HELP! HAVE BIG PROBLEMS WITH TURBO DIESEL RODEO

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 19:12
ThreadID: 36010 Views:22362 Replies:8 FollowUps:8
G'day

I'm new to this forum and am in desperate need of some expert advice from you guys.
I have a 93 2.8L turbo diesel rodeo.

The Rodeo worked perfectly fine prior to parking it for a week while I got around to putting in a new clutch. It started normally, then all downhill from there. Firstly, missing on idle. Continued to misfire more as i revved the engine also sluggish until 3000rpm. It is also blowing an astronomical amount of blue/grey smoke continuously. I was able to take it for a small test drive (clutch is good). My mate messed around with the injection system and after that it would not start properly. Now when it starts, it fires on two cylinders until i crack the other 2 injectors but now there is a loud tapping noise coming from the top of the motor. Because i have very little knowledge about diesels i need to get some ideas on what might be wrong. Has any one got any clues???????My car is off the road big time!!!

Reply By: Exploder - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 19:31

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 19:31
How much oil is in it?

Bad Diesel maybe

What did your mate mess around with on the Injection side of things> he may off put the pump timing out if he played around with that.

Has the timing belt skipped a tooth, if it has a belt?

That’s about all I can think of off the top of my head.
AnswerID: 184538

Follow Up By: gympiegold - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 20:10

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 20:10
Hi Exploder,
Have recommended amount of oil. Mate reckons he only did the normal bleeding system exercise (who knows) Have only had it a few months and haven't had any luck in getting a repair manual for it. Not sure if it has a timing belt or chain. Am trying to get a few clues to see if I am able to fix it or whether it needs a diesel mechanic and big bucks. Thanks for your help
FollowupID: 441244

Reply By: BILL from Fitch Fuel Catalyst Australia Pty Ltd - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 19:33

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 19:33
gympiegold,Did you drop the back of the motor as you were doing the clutch?If you did check your induction pipe for restriction or damage.If it was operating ok before you did the clutch it is pretty obvious that you have caused the problem in doing the clutch.Or has it got a sensor around the flywheel ring gear area??
Something to think about.

Regards BILL
AnswerID: 184539

Follow Up By: gympiegold - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 20:49

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 20:49
Bill,

Did drop the back of the motor and have since checked for damage to pipe but found nothing. Don't know about the sensor but will take look at the weekend. Trust me, I'm thinkin!!!!

Lachlan

FollowupID: 441257

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 21:55

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 21:55
There now Bill, that wasn't so hard now was it ?
Using some of your knowledge as a mechanic to actually help people solve a problem WITHOUT using the problem to try and flog them your product, or even mentioning it.
If you had of done a whole lot more of this over the past 12 months or so maybe people would look at you a bit more favourably when you do mention IT.
Don't get me wrong, they'd most likely still pull the pi$$ out of your product, but at least you personally may have copped it a bit less:-))

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 441268

Reply By: warrioroz - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 19:34

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 19:34
The tapping noise coming from the top of the engine is probably due to too little fuel being injected, First off have you removed and checked your fuel filters? if you had disconnected the fuel lines you may still have air in the system open the injector lines at the injectors one at a time when running and make sure all the air in bled out, it can take a while if air is in the system.

AnswerID: 184541

Follow Up By: gympiegold - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 20:15

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 20:15
Chris,

Have done this several times so don't think it's an air problem. Thanks

Lachlan
FollowupID: 441247

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 19:50

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 19:50
Hi Gympiegold, Try our club web site www.clubisuzu.com we have 700 odd members all with Isuzu/Holdens most with 2.82TDs Iam sure some one will be able to help with your prob.
Cheers Bruce
PS but the same, exact, question up please.
AnswerID: 184546

Reply By: tex1972 - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 20:43

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 20:43
check you havent squashed a fuel line, wiring harness ,vac line or maybe exhaust or inlet hose ,injector pipes on wrong injectors, aneroid hose off on pump, rag in air cleaner housing/piping, list is endless, came across a filter housing on a rodeo that had sh?t under the reed valve in the primer pump but it would not go at all. find out what he did and post it , it will narrow it down a bit more.

Tex
AnswerID: 184559

Follow Up By: gympiegold - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 22:43

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 22:43
Tex,

You're right, the list is endless. Thanks for your input. Rossco has has just given me a clue but am still open to all suggestions until I get my 4bie running again.

Thanks Lachlan
FollowupID: 441280

Reply By: RosscoH - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 21:34

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 21:34
Hi Gympiegold,
Had a 92 model turbe diesel that did exactly the same thing, parked it one night, went to start it in the morning and you explained the problem I had. The 92 and 93 models had a recall and some slipped through without being fixed. The Holden dealer told me mine had not been through the recall, the problem is something to do with how the injector pump driving gear is held in place on the shaft, because it is a helical gear it only has to move a very small amount backwards or forwards on the shaft and it will put the pump timing out significantly. I take it you are from Gympie, if so take it to Madills, they will know what to do to fix it, I have dealt with Madills many times over the years and always found them very helpful.

Cheers Rossco.
AnswerID: 184566

Follow Up By: gympiegold - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 22:30

Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 22:30
Hi Rossco,

This is a light bulb moment. You're telling me what I want to hear. I've spent many many hours in the past week trying to figure out HOW & WHY? Your explanation makes real sense. Yes I am in Gympie and will follow up with what you have suggested and let you know the outcome.

Fingers crossed,

Thanks Lachlan

FollowupID: 441277

Reply By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 09:58

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 09:58
I started the fridge motor up on our refridgereated 45 foot trailer last night, took ages to start, blowing smoke hunting, engine knocking and then died.
I bled the fuel system and it started and ran fine.
It was bleeding down through the hand primer/transfer pump.
I would say after your mate has fiddled, it is sucking air somewhere. Remove the outlet hose from the fuel filter and hand prime it until it is a constant flow of fuel coming out. Then put the out let hose back on and hand prime it until it is rock hard. Start it. It may run rough for a minute or so until the pump bleeds the air out of the injector lines.
You only need to bleed it to the fuel pump and then the pump will bleed the lines.
Check he hasn't opened any hidden bleed screws.
I know the 60 series landcruiser has a water trap down the back on the drivers side chassis which has a bleed screw on the top and bottom. Leave one of these loose or even finger tight and boy do you have troubles.
Also we have had plenty of hand primers sucking air that we have had to replace in our workshop.
The way we quickly check them is to bypass the filter/hand primer with the hoses and then put compressed air gently into the tank to bleed the lines. Start it and run it. If it runs good after that you know the handprimer is the problem.
Hope this helps and food for thought
120scuiser
AnswerID: 184626

Follow Up By: gympiegold - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 21:56

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 21:56
Thanks, all suggestions much appreciated

Cheers Lachlan
FollowupID: 441451

Reply By: luch - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 19:05

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 19:05
Sounds like a sticking injector i have experienced this on my 80 series

Misfires runs rough blows heaps of smoke LOUD knocking noise in the motor it makes sense too because you hav had it sitting the injector (1 or 2 have become stuck open )
AnswerID: 184704

Follow Up By: gympiegold - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 21:41

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 21:41
Thanks for the information. Tomorrow, hopefully, I'll be able to fix the problem with my rodeo. I've definitely got a lot more clues now than I did 24 hours ago. Hey, if it doesn't happen I'll be back online quicksmart picking everyone's brains again.
FollowupID: 441449