Jeep Cherokee Ltd 3.0 liter diesel (Auto)

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 15:17
ThreadID: 36087 Views:3347 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
We're thinking about replacing our one owner, trusty but 14YO petrol 80 series with one of the new Jeeps.My Toyo/Niss?Landy mates a having a fit but they just can't convince me that I'm on the wrong track with anything credible other than stories.
I have been in to a dealers to try it on for size etc and while I am still to go for an extended run, I like what I have seen so far although I am too tall for a sun roof model.
It's a smaller car and a bit more suitable for my wife to use on a day to day basis.Not that it will get much use, the cruisers only done 140 K.
We are really drawn to the 510 nm of torque as we tow an ultimate. The tow hitch is the right height and while I have yet to check, I think that the one piece swing up tailgate will clear the Treg hitch.
The smallish tank at about 80 litres is a bit less than I would like but it will still get us as far as the cruiser's 145 litres will at present.
We would love to hear from any current owners who have some experience with this model which they may be prepared to share with us. Things like service frequency, warranty issues, fuel consumption, options fitted or just how you feel about owning your Jeep.
I wiil admit that I am a little uneasy as I have heard all of the horror stories but think that I am prepared to accept that Daimlers involvement has made a difference. The motoring journalists certainly seem to think so at least.
Any feed back will be greatly appreciated

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 17:15

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 17:15
Hi Bidgee,
Might want to check out post 35992 before making that decision mate.

Avagoodn
Pezza

AnswerID: 184913

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 17:19

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 17:19
The anti-Jeep crowd have spoken!

;)
FollowupID: 441630

Follow Up By: Leroy - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 21:25

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 21:25
You'll get the same sort of 'customer service' from all car manufatcures so don't let that put you off.

Leroy
FollowupID: 441670

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 23:13

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 23:13
To Omaroo and Leroy,

I know Pezza and he would not have been trying to lead Bidgee one way or another, merely pointing out both sides of the fence. Interesting reading, at least I know it is not only Nissan that shaft you as soon as your dollars are banked.
If I was buying a new car again, I would want to know all the good and bad stories so I can make an informed decision.
I am sure Pezza would not have been bagging the Jeep at all.

For my input, I don't know the runnings of the car but the performance sheet alone makes the Jeep worth more than a glance IMO.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 441689

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 12:47

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 12:47
Thanks Trevor,
Geez Omaroo, take it easy, I know you said it in a light hearted way, but it still meant something.
The guy come on here looking for info on the jeep, good, bad or ugly, it's all info, I merely pointed him to the last bit of info regarding jeeps, discussed here on the forum, it's not like I wrote the post to which I had directed him to.
If he had come here looking for nissan info I would most likely have pointed him to a couple of " 3.0lt nissan expires " posts, it's all information relavant to his decision.
Ok, so I'm nissan biased, but if you read here regularly, which I know you do, you would also know I'm not in the habit of 'bashing' other makes, unless it's in a very lighthearted banter type of way.
Personally I think that buying a jeep or landrover is like buying a 3.0 lt nissan patrol, chances are you will end up with a good one that will give you no trouble, BUT you could just as easily end up with one of the small percentage which are lemons, if you are willing to take that chance then good luck and happy 4wheelin'.
I've said it before and will say it again, you jeep owners realy are a touchy lot aren't you ? It's like some of you run around with a chip on your shoulder regarding the type of car you bought.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 441718

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 08:18

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 08:18
"I've said it before and will say it again, you jeep owners realy are a touchy lot aren't you ? It's like some of you run around with a chip on your shoulder regarding the type of car you bought. "

Nah - we're just tired of people saying this all the time. Give it up, huh?
FollowupID: 442142

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 08:16

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 08:16
From my recent trip to Fraser they seem to struggle with ground clearance, particularly in soft sand.....

Like you, I'm too tall for them. Tried one for size at one of the shows and it was too cramped. The Pajero has heaps more space.
AnswerID: 184979

Reply By: Tim_N - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 15:49

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 15:49
My oldies bought a Grand Cherokee 3.0 and have just got back from NW Western Australia. About 15000 km's in all and they reckon it is the best vehicle they have owned, which is a few now.
It has excellent economy, heaps of power for towing a van and is exceptionally comfortable. All in all, it makes an excellent tourer.
The Grands are made in the factory in Austria where as some other models like the Cherokee is made in Italy under license and the Austrian made gear is first class, the Italian job, not so, they have had one of them too. The fuel filters are from the M series Benz engines (well they are all Benz engines) and they could not fault it.
You will get lemons no matter what breed of vehicle you buy, it is up to the dealer you choose as to how they handle it if you are one of the unlucky ones.
I would have no hesitation in recommending them because if my old's like it, it must be good, they are quite particular.
Go for it.
Tim
AnswerID: 185244

Follow Up By: Bidgee1 - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 18:18

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 18:18
Thanks one and all and you in particular Tim. I wonder if Tim could arrange to put me in touch with his "oldies", Email would be fine, I could give them a call one night.
This is a sensational site, what a great resource. I referred the salesman and the dealer principal to the complaint site referred to in the first response. I'm sure that there are unhappy cruiser owners out there as well but I don't think I've ever met one.
FollowupID: 442050

Follow Up By: Tim_N - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 08:13

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 08:13
Hi Bidgee1,
email my dad at chris@nearhos.com and get the full story straight from the horses mouth. Tim.
FollowupID: 442138

Reply By: fifooz - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 22:08

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 22:08
Steve,

I would highly recommend that you get a hold of June 2006 Australian 4WD Monthly that compares the TD Grand Cherokee and Discovery.

I'll quote a section from "Parting Thought":

"As I have seen in previous models, if used off-road often enough, the Grand Cherokee will eventually crack where the front section meets the front firewall, as there is very little reinforcement to support heavy landings that force the front spring towers up.

On the plus side, the traction and stability control is great, and the V6 turbo-diesel engine is brilliant and far superior to the TDV6. It handles nicely on well-formed roads, but would benefit greatly from decent shock absorbers."

To me, the article has some serious criticisms of the Jeep; I think it is a great vehicle but very important to understand it's limits.

AnswerID: 185320

Reply By: Member - Kevin (NSW/ACT) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 14:27

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 14:27
Hi Steve,

I have a 2005 Grand Cherokee Laredo with the 3.0 CRD - picked it up on 31/8/2005 and have just had its 30,000km service done.

I tow a Supreme Getaway Off-road Caravan (2000kg) and an Aussie Swag Rover LX Campertrailer (1500kg) and of the 30000km have had one or the other on the back for 7900 km. Average fuel consumption from day 1 is 12.2 l/100km. Worst with the caravan is 15 l/100km and with the Aussie Swag is 14.3 l/100km. No problem at all with the tail gate clearing the treg hitch. Towing performance is simply outstanding - previous tow vehicle was a 2002 4.2TD GU Patrol ST and there is just no comparison, either on performance or fuel consumption. I can easily tow either at the posted speed limit whatever that may be. Around town I average in the low 11's and on freeway travel (110 kph) it gets down into the mid 10's. It's an awsome feeling being able to overtake slower vehicles up a hill on dual carriageways with a 2 tonne caravan on the back.

Servicing costs:- the 30k dealer service just cost me $470, of which $45 was the oil filter and $111 was the oil itself. Labour was $250. 20k service was a shocker ($700'ish) - the fuel filter alone was $170. That said, I have no complaints with my local dealer but do wish I had an alternative.

Only warranty issue came up just recently - a leak at the large electrical plug that controls the transmission. That was a 'known' potential problem and was fixed easily with two new 'O' rings.

Off road ability is compromised by ground clearance and I sourced a body lift kit from the USA which gave me about 55mm all round - problem solved. I know that King Springs have now developed replacement springs which they claim gives 25mm with the standard shocks. My kit kept the standard springs all round as well as the front shocks - the rear are new longer travel ones from Doetsch Tech in the USA. Ride is quite good on the road but it does wallow a bit - similar to the Patrol until I replaced the springs and shocks on it. A couple of companies have offered to make replacement shocks if I bring the vehicle in, which I might do one day.

Off-road performance is very good and I haven't found any grade that it can't handle easily. Engine braking in low first is better than in the Patrol which pleasantly surprised me. Being my first auto 4WD I was a bit apprehensive but now couldn't go back to a manual. I have lost the rear mudflaps a couple of times but was always losing the Patrol's front ones - no big deal. The front suspension is independent and the Jeep can easily lift a front wheel which looks quite spectacular at times but causes no problem - mostly I'm unaware of it until I get told later. The QuadraDrive II system is brilliant - no other word for it.

I am just under 6' tall and have no problem getting comfortable in the driver's seat but I do have a problem after a few hours (pins and needles in the butt) and have to get out for a stretch. Patrol's seats were better for me. Neither are as good as those in my first 4WD, a 1995 300Tdi Discovery.

At the rear I added coil-rite air helper springs. When towing the caravan I use a weight distribution hitch and set the bags to 10psi, with the Aussie Swag I set them at 15psi and all is level. That took a bit of experimintation after I added the lift kit.

There is no room under the bonnet for a second battery so I have removed the cargo area liner and located a second battery there with my fridge on a ply base. Over time I will add other storage options on the new base. Be aware that the tie downs on the plastic liner are plastic and a held in place with plastic rivets - not real good. Storage space is a challenge but I'm well on the way to solving it for me. Up top I've added a Rhino Roof Pod in which I can carry my large canvas tent and fly, under tent matting, two tables and two chairs and a few other bits and pieces - and just stay within the pod's 50kg limit. Tent poles are carried in a 100mm sewer pipe on the rack alonside the pod. The roof weight limit is 68kg and I am just over that at about 73kg - fingers crossed.

So all in all I'm pretty happy with the Jeep and can work around or live with its pecularities as they apply to me. As I did with the Patrol and the Discovery before it.

Hope this helps,

AnswerID: 185400

Follow Up By: Bidgee1 - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 17:47

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 17:47
Thanks Kevin, that is really comprehensive and exactly what I was looking for.
I tried to send you an Email but it's closed to non members,..... I'll join.
Tim has also given me an Email address so we're on our way on this re some more feedback from owners/users.
I have arranged a demo vehicle for 3 days for when we get back from our trip at the end of September so, between this kind of info and some quality time in one I should be able to make a fairly considered decision.
Thanks again
FollowupID: 442250

Reply By: woddonnee - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 14:22

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 14:22
G'day Bidgee1
An observation, you are only seeking positive feedback it seems, so you have decided what you are going to buy and looking for re-inforcement.
There may not be a problem with that, just be aware, that is what is really happening here.
cheers and good luck
Rod
AnswerID: 188346