UHF antenna location

Submitted: Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 19:56
ThreadID: 35911 Views:3795 Replies:8 FollowUps:3
G'day forumites, I need a project and have decided to look at boosting the range of my UHF - at the moment I get the normal 5-7 kms from it in normal situations. (I have a GME TX 3200 and a 6 db antenna mounted on the bullbar.)

My question is: do you reckon i would be better off getting one of those huge fibreglass antennas for going away and just leave the mounting on the bullbar - thinking that the extra height will "get over" the car better; or leaving the current antenna where it is for around town but mounting another one on the roofrack for when I'm away.

All advice, ideas and feedback would be welcome.

Thanks in advance,

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 20:01

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 20:01
Jimbo ,
If it's so tall , you might smash it when you pull up for lunch in a shady spot . It is very easy to forget about it .
Willie
AnswerID: 183968

Follow Up By: Jimbo (WA) - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 20:03

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 20:03
Good point Willie - particularly since I'm getting more senile by the minute.
FollowupID: 440599

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 20:50

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 20:50
Look at either a 9, or 12db antennae. The larger the number, the larger the "throw".
That is, as you get a higher db, the signal is "pushed" higher, and farther out, therefore increasing range. Whilst sacrifising close range stuff to a degree.
Talk to Outbacker Communications in Canningvale and they will give you the rundown alot better than i can.
No affiliation to them, just a satisfied customer.

meow.

rick.
AnswerID: 183973

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 21:09

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 21:09
Jimbo

Get what you've got on the roof mate.

ie. Mount it on a roof rack or ski bar with foldable bracket mount.

You will be amazed at the difference.

I now run two on a custom made 'ski bar' on the Troopy.

6db broom stick which I only use occassionally and a 300mm floppy stubby 4.5db for nearly all other occassions.

AnswerID: 183982

Reply By: disco1942 - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 21:24

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 21:24
The higher the gain the flatter the disk of concentrated energy that is radiated. This is only any use to you when you are on a dead flat road. If you are stuck going into or coming out of of a creek crossing your signal will be radiated up in the air or into the ground close by as the antenna is not dead vertical. The same thing happens when travelling fast – the antenna tilts back and all radiation to the front goes up in the air and in the rearward direction it is radiated into the truck.

Elevation of the antenna is the best way to improve your signal in all directions. Mount a mast (eg 20mm aluminium pipe) with a knock down joint on the top so that tree branches will just knock the antenna out of the way. Then mount a ground independent antenna of medium gain (4.5 dBd maximum) on top of the knock down joint. The antenna should be mounted clear of any load on the top of the vehicle. Even a high mounted flexible ¼ wave whip mounted on the end of a mast without a matched ground plane is better than a 6 dBd co-linear antenna mounted down low.

AnswerID: 183990

Reply By: Jimbo (WA) - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 21:36

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 21:36
Thanks all for the reply's so far - looks like the general feeling is towards what I was leaning towards doing, which is to put an antenna on a rhino bar on the roof.

Thanks again, all
AnswerID: 183995

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 21:51

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 21:51
Yes thats my advice too. Even the little rubber antenna on the roof will out perform a bullbar mounted one.
FollowupID: 440638

Follow Up By: A.J - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 22:55

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 22:55
Hi Jimbo.
All you need to do is get a ground independant 4.5 dB and a linear amp.. . . . .300 watts gives you round 85ks on simplex, and will light a fluro tube in the shed!
A.J
FollowupID: 440657

Reply By: Sarg - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 21:52

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 21:52
I run a GME AE4005 Ground Independent on the bullbar(short flexi type) that is ideal in trails/bush work & a AE4007 (with a TX4400) mounted on the headboard/ladder rack of the dualcab. I take off the 4007 & change leads when the going gets tough. I cannot pick any difference between the two aerials & mostlly use the 4005 anyway.
AnswerID: 183999

Reply By: Gu_Patrol - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 10:06

Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 10:06
A quarter wave ant on the roofrack can sometimes out perform a 6db on the bullbar for distances.
Those 2 to 3 db rubber duckies do a great job too.
AnswerID: 184052

Reply By: Member - Scooby (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 10:45

Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 10:45
Hi Jimbo,
I have a small flexable rubber antenna mounted on the top of my Hilux's canopy. It gets a belting in low scrub and handles that OK. I have the same radio as you and have a good transmit range, which of course will vary depending on the terrain.
Often when traveling in a large convoy and needing to talk over a longer distance I will use a 6 db with a spring base.
Scooby
AnswerID: 184060