Chain saws?

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 13:39
ThreadID: 36062 Views:4797 Replies:15 FollowUps:22
I'm about to buy my son a chainsaw as a present (hopefully it will stop him stuffing up the chain and bar on my Stihl, again! :) and it's going to be something like a McCullock of a Tallon (he'll only use it for camping).

Any comments on which has better access to spares or any other similar priced saws which people think may be worth a look? Best price I’ve seen on the above so far is
BigW with a 38cc Talon for $194 (which is only a bit more than it cost me to repair the Stihl).

mike_harding@fastmail.fm

Reply By: On Patrol - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 13:52

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 13:52
Its up to you which one, but MHO is for the Mac, if only because it is backed up reasonably well through a dealer network and I dont know what if any the Tallon has.

There is no tool in the world today more dangerous than a chain saw, so its comforting to know that you can get parts for one and not have to "make do" to repair it.

I sold Sachs Dolmar saws for many years and as such were also agents for Mac, which are now handled by Masport i think, and Mac has been in the saw industry since it started. They are domestic saws I know but they still do understand what is required of a saw.

On Patrol
AnswerID: 184790

Reply By: TassieDave - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 14:15

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 14:15
I've got a mate who's got one, looks like a toy, but goes hard. He keeps it on his boat, starts straight away, seems to go as well as my stihl. Only get used every month or so for fire wood while camping on shore.
AnswerID: 184791

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 16:21

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 16:21
when we go camping theres 2-3 of the tallons with us.
all get a flogging and all perform real well.
2yr waranty as well.
wait till bigw have a 15%of everything sale.
AnswerID: 184798

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 16:28

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 16:28
My wife used to work for Talon. Their warranty process is, by all counts, pretty good.

The McCulloch is made in the same factory as the Talon, and both companies are owned by a common parent company. There is no difference in their quality apart from branding and market direction.
AnswerID: 184799

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 16:36

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 16:36
I was told that the company bought the old McCulloch moulds and presses, so they come out of China. Have no objection to that, we need to trade with them and they buy our goods too.

Funny though people talk against some of the Asian made winches........ I have one of those. The tree across the track may be just what stops you. I am using the same argument.
FollowupID: 441516

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 17:43

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 17:43
Yes John - that's correct. Now both brands come out of the one factory.
FollowupID: 441528

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 17:11

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 17:11
Mike,

I have had a few chainsaws over the years and have gone back to Stihl.

Most of the cockies around here swear by them,.,not at them.......

Why don't you get a new small one for yourself and give him your old one?

About 9 months or so ago I bought one of the smaller Stihls with the recoil starter and easy adjust chain. One of the best buys I have made.

So far this winter have cut about 40 odd tonne of firewood and it has not missed a beat........(bluddy thing probably wont start next weekend now!!)

Anyway just a thought

Michael
AnswerID: 184805

Reply By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 17:27

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 17:27
Mike.

Up here on the central coast, with tree lopping contractors, two names are mentioned

STIHL..........HUSKVANA. (spelling)

AnswerID: 184808

Reply By: Crackles - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 17:34

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 17:34
Mike several local chainsaw repairers I've spoken to normally want nothing to do with them as they said parts are hard to source & even a quality bar & chain replacement would be almost half the price of the entire saw.
Here's a list of repairers for the Talon saws, 117 accross Victoria so you should be able to get some sort of service with them. That said spend the extra $$ & buy a real saw. Your son would no doubt be worth the extra safety features.
Cheers Craig.........
AnswerID: 184809

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 17:35

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 17:35
Make of this what you will...

Last time BigW had these 38cc Talons on special ($164.00 from memory), I thought "Can't go wrong at that price", so went to Bunnings to see if I could get one on their "beat it by 10%" policy... Alas, they were a step ahead & had 'em marked down to $163.00...
So I bought one, took it home, and my first thought when I took it out of the box was "oh well, can't expect much for that price, I suppose"..........
Anyway, I assembled it, fuel & oil in the tanks, & went to start it...
2nd pull, the engine "coughed", then on the next pull the spline (if you can call it that!!) in the flywheel/starter pulley stripped bare... Pulley simply spun on the shaft.. (Bugga!!!)....
Took the cover off for a closer look, & it's cheap pot-metal CR@P!!!...

I promptly took the saw back to Bunnings for a refund, and will never look at a Talon product again... ever!... This may have been a one-off, but then again............

FWIW, I've been working with chainsaws (on & off) since my late teens (& currently own 3 Stihls), so I have a pretty good idea what constitutes a decent chainsaw.. The Talon does not fit into that category IMO.. (YMMV).....

I have owned a couple of McCullochs, & was not dis-satisfied with these, & sold each of 'em for more than I paid!! (adding to the satisfaction;-)))...
I think these are now made in Italy (by Electrolux), so IMO would be a far better bet...

Like I said, Make of it what you will......

Regards, Ed. C.

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 184810

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 17:41

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 17:41
The McCullochs and Talons are made in the same factory under the same parent company.

FollowupID: 441527

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 17:47

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 17:47
I forgot to add that once Talon Australia started hearing about quality issues, it complained to the parent company back in Shanghai to the point where there was a complete turnaround in the quality stakes. Apparently Australians complain about quality of cheaply-made product more than anyone except the Americans - so they listened.

The next range to come from Talon is actually meant to be of commercial grade. Should be far better than what went out a while back.
FollowupID: 441530

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 17:54

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 17:54
A long time ago I was given a piece of advice:

Always buy the best tool for the job even if you have to save up for it. (This was pre credit cards) You'll have less less pain from the injuries not inflicted.

He was talking about sockets, spanners, drills etc, so I guess that goes doulble and tripe for chain saws.

BTW I use a Husqvarna 55 which all the fencing cotractors seem to use around here. (they cut iron bark posts all day long)
AnswerID: 184811

Follow Up By: itsdave - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 19:28

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 19:28
I fully agree, always go for quality as I have learned from past experience. Have tried cheaper brands in the past on various tools and have ended up returning them for a credit and then replaced them with a better quality product. now I think bugger the cost get something of quality that will last. Last one was a 142 Husky chainsaw (about $450) but well worth the $$.

I guess it comes down to indivitual butgets but if you can afford it pay the extra as I personally think your better off in the long run.

Cheers Dave
FollowupID: 441546

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 19:37

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 19:37
Bugger this spelling caper
Double and triple is what I meant to say.

Some of you may have wondered what the lining of a cow's stomach had to with it
FollowupID: 441548

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 20:15

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 20:15
Mate!! you spelt the best saw out there! better than i did , HUSQVARNA.
FollowupID: 441553

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 20:28

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 20:28
Yep, I have an inexpensive Huski for Moses tool box but Jonsereds is the farm one. Out of the same factory there too for those two...........
FollowupID: 441556

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 19:17

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 19:17
I recently brought a 36cc 16" Poulan Pro as a first saw from the local mower shop. It had a real good workout during the past week in the bush cutting the wood for our huge warmth fires. It performed perfectly and was a delight to use for my unexperienced self.
AnswerID: 184817

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 23:22

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 23:22
bluddy thing still scares the crap out of me though, that whizzing chain has got to be bloody dangerous.
FollowupID: 441573

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 14:59

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 14:59
Makes bush life _so_ much easier I reckon Mad Dog - but I do agree with you about the dangers of them and it's something one has to _constantly_ be reminded of. As I always tell my sons; "You're never going to have a minor accident with a chainsaw!".

FollowupID: 441615

Follow Up By: Squizzy - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 12:32

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 12:32
Mike wrote - You're never going to have a minor accident with a chainsaw!".

Agreed, I spent a full afternoon on the table at the Laura Hospital several years ago.

I had been cutting 'box gum' all morning and as usual, you become tired and complacent. I put the chain across the top of my knee resulting in a beautiful cut.

Luckily the chain was on it's last lap of the bar after letting go of the throttle.
Still, it left a big scar around 125mm long.
FollowupID: 441717

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 13:40

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 13:40
My chainsaw instructor last week kicked my arse every time I forgot to immediately
apply the brake on after a cut, by the end of the week it was becoming second nature so I hope it stays with me.

Yes nice it's to have the logs Mike but now I need to carry a splitter as well.
FollowupID: 441968

Reply By: Member JD- Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 20:06

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 20:06
Hi Mike,
$194 for a 38cc saw is cheap..but how long will it last?.If it was me I would give my old stihl to my son and buy a new one for myself..as one of the other blokes suggested..I have 8 saws myself 6 stihls and 2 husqvarners,in my opion the stihls just a little better than the huskies....the word amongst the tree felling comunitie is stihls in the trees and huskys on the ground.As allways it comes down to what you can afford,now that Ive said that,I think $194 for a 38cc saw is cheap and I would lean towards the Talon at that price when it brakes buy another one.
I hope the only limbs he cuts are wood!
JD
AnswerID: 184819

Reply By: Jimbo - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 21:27

Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 21:27
Fair Dinkhum, let's get back to the original question. It was about a chainsaw for a bit of camping, not to cut down enough timber to rebuild the bridge over the River Kwai.

I've had a 35 cc (now 38 cc) Talon for nearly two years. It set me back the princely sum of $160. It has done around 20 camping trips and we are always warm around a fine campfire. It's also done a fair bit of work at home.

All I have ever done is fuel it, keep the chain bar oil filled and sharpened the chain (with one of those little red 12 volt carborundum sharpeners). I haven't even had to change the spark plug.

If it dies tomorrow, and there is no sign of it expiring, I've done well. By my calculations, it has cost us about $3 per night to have a roaring fire. That's cheap, considering firewood is $20 a bag. It has also saved my back. Swinging an axe or fighting a bow saw is just too hard.

I reckon it has got plenty of life left in it. It suits the purposes your Son needs. No question.

Why spend over the odds for a tool that is designed to to a job that far exceeds your needs?

AnswerID: 184839

Follow Up By: Old Nick - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 04:35

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 04:35
In other words Jimbo, "why buy a B-double semi to cart abag of spuds when a HiLux ute will do the same job"!! Regards Nick.
FollowupID: 441581

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 09:22

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 09:22
Yes but would you buy a Hilux with plastic wheel nuts?
FollowupID: 441584

Follow Up By: Time - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 11:24

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 11:24
Jimbo I'm with you. I've had a 35 cc Talon for about 3 years and use it only on camping trips and to clear fallen trees on the track. Works fine, has never been a problem, and is easy to start if you follow the instructions. For occasional use I'd recommend one to my mates.
FollowupID: 441600

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 10:56

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 10:56
Yeah. I can see both sides here... I'm a firm believer in buying quality as I've been burned with cheap before. But on the other hand, some of the cheap stuff I've got is brilliant!

Eg.

1. Cheap air compressors in the car, bloody usless IMHO, been through a heap before I went and got a blue tounge and never looked back.

2. Cheap blower vac. I bought a Pope cheapy 2 stroke from BigW for $150 bucks! It's awsome! Starts easy, blows the crap out of anything (specially when you arch the revs up a little) ;-)

I guess it comes down to the intended use. I don't walk around the CBD all day long with my blower vac cleaning the walk paths, I fire it up for half and hour or so every fortnight. The bluetounge however works bloody hard in extreme tempertures for long periods of time and get's used almost every day.

Maybe the Talon is going to be fine for camping. I've considered one myself, I just don't know where the hell I'm going to put it in an already overful vehicle!
FollowupID: 441709

Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 15:01

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 15:01
Thank you people; as usual, an excellent and informative set of replies.

AnswerID: 184899

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 17:43

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 17:43
Bought the McCullock (14" bar and 38cc) saw from Bunnings today at $200 - will let you know how it's going in a few months - seemed to be more spares available for the McCullock than the Tallon?

FollowupID: 441799

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 14:27

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 14:27
Site Link
FollowupID: 441976

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 14:55

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 14:55
"That's not a chainsaw - THIS is a chainsaw!" :)
FollowupID: 441981

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 15:23

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 15:23
FollowupID: 441991

Reply By: Spike me - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 18:04

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 18:04
Buy him a chain saw course at a TAFE or college. Get him trained in correct usage. Then buy him some Chaps, steel boots, a good helmet and earmuffs. then get him the chainsaw. He will own his body parts for a lot longer.
AnswerID: 185064

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 20:40

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 20:40
One might also offer the same advice for a sharp kitchen knife, a log splitter or a four wheel drive. There are significant dangers with almost all tools.

Some common sense must prevail. A sensibly used chainsaw will do a whole lot less damage than a 1973 datsun 120Y with a fool at the wheel.

I'd rather see my kids use a chainsaw than ride a motorcycle. Just another perspective.
FollowupID: 441853

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 14:28

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 14:28
>> I'd rather see my kids use a chainsaw than ride a motorcycle. Just another perspective

drugs are bad....... Mmmmmmmmm kay..
FollowupID: 441977

Reply By: G.T. - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 12:06

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 12:06
Regardless of what brand of saw you choose there is a golden rule to be observed --- NEVER lend your saw or your wife/girlfriend etc etc as you willl find that they will both come back in the same condition ie -- worn out! Regards G.T.
AnswerID: 185211