F series ford trucks.
Submitted: Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 20:28
Member - Axle
To settle a difference in a opinion, could some kind ford guru tell me what year they stopped selling the F series in oz? and when did they recommence?
Thanks Axle.
Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 20:47
Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 20:47
Axle,
From what I know they stopped importing the F250 7.3 in January this year due to the emission rules around diesel engine. This is the information I have. A friend of
mine bought one in January, he was getting one from one of the last container loads from Mexico. You can still get the petrol model as far as I know. When my friend bought his he tried for a discount, no chance if he he didn't want his the dealer had three more buyers lined up. He only got the one he got because someone didn't like the silver and wanted a white one which the dealer luckily had.
Others may know differently
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 20:57
Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 20:57
Thanks mate did not realise that! with the later models, the early ones are the issue with my arguement, thought it was 86 they stopped production.
Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 21:28
Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 21:28
Ford are still showing the diesel as available on their home web site.
If it was no longer available I thought it would have been deleted quick smart.
" target="EOF" class="lbg">Site Link
Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 22:00
Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 22:00
There is the odd one still available all plated 05 though
Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 11:51
Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 11:51
It’s because the 7.3 Litre has been discontinued a wile ago in the U.S i believe, There was a new engine used in the U.S but we never got it hear in the F250 imports we just stuck with the 7.3, and that’s a good thing cause apparently it was a heap of crap and had many problems.
I think the Brand new engine for the F250 range is a 6.0 litre Diesel and will becoming to Aus soon
Reply By: Sarg - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 21:39
Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 21:39
I've got a '91 F150. Wasn't any sold thru the Ford dealerships much after that. Imported/converted ones were available in limited numbers at a price, untill the release of the F250 series a couple of years ago
Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 22:06
Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 22:06
This all happend at the time the corporate thinking (now there is a contradiction in terms) was that Oz wanted cheap 4cyl Jap utes, Ford had bought into Mazda and hey presto we got the Courier.
Much later about 2000 Ford saw the level of
grey imports of US F series and figured here is a buck to be made. So we got the Brazilian F250/350. Martyn is correct about emissions stopping current imports.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 22:28
Saturday, Jul 22, 2006 at 22:28
Was this when fuel prices where on the upwood trend And i think ford discontinued the v8 in the falcon? MAN! what a merry go round!!
Reply By: mechpete - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 23:07
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 23:07
Hi Axle,
when we wre running a fleet of F/Trucks as ambulances we were told by ford to order enough cab chassis to get us through the next 18mths as they were going to drop them in Oz ,hense the GMC
ambulance was born in Victoria.
the last of the F/Trucks were 92 plated they had the 5.8l EFI windsor ,thats why we have a world wide shortage of crude oil !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
cheers mechpete.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 18:50
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 18:50
Mechpete.
You may not read this , but thank you very much for the info, you have answered my question perfectley. My brother inlaw bought one of THEM!! ex ambo 5.8 efi, He said it was a 92 model, I didn't believe him, so wrong again!!. Your also right about the fuel thing, WHAT! a shocker!!