Submitted: Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 17:30
Member - Tour Boy
Hi again,
I was talking to my local Yota dealer the other day he said the new wagon will look like a big rav and have 680nm.
The new troopie will be a 4 door type similar to the early 70 series jap prado. Don't know what motor.
Has anyone seen pics yet. Toyota Australia denied all.
Has anyone had probs with their HDJ78 RV. I don't know wether to get one now or wait to see how soft the new ones are possibly driving down or up the price of the 78 when they come out.
Regards Tour Boy
Reply By: equinox - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 18:05
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 18:05
Do you mean HDJ79??
I've had no probs with my ute (HDJ79R) so far, though it has only done 8000kms.
There was one in the paper the other day demo model never driven for $55k - that would have been snapped up pretty quickly I reckon.
You're right, it would be a hard call to make, whether to wait or buy now.
Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy- Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 18:13
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 18:13
No, the 78 is the troopie the 79 is the cab chassis. Same mechanically though. the only diff to the 105TD is the intercooler on the 105 to give the extra HP.
Reply By: MarkTheShark - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 18:07
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 18:07
G'day Tour Boy
I saw what might be the new Cruiser in Hiroshima last week. Was at a distance and moving through traffic but was definitely a Toyota and about Landcruiser size and had the characteristic steel Landcrusier
wheels. Looked more rounded and the roof seemed lower and it did look like a big RAV.
In two weeks in Japan in city and country areas only saw four Landcruisers, one or two Prados and Pajeros and no Patrols. These vehicles are just too big for most of the very narrow Japanese suburban streets and too hard to
park as most homes don't have garages. Noticeably there are no old vehicles. Also noticeable was that there was not one vehicle of any size, trucks included, belching any smoke/fumes. To get back to Australia and see an old Hilux driving around with a smoky exhaust was disappointing.
Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 18:11
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 18:11
I think they have to replace engines after a certain amount of k's, something like 50,000 from memory. Thats where our jap import engine imports come from as far as I know.
Chers Andrew
Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy- Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 18:16
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 18:16
From what I understand they can have a vehicle of any age but the rego goes up until it is too expensive and not economical so they send them to the wreckers. That's where the crappy never serviced jap motors come from.
Tour Boy
Reply By: bradz - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 19:54
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 19:54
Hey Tour Boy, ive spent the last year contemplating the exact same thing, and decided to go with the current 79 RV, only just took delivery of it and have only done 600 kms but so far could not be happier with it. I have seen proto types of the new landcruiser wagon and do not like it. I have not yet heard anything about any changes to the utes, although the new V8 twin turbo diesel sounds like it is going to be a perler, who needs anything that extreme in a commercial vehicle.
So if the new wagon is anything to go by, you can only expect that any changes made to the ute will in my eyes be a disaster. I think go for what you know is good and
well proven.
Bradz
Follow Up By: Off-track - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 23:27
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 23:27
If it's the usual set of pics doing the rounds then I would be pretty confident in saying this will look very little like the new 130. Firstly it was an artists impression and secondly it was Tucson.
Reply By: Marn - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 21:42
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 21:42
The diffs/transfers/gearboxes in the current tray tops cant handle the torque now... How are they going to go with nearly double the torque??????
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:23
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:23
Which models are you talking about?
The TDs have the stronger H150F box and matching transfer.
The R151F box had issues on some of the normally aspirated diesel models.
Follow Up By: Beddo - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 19:26
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 19:26
We Have state fleet Toyota traytops with the straight 4.2 diesel (non-turbo) and we have fire fighting units on the back full of
water and we thrash the hell out of them along rough fire
trails - never had a problem with them up to 60 000Km. Tough as, cannot say the same about the Nissan traytops we had - gearbox issues. Hope Toyota don't go too rounded as the current flat panels on the 78-79 series are solid as and don't bend; this is a major issue we found with the Nissans, the round shape bended easily.
Our present state fleet vehicles that are getting near replacement have been put up for extended lease until the new Cruisers arrive - have heard June 2007. Have heard the new motor will be a 4.5 L turbo diesel. Sounds great.
Follow Up By: Marn - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 21:14
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 21:14
Im talking about the normaly aspirated models that we run underground here in
broken hill. If the brakes arent failing,(to the point where they are now replacing the brakes from new with "wet brakes") the diffs are, closely followed by the gearboxes. the charge up vehicle had $46000 spent on it in 6 months. When they are about 2 years old they are scraped -totally stuffed. The nissans lasted up to 6 years.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 22:01
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 22:01
Marn,
We don't run our vehicles underground :-))) And Tour Boy is referring to the HDJ78 factory turbo diesel which has the upgraded gearbox and transfer and has different ratio diffs.
Mine gets its fair share of abuse, so far its done 95,000km on the original brakes, and has not had any significant mechanical issues. I would guess that if I owned a Nissan, my experience would be just as good - IMO they are both good vehicles.
phil
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:38
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 17:38
Tour Boy:
if you do a google search for "landcruiser 130" you will find quite a number of images of next years 'cruiser'...
Follow Up By: Off-track - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 21:32
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 21:32
I think it is
well publicised that those pics are of the new Tucson - US only.
Reply By: bradz - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 19:07
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 19:07
Too right phil G!
Reply By: li'l rusty - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:36
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:36
Tour Boy,
On a related note I read with interest recently that the soon to be released V8 twin turbo diesel (coming out in the Rangie) has fuel economy figures of around 11.8 km/l. I only hope Toyoya can produce similar fuel economy figures, particularly if they are only going to offer a V8 turbo diesel.
Similarly I hope they will continue it with a live axle front, at least in the standard version.
Rusty
Reply By: TroopyTracker - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:04
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:04
Tour Boy,
I'm in exact same position, agonising!!
Dealer I spoke to afew weeks ago told me new ute is going into production feb next year with the new 4.4turbo V8 diesel??? This is the only thing I've heard re new 7# series.
We will just have to wait and see. Surprised there's been no scoop photos of the new ute/troopys-first change in over 29 years!!
Matt
Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:14
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:14
From what I hear, significant Australian-made accessories for the new 100 series replacement are going into production in about 1 month ...
I really don't know what conclusions to draw from this, but I do expect that it is a this year sort of thing.
No information about replacement for the 78/79 series ... nothing has hit the local suppliers to my knowledge.