Ebay know your product

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 19:53
ThreadID: 36091 Views:3618 Replies:8 FollowUps:15
Not nocking ebay ,just a word of caution ,before the "excitement" of the bargain turns round and bites you where the sun dont shine ,price a similar or same item local , have been watching the final price of a few items lately and would be cheaper to buy from the local TJM/ARB ,example ,,,safari snorkel on ebay almost always sell for $375+ + post of $45 ,, was Quoted $375 from local TJM store ... seems to be the same on a lot of one off items ,exception is filters.

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 19:59

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 19:59
Hi there Alloy c/t you are write but a lot of things sold on here eg safari snorkels are actually from the stores them selves, selling from there home computer, and yes people who dont know the prices think there getting a bargain but $420 is about the average price for a snorkel unless your in the know eg trade price. Thats why they have a buy now price cause if they dont sell on here they sell to the next bloke that walks in the shop. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 184924

Follow Up By: tex1972 - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 20:34

Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 20:34
I walked into an autoparts shop(chain type store) on friday and the manager is on the phone discussing what prices he can get stuff for and what the should set the reserves for on ebay with his mate.Just goes to show buyer beware.

Tex
FollowupID: 441661

Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 07:04

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 07:04
I recently bought $500 worth of winching equipment cheaper from one of the 4WD places than I could have bought the same gear from e-bay.

Lot's of stuff goes for silly prices on e-bay _especially_ considering you often won't get a warranty.

Having said that: I got a damn good deal on a 2nd hand notebook computer and a GPS mouse.

AnswerID: 184970

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 07:47

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 07:47
GQ cup holders - start at $50 on ebay... nissan sells them for $38.00
AnswerID: 184974

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 07:51

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 07:51
two words must be obeyed at all auctions....caveat emptor
AnswerID: 184975

Follow Up By: Troop-a-dour - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 10:52

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 10:52
Not only at auctions (and ebay)- must the words 'caveat emptor' be appreciated.

It also applies to the small print on some of the warrantys & guarantees being offered on items (eg the 'warranty' on tires- but only in metropolitan areas).

Also, the way some people rave about the fantastic warranty service on items that if they break down- just take it back and get a new one. Thats all good- but I would be a little peeved if (say) my car fridge spat-the-dummy on the 4th day into a 2 month trip??? All my tucker is rotten and the beer is warm. But there is a fantastic maunufacturers warranty !!!! Big Deal.

Was it 'planned obsolescence' that was a buzz word a few years ago??
FollowupID: 441708

Reply By: The Explorer - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 11:13

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 11:13
Yes - there is a copy of Magellans DiscoverAus getting a flogging on ebay - price is now greater than you can buy it from other "normal" online shops. May even be the buyer or his mate bidding in the item to jack the price up. Research and set a limit on what you think is reasonable taking into account postage, (often) lack of warranty and convenience (your only other option maybe to drive to a shop 200km away for example) and you will remain unscathed. There are plenty of bargains to be had.

AnswerID: 184998

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 11:24

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 11:24
Just another word of caution re EBay.

I have received a communication from the ATO quizzing me about items I have sold on EBay & reminding me that I have an obligation to include any income from EBay sales on my tax return.

Obviously I of course would do this anyway but I'm not running an EBay shop, I just had a clean up at home & sold off a stack of unwanted items...

You have to wonder don't you, I spose we need to finance the generous super packages for our Pollies somehow...
AnswerID: 184999

Follow Up By: Scrubcat - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 20:07

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 20:07
If you have to include what money you receive from items you sell on Ebay as taxable income wouldn`t you be allowed to claim any money that you spend buying items on Ebay as a deduction ? ? ?
FollowupID: 441840

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 20:34

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 20:34
Unless you post on E-bay with your real details (whicj I doubt) how did the ATO know who you are? Or are the ATO and E-bay exchanging details?

FollowupID: 441847

Follow Up By: Plugger - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 00:36

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 00:36
If you are only selling items that you no longer need then you do not have to include the proceeds in your tax return. Otherwise the ATO would be chasing down anybody who sells anything through a newspaper ad, garage sale etc.

The exception to this would be if you were buying and selling, or had previously claimed a tax deduction for the item. In that case Capital Gains Tax may apply.

Regards Plugger
FollowupID: 441899

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 19:57

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 19:57
I believe that the ATO is automatically advised of any sales over $au 1000 & it is reasonable to expect that EBay would have to comply as do the banks in notifying the ATO of transactions/ interest over the threshold which is currently $1000.

They are trying to stop the black economy, there are a lot of people who sell via Ebay and the goods are sent in from overseas, & there are heaps of people who sell goods in Australia using Ebay as a shop & if you do this you have to pay tax on your earnings apparently.

I'm not affected, but I have had a run in with the ATO before & they are like a terrier with a bone....
FollowupID: 442067

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 12:10

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 12:10
Just a little aside , I asked the vendor of the last item that I wanted to bid on "how much the postage would be to my postcode" and recieved the reply of $15.95 registered mail ,,,duly "won" the item at a reasonable to me price ,came time to pay and lo and behold the price of postage is $32.95 ,,Not getting my $$$$.
AnswerID: 185008

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 12:15

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 12:15
foward him the email stating $15.95 postage and see what reply you get
FollowupID: 441715

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 12:22

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 12:22
Truckster , did just that ,then got email back saying 'so sorry 1st postage quote wrong ,you pay $32.95 or we leave bad feedback on you " still not getting my $.
FollowupID: 441716

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 14:21

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 14:21
Alloy - report him to ebay....

These sort of things tend to go the way of whoever reports them first. The seller is just as likely to report you for nonpayment, and ebay will get narkey on you.

Chump
FollowupID: 441751

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 15:40

Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 15:40
Yup, report to ebay... with copies of the emails.

You could leave them the worst feedback possible but will only get revenge back

I have created a webpage in the past with copies of emails from the scum seller tryin the same thing...

He soon changed his tune..
FollowupID: 441778

Follow Up By: Joombi - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 10:52

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 10:52
I bid on a 1HZ on e-bay a few months ago & was winning it for $1200 and the only bid, right near the end this person puts bids on in increments of $100 & I end up winning this thing for $2500, my highest max bid, I wasn't real happy but a bid is a bid so I decided to cough up, I got the bank details to put the money into an account & bugger me dead if it wasn't the same name as the person who was bidding against me, I searched the ebay site knowing this must be against "ebay law" & found a bit on what they call "Schill bidding", its getting a mate to bid on your stuff to increase the end buying price & if they go over & be the winning bidder, they retract the last bid leaving the last bidder with the item for their max bid instead of getting a bargin, I contacted e-bay & they said they could see nothing wrong with the transaction, so I contacted the seller & told him I would not be paying & he told me to check the rules about not paying & he would use them to the full extent including legal action, so I told him to check e-bays rule on schill bidding & would run him through, next day I recieved positive feedback & a letter of apology, he end up selling it but with a higher starting bid & a lower finish price. I was very lucky & he was very stupid
FollowupID: 441937

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 16:54

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 16:54
Joombi, I'm surprised ebay did nothing about the schill bidding - they tend to see this as very serious.

Alloy - one thing to watch out for is the postage. A number of sellers are using this to circumvent the ebay seller fees as ebay only charges a % on the final bid price, not the freight cost. Hence a lot of items seem to be an obsolute bargain when you consider the final bid, however can have up to 40% jacked on as postage costs - not making the item much if any cheaper in the long run. I've been burnt this way a few times - particularily when the seller didn't mention the postage in the original ad. I've refused to pay on this basis twice - or negotiated a reduced postage rate.
FollowupID: 442022

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:05

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:05
Postage is such a scam at the moment!

There are heaps of things selling for 99cents, only to have postage equal the same amount as the item would be if you bought it in the shops.

The bad thing is if you do have a problem, the seller only has to refund you the purchase price........

It sux, but u have to read everything, ask questions, and only bid on things you are certain about.

Chump
FollowupID: 442024

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:02

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:02
Yeah, Postage is absurd... I was looking at an item, a reversing camera, & the postage was $au100. I sent the seller a query on this & he replied in jinglish that that was their price I contacted the HK post office & was told that the price to send an item of that weight 750gms would be $HK50, about $10 AU, got back to them & they said I had to use their contractor, complained to ebay who told me more or less to pay the postage or shut up...
FollowupID: 442068

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 23:09

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 23:09
>> he told me to check the rules about not paying & he would use them to the full extent including legal action,

I would have told him my lawyers name, and reminded him, once he starts, he cant withdraw the charges with the courts, and we would see who would win.
FollowupID: 442110

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 07:58

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 07:58
Online deals where winners are losers

YOU press "Enter", win the auction with a canny last-second bid and arrange for payment. And then? Nothing.

You're not alone. Forty-eight per cent of buyers on online auction websites such as eBay and OZtion have ended up losers with 22 per cent getting nothing and 20 per cent receiving products different from those advertised, according to an Australian study released yesterday.

The Communications Law Centre study, Going, going, gone: Online auctions, consumers and the law, also reported on other opportunities for fraud on online auction websites, including dummy bidding by vendors and a trend towards stolen goods being traded.

Despite the high incidence of fraud, consumers are generally not contacting the police or fair trading offices for help, said the report's author, Nick Moustakas.

Whether auction sites can be sued in the event of buyers not receiving advertised products remains a legal grey area.

Perceptions of high fraud had limited the average value of transactions carried out on auctions sites, the report said, with most buyers restricting themselves to DVDs, CDs, textbooks, cosmetics and clothes.

The report recommended setting up a national consumer complaints and fraud database.

AnswerID: 185357