a rather neat layout. Its also one of the lightest ones you'll find.
FollowupID: 440781

Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 16:17

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 16:17
Carry Me Camper... less than five minutes to get it off the back, a little longer to put back on (I'm a bad reverser!). Pretty good value for money (I have an extended one to fit my tray - $9,000). Setup times - takes me longer to take off the tent cover than it does to set it up - well less than five minutes. Inside the camper is a wealth of storage room.

See my rig pic.
AnswerID: 183935

Reply By: WonderinOz - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 00:31

Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 00:31
Hi all, thank-you for the informative replies, you have given us much to ponder. We have decided that we may go with a design that does not go above cab height to cut down wind resistance - with fuel prices destined to continue to increase, a driving trip around our huge country with the least amount of wind resistance may save us some hard earned $$$. We also wanted to get a design that allows for an outside kitchen and an ability to have solar panels mounted for self reliance. At this stage there are 3 brands we like:

Site Link

www.utilitycampers.com/

Site Link

We have also decided that we will buy a factory turbo diesel landcruiser to increase the pulling power and payload. We will continue to look and ask questions periodicaly - so I'm sure we will hear from you all again soon.

On a side note, I have been amazed by the willingness and forthcoming of opinions and advice on this forum and the absence of stupidity from posters. I have posted in various forums (mainly IT based) and have come across plenty of idiots. Maybe its all the fresh air this group of people get?!

Rossco & Jayne
AnswerID: 184020

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 19:18

Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 19:18
Rossco and jayne,
I went with the lift up side doors because it provides instant shade and shelter when you stop, and your access to the stuff inside is unimpeded. But the 3 you've chosen are all quality stuff. Be aware of the weight issues. Where will you put the spare tyres? And if you remove the camper when camped, what will you do about the fridge, spares etc etc etc Most people I know with traytop campers never remove them.

Also the 79series stands pretty tall - The cab height is 110mm above the tray. Your choice of vehicle is the best for the job IMO!!! You also can easily upgrade the GVM to 3700kg if necessary.

FollowupID: 440776