GU Patrol 5th Gear

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 22:22
ThreadID: 36018 Views:5261 Replies:7 FollowUps:18

I own a 2001 Model GU patrol with a 4.2 TDII recently clocking up 110,000 kms.
I have heard and read over the years about a problem with 5th gear on this model. I belive the issue is that the internal splines on the 5th gear wear away causing loss of drive in this gear.
On a recent trip i noticed a very minor virbation occur only when driving in 5th gear at low speed. The vibration is more noticable when the gear box oil is not up to operating temperature. Based on this i am thinking that my patrol is about to suffer the same predicament as many others.
Can any one who may have suffered a 5th gear failure with this model Patrol describe any symtoms pre failure.
Can anyone advise Nissan,s response to this issue outside of new car warranty.
Do they come to the party with picking up some of the cost as this is a definate fault with design / manufacture.

Bretto

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 00:01

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 00:01
Hi Brett,
What do you call "low speed" as GU's have tendancy to 'torque vibrate' slightly if trying to pull away at too low revs in the higher gears.
Also am pretty sure it was only the 99 and early 2000 models that had the 5th gear problems.

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 184593

Follow Up By: GUPatrol - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 10:38

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 10:38
It was years 2000 to 2001.
Your best bet is to ring Nissan Customer serivice and quote your VIN number, they will tell you for sure if your vehicle was affected and will do it at no cost even if its out of warranty (if it is within the affected range)
FollowupID: 441337

Follow Up By: Bretto - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 19:52

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 19:52
Thanks Pezza

70km per hour with light load. This vibration is new, i noticed it the next morning after a long trip towing a light camper trailer.
I am concerned that Nissan wont assist because i do my own servicing. Last GB oil change the mag plug and oil colour were fine.

Ill speak to Nissan and see what happens

Regards Bretto
FollowupID: 441432

Reply By: joc45 - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 00:24

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 00:24
Hi Bretto,
The splines were made too short, I am told. At first it was thought that it was the 2000 series II models with the 3.0 litre, but mine was a 1999/2000 series-I with a 4.2, and the 5th gear failed. No warning, no vibration, just let go at about 100km/h. Had done about 120,000, no towing. I believe that a check of the gearbox oil will show evidence of fine metal bits if it's going to fail. Nissan came to the party with mine as I had an extended warranty. Dunno why they shortened the splines, as the earlier and later gearboxes were unbreakable.
Requires a new main shaft and 5th gear, plus a few minor extras, plus labour. Expensive if you have to pay for it.
Gerry
AnswerID: 184595

Follow Up By: Member - BBB - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 05:57

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 05:57
Gerry

When this 5th gear goes can you still use 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th gears to get you home ?

BBB
FollowupID: 441302

Follow Up By: joc45 - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 12:27

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 12:27
Hi BBB,
Yes, the box seems to work fine in the other gears. Mine failed half way across the Nullarbor. Nissan told me to drive it to Norseman in 4th, then subsequently on to Perth, doing about 1000km on the stuffed box. Didn't seem to do it any harm, tho the thought of those metal filings floating around the gears didn't appeal. Guess the drain plug magnet helps. I saw the gearbox disassembled and some of the bearings in the box are actually sealed, rather like rear wheel bearings, so they were unaffected. The gears (apart from 5th) looked fine and undamaged, the main shaft and 5th was replaced. Have done about 30,000 since the rebuild with no noises.
Gerry
FollowupID: 441353

Follow Up By: Member - BBB - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 17:12

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 17:12
Gerry

Thanks for that I am not as conserned know

BBB
FollowupID: 441390

Follow Up By: Bretto - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 19:56

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 19:56
Thanks BBB

I would if possible like to try and catch this before failure.
If left too long the metal from the failing parts shorten the life of the rest of the gearbox..

I have planned a gear box oil change, mag plug inspection.

Bretto
FollowupID: 441433

Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 02:04

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 02:04
G'day Bretto,
Mine is a May '99 build (Regd. June '99), and it too suffered the 5th gear failure... (happened in Nov. 2004)..
As above, no warning, no vibration, simply let go at 100 km/h... (Oh Bugga!!!)..
I was towing at the time, vehicle had done about 75000km..

Initially the dealer was like, "Oh, never heard of that happening before, have you been towing in 5th??", but as soon as I let them know that I knew full well that they knew all about the problem, they were onto it very quickly...
I had the vehicle back within a week, no charge, You Bewdy!!!..

Unfortunately, the bubble burst about a week later, when the dealer rung me to say that Nissan Aust. had rejected the warranty claim and that I had to pay!! (Bugga!!!)..
I made a bit of noise about it, and did ring Nissan's customer service dept., but they didn't want to know!!! (Bugga!!!).. Said the vehicle was "too old"... (Bugga!!!)...

The long and the short of it (as explained to me by the dealer service dept.) is that Nissan were covering this 5th gear failure up to 5 years or 200000km (whichever comes first)...
After that you're on your own.... Unfortunately, mine was past the 5 year cut-off when the failure occurred, so "Stiff Cheddar, old son"... (Bugga!!!).....

I guess I was (sorta) lucky in one way though, in that the dealer assured me that what they were charging me was "warranty rates" (exactly what Nissan Aust. were paying them for accepted claims), which is apparently substantially less that what they would otherwise charge (??).... I paid a little over $900.00.... (Bugga!!!)...

Here's hoping that yours isn't one of the affected ones, but if it is, and it's past the 5 year cut-off date, then I'm not likin' your chances of Nissan "coming to the party" (based on my own experience)... Good Luck with it!!....

Regards, Ed. C.

PS I believe that you can find out if yours "might" have this problem by 'phoning Nissan Aust., & quoting the VIN... Apparently they know from the VIN's which vehicles have the dodgy gearset... Hope this helps..

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 184599

Follow Up By: hl - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 06:53

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 06:53

One way to tell is to look at the colour of the oil. It goes dark brown and also has a bit of a burned smell. It will do that long before it totally fails.
Mine is a Feb 2001 build and Nissan replaced the whole box after the dealer stripped the box and decided it needed about $3000,00 worth of bits to fix.
The sympton I had was that it was sticking a bit in 5th after driving in it for a while. You had to give it a bit of a tug, whereas normally it just slide easily out of it.
I believe the box was not modified until 2002.
I did have the extended warranty on the vehicle. The box was replaced last year, it had only done 50,000km with little towing.

FollowupID: 441303

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 08:22

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 08:22
Ed. That charging doesn't sound too bad in comparison to a Rangie box I had to have repaired at about 80,000 kms when that cost something like $3,500 back in the 1990s. It was just input shaft bearing replacement and I think they also replaced one of the gears as well.
FollowupID: 441313

Follow Up By: GUPatrol - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 10:42

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 10:42
Ed c

I didn't know they had a cut off period, a friend of mine had it done recently and his was 2000...
Mine is June 99 (never had the problem) but I rung Nissan and quoted the VIN and I got a letter to confirm it was NOT affected).
FollowupID: 441338

Follow Up By: Bretto - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 19:58

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 19:58
Ed C

Thanks for the feedback.
I am concerned that Nissan wont assist because i do my own servicing. Last GB oil change the mag plug and oil colour were fine.
Ill give Nissan a call and try my luck

Bretto
FollowupID: 441434

Follow Up By: hl - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 21:58

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 21:58

I would NOT worry about that. The important part is that you keep records. I also do my own servicing and my truck has never been serviced by a Nissan dealer except for the first service. Having said that, the first "service" on the gearbox is the oil change, and that is at 100,000km.............
So.. there could not be a lot of argument that it hasn't been serviced correctly.

FollowupID: 441452

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 08:38

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 08:38
I had a Gearbox problem with my GU, not long out of warranty and nissan didn't come to the party (wasn't 5th gear, was hard facing on a shaft which acts as the inner race for a bearing). My mechanic gave a pretty good deal on the repairs (Just over 2k from memory). He insisted, and I agreed 100% to basically replace all bearings and cogs, as the bits of hardfacing that came off had been in there for a while and there was some evidence of premature wear on the hardfaces of the cogs etc. It wasn't major damage, but while the 'box was in bits we decided it was best to replace the lot. I think the 5th gear failures should be treated in a similar fashion (especially when Nissan are paying) to replace the lot. The magnetic plug won't pick up all the bits off the failed 5th gear.

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 184607

Follow Up By: Bretto - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 20:07

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 20:07
Thanks Andrew

Ill try my luck with Nissan.

FollowupID: 441436

Reply By: Brid from Cost Effective Maintenance - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 08:42

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 08:42
I caught mine early when I changed the oil at 50,000km, so was straight forward warranty. The wear metals in the oil said it all.

On reflection, the only symptom I had was that if driving in 5th for some time, it required more of a little tug to get it back to neutral, not something that was really obvious, but probably would get more noticeable with time.

The repairs involved replacing parts, including 5th gear with a different part number/design. The information given me is that the original gear did not allow enough lubrication to the spline.

My opinion is that it is not related to towing in 5th, and I continued towing in 5th until sold at 190,000km, with the oil staying clean and bright and free of wear metals on the plug right up to that point. I wouldn't say towing in 5th is OK for all 4x4s, but no problem for that box, at least with moderate loads.

Brid
AnswerID: 184608

Follow Up By: Bretto - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 20:05

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 20:05
Hi Brid

Sounds like you have a bit of a clue with condition monitoring.
I have been looking out for this problem to appear and been paying attention to oil, Mag plug etc. This vibration i have appears to be a sign however noone has experienced this pre failure.

I will ring Nissan and find out if my Patrol is in the effected VIN range.
If so i will ask them for support, if they dont want to assist, ill just go ahead and change it pre failure.
Good to hear that the problem dosent reoccur.

Thanks for the feedback.

Bretto
FollowupID: 441435

Reply By: guppo - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 09:08

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 09:08
I've just gone thru the 5th gear saga, mine is a 2000 4.2td and I fixed it before it failed totally. It had really bad vibration for 90-110 km's. I was lucky enough that my father is a mechanic and he pulled the gearbox down and found that the spine for 5th gear was worn. So I got the parts (about $380 trade price) and dad fixed it. Although my car is well and truly out of its warranty period I sent a letter to Nissan and to my suprise I received a $500 chq yesterday from them. You will also notice that your gearbox oil will have an orange color to it if the gear is on its way out.
AnswerID: 184617

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 11:01

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 11:01
So have you shouted your old man a case out of your profits... nice effort.

I have been thinking of doing similar, even though mine shows no sign of wear and tear but I don't want it to stuff up when I'm in the middle of nowhere and it end up costing accomodation as well as more labour and parts. Mine is 04/2000 so is dead smack in the middle of all these failures. With 270K on mine I have buckleys of getting anything from Nissan but mine has only lasted this long cause I don't use it, only rarely when truck is empty (not often) that it gets put into 5th.

I am presuming it would be cheaper to do prior to the spline shaft saying goodbye to it's teeth rather than after?? any comments regarding the difference it could end up costing me if I leave it until it breaks would be welcomed if you (or anyone else) have any idea.

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 441341

Follow Up By: guppo - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 11:14

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 11:14
Yeah I owe him big time, I looked at the gearbox when it was apart and 5th gear is well away from the rest of the gears and syncros so couldnt see too much damage happening elswhere if it did let go. Same thing happened to a mate and I ,when it did let go( I was in the car) it sounded like ball bearings in the g/box. We drove another 1000km to Alice Springs in 4th and the dealer replaced the shaft, gear, 2 seals & oil only. (it was still under warranty)No damage to any other parts.

P S -I did notice in the letter from Nissan that they stated that their payment was a gesture of goodwill.
FollowupID: 441343

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 11:30

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 11:30
Guppo,

Are youable to email me the guts of the letter you sent to Nissan (not needing your address ect I'm not prying, just trying to gauge how I could communicate with Nissan).

dieseldrifter at bigpond dot com

I have wanted to write to them for a while but never knew how to approach it as I have such high k's. IMO it should have been replaced long ago without me having to pay a cent but I was out of km warranty at 18mths after I bought it :-(((

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 441347

Follow Up By: guppo - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 11:39

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 11:39
yeah no worries, I'm at work at the moment & letter is at home, I'll get it at lunchtime & Email to you, Whats your email address?
FollowupID: 441348

Follow Up By: guppo - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 11:55

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 11:55
Sorry just saw your email address will send to you a bit later
FollowupID: 441351

Reply By: ACDC - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 19:32

Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 19:32
As already mentioned check your gearbox oil color if its a browny color your splines are chewing themselves to bits the brown color comes from the rust between the gear and shaft.
AnswerID: 184710