Submitted: Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 21:47
Cape Kid
Hello All
Have just sold my turbo diesel 100 and ordered a 100 V8. Can some one tell me if they have rechipped theirs and if it made much of a differance. Also which exhaust system works best, 2.5'' or 3''. Had 3'' mandrel bent on my old one but wasn't overly impressed. Also with the new ones do you still need to upgrade the IFS and what seems to be the best option. Old one was ridged axle so this is all new.
The car will live and drive in my back yard,
Cape York.
Reply By: Billowaggi - Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 23:26
Sunday, Jul 23, 2006 at 23:26
I think you are nuts! definately going backwards.
Ken.
Follow Up By: Cape Kid - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 06:20
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 06:20
well thats a constructive reply, Thanks.
Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 08:23
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 08:23
well done cape kid , welcome to the real power world .
Dont chip , unless you do other mods . EG exaust etc. A aftermarket computer to get optimum power would be more usefull. A chip writen by someone else that is not set up for your car is as usufull as tits on a bull .
I would stick to 2.5 ecaust . to keep some back pressure , and not to drive you mate with the 3" drone
Reply By: TroopyTracker - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 07:04
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 07:04
Cape Kid,
From what I understand the new ones have much more weld on the bits that broke on the early ones.
I don't think you're going backwards at all. I would have waited to see what the new 130 series was like though.
Matt
Reply By: Turbo Diesel - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 08:24
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 08:24
Cape Kid
Just to fill some of us in, you sold a solid live axel turbo cruiser, i presume somewhere between a 91 - 93 model, or a 40th annaversary eddition in 96 for a independent V8 cruiser. The V8 if its new wil cost a minimum of $50,000 plus. Just a simple question why did you sell the turbo cruiser and not give it a new lease on life, motor rebuild, lockers, spray paint etc???? Thats if it needed it of course! Plus Toyota are bringing out their new model pressumably in early 2007?????
Turbo
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 08:45
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 08:45
g'day mate,
"Have just sold my turbo diesel 100"
was not an 80 :) and possibly not a standard.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 13:17
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 13:17
Hi there turbo, it must have been the base model 100 series with the
barn doors on the back as the next model up is gxl which has ifs up front so it must have been after market turbo as
well as the base model didnt come out in turbo diesel only petrol or straight diesel and had manual locking hubs on the front where as the gxl is all wheel drive.Unless I'm wrong I'm sure some one will correct me if I am. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Turbo Diesel - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 13:52
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 13:52
I realise the difference between the models, the only factory turbo on a live axel was in an 80 series, however the real question Why buy and ifs V8 after owning a Turbo live axel, and you live up the cape, can you imagin the cost of fuel? Thursday island was in the paper at $1.80p/l for petrol?????
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 14:10
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 14:10
My knowledge of 100 series (or ANY cruisers for that matter) is somewhat limited, but I do know that they made the GXL with rigid axle, horizontal doors at the back and a NA diesel motor (1hz if I'm not mistaken).......so it is possible that this is what our
Cape York mate had, but with an aftermarket hairdryer bolted on.
I too wonder at the wisdom of changing to the petrol model.....but it's none of my bloody business...so good luck with your choice.
Follow Up By: Turbo Diesel - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 14:14
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 14:14
roachie
relax mate its a
forum its everyones buisness (LOL).
azz
Follow Up By: chump_boy - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 14:17
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 14:17
Roachie,
My GXL is a 105 Series with the rigid front diff.
I think people loosly call them all 100 series, but they should really differentiate a little.
Chump
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 14:19
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 14:19
Sorry there turbo, I read your reply wrong, in regards to why he bought petrol instead of diesel
well I guess he's got his reasons, I suppose if your doing highway speeds most of the time maybe there not that bad but I would imagine them to use more than a diesel, but maybe hes looked at the differance between fuel costs and servicing costs, I wont ever have to worry about that as I wont be owning either unless there 20 ears or more old before they come into my price range. I would imagine the ifs giving a lot smoother ride than the live axle as my uncles does, 04 gxl turbo/D. I have heard of them using the mid to high 30's L per 100klm, but from what Ive read this is in the
soft beach sand and also very heavy towing, but at the end of the day everyone to there own choice I suppose but yeah I know where your coming from. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 14:24
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 14:24
Hi there Roachie, the only live axle in GXL form was in the 80 series or base model 100 series, all gxl in 100 series are ifs. But yes whatever his reasons good luck to him wish I had the $$ to buy either. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 14:56
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 14:56
G'day Stephen,
Okay, I'll stand corrected if need be, but I thought Mr Desmond Lexic's 100 series was a GXL with tailgate and solid front axle (non-turbo diesel). I could be mistaken (wouldn't be the 1st time....hahahaha)
Follow Up By: Member - Stillthinkinaboutit - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 17:24
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 17:24
You are correct Roachie.
The GXL was available with the Rigid axle, correctly known as 105 series, it has the 1HZ normally aspirated motor.
The IFS was used for the factory turbo diesel 1HDFTE and Petrol V8 these are correctly known as 100 series.
Two of my friends have the GXL's with rigid axle and 1HZ diesels.
My GXL is the IFS and 1HDFTE factory turbo diesel.
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 06:52
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 06:52
faaaaaaark :)
like i said, "was not an 80 and possibly not a standard."
anyway, reckon Cape Kid heard what he wanted to from RC an Barks.
he he.
Reply By: TerraFirma - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 12:42
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 12:42
When is the 130 series due..?? Any truth in the twin turbo diesel rumour..??
Reply By: Cape Kid - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 15:55
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 15:55
To all,
Sorry, I will supply some more info to those who like all the details.
I had a 2002 diesel GXL to which I fitted a denco turbo .Along with
suspension mods , injector pump mods diff locks etc etc. Great car and It had only 90 000ks on it.
Why sell it..... Because I can......Allways had diesels so I though I would try something new. After all the figures a V8 was a better choice with servicing and fuel put togeather.
Yes price of fuel is a bit higher up in the cape and a short drive for me is 12 hours but hey ......Thats life and I am lucky enough to be able to afford it.
Looking forward to something new.
Why not wait fo the new model next year......I don't think I would buy the first of any new model,need to give them a year or two to get the bugs out of the system
But thats just me.
See you all up the cape.
Reply By: Barks - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 17:57
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 17:57
Hi Cape Kid,
I've got a 2004 V8 GXL - stock except for Sahara Mags and bar work.
Three weeks ago I fitted a 2.5 inch system from the cat back - bacically the only thing remaining is the manifold and cat - the new system bolted onto the factoy flange near the tranni.
They removed the 44' gal drum size muffler and the resonator and installed a glass filled hi-flow muffler about 1/4 size of the old muffler. I kept the old items.
All the exhaust shops I spoke to in Vic hadn't done any cruiser v8 work before so it was a but of a guess to how it would sound.
Cost me $370 with flash chrome tip fitted... I priced some full extractor systems - about $2500 fitted - imo not worth the money and mods.
Mate it sounds good - surprisingly no louder inside at 60 to 100 km/h than stock - but sounds real V8 out the back - now I drive around with the windows down and change back down throught the auto just to hear it grumble....
seems to be a bit more responsive when dumping it from stationary - probably just my imagination???
I just hated having a V8 that sounded like a camry... very happy with result.
Cheers Barks
Follow Up By: Barks - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 18:04
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 18:04
I've done two tanks in it since then - me with a heavy right foot and the missus shopping and taking the kids to school. (she does accellerate up to a red light, hit the skids, then accellerate away every time!! and stops at a roundabout when it's empty!!! drives me crazy)
496km, 80L - 16.25 L/100km - standard ULP
557km, 84 L - 15.17 L/100km - standard ULP
no noticable chande in comsumption
LB
Follow Up By: Cape Kid - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 20:07
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 20:07
Thanks for the info.
I am with you, nice to have a good note out the back.
Was the exhaust mandrel bent or press bends.
I have been quoted 1000 plus fitting with extracttors
or 2000 for a full mandrel system
Just have to wait to get it.
Amazingly there was no white 105 V8,s in
Australia available when I ordered one.
Follow Up By: BUSTED100 - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 22:05
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 22:05
need a front air locker?(no longer in mine)
Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 08:33
Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 08:33
Barks,
What were you getting before the mod??
What other mods are you running (ie, oversize
tyres etc
Follow Up By: Barks - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:30
Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:30
Hi Ivan,
same figures as before - avg of 15L/100km aroung town & highway (recorded over 50,000km)
no other mods except for CT and Thule roof coffin for camping/snow trips.
and 4T boat - 26L/100km - but driving it hard, ie redline in 2nd gear? at 90-100 km/h. interisting trip up the
Adelaide hill!!! - yea har!!! god I sound like a hoon...
Reply By: Shaka_Dog - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 09:21
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 09:21
I bought a 100 Series V8 in July 2004. Done just over 54,000 kms in it since and lovign it.
Have doen a few mods to it so it weighs in a fair bit oiver standard but petrol mileage has hardly altered, it started crappy and stayed crappy.
For power thgouhg i have put a Unichip in it and a 2.5 mandrel bent
stainless exhaust. It didnt alter fuel consum,ption but mande a fair difference to performance, espically wiht the trailer on back.
From the dyno it went from 75 or so at the wheels to about 119 at the wheels with both fitted. I did them at the same place at the same time so dont have which added what. But if you check out APS website it has the expected improvements just from a unichip.
Other mod that was a huge improvemtn was
suspension, and all i put on was standard OEM setup, nothign extra fancy, but it still made a huge difference both on and off road.
hope this helps.