engine failure in GU Patrol 2002

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 12:31
ThreadID: 35966 Views:3785 Replies:19 FollowUps:31
Hi all - just posting a note to say - late (oct) 2002 3L patrol 130,000km engine failure, not very happy. Nissan in Hamilton, Vic, trying to claim warranty but no news as yet. So it wasn't just the early run of 3L patrols??? Any problems with current 3L patrol engines failing??? The difficulty start in the mornings was not just the glow plugs!!!

Reply By: Troop-a-dour - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 12:53

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 12:53
Just for interest sake- What was the 'engine failure' ????

I do remember a race car driver that had "electrical problems" - a piston went thru the block and knocked out the distibutor!!
AnswerID: 184263

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:07

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:07
I like that electrical number... I had a Falcon which suffered from a transmission failure, 3 big ends broke causing the block to split at the rear main, smashed the input shaft bearing and the box went crunch.
FollowupID: 440911

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:17

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:17
Or my escort with an oil pump problem. The #3 conrod broke and punched the oil pump and filter clean off the block.
FollowupID: 440914

Follow Up By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 16:45

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 16:45
Like a little ute that got towed into my workshop with a starter motor problem. Customer said it won't start. I diagnosed it as a conrod exiting the block bitting the crap out of the starter motor. Unfortunately I couldn't convince him that a new starter motor wasn't going to fix it.
FollowupID: 441192

Reply By: yakodi - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:26

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:26
havn't got a complete diagnosis fro problem yet , compression test indicates running on 2 cycliners, ? holed pistons ? rings collapsed, ??? have no idea. ? complete engine rebuild, ? top end , crank shaft? pistons? rings? Maybe a 4.2 engine replacement at what cost I have no idea. Has anyone done this to fix the 3L problem??
AnswerID: 184271

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:36

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:36
Chev it.
FollowupID: 440921

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 14:12

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 14:12
Over a cliff.
FollowupID: 440924

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 17:57

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 17:57
I got a trade-in price for my running 4.2 turbo out of my GU when I was thinking of chev'ing mine and was offered 5 -5 1/2 grand for my 200 000km old engine. Many wreckers and reco places offered similar money so you should be able to find a working 4.2 Turbo for around this money if you look. The hard part would be finding one that has been looked after as many of them may have been pushed hard and they tend to run hot when this happens. How hot the second hand one has got is anyone's guess as they still run even after a decent cooking (experience from B_I_L).
Don't know how a 4.2 would go with the 3lt box?? Not mechanically minded enough to answer this question.

Good luck, with Nissan warranty issue in the first place.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 440961

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 19:34

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 19:34
push nissan really hard to fix it and then get rid of it, if you want a 4.2, then, go buy one, a lot easier than stuffin around from one sort to another.

Pesty
FollowupID: 440986

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 20:05

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 20:05
Trev,

Same box as the 4.2. Also has 4.6 diff's so suited to bigger tyres like 35's perfectly otherwise would need to drop the ratios.

Leroy
FollowupID: 440997

Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 14:05

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 14:05
Have you owned the vehicle from new and what's been the service history, oil change frequency and type?

leroy
AnswerID: 184274

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 14:10

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 14:10
Its timely to advised that this wouldn't happen to a JEEP
AnswerID: 184275

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 15:17

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 15:17
hahahahahaha...........what about a blandcruiser droopy??? hahahaha

I wouldn't have one of those 3L buckets of puss either mate, so you'll get no argument from me!!!
FollowupID: 440936

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 15:19

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 15:19
Forgot to add...........if that 3L (or any other 3L; or any other vehicle in the whole world for that matter) had had a Fetch (intentional spelling error) fitted, no motor would EVER blow up!!!!! hahahahah ;-))))))))))))))))
FollowupID: 440937

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 18:01

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 18:01
Only if fitted with a Hiclown as well with snake oil in the sump.

Still it is sad to see another 3L Troll bite the dust. I saw another post poking fun at (another) Yota recall, but at least they are able to recognise a problem and are prepared to do something about it.

The Heritage Listed Paj is currently at 380K and still going strong (oh yeah, it is on it's second donk mind!)

Pete
FollowupID: 440962

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 18:22

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 18:22
Shoosh! Stop it Roachie.

I was only trying to be helpful by drawing attention to a historical fact.
FollowupID: 440973

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 19:47

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 19:47
Hi aunty, No it wouldnt happen to a jeep, too busy out with the shovel scooping up the oil off the road???

Roachie says he is hangin out for a 2.5 litre newy when they hit oz, thats when he is not in the closet wishin he bought a 100 series !

Pete, man after my own hi mileage heart, turned up 600,000 today, though i think it is around 608,000 as it spent 8 weeks without a speedo cable at one stage, engine rebuild at 420,000, going better than ever, my rebuild has lasted longer than these 3l buckets of puss, and its only just run in!

Cheers pesty
FollowupID: 440990

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 19:50

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 19:50
Hey Lucy..you wanna go play in the mud??
FollowupID: 440992

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 22:54

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 22:54
You been peeking at the rig pic Leigh.?????

Last time I put it in mud in full view of some forumites I forgot to put the sucker in 4WD ( Very embarassment indeed). ROFLMAO

Mate! I am booked up weekendwise until the end of the year.

Next two weekends with the ATECO Challenge, August in the Simpson and thereabouts, September recovering/repairing from the Simpson Trip, October KI & Peake/Berri (JEEP is going to get a thrash on that one) in SA.

November - Vicwinch and then Xmas with Craizie.

Try Truckster as he has some new 'stuff' he wants to test out.

Thanks for the offer though.
FollowupID: 441031

Reply By: Snowbunny - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 14:39

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 14:39
I have a friend who works at the local nissan dealer from time to time, he's worked on these models frequently and said the most common problem is a holed piston.
AnswerID: 184278

Follow Up By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 17:03

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 17:03
I have a photo on my website of one of these pistons.
Click here PATROL PISTON and then click on the picture of the piston.
This one had done 80 000 km, ex gov but not ex police. Previous service history unknown. I would presume gov lease.
Read as an eye opener.
120scruiser
FollowupID: 441205

Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 15:13

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 15:13
Sorry to hear yakodi about your Patrol. I got rid of my 2000 3l for the 4.2 and never been happier. Let us know how you get on with the claim.
AnswerID: 184286

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 15:23

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 15:23
G'day mate,

Sorry to read about you falling into the "it has happened to me too" category. It is a real shame that Nissan has not bloody-well fixed this whole debacle for once and for all...........no mucking about, just admit the motor is CHIT and replace with something better.

You have my empathy and I wish you all the best in getting through it. I think you will find the name Val Davis (and her phone number) in past posts in the archives. If you don't get any satisfaction through you local Nissan dealer, call her up at Nissan's Melbourne HQ.

AnswerID: 184289

Reply By: Cannon - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 15:24

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 15:24
Whoa, people really do have problems with these 3 litre Nissan motors. I haven't had a problem at all with mine.
Mine has done 379000km, original motor and gearbox. BUT ...............
Its an RB30 Petrol.
Still a 3 litre!
But thankfully not the diesel.
AnswerID: 184290

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 18:04

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 18:04
The RB30 petrol was one of the best motors to ever go into a motor vehicle.
FollowupID: 440963

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:15

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:15
The TB45E petrol wasn't too bad either. A 100% trustworthy donk.
FollowupID: 441120

Reply By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 15:46

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 15:46
Yakodi.

Also sorry to hear the never ending story. Been through it with a mazda product,its gut wrenching and some dealers get away with far to much!!.

Hope all works out.

Axle.
AnswerID: 184293

Reply By: Mike - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 16:16

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 16:16
I have a Nissan 3.0 litre D and had the engine replaced at 10000 km. Timing gears fell off and valves holed pistons. Thus 1 x new donk. Have done 65000 km now and require timing case seals done - will be off the road for 1 x week. This is a 2003 model and previous models, number 3 piston melting was a common occurance. Nissan fix was to increase oil capacity to 11 litres and some additional cooling at the back of the block. I would say your problem is part of earlier problems!
AnswerID: 184297

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 19:53

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 19:53
65,000 ks! get the oil leaks fixed and sell it quick !
The only reason the later ones arent giving as much trouble is that they havent done as much work. YET
Cant see how a couple extra lites of oil is going to stop no 3 piston from going into melt down?

Cheers pesty
FollowupID: 440994

Reply By: Happy GU Owner - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 17:18

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 17:18
I just put mine in for it's 80 K Services and my Nissan dealer just had a 3 Litre Di GU Patrol in for a new fuel pump as it had stopped running, untouched it had done 520,000 klms. Even they couldn't believe it !!!

Mic
AnswerID: 184308

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 19:25

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 19:25
Holy crap that one in the garage hasn't mucked around. When did they come out 01?? 5yr old truck and 500K is not bad going. (I thought I was bad!!!)
FollowupID: 440984

Follow Up By: AJB - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 20:05

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 20:05
Trevor, Not holy crap, just crap!
FollowupID: 440998

Follow Up By: AJB - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 20:07

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 20:07
520,000 k's. must be on its 3rd or 4th engine by now!
FollowupID: 440999

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 20:12

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 20:12
There's no reason why the newer 3.0l engines can't get those sort of mileages.

Leroy
FollowupID: 441000

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 20:57

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 20:57
There's no reason why the newer 3.0l engines can't get those sort of mileages!

THE million dollar question?? The difference from older to newer models??????.
FollowupID: 441006

Follow Up By: Brid from Cost Effective Maintenance - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 10:10

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 10:10
There's no reason why one of there engines wouldn't do those sort of Kms. Totally believable! They are diesels after all. Mind you, I didn't say every one will do it, but I reckon if one gets to 200,000kms without catastrophic failure, then there is no reason they should not display the sort of longevity diesels are renowned for, given good maintenance practices.

I join others to wish you the best in obtaining a good resolution with Nissan, Yakodi.

Brid
FollowupID: 441102

Follow Up By: AJB - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 19:21

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 19:21
Bugger it. I got to 195,500 and mine destroyed itself. If only it lasted for another 4500 It would have lasted forever. It wasn't run into the ground and was serviced and maintained and that is why it lasted so long. Then I was punished for the maintenance schedule as Nissan said too old and too many K's! It has been repaired and it cost me about $10,000 which isn't the end of the world but I am now bitter and twisted. Anyway Nissan made a bit of money out of me but they wont see another cent from me.
FollowupID: 441234

Follow Up By: dieselup - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 21:34

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 21:34
In December last year did 210000 km service on the GU 30l, cut the old oil filter open and it was full of bearing material so I think the 200000 theory doesnt really work Didnt even bother trying to repair it as all the prices I got were through the roof,just drove it down and traded it in on a Cruiser
FollowupID: 441264

Follow Up By: Brid from Cost Effective Maintenance - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 08:26

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 08:26
Yeah

That does sort of cruel my theory doesn't it? Interesting comment about the bearing material, Dieselup. Obviously a concern when you see that sort of thing, but not necessarily a precursor to a holed, grabbed or melted piston (if that is the normal failure result).

I remember supplying a customer a specialty engine oil (much beefier, better antiwear etc) for a 6V92 Detroit about 20 something years ago. All went well, reduced oil burning etc. Their mechanic kept a close eye on things, and noted metal flakes in the oil filter. He claimed the oil had caused bearing wear. Flakes of bearing material had been removed leaving cavities in the bearing face. It didn't look like an oil related problem (ie abrasive wear, or adhesive wear) to me.

I took the bearings to a Detroit specialist, who said that was normal for a 6V92, showed me the bearing condition photos in the manual, which described it as cavitation erosion. Apparently, something like 30% of the surface area of the bearing can be removed, and it is still normal, and doesn't cause proplems.

To me, that shouldn't happen, and there must be a design issue causing it, but the fact remains, it was not a problem in the 6V92's. There may be other engines that do this too. I had noted a few isolated specks of non-magnetic metal in the 3L GU I had as well, and that made me recall my 6V92 experience. I guess if you had a lot of bearing material in the filter, I would do exactly what you did.

Brid

FollowupID: 441314

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 22:42

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 22:42
Sorry to hear of your misfortune. It appears that as the newer series vehicles reach the over 100,000 mark, we will hear more if these reports first hand. All the same, you were unlucky as more stay OK than fail.

Can i ask you: Do you tow with it? Have you fitted a chip or any other modification? Auto or manual? Did you have additional monitoring gauges (turbo temp and boost)? Has it had regular services as the recommended intervals, using the recommended oil and Nissan filters etc? Were you pushing it when it finally failed? It appears from your posts that it was not as sudden as others have had, so i will be interested to know the final diagnosis.

Hope you'll keep us informed when you get the full diagnosis, and of your battle for some recompense from Nissan - fight for as long as it takes - of course they won't offer much first time round.

Watching ours (Jan 2002) with apprehension and kid gloves.

AnswerID: 184374

Reply By: Muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 23:54

Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 23:54
You wrote.......

"The difficulty start in the mornings was not just the glow plugs!!!

Holy snapping duckchit batman !!! mine has been doing that for a while now !!!
AnswerID: 184387

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 10:24

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 10:24
Never heard of such an issue...
AnswerID: 184433

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 19:01

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 19:01
:-) It's not funny, I would hate it if it happened to me, but you still managed to crack me up!
FollowupID: 441233

Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 10:46

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 10:46
Very dissappointing to here of another Nissan engine failure, they seem to be falling over regularly, not good for their name.
AnswerID: 184435

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:16

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:16
Better not say that... truth hurts some people
FollowupID: 441121

Reply By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:27

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 12:27
Surely there must have been a class action lodged against Nissan Australia by now. If I owned one, I'd be on every current affairs TV show, talkback radio station and newspaper in Australia.

I would also consider it and occupational health and safety issue. The governement (local state and federal) sending employees into remote areas with a vehicle that suffers known catastrophic engine failure would be grounds for action and termination of existing contracts in my view if appropraite steps were not being taken to remedy the situation. ie; RECALL!
AnswerID: 184451

Reply By: Barnesy - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 18:45

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 18:45
It must be cheaper for Nissan to put up with bad publicity and unhappy customers than to do a recall. I just can't fathom how a $60 000 car can have the engine blow so early in its life and then the owner have another huge bill for a new engine. That's pretty crap.

Maybe if it became widely known through the media, sales for Nissan may drop and they would have to start being more active in rectifying the problems. Could you imagine if somebody built houses that kept falling apart, they would go out of business.
AnswerID: 184527

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 19:07

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 19:07
Maybe it's worth all the 3lt owners that have been put through the wringer by Nissan over this matter, get to gether with a screenprinter and get a standard stick on transfer made for the rear window telling the world of this shambles. Maybe then Nissan will sit up and take notice.
I think there is probably 50 or more just from this forum. There's a great start especially if you all got together somewhere with transfers on and invited the media.

From another disgruntled Nissan owner, not about the vehicle but rather the backup service (if you can call it service), to the rest of you...good luck.
Trevor.
AnswerID: 184532

Follow Up By: AJB - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 19:28

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 19:28
Great idea. I'm working on mine rear window statement now. Not many will see it though as the best thing to come out of my Nissan destroying itself is I bought a BA ute and it is luxury compared to the GU truck. The GU , well it sits in the shed and the new engine will last forever doing that type of work.
FollowupID: 441236

Reply By: yakodi - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 08:16

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 08:16
Gday all , just to let you all know how I got on with the warranty from Nissan. They will come to the party but only 50% labour 50% parts. As they say approx 50% of servicing was done by Nissan, 50% elsewhere, Although new oil every 5000km, so will go with that, although not very impressed. The car has had too much spent on it to get rid of - bar work, dual batts, compressor, diff lockers, long rank tank, drawer system, racks, BFG MT (won in 4x4 magazine thanks guys), KONIs, DTRONIC, air bags, +++, anyway will get it fixed with new clutch kit, Having towed a Jayco camper around oz the past 2yrs, we have just traded it in on a new offroad Supreme caravan - ??don't think it will hold up the 2.5 tonnnes of caravan.
AnswerID: 184865