GU 2002 engine failure resolution

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 08:24
ThreadID: 36077 Views:3932 Replies:11 FollowUps:8
Well Nissan have come to the party and will cover 50% labour 50% parts - as approx 50% serviced by Nissan dealerships & 50% elsewhere, Not very impressed so will probably be up for $3000 to fix, new pistons, ?crankshaft, rings, check the head, new filters, oils, hoses, labour, After 130000km - needs new clutch as well so they can do that. Other than that to answer some questions yes the car has a good service history every 5000km new oil, but has a history of returns under warranty when we did have a warranty! The car has had too much spent on it to get rid of it accessory wise- unless we strip it and sell the accessories or put them on a replacement patrol??? After towing a Jayco swan 1200 kg around oz for the past 18mths we have just traded up to a Supreme caravan 2.5 t - see how it holds up. Anyways cheers Paul.

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 08:28

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 08:28
Not trying to be smart, but I reckon you'll find the three grand you're up for would cover Nissan's cost price on the parts. So in actual fact it won't be costing Nissan a thing, except their reputation.

On the Supreme, what do you think of it so far, I also have a 16ft one. Bloody heavy is about the only downside I can see with mine.

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 184866

Reply By: yakodi - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 08:48

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 08:48
Absolutely Nissans repuation - but what esle do you buy - Troopy probably, but for the money 4.2 TD patrol - has much more to offer - family wise anyway and offroadability. Anyone selling a 4.2 td patrol 2002 - 2004 in Vic ?? The Supreme - Territory fitout and finish was beyond our expectations - but we only have a jayco to compare. We ordered in WA and picked it up in Melbourne - saving about $5000+ on stamp duty and delivery. Its 18.5 ft interrnally, 20ft externally about 2500kg gross, but a custom heavy duty van with everything we want for 50k is pretty hard to beat. heading up east coast this year to find a home.
AnswerID: 184867

Follow Up By: JR - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 17:44

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 17:44
I am selling a 2003 TD 4.2 intercooled ~ $30k, ST, 200K km
In NSW
JR
FollowupID: 441635

Reply By: Kenell - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 09:54

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 09:54
Yakodi,

I have the same car (3.0l I assume). I have recently had the experience of a faulty cyl head. Happened 3 months out of warranty and 101ks. Theyhad it tested and found it to be a faulty casting. After being rejected outright and then negotiating a "they pay parts, I pay labour" deal. They tried to hit me with the cost of the engineers report. I agreed (after 8 weeks of hassles) but told them I would have the report and the old head since I was paying. That had a significant effect. All stops were pulled out, they paid for the engineers report and kept the head. They also offered to charge me at warranty labour rates. Ended up costing me $1650 plus oils and coolant. Wouldn't wish the experience on a Collingwood supporter. They are not easy to deal with. I contacted their customer relations people rather than relying on the dealer. It helped but boy what a battle. I too have considered all of the options and 4.2l Patrol was high on my list. They are like rocking horse poo to find secondhand and there is the overheating reputation to deal with. Particularly with what you have to tug behind. The new motor is due out soon I believe - might be worth the wait. I begrudge buying from them tho.

Hope it all works out for you.
AnswerID: 184871

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 17:43

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 17:43
To all future readers...

Might have been be worth doing a swap with them...customer pays for parts at Nissans cost price, and they pay for labour. That way the customer can see what has gone in and at what price. "Labour" is such a dodgy thing to quantify on things like common warranty claims, as the quoted time to repair is usually a lot more than the actual time it takes, due to the repitition and familiarization of the repair process.
FollowupID: 441634

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 19:46

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 19:46
Kennell,

I feel a bit guilty about being one of the blokes who has prolonged the apparent "4.2TD Patrols overheating" stories.

The truth is that the 4.2TD GU runs 'warm'. I've done a lot of work on mine, just so I know what every nook and cranny is doing. The fact of it is that (AFAIK) nobody has every actually "over-heated" a 4.2TD GU. Of course, I don't profess to know every owner of one of these vehicles......but there has NEVER been a report on this forum (or any other forum AFAIK) about a 4.2 over heating. They run 'warm', and some experts will tell you that a diesel functions better if it is running warm.

I've had mine running @ 118oC in the top radiator hose for several hours (last New Years Eve), doing around 100k/h with the air con on (note: I've disconnected the shut-off switch in the bottom radiator tank) all with no ill effect.

So, don't get too hung up about the 4.2 "overheating"......it doesn't really happen in my experience.

FollowupID: 443144

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 13:31

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 13:31
Quick note relating to the above 2 replies - 4.2TD Patrol ST on ebay now for just over 20k. Done a few k's though I think.

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 184890

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 14:21

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 14:21
You would have to be one nervous 3.0 litre owner for the rest of your life everytime you turned the key.

You need to ask the question.......... Will it go bang today?

Get rid of it before it strands you somewhere remote and costs a lot more than the rebuild to get it home.

Interesting turn around by Nissan asking you to cough up anything at all to fix it, contrary to most posts on here about Nissan doing the whole deal.

AnswerID: 184892

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 14:59

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 14:59
How sad , and to think Nissan will think of this as a win for the customer...........
never mind mate next time you spend your dollars you know where not to go,
AnswerID: 184898

Reply By: Off-track - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 15:04

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 15:04
Hmm, that well may be the trick to force their hand - just ask for the broken and replaced bits. This may well scare them because someone will have rock solid proof that Nissan have a dodgy product. At the momen t they squirrel the busted bits away to try and hide the fact.
AnswerID: 184900

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 22:12

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 22:12
>>> so will probably be up for $3000 to fix

Last time I heard of one of these rebuilt as in blown up rebuild was over $13,000... you wanna get a price before you start ...
AnswerID: 184949

Reply By: Emo - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 22:53

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 22:53
I reckon that you'll get very little for $3000.
AnswerID: 184956

Reply By: Grizzle - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 10:26

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 10:26
i have a Nissan Patrol and have just bought another one from the same dealer. I normally do heaps of research if I have a problem with the car. I then go in and say "You know the issue you have with (whatever it may be), I've got that on mine and I need it fixed". They always then acknowledge that "we have had a couple like that" and fix it. If you go in and say " I have a problem what do you think" they will never admit to it.

It always works for me and forums like this are the easiest places to get info. You normally can get enough info in an hour or so to confront them. It's worth the effort so you're not asking them if it is a common problem. I have also had a couple of Landcruisers (hated them by the way) and did the same thing there.

Good luck.

AnswerID: 184991

Reply By: Frank@Nissan - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 12:24

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 12:24
Had two Nissan trucks an 1991 patrol travelled around OZ approx 33,000kl
in three and a half months.
Could not break it, and it was spared no mercy, on that I purchased a new 2004 3.0Lt turbo STS Patrol.
I have only clocked up 25,000 kl to date, both my partner and I love it @ genuine 11lt/100kl and the sure footed off road handling its hard to beat for the $$$$$$$
Yes there has been some early engine problems and that is to be expected to some degree with new product.
The truck drives like a petrol job and some people flog them to there max, switch it off, get out and walk away.** Hey fit a turbo timer,keep up good maintenance and enjoy economical 4x4 driving.
AnswerID: 186060

Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:29

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 17:29
We'll see if your still so positive at 200,000 kms Frank, if not before ;-)
Regards Andrew.
FollowupID: 443084

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:10

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:10
>>and that is to be expected to some degree with new product

that engine has been round for years overseas.. its anything but new.

we need t-shirts made up andrew :D
FollowupID: 443099

Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:25

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:25
Yep, ZD 30 =

FollowupID: 443108

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 19:49

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 19:49
Only difference is that the pin is not in situ and the handle is in the hands of the gods!!!!
FollowupID: 443145

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 16:17

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 16:17
heres a starter!
FollowupID: 443588